reviews for: listing #76262 - Galveston, Texas Villa rental

Bay Front Sunset Villa
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pointe West
  • sleeps  17
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $650 /nt
    $2,450 - $4,075 /wk
    $6,600 - $16,225 /mth

sort by:

Gorgeous Views!

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

The place was gorgeous and was able to accommodate for all of our needs. The pool, air hockey and foosball table provided a nice touch! Very decorative theme and really made it feel homey. Owners are very reasonable and EASY to work with. Thank you guys for the wonderful stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice !

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

Loved the house. Everything was in order and ready for our stay. Lots of things for the kids to do when we weren't at the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunset Villa Family Beach Vacation

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

This home is wonderful - nicely appointed, well maintained and beautifully decorated. It is spacious and a great layout for a large family. The owner was very professional and intent on ensuring we had everything we needed. The pool table, air hockey, walking trails and bicycles made for fun family evenings. Our grandchildren loved the pools at the beach club and the private beach was cleared of seaweed regularly during our 6 night stay. We will be returning to this lovely home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for a Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

Large house with a lot of bedrooms and bathrooms. Great kitchen and TV room. Games for the kids. A better home for older children (6+). A drive (20-25 min) from downtown Galveston, but beautiful pools and views.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

frisco nana

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 2, 2014

This is a great home with plenty of space for a large group! We have been here 2 times with our extended family and have enjoyed it each time we came. It's particularly quiet as we are located between the gulf and the bay, a wonderful location and easy access to the Beach Club for swimming and to the boardwalk leading to the beach. The owner is very nice and accommodating & plan to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bay Front Sunset Villa

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2014

We loved the house! It was clean and had everything a family with kids, young and old, could hope for with a home away for home. We would definitely rent this again! Thank you Jennifer!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vaca

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2014

Wonderful family vacation with our daughters and their families. There were 14 of us and there was plenty of room for playing, eating and sleeping. Everyone had a great time and we would return again in a minute!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorable Weekend

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

The beach house was absolutely beautiful. The pool table, foosball table, and air hockey table provided hours of fun for our group of teenagers. The walk to the beach wasn't bad at all. Access to the beach club was another perk. The kitchen is stocked with more than enough cooking supplies. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this beauty again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Beach House Ever!!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

My Husband and I rented this beach house to celebrate a birthday. We invited our immediate family to enjoy the weekend. We all had a blast!!! There is something to do for every age group from the little children to relaxed adults. We had an awesome time and we can't wait to come back and enjoy another weekend!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect family get away

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

This is the 3rd year for us to rent this house. We are a large family with adults, teens, and babies and the house works out perfectly for us! There is plenty to do both inside and out. We love the decks and spend our mornings drinking coffee and watching the sun come up. The kitchen is awesome ! Enough room for several of us to cook ! This has become a family tradition for us and have made so many memories !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BBT

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

We rented this home for a young women's retreat with our church. There was a ton of room for everyone. The home was immaculate and nicely appointed. THe owner was very accommodating.
I would definitely recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FABULOUS

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

We could not have been happier! The owner was incredible to work with and the house was beyond our expectations. We had a couple of very small issues upon arrival - nothing that impeded our stay - and they were taken care of within hours. The home decor is stunning, and the master bath took our breath away. The game tables were a big hit with our Jr high aged kids and the beach is just a short walk. We had fairly cloudy/cool weather and did not get to take advantage of the pool(s) as much as the kids would have liked, but we did visit the main pool for a short time and found it to be just as beautiful as the description. I cannot recommend this house enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Excellent

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Galveston Vacation Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!!

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

From the moment you drive up and see this beautiful, grand home until the moment you are forced to leave and rejoin the 'real world', relaxation and tons of fun are the only thing you'll experience while being the lucky renters at The Bay Front Sunset Villa on Galveston Bay!! We have rented from this wonderful family 2 years in a row during Spring Break, and the memories we have made are immeasurable. We took our high school daughter and some friends and met our son and some of his college friends there for a week both years. The home is incredibly well maintained, the supplies in the kitchen are more than ample for a full week of cooking/baking and grilling, the family room draws you in for games and movie time, the pool table, air hockey and foosball tables are a HUGE PLUS, the wine refrigerator and bar area are the perfect place for a cocktail setting for entertaining and socializing, the space upstairs is well laid out and the beds supremely comfortable! There are televisions in every room, the bathroom towels and supplies are way above what you'd expect in a rental home and the master shower is the BEST!!! There is plenty of parking for a large group and the patio is a great place to socialize while grilling out! The patios are plentiful with views facing both the gulf and the bay and the sunsets are amazing overlooking the bay!! The house is on the Bay side of the main road, so it is a short walk over to the main pool and clubhouse/restaurant but it's great exercise and a nice walk! There's also plenty of parking around that area if you'd rather drive. We have fished in the little lakes outside the house, but we didn't catch anything. Might have been the time we were out there. It was still super relaxing! The renters are the best we've ever worked with; they truly want your stay to be flawless and will check in regularly to make sure everything is ready prior to your rental start time and also while you are there. I feel like they have become our 'unseen friends'!! I cannot say enough about this treasure of a vacation home; you will be so happy you rented this house over any of the others!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bay Front Sunset Villa at Pointe West

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bay Front Sunset Villa at Pointe West. The description was very accurate and the photos reflected everything very well. The kids really enjoyed the video games, pool table, and everything inside kept them very busy. We went swimming at the Beach Club, Sunset Pool and the beach. We did not go out to eat but did our cooking in the kitchen and on the grill and everything was very clean and easy to use. We would definitely recommend this property (and I already did) to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

The house had EVERY amenity that you could imagine and the house was beautifully decorated. We completely overpacked. Jenn had the house stocked with something for everyone in every room. The best part was the teenagers were never bored! She was also very gracious and open to anything we needed. Everyone loved it from 5 years up to 50 year old. The location was perfect-right in the middle of everything (Beach club, San Luis Pass, Lazy River Pool). Didn't realize there was such a nice jogging path around the facilities-will bring my running shoes next time! The photos were exactly as the house was. We loved it so much we booked it for the same time next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful vacation place!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Our family had so much fun at the Bay Front Villa. It was a perfect spot for a vacation! There was so much to do. The beachhouse had so many games and TVs to keep the kids entertained. We especially liked the 2 pools close by and walked to beach as much as possible. Kids went to beach one early morning and saw stingrays in the water. That was pretty exciting!
We had a couple problems arise while at the Villa, but Jennifer solved them very quickly. The place was very clean and well stocked in the kitchen which we did alot of cooking.
It was a wonderful place to stay and would come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Girls Getaway Weekend!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

My girlfriends and I have a Galveston getaway trip every year. We have always stayed in the Pointe West community as it is the perfect place for us! However, we outgrew the condo we had rented every year, so we found this house and absolutely LOVED it! The house is super spacious and very accommodating. With three and a half bathrooms, it was perfect for us to get ready at the same time before going out into town Saturday night. Everything was clean and well taken care of. The pool as always was very nice. I would definitely suggest this property rental to anyone looking for the best!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

INCREDIBLE

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at this beautiful, well-equipped vacation home for a week this summer. Jennifer, the owner, was so professional and helpful. The house was perfect for us. It is just as Jennifer presents it - full of kitchenware and big and roomy. It is also a very kid-friendly home so your kids can feel comfortable there. My only suggestion to renters is to be prepared to bring bug spray. The mosquitos were certainly not Jennifer's fault or doing (several days of rain brought them out), but we weren't quite prepared for them. I would definitely recommend this house to any family looking for a place to stay in Galveston. It is reasonably priced and the location can't be beat. We LOVED it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bay Front Sunset Villa

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

The home was beautiful. Perfect for our group of 14. Great amenities for teens. They loved the air hockey and pool tables. The Beach Club was wonderful. So nice to spend the day on the beach and head back to the pool and refreshments up top. Unfortunately, the restaurant wasn't open when we were there. The only thing that ruined our weekend was an over-zealous security guard at the property. He was extremely rude and offensive. He caused a lot of uneccessary drama and truly ruined our weekend.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jud

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

This is the perfect getaway place for anyone.
We had a party of 14 of various ages and there was something for everyone.
We enjoyed the bikes, pool table, foosball, air hockey, library and games.
The views were spectacular.
The property was as listed, clean and well maintained. I have recommended this property to friends and relatives.
We look forward to having another vacation at this beautiful home.
Jennifer and the staff at Pointe West were very accommodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family reunion

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Great stay for our large family gathering. Owner was very easy to work with. Would stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retreating Ladies

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

We had a perfectly lovely week-end at our women's retreat at Bayfront Sunset Villa! The views are gorgeous, the property and useage areas pristine and calm and just like the photos. It is a beautiful and well-appointed house. We especially liked the back deck for morning coffee & huge walk-in closet in the master as we were able to set-up a pack-n-play inside for the 8 month old to sleep. We found The Mosquito Cafe superb for Saturday's lunch out and shopping ion athe Strand was fun. Thanks for making our retreat a real treat! (Note that only Mapquest gave us te correct travel directions from Houston)

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Prom 2013 Weekend

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Our stay at Bay Front Villa was awesome! The adults and teens enjoyed a fun filled weekend. The accommodations were great. The house amenities were great. It's a perfect getaway for a family, girls or guys getaway or small retreat! A couple of our teens friends stopped by and they stated we had the BEST beach house!! Our teens will certainly have some great memories of Prom 2013!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing, Entertaining Home away from Home at the Beach

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We are so lucky to have been able to rent this beautiful villa for a long weekend for our family. It was a perfect mini-vacation for grandparents, adults and kids ages 1, 10, 11 and 15. There was something for everyone! The house was immaculate, the beds and sheets were so comfortable, the bathrooms were very clean and updated, the kitchen was better equipped than my kitchen at home, the extras in the storage shed such as bikes and kites were fun for the kids, the grill was great. Everything was perfect! This is a great vacation home, especially for kids and teens because there is so much to do during the evening. The pool table, air hockey and foosball kept everyone entertained. Overall, we had a great time. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everyone there loved it.

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

The house was great. Everyone there loved it.... We would like to say thanks again. The house was amazing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great times

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

This is the second time for us to rent this beach house. The pictures are truly what you walk into. It's clean and well stocked. My family and I are going to make this an annual event to relax and play at this beach house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Beach

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

The beach house was everything expected and then some. It is as pretty in person as it is shown on the pictures. It is well decorated, clean, well stocked and well maintained. The bed in the master bedroom is very comfortable. The view from the balconies is awesome.... I will recommend this beach house to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely time

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

My friends and I had a great time at the house; we were quite pleased with it and would use it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

The pictures do not do this house justice. From the moment you walk in the front door you can tell that the Bay Front Sunset Villa is well maintained and well planned out. There are multiple amenities for entertaining and relaxing. The house is in a great community that has easy access to the beach. The access to the community pools and club was an added bonus of the rental. Jennifer was very easy to work with and handled all concerns and questions very professionally. The overall experience was outstanding! Bay Front Sunset Villa should be a top contender to families that are looking for a comfortable, clean, well-maintained beach house rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bay Front Sunset Villa

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

My family had a wonderful time stayng at this beautiful house! It was amazing. The house was in great condition with tons to do. The owners were great to work with. The area is also beautiful. We were a little dissapointed because Pointe West is not what it used to be. None of the restaurants were open and running on the premises. The "resort" feeling was kind of lost due to the closings at the pool areas and clubhouse. We absolutely loved the house though! So much fun!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Vacation Destination

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

This house was great for our family vacation. We had seven adults and one toddler. The house is located at the West end of Galveston island. Far enough to get away from the "tourists" on the main strip. The house is part of the Pointe West Beach Club where we ate on the restaurant's outdoor balcony overlooking the club's infinity pool. The club has evening entertainment for the entire family. The first night included Hula and Hawaiian fire dancers. The club's private beach is walking distance for some. The house is also walking distance to several pools, including a lazy river and wading pool for small kids. There is plenty of entertainment in the house after spending those long days at the beach. The great room includes a pool table, fooseball table, and an air hockey table. There is a Wii gaming system, Xbox, lots of DVDs to watch on the large flat-panel television. The location, access to the Pointe West Beach Club, and the almost excessive amount of games in the house makes this a must for large families wanting to be together without losing that resort feel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

I had my wedding here and it was just beautiful. I didn't have to decorate anything because the house is already gorgeous. Of course, I was there in February so there wasn't much beach time, but there was plenty to do at the house itself. There is a pool table, air hockey, which had a ping pong table top in the closet, and a foosball table. The view is very nice and the owner is amazing to work with. I absolutely recommend this place to anyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bay Front Sunset Villa

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Beautiful spacious house with plenty of privacy. Our large family enjoy the spaciousness of the house and all the amenities. The kitchen was large and able to handle all 12 of us. The kids loved the ice hockey table! There was plently of room for everyone to spread out. Loved the fact that there were 3 showers for everyone to use. Liked having all the outdoor decks and the lovely views from the front and back of the house. We really enjoyed the fact that we were close to the seawall and the strand but also loved that when we were at the house it was far enough away from all the crowds. Very beautiful area, quiet and private. Would definatley rent this house again for our family vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

Everything at the house was fantastic. We had 12 adults and 5 children in our group and there was plenty of space, plenty of utensils (plates, trash bags, knives forks, etc.), and plenty of things to do. The house was clean and well maintained. It is right on the bay and makes for beautiful sunsets every evening. The ocean is a quick drive to the other side and is very easy to get to. The owner was very helpful throughout the entire process. She was very quick to respond to any question I had, or to provide me with additional information. She also went out of her way to ensure that our stay was exactly as promised on the site, including getting accessories that had managed to walk away from the property. I would highly recommend this rental for anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Galveston with friends or family. The only recommendation I would add for the place is perhaps the addition of an ice machine. A minor concern that really did not detract from our stay but would make a nice addition to the house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bay Front Sunset Villa

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Beautiful spacious house with plenty of privacy. Our large family enjoy the spaciousness of the house and all the amenities. The kitchen was large and able to handle all 12 of us. The kids loved the ice hockey table! There was plently of room for everyone to spread out. Loved the fact that there were 3 showers for everyone to use. Liked having all the outdoor decks and the lovely views from the front and back of the house. We really enjoyed the fact that we were close to the seawall and the strand but also loved that when we were at the house it was far enough away from all the crowds. Very beautiful area, quiet and private. Would definatley rent this house again for our family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

Everything at the house was fantastic. We had 12 adults and 5 children in our group and there was plenty of space, plenty of utensils (plates, trash bags, knives forks, etc.), and plenty of things to do. The house was clean and well maintained. It is right on the bay and makes for beautiful sunsets every evening. The ocean is a quick drive to the other side and is very easy to get to. The owner was very helpful throughout the entire process. She was very quick to respond to any question I had, or to provide me with additional information. She also went out of her way to ensure that our stay was exactly as promised on the site, including getting accessories that had managed to walk away from the property. I would highly recommend this rental for anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Galveston with friends or family. The only recommendation I would add for the place is perhaps the addition of an ice machine. A minor concern that really did not detract from our stay but would make a nice addition to the house.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Lovely

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

I had my wedding here and it was just beautiful. I didn't have to decorate anything because the house is already gorgeous. Of course, I was there in February so there wasn't much beach time, but there was plenty to do at the house itself. There is a pool table, air hockey, which had a ping pong table top in the closet, and a foosball table. The view is very nice and the owner is amazing to work with. I absolutely recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Vacation Destination

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

This house was great for our family vacation. We had seven adults and one toddler. The house is located at the West end of Galveston island. Far enough to get away from the "tourists" on the main strip. The house is part of the Pointe West Beach Club where we ate on the restaurant's outdoor balcony overlooking the club's infinity pool. The club has evening entertainment for the entire family. The first night included Hula and Hawaiian fire dancers. The club's private beach is walking distance for some. The house is also walking distance to several pools, including a lazy river and wading pool for small kids. There is plenty of entertainment in the house after spending those long days at the beach. The great room includes a pool table, fooseball table, and an air hockey table. There is a Wii gaming system, Xbox, lots of DVDs to watch on the large flat-panel television. The location, access to the Pointe West Beach Club, and the almost excessive amount of games in the house makes this a must for large families wanting to be together without losing that resort feel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We thank you for the positive review, and we really try to make this a no regrets vacation, and have things with at least the things we would want if going on a vacation with our family. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review