reviews for: listing #76321 - Islamorada, Florida Condo rental

Beautiful Oceanfront Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sea Gulls Condos
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,595 /wk

sort by:

location, location, location

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

We shared this condo with another couple. We'd been to the keys, so we chose Islamorada, our favorite area. Most days we spent half time at the property and half time out doing the Keys. An quick jaunt to Pennecamp State Park, Robbie's, Anne's Beach, easy walks to breakfast and easier yet to sit on the balcony and soak up the views. We played tennis on property with some old rackets we found in the closet.It's a 10 or fewer minute drive north or south to just about anything we wanted to do.
Condo was spotless and stocked with all we needed. Nice linens. We cooked a couple of times and had everything we wanted and more. Owner was extremely helpful in setting up our stay and recommending highlights of the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Very Fine Place to Stay - Pictures are accurate.

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Wonderful place! So much better than we even imagined. My daughters loved the pool with a great view of the beach. I awoke early every single morning to catch all of the gorgeous sunrises! The 5th floor views are outstanding. In addition to having a lovely place to stay, with great views - this place felt like home. Great to have a washer & dryer on the same floor, and nice office/lounge with a good view and books. I can't imagine a better location: very quiet, convenient to large supermarket and movie theater, not too far from Miami airport yet Key West is do-able for a day. We enjoyed Theater of the Seas (even if it is a bit touristy), off-shore fishing, and Zachary Taylor park in Key West. Also recommend Monkey Jungle near Miami - fascinating place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A bit Disappointed

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

I had some dissapointments. After leaving, I received a letter from the owner stating that there were stains on the carpets and floors that required deep cleaning and therefore, my security deposit would not be refunded. This was puzzling as we rarely ate in and my wife and I are ver cleanly. Next, the owner did not tell us that the condo complex was being painted. Between the men, the fumes and the noise, we had to leave the unit from 9 to 5 everyday. Finally, the complex is a bit old and tired and not very well located.

Owners response: I appreciate the feedback but wanted to address the issues mentioned by this renter. This is the first complaint I have received in the more than 10 years I have been renting this condo--and the first time I have ever been required to withhold a security deposit.

The renter stayed in the condo for two weeks and had multiple means of contacting me throughout his stay. He never complained during his stay and had even remarked that he had a good time and that the issues he mentioned were not significant. The facility maintenance ran later than anticipated due to a rainy summer and the facility management made a good faith effort to be accommodating by providing free passes to a nearby beach and pool during the affected days.

The condo was, plain and simple, left in poor condition upon the renter's departure, and additional services were required to satisfactorily return the unit to top condition. This may be partially due to the fact that he had more guests in the condo than he stated in his contract.

As for the location of the complex, I am unsure what he is critical of--the unit's location is well publicized and it is near many great amenities. Many photos are provided showing the building, grounds, surroundings, and unit. They do not distort or hide the building's conditions or surroundings--and Sea Gulls remains one of Islamorada's finest.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Little piece of peaceful paradise

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

This condo is perfect for one or two couples or a family. The view from the balconey was superb. The condo was very neat and well cared for, and the grounds were also in great shape. The pool was a great plus, we enjoyed almost every day of our stay. The condo is close enough to shopping, grocery, restaurants all within a bike ride or very short car ride. We didn't have a single thing to complain about the whole stay. The owner was extremely nice and a pleasure to deal with. Hope to do the whole thing over again next winter!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review