reviews for: listing #76352 - Newport, Oregon House rental

Nye Beach Oceanview Home With Free Nights @ D'Getaway
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Nye Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $165 /nt
    $690 - $990 /wk
    $1,800 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Place

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

Had some issues getting into the house, the house keeper took the key with them when they left, but the lady was able to get the maintenance guys over and they got us into the house, Was very pleased with the location and also the furnature and beds, They were quite comfy and everything was in order, I would ask for a roll or two more of paper towels, as we went through some cleaning up the counters and cooking/washing hands for prepping food. Other than that our stay was great! and price was perfect Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely house with ocean view

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

Our family recently stayed in Newport for 4 days, 2 days we had our daughters family with two granddaughters. The house was perfect. We cooked in, and ate the meals with the Ocean view from the dining area. We walked on the beach and enjoyed a good night sleep on the comfortable bed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay and celebrated our birthdays with sightseeing, shopping and great food. Lots to do and we were very pleased with the accommodation. This is a place to relax or to find activities to do.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring break get away

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

We wanted to take our kids for a short trip during spring break; the coast was a good option but we didn't know where to stay. DeGetaway was the perfect solution. We were close to the beach for our kids and close to everything we wanted to do in town. The house is adorable and was well stocked. The cable and WiFi were convenient. The reservation process was easy! Thanks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fair price but the house needs some love!

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

The house met our needs but should be better taken care of by owner/manager. The walls and doors have scuffs and scratches. One of the living room couches had a HUGE tear in it. It had ample space for our things but definitely didn't get a good night's sleep on the two twins! Like sleeping on a box spring. It is definitely...okay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The tear on the sofa was noted as being on the underside of the chair and not interfering with the functionality of the seat. It definitely does not look good but there was no quick fix as the leather ripped at the stitches, and stapling and/or taping may cause other problems. Thanks for the notification on the twin beds. I get this notification at times and discover that the cleaners flipped the mattress and the underside of the mattress is left on top. Definitely a no-no. I will look at scratches/scuffs in my next visit sometime this month of April 2014.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home away from home

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

I grew up in Newport, and needed a place to stay with my 3 kids (16, 15, and 11) when we were celebrating my mom and grandma's birthdays. D'Getaway was clean, comfy and charming. We wish we could have stayed longer! Newport is a small enough town that you are close to everything. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Cozy, Convenient location

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

Had a very relaxing, restful stay. Found the house to be clean, well stocked, and very well kept.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Scrapper

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

This home was perfect for our weekend. We planned a scrapbook weekend. There was plenty of room to set up all our tools and leave them out all weekend. The house was clean and well maintained. The location is perfect if you like to shop or eat in the Historic Nye Beach District.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

The home was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the short walk to the Nye Beach downtown area. Making the reservation, getting detailed feedback about accessing the unit and recommended sites to visit was exceptional. It was nice to have a garage for our car at night. A small car works best but unique for us as we are used to staying at hotels or motels and having to leave our car out in a busy parking lot. Very cozy with the gas fireplace.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, house was very comfortable for our family which includes a 12 month baby. Location was a nice walk into Newport shops and to the beach. Would recommend to our friends and family. Property was nicely decorated and had everything we needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Very clean and cozy. Great proximity to the beach. Missing some keys.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lovely stay

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

This house was perfect for our stay. We enjoyed the home. It was cozy and open. The beach was definitely close enough to walk to and we had perfect weather. The owners were easy to work with and overall out experience was excellent. Thanks for opening your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Nye Beach Place

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

What a great value. We had a really nice time here. The house is beautiful and the owner added little touches (soap, coffee supplies, sand toys) that made our stay more enjoyable. The house is minutes from downtown Nye Beach and the public access area to the beach. The house sits on a dead end street that you can look out to the ocean at the top of a barricaded cliff area. Nice to watch sunsets. If you have small kids, be aware that there is a steep flight of stairs from the entry/bedroom area up to the main living area. All in all excellent stay. Don't miss Nana's Irish Pub, The Chowder House, and Cafe Stephanie in Nye Beach. Also, the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Yaquina Head Lighthouse/tidepools. Clean and beautiful place. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

What a great trip. The house is a block away from the beach and is perfect. We couldn't have asked for more and appreciate Delia's follow-up and help. Definitely recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a Girls' Weekend

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

After searching for what seemed like an eternity for the perfect spot to host a Girls' Weekend we found D'Getaway. I must say, the search was worth it! There are 4 beds (3 twins and 1 queen) plus an air mattress if needed. If you don't mind sharing the queen, it sleeps 6. There is also a couch that can double as a bed.
Two bathrooms were absolutely necessary (6 ladies in one house for the weekend - yeah...), but it's good to stagger the shower times.
The kitchen was almost fully stocked. We would have liked some aluminum foil and ziploc bags for our leftover food.
We thought that a nice addition would be coat hooks on the wall across from the washer/dryer, plus a bench to sit on to take off shoes. Also, the porch light wasn't working while we were there and the numbers on the house are as dark as the house, so it was difficult when arriving at night to see clearly.

We loved the proximity to the beach and especially loved the gas fireplace!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy by the Ocean

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this Nye Beach home. The beach is within walking distance and the views are beautiful. We traveled to nearby lighthouses and tidepools to see lots of wild sealife. The home is very cozy and it's bigger than the pictures make it look. We really enjoyed our time in Newport and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

?

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

The location was great. The beach and shops walking distance. The house was nice and clean. The only thing was that their wasn't much seating. The feel of the house could of been a little cozier. Over all it was nice.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your valuable input. Many have suggested that I add area rugs to make it homier but because the house is a haven for allergy sufferers like myself, I have to just resort to a fuzzy throw blanket that can be laid out in front of the fireplace/TV, and can easily get washed in between renters. Haha...I know it's a long shot but I hope every renter that reads this will use that as an area rug from here on. Hope you'd seen it...has yellow green leaves on it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

What a beautiful vacation home - it was so nice, clean and comfortable for our vacation with our 2 boys (ages 7 and 3). As well as being comfortable, it was also very nicely decorated and very well thought out. You could tell that plenty of thought was put into stocking the house - games, movies, laundry soap, etc. - everything was thought of. We also appreciated the garage to park in at night, and the washer/dryer. Delia kept in great contact with us and made sure that all of our questions were answered.

The beach is only 2 houses away and you are only 5 minutes from the heart of Nye Beach with plenty of shopping, dining, etc. - great location! While we were in Newport we visited the Oregon Coast Aquarium and the Hatfield Marine Science Center - both are highly recommended. We also went whale watching in Depoe Bay, and even saw 2 whales.

What a wonderful vacation and rental - we would definitely stay at this house again - five stars!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderfully enthusiastic review! I am truly grateful. It makes me sooo happy to know my guests had a great time. Thanks for taking the time to share your vacation experience.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely stay in a lovely home

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This house was lovely and comfortable. There were only two of us, but certainly we would have been comfortable with 2 or 3 more. The house was well equipped with everything we needed and so wonderfully close to the beach. Thanks so much for opening your house to us. We will certainly return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You and yours are always welcome. Until next marathon?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Newport, Oregon Rental

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Our family was exceptionally pleased with this vacation home. We have stayed in many timeshares in various parts of the country and this home surpassed all of those. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. It was quite attractively decorated and very clean, with appealing wall colors and beautiful wood floors. It is apparent the owner has made an effort to provide everything needed for a pleasant and carefree stay. She thoughtfully supplies her guests with soap, some toiletries, washing powder, dishwasher detergent, pantry items, games, books, cds, and even a kite to fly on the beach. We appreciated her e-mails sent in advance with detailed instructions and information about the house, as well as information about favorite restaurants and interesting area activities. This home is centrally located in an older, but colorful and fun part of Newport. If we ever get to return to this area, we would hope to stay in this home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: My cup runneth over with joy! Thank you sooo much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Beach Getaway

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here with our 10 month-old baby. The great room upstairs with the hardwood floors was fantastic for our little one to crawl. He had so much room to move!

The location in relation to landmarks is fantastic. Nice little ocean view from the dining area. All the comforts from home including an iPod dock!

One thing about the location that was disappointing is Spring Street is a high traffic area. We found it difficult to just read books quietly while our baby was napping. The amount of cars and trucks going by was distracting. Plus, the neighbors across the street blared their music all afternoon and into the evening. We were happy they shut Metallica off prior to 10pm, otherwise we were gearing up for a noise complaint.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice rental

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

Nice place to stay for our family vacation. Good location. Clean and modern.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our new vacation spot

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We had an amazing visit! The house is beautiful, has everything you need. It's a stones throw away from the beach, has a fully equipped kitchen, romantic fireplace....the list goes on. This review issolely based on the home because we were visiting on Christmas so the area businesses were mostly closed. However, we did drive and walk around and there was quite a bit to offer. We will definitely be back, we have told our family and friends and plan to make this our regular vacation spot! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow...5 stars. I'm speechless from gratitude. You're such marvelous folks and a great source of joy :D Will welcome your families and friends anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nov. 10 - 13

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect. Nice view of the ocean. Lots of space to spread out our scrapbooking tools.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm very grateful that you chose to stay with us. It's very heartwarming to know that you had a good time and we were able to facilitate that. :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful house & host!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Wonderful house with plenty of room and nicely detailed decor. Kitchen was well stocked with equipment and appreciated the available coffee in the morning. Bathrooms are beautifully painted. Very clean and comfortable with a hint of some luxury. Short walk to the beach and to the historic Nye district. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: You're very welcome and always welcome, Tom. Thanks for such appreciative and kind words.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Holiday weekend with my son and family

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We loved our stay in this wonderful home. It was everything as advertised and much more. Delia was so very helpful in providing information. The home was very clean and was supplied with extra items that made us feel so much at home, such as music, books, videos and even coffee and other items in the kitchen. My six-year-old grandson said that "It was the best vacation ever!"

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm so blessed to have such wonderful and grateful families like yourselves as renters. I cherish every kind word that you sent my way, Pat. Please hug your grandson for me...he's a sweetheart.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time was had by all!

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

I am so glad that this place was available for our stay. Great layout, very clean and homey. The early check-in/late check-out was fantastic!!!! We had already gone to the store, picked up Chowder Bowl, ate and were completely unpacked and relaxed all before we normally would be able to check into a place. The weather was cold but clear, but we were so comfortable we never left! We filled this placed with good food, a lot of laughter and wonderful memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great House, we LOVED everything about it!

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

We loved the house it was so great! We would definitly stay here again if my Fiance and I didn't decide to move to Newport! Delia is a wonderful lady and I would definitly reccomend staying here it was so nice to have a house to ourselves and not have to worry about people above or below us, and the late check out time would be nice if you lived a little closer to Newport. We live 8 hours away so we had to leave by 10 : (
I reccomend this house to anyone! we had 5 people Myself 20, my Fiance 24, my Grandma 60, my Brother 13, and my Mother 40. Everyone loved it and it was spacious and open... Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

1st time renter - wonderful experiance

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

listing is accurate; photos are true; clean & well maintained; owner very helpful; yes I would recommed it; all of Newport; walking on beach; tide pooling; flying kites; seafood and more seafood!
We have never rented a house prior to this. What a wonderful experience! With 3 adults and 4 kids (2 babies), the house was just right on the fit. When we walked in the WOW factor was very high. So homey and welcoming, the only thing we needed to add was food!! Great kitchen, with bbq available on the balcanay. Great location, great price, great people. We will be back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A GREAT BEACH HOUSE!!

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

We had a fantastic time at the House in Newport!! Great layout,spacious and bright. The kitchen was so good that in 4 days we only ate out once-very rare for us. Our college age son felt very comfortable here,as his naps on the comfortable couch will attest to. Four days of sun helped us enjoy the Tidepools, Lighthouse, Aquarium, Science Ctr., Undersea Gardens, Sea Lions, Mo's Restaurant, Nye Beach, etc. The House is very centrally located to everything that we needed! Great relaxing time. Thank you, Delia.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

Copied from Property Review in TripAdvisor:

My family and I have stayed at this property now for the past three years.

And we love it!

Everything from the view, location, and the house itself has been top notch. The owner has taken immaculate care of this home, and it has always been impecably clean. She staffs a great house keeper, and has always gone the extra mile to make sure that we were well taken care of. Everything from the booking to check out, it truley has been a stress free vacations for me and my family. It's one of those secrets you don't want everyone to find out about.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review