reviews for: listing #76342 - Clayton, Georgia House rental

Kingwood Resort Built in 2009, Golf Course - Mountain Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kingood Resort
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $189 - $289 /nt
    $895 - $1,195 /wk

sort by:

New Year Vacation - Family Trip

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Our family has celebrated the last two New Year holiday's (2013 & 2014) in Clayton, GA. This was our first stay in this lovely home. We would like to continue the tradition each year....hopefully this beautiful and accommodating home will be available. The house was perfect for our family of 6. We have four teenage children ages 13-16, the lower level of the house was exactly perfect for them. The three bedrooms/2 bathrooms downstairs were more than accomadating. Having two full size kitchens is an absolute plus if sharing the house with more than one family.

The master suite was a huge treat....with a jacuzzi tub. The living areas are beautiful with nice views throughout the entire house. The fireplaces were appreciated as the weather outside was perfect for a nice fire indoors.

The travel time between Clayton to North Carolina or South Carolina was well within an hour in either direction. Plenty of sites to see and places to visit.

Clayton is a beautiful little town and has been the best vacation to begin the new year. It is my new favorite destination.

The owner was very nice and pleasant to deal with as well as accomadating. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with our family. This vacation was the best thanks to your comfortable home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family getaway!

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

This is our third year renting this lovely home. Each year is fantastic - the weather was cool and sunny. It has something for all ages, our kids range from 15 to 3 and everyone loves going to Clayton! This home has stunning views and is well stocked for cooking in. The upstairs and downstairs areas create such a nice environment so that the kids can watch movies and play pool, while the adults can socialize (and watch football) upstairs. We love that we feel "away in the mountains" yet it is a short drive to Clayton and such a cute town! We can't wait for our next visit!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It's nice to know that you're not just a repeat but a 3-peat guest.
I guess that says it all. Thanks again for the wonderful review.
We are so glad you enjoy our home as much as we do.
Yes; Clayton is one of the friendliest town's in the USA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Meeting Location

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

Very nice house with good views. We used the house for a small business meeting and team building get-a-way. House was clean and accomodated our 5 people easily. Plenty of room for everyone and very relaxing. All information and descriptions of property were accurate.
Recommend rafting Ocoee River w NOC for adventure and Dillard House for food. Both are within 15 minute drive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad to hear another guest enjoyed their stay. We want all our guests to think of our home as their home away from home.Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clayton, GA Mountain Home

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

This is the second Thanksgiving our extended family has spent the week at this home. The location is great and the home plus amenities exceeds expectations. Some of the family has a home in Mountain City so we had 19 for Thanksgiving dinner both years and it was truly memorable.

The owner is so accommodating he is having a book we left behind mailed to us. I recommend the house and owner to anyone planning to rent in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyed the home

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We liked this Cabin and the gof course. Will definately be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The house is furnished with everything you need and more. It has been kept in excellent condition. The photos are quite accurate as well as the description of the property. I would definitely recommend this property to friends or family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magnificent Vacation

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

My only complaint is that I did not respond with a review before the Family who stayed 9/20/12. My excuse was that I was in the middle of planning my Wife’s 60th Birthday with a 50’s Theme. I could have reassured the family planning to stay for their sons wedding that they would have been totally satisfied.
My immediate family attended the wedding of a close friend’s daughter a Chota Falls, within 10 minutes of the Kingwood Resort. Although the location was at a different place, the Kingwood Resort personnel were very accommodating to the wedding guest throughout the festivities.
With regards to our stay at the Vacation Rental we could not have been more pleased. From the moment we walked in at 1:30 a.m., after a long drive from South Florida, until we left six days later we knew we had made the right choice and told ourselves over and over that “We Will Be Back.” (Yes we arrived at 1:30 a.m. and had no problem entering the house, using the internet, or preparing for our six day stay.) The home was very comfortable and had everything we needed and then some. There was absolutely nothing that anyone could want for that was not available within the home.
We awoke to the beautiful views, beautiful weather, and realization that our 9 member family with a newborn and small child had picked the perfect location to stay in the Northeast Georgia Mountains. After obtaining provisions for our stay we were off to the locations recommended by the owner to visit during our stay. The restaurants, side trips and activities provided by word of mouth by the owner and in the brochures within the home kept us busy when we weren’t attending wedding activities. (The entire family enjoyed watching my three year old grandson feed goats at Goats on the Roof for over two hours.)
As a family of mostly public servants for over 30 years we realize you can’t please all of the people all of the time (Devil is in the Details Review) but there are some who will complain about everything, even though they had to bite their tongue and admit the place was nice. My 60 years young wife is a native South Floridian and she walked up and down the driveway and throughout the community for exercise daily.
If you want to read further you can, (Wonderful Stay, Perfect, Great Place, Dream Getaway, Pictures don’t do it Justice, ) but you will see the same in every review only the adjective used to described this magnificent location may be different.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Our son got married at Kingwood Country Club and we rented the house for a long weekend. It was beautiful (the pictures don't do it justice).Don't let the steep driveway scare you. It looks worse than it is. I spoke with the owner several times before going and he was very nice and helpful. We had 9 people staying there and it was perfect for a large family gathering. Everyone had there own space and with 4 bathrooms we could all get ready for the wedding easily. The weather was gorgeous and we all had a great time.We had the rehearsal dinner at the Tiger Winery and I would highly recommend the resteraunt there for dinner or lunch (they are only open on Fridays for dinner). Everyone wants to go back and stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you chose my home to be a part of a very Special Occassion. It's nice to know my home exceeded your expectations.
Congratulations!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Devil is in the Details

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We had several significant issues during our 2 day stay in July. The code we were given to the key lock box was incorrect. The owner could not be reached for over 2 hours. He lives hundreds of miles away, and there is no local support. The owner was unapologetic until he realized the mistake was his. When other issues came up like no internet access, the response was "well that's never happened before." You get the sense that in this property, you are on your own if any difficulties arise.
While the accommodations are actually nice, I would not return. I found the risks outweigh the benefits.
Also, the driveway is unusually steep and could be hazardous if slick.

Owners response: As we all know, there are 2 sides to every story. The statements made in this review ARE FALSE. The comment made by the guest, that owner could not be reached for 2 hours is only true because Owner had no Cell service, as Owner was out of range in his own travels for a small interval of time, which was just AN ACT OF GOD! Secondly, The comment made that there was no internet service was FALSE AGAIN. The guest did not know how to use the EhterNet Cable to their Laptop. ALso, My Inertnet was being UPGRADED TO WIRELESS that weekend, so we are WIRELESS AS OF JULY 12, 2012! Thirdly, as we all know, mountain homes do have some steep driveways and if you are not use to travelling in the mountains, it may be a bit more challenging to some. However, this driveway is far more upgraded and is 12 feet wide and Prodessionally Paved with Sand added to mix for better traction to be sure it is More SAfe and Adequate for my guests! My House Caretaker even called to offer any help to the guest Immediately after I obtained cell service and realized the lockbox code was changed but I had never recieved the new code via Text since I had no Cell service for a few hours, on a fluke. So ANOTHER LIE about No One locally available-SO UNTRUE! We Value our Guests and want them to know WE DO CARE! Sincerely, Bob Cable-Proud Owner! Everyone of my reviews are Positive, but there is always that one person you can never make happy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

The pictures do not show the true beauty of this cabin and its surroundings. We were a group of girls in the area for Warrior Dash/Girls Getaway. The minute we walked into the cabin we were amazed.Bob the owner was a pleasure to work with and very flexable. We are planning our next trip in the future. The location is near everything in town.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here.

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Just got home from a weeks stay at this house. All I can say is that everything was perfect! Nicely decorated, clean, comfortable, roomy etc. Perfect place to stay for a family. Great views from either of the TWO wrap-around decks. If you're looking for a place to stay in the area you can't go wrong with this house. The location is perfect too. A ride into town is only 5 minutes but you feel like you're a million miles away. Look no further!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks again for the very Kind words. We try to make our home your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for family or multi-family getaway...

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

My wife, son, and I shared this home with friends and their children. The layout is perfect for a family or two couples to spend time together, but allows for plenty of privacy too. The home was spotless, beds were comfortable, and everything seemed brand new. The owner was easy to work with, always available by phone or email, and very personable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words!
We try very hard to please our guests and make them Feel Right at Home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

My family and I stayed here and had a small reunion. The photos don't do it justice. This cabin is amazing and BIG. The location is perfect, and on a clear night you can sit on the deck and see a ton of stars.

I'd certainly stay here again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks again for the Kind words. We hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Dream Getaway Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

The owner was very understanding, prompt, courteous, and helpful in all aspects of our booking. He was also very accommodating when we had to adjust our arrival date to an earlier arrival. Our family could not believe how beautiful the house was. We did not expect such a dream home, from the adventure up the driveway to the stars, crickets and fireflies at night. We did not want to go home and cannot wait to return. Our adventure took us from casual play of ping pong, & shooting pool in the downstairs section of the home, to the out in town courteous and friendly people, to White water rafting just 10 miles away from the house. We can’t wait to return for a Fall & Winter visit to view the spectacular colors of the changing of the Autumn leaves, to the snow filled winter wonderland of white snow covered hills & mountains. This place is worth every penny & more. We will definitely tell our friends & family so that they can also come along on the next getaway to enjoy as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Again, We Thank You for the kind words. We are very proud of our home and want our guests to Feel RIGHT AT HOME!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for 2 families!

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

This is the second year my family has vacationed in this home. Owner has been very accommodating to address any concerns and scheduling. The home is beautiful and perfect for 2 families. The description online is very accurate. The surrounding area is beautiful and very convenient to many activities. I would recommend this home to anyone who wants plenty of room to relax and enjoy the beautiful view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for another Great Review. It is nice to know that my renters enjoy COMING BACK, Year after Year!.
We appreciate YOU, your family and of course, Your Business!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The pictures only do it partial justice

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

I use VRBO often and always rely heavily on the pictures posted by the owner to get a sense for the property available before renting. All I can say is that the pictures here only do this cabin partial justice. We were blown away the moment we stepped foot inside the cabin. It's absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! The owner did a fantastic job planning the space so that it meets a variety of needs. Our group consisted of 4 women staying in Clayton for a combo Warrior Dash/Birthday Celebration/Girls Getaway. Each one of us remarked on how we can't wait to visit again and book this cabin. Whether you are looking for a vacation spot, a weekend getaway, a local accomodation while in the area for an event or a family reunion, you will NOT be disappointed in this rental. Additionally, Bob (the owner) was by far the most responsive and accomodating rental owner that I have worked with. He even called the evening of our arrival date to make sure we arrived safely and that we had everything we needed. NICE! Do yourself a favor and BOOK THIS CABIN TODAY! Last but not least, not only is the cabin beautiful but so is the entire residential area where the cabin is located. We enjoyed morning walks each day in addition to basking in the sun out on the HUGE back deck. The cabin is VERY close to dining, convenience stores, etc, which is great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is nice to know that people ON THE GO appreciate Great Accomodations. It is also such a great feeling to receive all these compliments. I appreciate them and I appreciate your business. It is my pleasure to provide you that WARM FEELING OF BEING RIGHT AT HOME, while in fact, you are on vacation. It pays to care about the customer as much as they appreciate MY HOME. Many Thanks, Bob Cable-OWNER!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal Get-away

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

This was our third visit to Kingwood. We always enjoy the spacious two story home. It is well furnished and very appropriate for our relaxation. We enjoy playing table games, watching a good movie, and playing pool. We have discovered several good places to eat. Clayton Cafe is lunch only, Henry's Restaurant is buffet and Mama G's has a very tender steak. Looking forward to our next trip to Kingwood.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks again for the Very Kind Words! It's my pleasure to make everyone feel like family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home in a great setting

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

This home in a resort community was very lovely and was quite new. It sits overlooking the golf course and is surrounded by mountain views. There are 2 decks for capturing the views. It is in great shape and very clean. We had booked over New Years but had a family emergency and couldnt go but called the owner and he allowed us to reschedule to another weekend. Owner was very accommodating and easily reached by phone with questions, etc. We would certainly stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this Fantastic Home

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

We spent Christmas with my Family in this wonderful home In Clayton. The house is beautiful and has great views of the golf course. Loved the downstairs with the pool table and ping pong. We will be back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you JONES Family!
I am so Proud and excited that Everyone who stays at my home, Loves my home!
Thanks for the nice Comments and Please come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful spacious get away with EVERYTHING imaginable

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

What a wonderful house - we had five adults and two children together in one house for a week. The kids had a blast playing ping pong trying to beat the adults. The cabin is close to great hiking (both easy and difficult) with gorgeous views. We ate at different restaurants in downtown Clayton for lunch and they were great! The kitchen was well stocked and the house is just perfect! Working with Bob reserving the cabin and then the experience of the rental week/ taking care of questions was a pleasure. He made everything so easy and enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a Great Feeling it is to have someone appreciate my home and their family vacation experience so much, that they write such a pleasant and refreshing review. Thanks Again and Please Come Back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic property and location !

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

The home is absolutely beautiful and played a big part in the success of my son's wedding held at Kingwood. We were able to entertain and relax with friends and family in a truly lovely home with all the amenities. The 2 floor arrangement is perfect for families or friends to share one house but allowing for plenty of privacy. Bob, the owner is a pleasure to work with and is very responsive to all questions or concerns. We would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Another Great Review. I am so Pleased that all my guests find my home a cozy, comfortable place for their entire family. To know that it Hosted many folks attending a wedding at Kingwood Resort, makes me Proud. I Hope you refer more family and friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kingwood Resort Rental

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

We knew from the photos online that this was going to be a nice place to stay, but it was even better than we had imagined. The house is very well furnished with a complete kitchen and a master bedroom with a walk-in closet on each level. The owner was very helpful and informative each time we spoke on the phone. We are making plans to return in the fall. Be sure to dine a Mama G's Italian Restaurant. The pizza and steaks are delicious. For lunch, try the Clayton Cafe on Main St for some good veggies.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the GREAT REVIEW!
We are so excited that EVERYONE that stays at our home ABSOLUTELY LOVES IT and THAT THEY GOT MORE THAN THEY EVER EXPECTED!
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely beautiful! It was so peaceful!

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Perfect vacation! Could not find anything wrong with our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks again for being our guests!
We are so glad to hear ANOTHER GREAT REVIEW by a satisfied Guest. It seems that EVERYONE loves our home and wants to come back.
We have put a lot of Love in our home. We thought of the BEST LAYOUT for our Guests and furnished it to have a Warm and Cozy feeling of being in a Mountain home. The views from our decks are absolutely MAGNIFICENT!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 30, 2009   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

Oct. 12- Oct. 19., 2009

From the moment you step through the front doors all you can say is "WOW". This home was designed and built with a great deal of love. With a downstairs apartment complete with kitchen, stone fireplace and three bedrooms, this house is ideal for family get-togethers or friends that want to vacation together but still want to have their privacy. With two separate living areas with TV's in the upstairs part of the house (which is where my husband and I rented) it's great for couples that have kids and like to watch different things. Bob Cable was extremely easy to work with and very accomodating. Put this all together with the fact it's on one of the best golf courses we've played on in that area, I give it AAAA rating!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

This house was the perfect arrangement for our multi-generational family and we were delighted with it. The house was clean, well-furnished and exactly as described. We were in the area for a family reunion at Chatooga Belle Farm and found Kingwood the perfect location to be able to enjoy apple-picking, rafting, hiking, etc. The owner was very accomodating and prompt in our dealings with him and we definitely plan to return.
Frances & L.J. Annapolis, MD

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

The home was absolutely beautiful! Everything was clean and new! We were in town for a funeral and had everything we needed to cook for our family. We plan to return soon!
Bob, thank you for your kindness and helpfulness!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

This is a beautiful new house with all the features you could ask for. Everything you would want or need is s supplied. Internet access is a real plus. Bob, the owner, was a pleasure to work with. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

We stayed at this home for a week and it was great. We enjoyed the deck on both levels of the home, they were great both morning and evening. The drive to the home is really nice, the neighborhood is wrapped around a beautiful golf course.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

This is a wonderful home! Exactly as described. We found everything we needed for our stay. Even the light switches were marked, and night lights were available in each room.
The sunset views were incredible. The firefly's lite up the trees every evening! Everyone enjoyed their stay.
The size of the home gave every one plenty of space to relax in. We would stay again when in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review