reviews for: listing #76370 - Nashville, Tennessee Cabin rental

Little Dove Cottage at Stay Down On The Farm
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $128 - $178 /nt

sort by:

Little Dove Cottage

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to find a newly constructed cabin on a perfectly secluded site. Could not have asked for accommodations more immaculate. Little Dove was so well stocked with anything and everything that there was little want for anything. Billy and Beth were there at our every beckoning call. Yet yielded to our privacy for the most perfect birthday celebration ever. ..our own little private island! The must see sites that Beth recommended surely helped make the best use of our too short stay. The Country Music Hall of Fame was one to remember. Oh...and the drug store sure brought back fond memories. Not to mention Longhollow and Sumner Crest Wineries. Of all the cottages we have stayed at Little Dove is the best. Not only would we recommend this cozy cottage to others we cannot wait to visit again...soon. We wish happy stays to all.

Owners response: It is always a pleasure to see and hear people enjoying and responding to our 20 year dream of sharing our property with others. Keeps us going and wanting to do more. It also makes all the hard work worth while. With all the wonderful experiences people have here we feel our opportunity to serve others is being fulfilled. We are humbled by all the kind words and know they are sincere because of all who are making a return visit. Our prayer is that we will continue to serve and meet the special needs of you, our guests. Thanks, Billy and Beth Wilkinson

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Wonderful, Peaceful Get-Away

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We were looking for a well equipped cabin in a safe, quiet location while our son attended Camp Electric in Nashville and found the Dove Cottage in Cottontown to be perfect! We enjoyed the privacy and natural surroundings; the sights and sounds of wild life...we saw wild turkeys (with babies), deer, raccoons and even had a humming bird hover right in front of us on the front porch one morning. Enjoyed the hiking trails on site, played a game of crochet and visiting near by small towns of White House and Cross Plains per Billy's recommendation. During our stay we caught a Grand Ole Opry show, visited the Gaylord Resort, taking the informational boat ride and catching one of choreographed colored water fountain shows, explored Shelby park in Nashville and played some disc golf there (corner of 17th and Sevier streets), walked asphalted wooded trail at park in White House & ate at Hollywood Grill & Fun Center there, explored Cross Plains and had milkshakes at the old fashioned drug store there, saw a play at Springfield High by the Robertson County Players, and misc. shopping and dining around Nashville. We elected to sleep in the loft which was quite comfortable. Just a real relaxing time away that was sorely needed. Billy was great for any needs we had during the stay. One note: the cottage does not have a dishwasher as noted on Homeaway.com. And it would be nice to get a remote for the DVD player. I highly recommend this cottage though and would surely stay here again. :-))

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Little Dove Cottage"

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

Sorry, one mistake! Johnson's is open for breakfast and lunch, not lunch and dinner. Sorry for the mistake, but don't miss it either!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Dove Cottage

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

After a much-needed respite from the winter up north, we were very, very pleased to pull in to see "Little Dove Cottage"! It was immaculate and offered every amenity you could every want!
The owners are very nice people, who aim to please, which they did! The house is lovely, filled with country charm, and beautiful scenery. Only a short drive from Nashville, but such a serene place to return after a day of sightseeing. A don't miss is the County Music Hall of Fame and my husband loved The Hermitage. Also, we took Beth's suggestions on restaurants, and a don't miss is "Johnson's Crossroads Cafe"! It is a very quaint restaurant with great food. Open for lunch and dinner. The owner and staff couldn't have been nicer.
Our only regret is that we could not spend a week, and only had a short time at "Little Dove Cottage" . Perfect place to reflect, enjoy the beautiful scenery, and just plain relax! It is a lovely place, and our only hope is that we get to return again soon! Thank you to Beth, Billy and their son. You couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful! God Bless you all.
Bill and Margaret Balestri

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love this cottage

Review submitted: November 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

This is a beautiful cottage that is private yet close enough to Nashville and area attractions. The cottage is well built and maintained. It was extremely clean and well stocked with all that is needed for that much needed getaway. The owners, Billy and Beth were friendly and easy to deal with. Beth greeted us upon arrival and recommended many wonderful places and area attractions. Our family had a great time in the area thanks to Beth. I would highly recommend this cabin and look forward to returning again in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great experience

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We had a great time. It is a great cabin - very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed. The owner couldn't have been nicer.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Weeklong Getaway

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Cabin? No, a beautiful home situated among towering trees, gorgeous farm land, pond, wild turkeys and white tail deer. The cottage was everything we expected and more. We loved our stay and would highly recommend the place to anyone who wants to visit Nashville yet be away from all the city traffic at the end of the day. The owners, Billy and his wife, were friendly and most helpful at each step of our reservations and stay.

There were five of us, coming from three different states to spend a week of sightseeing in the Nashville, Franklin, and Bowling Green areas. I just can't say enough positive comments to say how I feel about our visit but, if you are looking for a great get-a-way, this is the one for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks much for staying with us and thanks for the respect you show for us and our place. Always easy when people have respect for themselves and others. Hope you can come again and I will long remember our conversations. Both Beth and I knew before we were married how wonderful it was to be so close to Nashville yet be able in 25 minutes to be in the quite surrounding of the country. That much has not changed and hope it never does. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Getaway at Dove Cottage

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Cabin? No, a beautiful home situated among towering trees, gorgeous farm land, pond, wild turkeys and white tail deer. The cottage was everything we expected and more. We loved our stay and would highly recommend the place to anyone who wants to visit Nashville yet be away from all the city traffic at the end of the day. The owners, Billy and his wife, were friendly and most helpful at each step of our reservations and stay.

There were five of us, coming from three different states to spend a week of sightseeing in the Nashville, Franklin, and Bowling Green areas. I just can't say enough positive comments to say how I feel about our visit but, if you are looking for a great get-a-way, this is the one for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks much for staying with us and thanks for the respect you showed us and our place. Always easy when people have respect for themselves and others. Hope you can come again and I will long remember our conversations. Both Beth and I knew before we were married how wonderful it was to be so close to Nashville yet be able in 25 minutes to be in the quite surrounding of the country. That much has not changed and hope it never does. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Delightful Stay at Dove and Candlelight Cottages

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We highly recommend Dove Cottage! It is a little bit of heaven just a few miles north of Nashville. The property is quiet and beautiful. The cabins (Dove and Candlelight) were clean, comfortable, and cozy. The hosts, Billy and Beth, were wonderful and gracious. This was the perfect place to relax and enjoy time with family. Looking forward to visiting again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to each and every guest. We know that this place has been ordained as a sanctuary, a place of rest, peace and relaxation. To see people enjoy this place is what makes all our effort worth while. Thank you and see you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a week at little dove cottage

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

The property was superb. The welcome from Billy & Beth first class. They made us feel very welcome at at home.
The property has an excellent location and was equipped with everything and more to make this a number one holiday spot.
We particularly enjoyed the quiet setting and the easy access it gave us to the surrounding area.
We both would recommend this to all who would wish to experience time out in a lovely setting.
The property was in an excellent condition and had been lovingly cared for by Billy & Beth who could have not been more helpful.
David

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Again as always it was our pleasure to serve such wonderful guest. Thanks for all the information and we will remember your visit on the farm for a long time to come. We really do hope to make the trip there to visit your area and Scotland. Thanks again Beth and Billy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and relaxing

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

This cute cabin is exactly as described and in photos. It is spacious, very well appointed and immaculately clean! The owners are lovely people that run a top notch place.

We stayed here for 2 nights while on a sightseeing trip of the TN/KY area. This was close enough to Nashville to be doable for seeing all the typical highlights, but removed enough to be a nice respite from the city at the end fo the day. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening and listening to the breeze in the trees and watching the fireflies in the grass.

The cabin itself was more than enough space for the 2 of us and had every comfort. Plenty of fresh towels, dishes, comfortable seating and room to spread out. If I have any comment at all, it would be that it would be nice to have better chairs for the deck. But, I will say that Beth made a point to come back with some camping chairs for us which helped, but sturdier (Andirondack type) chairs would be a welcome addition.

Beth was very kind and attentive at our check in and I cannot stress enough how neat, tidy and homey this little gem is. I am pretty picky when it comes to things like that and this surpassed my expectations.

It was the highlight of our trip as far as accomdations and I'd highly recommend this to anyone staying in the Nashville area.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: See the stars in Nashville or the many sites close by and be under the stars above in no time at all. We thought of many types of seating for the porches but came back with the idea they need to be something people could take off the porch, use around the campfire sites or in the grass and be light weight. So far that seems to fit most people. We are still thrilled when people come and enjoy what I think is a little slice of heaven.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

One of the best places we've ever stayed! So relaxing. Very clean and well stocked. (Needs a larger knife for chopping veggies) Loved this place! Owners Beth & Billy were so very nice. Loved the cat fish pond, caught some nice ones. Close enough to Nashville and the Kentucy line, lots to do. Deffinately go see the old fashion soda fountain at Thomas Drug Store. Ask Billy about the 1800's grave yard, it was unbelievable!! And the sun set from that spot is so beautiful. Walking the property is so peaceful. There were turkeys, rabbits, hawks and lots of other birds & plenty of squirrels.
Beth, Billy, Thank you so very much for the use of your beautiful Dove Cottage. Can't wait to see the finished new place, thanks for letting us look around in it, it's going to be very nice!! Have a great summer. We'll be back!! Angela

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Girls getaway

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

8 women in my family wanted to get together to celebrate several birthdays. We live in different states, and this was a central location for us. It was perfect. From the time we were greeted when we pulled up, everything was great. The house is cozy and warm, and the setting is amazing. We will definately be back again. Thanks to Beth and Billy, for a great family get together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls getaway

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

We had 8 women from the same family stay here. It was centrally located for us. We just wanted a place to stay that we could enjoy each others company in peace and quiet. This was the perfect spot. We loved it. It was a great place to stay. We will definately come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Still Love It

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

This was our third stay in the cottage. We love to come here for weekend get-aways. It's close enough to Nashville to go there for events. We mostly just love to hang around the house and enjoy the surroundings. The owners are really great people and have really worked hard to give others a home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

So Nice

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

We had a blast staying at the beautiful cabin with great friends for the weekend. It's close enough to Nashville yet far enough away to enjoy the country. Great beds and plenty of room to stretch out.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Place

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We have stayed across many states in many cabins and this was the best by far...cottage was gorgeous and clean, had all of the amenities we could want. Billy & Beth were gracious hosts and there was plenty to do nearby but you still feel like you were far away. We will absolutely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tennessee Gem

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

We have stayed at many different homes, and by far, this is one of our favorites! Lovely setting, peaceful atmosphere and a wonderful, well appointed and well kept home. A delightful place to stay in the Nashville area!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyed the story behind the name

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

My friends and I had a wonderful time here. Loved the peace & quiet, and the beautiful setting. The cottage was perfect for us, and well maintained! Enjoyed the front porch in the morning, and sitting outside by a fire, in the evening. Couldn't get over how QUIET it was. You could hear the acorns falling from the trees! It is close enough for sightseeing in Nashville, and far enough away for peace & quiet! The owners are very nice and enjoyed talking with them. If you know anyone looking for a place for an outdoor wedding/reception, they have a nice concreted shelter set back by the woods. I enjoyed my stay and would go back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dove Cottage

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Dove Cottage was the perfect place to stay for our visit to Nashville. Beth and Billy welcome you on your arrival and give you a tour of the facilities plus tips for your stay. The cottage was extremely clean and the grounds well manicured. I would recommend this property to anyone who enjoys a rural setting. We had a wonderful time and thank them for sharing their place with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dove cottage

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

What a nice surprise to find such a wonderful rual setting for our visit to Nashville! Beth met us on our arrival and gave us a tour of the facilities and suggestions for food and side trips. The cottage and the grounds were delightful. I would surely recommend staying at Dove Cottage if you are going to Tennessee. Beth and Billy are very hospitable and it shows in their reception and care of the cottage.
Thank you, we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls getaway weekend

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Our 10th year on our ladies getaway and I have to say this one is tops. We were greeted by a family member who made us feel so welcome. The place is beautiful and spotless. The property and house are cared for with much pride and truly The Wilkersons have the guest as top priority to make the stay the most memorable ever!!! If you want quiet, peaceful, beauty, spotless this is the place. We spent lots of time in Nashville and the convience was great. Lots of stores, shopping and restraunts very close. This is the place for friends, family or spouse. You will be BLESSED.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is a pleasure to serve such wonderful, respectful guest. What makes our place special is the special people that come and oh what a wonderful dip you made. Look forward to seeing you (and the dip) again. Thanks. Billy and Beth.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Our stay on the farm was lovely. It was absolutely beautiful. Very peaceful and tranquil. Not far from all the things to do in Nashville, but nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Would highly recommend Little Dove Cottage. Very Clean and the owners Billy and Beth were absolutely delightful!A Little piece of Heaven! Will definitely be going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Our stay on the farm was lovely. It was absolutely beautiful. Very peaceful and tranquil. Not far from all the things to do in Nashville, but nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Would highly recommend Little Dove Cottage. Very Clean and the owners Billy and Beth were absolutely delightful! Very hospitable! A little piece of Heaven! Will definitely be going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and Peaceful

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Our stay on the farm was lovely. It was absolutely beautiful. Very peaceful and tranquil. Not far from all the things to do in Nashville, but nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Would highly recommend Little Dove Cottage. Very Clean and the owners Billy and Beth were absolutely delightful! Will definitely be going back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Country Living

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We were looking for a cabin to stay in close to Nashville for a family wedding. This cottage was a great find. The owners are friendly and helpful. The cottage was very clean and well furnished. Our daughter was able to catch her first fish in the pond behind the house. If you are looking for a place to stay that is peaceful and secluded, look no further. You are close enough to "civilization" to get everything you need, but far enough in the country to hear nature! It is amazing how bright the stars look without all the lights from the city. The price is similar to a hotel room. You get a whole cabin for the price of a boxy room. We will definitely go back to what our daughter calls "the grey house".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Sawko's

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Little Dove Cottage is a gem nestled in the woods with beautiful sunsets. If you are looking for privacy, this is the place for you.Beth was very courteous. The cottage was very clean and neat. A real home away from home, and only 20 minutes from Nashville. Be sure to visit Thomas's Drug Store for an old fashioned soda fountain experience. We have spread the word to family and friends about Little Dove Cottage. The pictures do not do justice to the beauty of the property. If we decide to travel to Nashville in the future, we will defenitely be calling Billy and Beth at Stay Down on the Farm.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Sawko's

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

If you are looking for privacy, this is the place for you. Beth was very courteous. Little Dove Cottage was home away from home. Very clean and neat. Only 20 minutes from Nashville. Be sure to visit Thomas's Drug Store for an old fashioned soda fountain experience. If we decide to travel to Nashville again we will defenitely be calling Billy and Beth at Stay Down on the Farm. This cottage was a gem nestled in the woods on beautiful property with amazing sunsets.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Raymond Sawko

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Little Dove Cottage is a beautiful place. Clean, neat and very comfortable. A true home away from home. Beth was very courteous. If we decide to travel to Nashville in the future, we will most defenitely be calling Billy and Beth at Stay Down on the Farm. If you are looking for privacy, this is the place for you. Be sure to visit Thomas's Drug Sotre for an old fashioned soda fountain experience. Nashville is only 20 minutes away!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dove Cottage

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Dove Cottage provides a well-stocked HOME that is clean, loving and comfortable. The grounds were there to explore and walk. The owners met our family upon check-in and visited us during our stay. We wish we would have planned to stay longer than the 3 days we had reserved and will be back to explore Nashville further. The owners provided recommendations for our stay based upon our family members and it helped guided or vacation. I highly recommend this jewel on a farm.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dove Cottage

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Our family of five had a fabulous time at the Dove Cottage. The owners met us at the cottage and took the time and showed us around. The love and care that went into this special place was quickly evident. We felt at home and wished that we had spent our entire vacation there rather than 3 nights. The tranquility, peace and outside environment relaxed our whole family. It is close to Nashville and just off of 65 which makes it a perfect location. We highly recommend this jewel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

My husband and I needed a getaway and that's just what we got. It was so peaceful-all the noises were nature, nothing man made. We loved getting up and having our coffee on the porch in the mornings-starting our day with God. This gave us the opportunity to slow down and just enjoy our time with each other. The cottage was tastefully decorated with many beautiful antiques. But everything was updated-lacking nothing. There were stores within 10-15 min and Nashville wasn't far away.That's not what we were looking for, but the cottage could easily be used for that purpose too. Beth was so friendly-provided what we needed but never intrusive. Will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sheary

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

My husband and I needed a getaway and that's just what we got. It was so peaceful-all the noises were nature, nothing man made. We loved getting up and having our coffee on the porch in the mornings-starting our day with God. This gave us the opportunity to slow down and just enjoy our time with each other. There were stores within 10-15 min and Nashville wasn't that far away. That's not what we were looking for, but the cottage could easily be used for that purpose too. Beth was so friendly-provided what we needed but never intrusive. Will definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Quiet Country Retreat

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

We were looking for a cabin/cottage for the two of us in a quiet area north of the Nashville metro area near our daughter's home. Little Dove Cottage completely fulfilled those requirements. It is new and is not exactly a cabin as there is a large sleeping loft and hide-a-beds in the living room area, providing sleeping space for 8 people. Thus we had plenty of room for the whole family to visit for meals and catfish fishing.

The location is absolutely quiet as Little Dove Cottage is in the center of a small (by Colorado standards) farm. The catfish pond is overloaded with catfish, although our grandchildren were unsuccessful in reducing the numbers. The moon was full and the skies clear while we were there. Walking at night was easy without lights. No deer were seen although smaller wildlife and birds were numerous. The lightening bugs were numerous and the call of the whip-poor-will was close at hand.

The whole property was extremely clean and neat. The kitchen was very well equipped. When the family was over, we fed seven people with no problems. Although keeping the grandchildren at the table was a challenge as they wanted to go annoy the catfish.

Our hosts were readily accessible as needed. Their local attactions recommendations were helpful, especially the old-fashioned soda fountain in Thomas Drugs, Cross Plain.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Very Quiet "Home Away From Homes"

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

We were looking for a cabin/cottage for the two of us in a quiet area north of the Nashville metro area near our daughter's home. Little Dove Cottage completely fulfilled those requirements. It is new and is not exactly a cabin as there is a large sleeping loft and hide-a-beds in the living room area, providing sleeping space for 8 people. Thus we had plenty of room for the whole family to visit for meals and catfish fishing.

The location is absolutely quiet as Little Dove Cottage is in the center of a small (by Colorado standards) farm. The catfish pond is overloaded with catfish, although our grandchildren were unsuccessful in reducing the numbers. The moon was full and the skies clear while we were there. Walking at night was easy without lights. No deer were seen although smaller wildlife and birds were numerous. The lightening bugs were numerous and the call of the whip-poor-will was close at hand.

The whole property was extremely clean and neat. The kitchen was very well equipped. When the family was over, we fed seven people with no problems. Although keeping the grandchildren at the table was a challenge as they wanted to go annoy the catfish.

Our hosts, the Wilkensons, were readily accessible as needed. Their local attactions recommendations were helpful, especially the old-fashioned soda fountain in Thomas Drugs, Cross Plain.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Really Quiet Getaway Location Near Nashville

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

We were looking for a cabin/cottage for the two of us in a quiet area north of the Nashville metro area near our daughter's home. Little Dove Cottage completely fulfilled those requirements. It is new and is not exactly a cabin as there is a large sleeping loft and hide-a-beds in the living room area, providing sleeping space for 8 people. Thus we had plenty of room for the whole family to visit for meals and catfish fishing.

The location is absolutely quiet as Little Dove Cottage is in the center of a small (by Colorado standards) farm. The catfish pond is overloaded with catfish, although our grandchildren were unsuccessful in reducing the numbers. The moon was full and the skies clear while we were there. Walking at night was easy without lights. No deer were seen although smaller wildlife and birds were numerous. The lightening bugs were numerous and the call of the whip-poor-will was close at hand.

The whole property was extremely clean and neat. The kitchen was very well equipped. When the family was over, we fed seven people with no problems. Although keeping the grandchildren at the table was a challenge as they wanted to go annoy the catfish.

Our hosts, the Wilkensons, were readily accessible as needed. Their local attactions recommendations were helpful, especially the old-fashioned soda fountain in Thomas Drugs, Cross Plain.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gracious Hospitality

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

My parents traveled 400 miles from South Carolina to see 3 of their great grandchildren (age 4, 2, and 5 months) for the first time. They arrived very late after a long days travel. Your generous offer was very appreciated by all the family. My wife and our son's family stayed at the other house on the property. Everyone had a wonderful time. The place was so tranquil. My parents enjoyed their conversation with Billy one evening. They also enjoyed feeding the catfish and the basket of goodies. Five stars!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Piece of Heaven!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at this cottage. It was extremely clean and well cared for-every inch of it. The property was great for walking our dogs and taking in the sights and sounds of nature. The owners were helpful, but respected our privacy...which we greatly appreciated. We found some great places to eat and shop...and definitely want to come back again soon. Thank you!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Piece of Heaven!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

We felt like we had died and gone to Heaven from the moment we arrived. This place was exactly as it was described...only CLEANER! Inside and out, this cottage was wonderful. We were able to relax, take nice walks, and sleep very comfortably. The setting is beautiful and the people were great! We will want to return!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

We had a good time. I was glad it only rained the day that we arrived. I thought the grounds were very pretty. I wish we could of explored more but the ground was to wet. Thanks

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and Refreshing Weekend

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Two friends and I met here for a girls' weekend away. Little Dove cottage was just as the website described - very clean, comfortable and inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed walking on the farm, and the town of Gallatin is only 20 minutes away which has a nice selection of restaurants and shopping. Bill and Beth went out of their way to see that our every need was met. We hope to return in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and Refreshing Weekend

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Two friends and I met here for a girls' weekend away. It was just as described on the website - very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the cottage and walking on the farm. It was a perfect place for long-time friends to reunite. Bill and Beth went out of their way to see that our stay was enjoyable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Second Stay

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

We stayed earlier in the year with 2 teenagers and fell in love with this cottage. We returned in November alone just to get away from it all. Even though it rained part of the time we were there, we loved it. We were still able to sit on the porches and enjoy the land and trees around us. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who needs a few days of peace and calmness.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Little Dove Cottage

Review submitted: November 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

I really enjoyed the views and peacefulness. I would go back, the people that own it are Christians .

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My stay a Little Dove Cottage

Review submitted: November 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

It was a great place, we enjoyed the views and deer we saw. If I could I would go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mother/Daughter trip

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We never imagined something as nice as the "Dove Cottage" on our annual Mother/Daughter trip to Nashville. It was the most enjoyable outing yet.
The charming-clean-uniquely furnished cabin and the well maintained landscape takes your breath away. We really didn't want to leave.

To the owners- Beth....you were so warm-friendly & helpful with our questions.
Billy....you likewise greeted us as if we were old friends.
Both of you....for displaying your Faith in action & in words.

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your little piece of Heaven.

Mary
Prattville Al

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful country side

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

My weekend at Little Dove Cottage was a wonderful experience. The cottage was lovely and very comfortable. I enjoyed the peacefulness of the country and the opportunity to see deer come by. I would love to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Weekend in the Woods

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

Our stay at the Little Dove Cottage was a wonderful experience. Time slows down without the hustle and bustle of the big city. Yet Nashville is so nearby; we spent a lot of time there. The cottage was super clean and equipped for every need. The hosts were friendly and extra helpful with dining recommendations. We loved Hollywood's Grill! If ever back in Nashville, we'll probably choose to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of Girls

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We had a lovely time. The surroundings were so peaceful & pretty. The cottage was so cute & very accomodating for our large group. We would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of Girls

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We had a wonderful time & enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. The house was cute & very accomodating. I would recommend to all my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of Girls

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

It was a serene & peaceful place with so much to offer...trails, swings, deer, and so much more. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Dove Cottage

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to find a newly constructed cabin on a perfectly secluded site. Could not have asked for accommodations more immaculate. Little Dove was so well stocked with anything and everything that there was little want for anything. Billy and Beth were there at our every beckoning call. Yet yielded to our privacy for the most perfect birthday celebration ever. ..our own little private island! The must see sites that Beth recommended surely helped make the best use of our too short stay. The Country Music Hall of Fame was one to remember. Oh...and the drug store sure brought back fond memories. Not to mention Longhollow and Sumner Crest Wineries. Of all the cottages we have stayed at Little Dove is the best. Not only would we recommend this cozy cottage to others we cannot wait to visit again...soon. We wish happy stays to all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nashville Getaway

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Thank you so much for the use of your lovely Dove cottage. The front and back porches provided us with wonderful sunrises and sunsets. The deer and wild turkeys were an unexpected bonus. The cottage was equipped with all amenities we could have hoped for. We will be back -- Lynda & John Thomas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Cottage!!

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

We traveled there for a girls getaway weekend and would recommend this cottage to anyone. The setting of this cottage is just beautiful & very clean. We started the night by using the fire pit and roasting hot dogs & marsh mellows. The trees are lined in rows to walk through, and enjoyed watching the deer in the morning. One of the girls even went fishing. Such beautiful scenery and only a short drive to Nashville for shopping. Thanks so much for sharing your cottage with us!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just Beautiful!!!

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

We traveled there for a girls weekend and would recommend this cottage to anyone. The setting of this cottage is just beautiful. We started the night by using the fire pit & roasting hotdogs & marsh-mellows. The trees are lined in rows to walk through, and enjoyed watching the deer in the morning. One of our girls even went fishing. Such beautiful scenery and only a short drive to Nashville for shopping.
Thanks for sharing your cottage with us!!
Karen (St Louis, MO)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to relax

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

We had a GREAT experience at the cottage! This was an absolute wonderful cottage. We traveled there for a girls getaway weekend. Everything was very well cleaned and taken care of. The owners were extremely helpful with any questions we had. A short drive to Nashville for shopping and fun then back for peaceful time, such a beautiful place to relax. Would recommend this to anyone. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

week at Dove cottage

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We relly enjoyed our week at the Dove Cottage. Beth & Billy were excellent hosts, they consistently attend to our every need. We had so much fun hiking, fishing, lounging on the porch, swing in the many swings, visiting the local drua store and the fire pist at night, We especially enjoyed Randy's music, Jonathans shrimp rolls and the coffee aroung the fire one evening. We enjoyed the farm so much we only made it into Nashville one time. It was so relaxing and the place is beautiful. We hope to go back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

My daughter and I spent three nights here to work on a difficult project with no distractions. Never did we expect it to turn into a nice, quiet getaway while we got our work done. After seeing the adorable cottage, we picked up groceries for all our meals so we wouldn't have to leave! It was a surprise that for once, the place was actually bigger than the photos. The grounds are so great - a pond full of fish, lots of places to sit in a swing hanging from a tree, trails through the pines, and places for bonfires at night. This would be great as a personal retreat, a getaway for a family, or a group of girlfriends. I hope to go back as soon as I can!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

My daughter and I spent three nights here to work on a difficult project with no distractions. Never did we expect it to turn into a nice, quiet getaway while we got our work done. After seeing the adorable cottage, we picked up groceries for all our meals so we wouldn't have to leave! It was a surprise that for once, the place was actually bigger than the photos. The grounds are so great - a pond full of fish, lots of places to sit in a swing hanging from a tree, trails through the pines, and places for bonfires at night. This would be great as a personal retreat, a getaway for a family, or a group of girlfriends. I hope to go back as soon as I can!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love Dove Cottage!!!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Our family had a wonderfully peaceful 5 night stay at Dove Cottage.
The property is out in the country nestled in the woods, but easy access to stores and restaurants : ) Once again, we enjoyed the hospitality of Billy and Beth!!!! Seriously, we wanted to stay a few more weeks, and are looking forward to next time!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Stay

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

Beth and Billy truly provided a little piece of heaven in Cottontown. From the first time we made contact to after our trip was over the personal attention from our hosts was awesome. The facilities are new, clean and superbly designed for short vacation stays. One of our family vacation objectives was to share time between Nashville and rural Tennessee and our cottage proved to be perfect. We were at home roaming the trails or relaxing on the porch but in a matter of minutes we could be in Downtown Nashville enjoying the soul of country music. Be sure to ask about the local shops and especially the old drug store, you'll enjoy the scenic drive to town several times going for ice cream. Our stay was one of our most enjoyable and relaxing vacations; we'll definately recommend Stay Down on the Farm to anyone heading to the Nashville area. Jerry, Konnie, Stefanie, Jami, Katie and Bill

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All That We Expected

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

Beth and Billy truly provided a little piece of heaven in Cottontown. From the first time we made contact to after our trip was over the personal attention from our hosts was awesome. The facilities are new, clean and superbly designed for short vacation stays. One of our family vacation objectives was to share time between Nashville and rural Tennessee and our cottage proved to be perfect. We were at home roaming the trails or relaxing on the porch but in a matter of minutes we could be in Downtown Nashville enjoying the soul of country music. Be sure to ask about the local shops and especially the old drug store, you'll enjoy the scenic drive to town several times going for ice cream. Our stay was one of our most enjoyable and relaxing vacations; we'll definately recommend Stay Down on the Farm to anyone heading to the Nashville area. Jerry, Konnie, Stefanie, Jami, Katie and Bill

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Get Away!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Beautiful cottage & location. The cottage is finely furnished with antiques and very well maintained. The outside offers relaxing porches, pond for fishing, BBQ grill and gorgeous views all around. Please note that the cabin has 1 private downstairs bedroom and an open upstairs loft area with one Queen bed & two single beds.

The owners, Billy & Beth were very accomodating.

Overall a great get away for adults that are comfortable with sharing the upstairs open loft, or for families with older children.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Star Perfection!!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

I don't know if words can adequately describe how wonderful Dove Cottage is, but rest assured if you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed...We could not have been any happier or more comfortable anywhere else... Billy & Beth W. are more than just owners, they are terrific hosts and they provide an extremely clean, well maintained & well stocked property...We have traveled extensively & it is a rare time that I don't feel compelled to clean before I unpack anything - but not so at Dove Cottage...as soon as we walked in the door we felt like we were home & could see that Billy & Beth go above and beyond to provide an extremely clean and comfortable home to stay in...The Lord has truly Blessed them and Dove Cottage :-)
Had we been afforded the time to just while away the days on the property that would have been grand in itself - the views are so relaxing from either the front or back porch, you really don't want to leave ...early mornings on the back porch enjoying your coffee (or tea) will bring delight at spotting wild turkeys, deer and hummingbirds, to name just a few...evenings on the front porch brought a peaceful end to the day, watching the moon travel across the night sky while enjoying its reflection on the pond as we listened to the melodic songs of nature....ahhhhh :-) just recalling those times brings relaxation all over again - what fantastic memories!
OH wait, I forgot to mention that you have COMPLETE privacy - I mean not a soul around...you are on 100 acres, so no worry about noisy neighbors (ok, you may hear a cow moo in the distance but that doesn't count)...where else can you go, have privacy & be a short driving distance from anything you desire to do? This place is 5 star perfection!!!!
We will be baaack
:-) :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Star Perfection!!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

I don't know if words can adequately describe how wonderful Dove Cottage is, but rest assured if you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed...We could not have been any happier or more comfortable anywhere else... Billy & Beth Wilkinson are more than just owners, they are terrific hosts and they provide an extremely clean, well maintained & well stocked property...We have traveled extensively & it is a rare time that I don't feel compelled to clean before I unpack anything - but not so at Dove Cottage...as soon as we walked in the door we felt like we were home & could see that Billy & Beth go above and beyond to provide an extremely clean and comfortable home to stay in...The Lord has truly Blessed them and Dove Cottage :-)
Had we been afforded the time to just while away the days on the property that would have been grand in itself - the views are so relaxing from either the front or back porch, you really don't want to leave ...early mornings on the back porch enjoying your coffee (or tea) will bring delight at spotting wild turkeys, deer and hummingbirds, to name just a few...evenings on the front porch brought a peaceful end to the day, watching the moon travel across the night sky while enjoying its reflection on the pond as we listened to the melodic songs of nature....ahhhhh :-) just recalling those times brings relaxation all over again - what fantastic memories!
OH wait, I forgot to mention that you have COMPLETE privacy - I mean not a soul around...you are on 100 acres, so no worry about noisy neighbors (ok, you may hear a cow moo in the distance but that doesn't count)...where else can you go, have privacy & be a short driving distance from anything you desire to do? This place is 5 star perfection!!!!
We will be baaack
:-) :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Star Perfection!!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

I don't know if words can adequately describe how wonderful Dove Cottage is, but rest assured if you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed...We could not have been any happier or more comfortable anywhere else... Billy & Beth Wilkinson are more than just owners, they are terrific hosts and they provide an extremely clean, well maintained & well stocked property...We have traveled extensively & it is a rare time that I don't feel compelled to clean before I unpack anything - but not so at Dove Cottage...as soon as we walked in the door we felt like we were home & could see that Billy & Beth go above and beyond to provide an extremely clean and comfortable home to stay in...The Lord has truly Blessed them and Dove Cottage :-)
Had we been afforded the time to just while away the days on the property that would have been grand in itself - the views are so relaxing from either the front or back porch, you really don't want to leave ...early mornings on the back porch enjoying your coffee (or tea) will bring delight at spotting wild turkeys, deer and hummingbirds, to name just a few...evenings on the front porch brought a peaceful end to the day, watching the moon travel across the night sky while enjoying its reflection on the pond as we listened to the melodic songs of nature....ahhhhh :-) just recalling those times brings relaxation all over again - what fantastic memories!
OH wait, I forgot to mention that you have COMPLETE privacy - I mean not a soul around...you are on 100 acres, so no worry about noisy neighbors (ok, you may hear a cow moo in the distance but that doesn't count)...where else can you go, have privacy & be a short driving distance from anything you desire to do? This place is 5 star perfection!!!!
We will be baaack
:-) :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great 4th of July

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My husband and I with 2 other couples stayed at the cottage during July 4th week. The property is beautiful and quite serene. We enjoyed the porches every morning and evening. Spent more time there than in the house. It was so nice to be able to spend time in the hustle and bustle of Nashville but go back to our quiet getaway. The only issue I had was the fact that the cottage is listed as a 3 bedroom. It is actually a 1 bedroom and a loft with 2 sleeping areas. No privacy for two of the couples which was a little less than desirable. It would be fine for a single family with kids. Other than that we really loved our stay. Would go back again some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great 4th of July

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My husband and I with 2 other couples stayed at the cottage during July 4th week. The property is beautiful and quite serene. We enjoyed the porches every morning and evening. Spent more time there than in the house. It was so nice to be able to spend time in the hustle and bustle of Nashville but go back to our quiet getaway. The only issue I had was the fact that the cottage is listed as a 3 bedroom. It is actually a 1 bedroom and a loft with 2 sleeping areas. No privacy for two of the couples which was a little less than desirable. It would be fine for a single family with kids. Other than that we really loved our stay. Would go back again some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Dove Cottage was everything that was advertised and then some. The property is beautiful and well maintained. Billy and Beth are very kind and friendly . My family and I had the most peaceful stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL TIME IN NASHVILLE !

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

WE HAD A GREAT TIME IN NASHVILLE AND ENJOYED THE TIME WE SPENT AT DOVE COTTAGE, IT WAS VERY HOT THERE THAT WEEK, BUT THE COOL COUNTRY SETTING WAS BEAUTIFUL.
THE AIR COND WORKED GREAT. THE HOUSE WAS ACTUALLY VERY LARGE FOR OUR GROUP OF FIVE. BETH BROUGHT US FISHING POLES AND WE FISHED IN THE POND. SAW PLENTY OF TURKEY AROUND THE PROPERTY AND TOOK PLENTY OF PICTURES OF THE SUROUNDINGS. WOULD RECOMEND TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A PEACEFUL PLACE TO STAY. WE WILL STAY AGAIN....THANKS BETH AND BILLY...GOD BLESS!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great getaway,,

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Dove cottage is a perfect getaway, if you want to just relax in the countryside this is perfect, Turkeys and Deer wander around early morning and evening the catfish pond is full of huge fish ,if you want to catch some and dont have a pole Billy or Beth will supply you with what is needed,Billy and Beth are the nicest people and will do all they can to make your stay everything you could want.We really enjoyed the historic Thomas Drug Store in the town of White Plains, spent a good amount of time browsing then had to have a float at the soda fountain. The local supermarket has eveything you would need, and there are acouple of places to eat at also. The cottage is just as described , everything is first class.If you want a faster pace Nashville i think,was around 40 minutes away ,.There were 5 of us in our group , and the cottage accommodated us very well,We would recommend this to all our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Splendid get-a-way

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

Close enough for comfort but far away from the ruxh of modern life. No phone - no internet (cell phone service is good).

Beautiful setting, clean, quiet. All that is needed is good company.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This was one of the best weekend getaways ever. The house is beautiful and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the farm, the pond, the swings, the wildlife...it was very refreshing. Beth and Billy were great to meet and very accommodating. We are planning another weekend getaway soon and I checked to see if this house was available before I looked anywhere else. Unfortunately, it's not.

I should mention I had a 16 year old girl and an 18 year old boy who did not want to go home. They wanted to stay at the house a little longer. It says a lot that they weren't anxious to get back to computers and games.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This was one of the best weekend getaways ever. The house is beautiful and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the farm, the pond, the swings, the wildlife...it was very refreshing. Beth and Billy were great to meet and very accommodating. We are planning another weekend getaway soon and I checked to see if this house was available before I looked anywhere else. Unfortunately, it's not.

I should mention I had a 16 year old girl and an 18 year old boy who did not want to go home. They wanted to stay at the house a little longer. It says a lot that they weren't anxious to get back to computers and games.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Spring Break

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

We had a great week away from the city! This property has all you could ask for, stocked pond, wooded trails, and a georgous rental house. Billy & Beth were very helpful in planning our time away from the property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Home Away From Home

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

The pictures just don't do this house justice. There is an ambiance that makes you feel very peaceful. We enjoyed the house and the property around it and really did not want to leave when the time came. Even the two teens we had with us had an amazing time. If we ever stay in this area again I will first look to see if Little Dove Cottage is available. It really did feel like home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Peaceful Retreat in the Country

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

My husband and inlaws really enjoyed our stay at the Dove Cottage. After a hectic day of sightseeing in Nashville, it was nice to return to the peace & quiet of the country. The cottage was very clean and just like the pictures. Beth and Billy were really easy to work with. We'll difinitely recommend this place to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

The home is perfect, the land is perfect, the hospitality is perfect! It truly feels like 'home' and a perfect spot to 'get away from it all'. And close enough to Nashville, if you want to get to the city as well.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

My family and I had a wonderful time during our get-away stay at Little Dove Cottage. It is a beautiful home and quite comfortable for the six of us. Thank you Billy and Beth for being so accommodating and helpful. We had all the amenitites of home. We also enjoyed knowing we were close enough to shopping and the fun of downtown Nashville but far enough away to have peacefulness away from the hustle and bustle ot the city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home away from home

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Thank you Billy and Beth for a wonderful stay while we visited Nashville. This is a lovely cabin far enough away to be peaceful and relaxing and close enough to go shop and see the sites of downtown Nashville. There was plenty of room for the six of us. We couldn't have felt more at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home Away From Home

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

My family and I had a wonderful time in this beautiful cabin. Six of us stayed quite comfortably and had all the anemitites of home. Thank you, Billy and Beth for being so accommodating and friendly. After the hustle and bustle of downtown Nashville, it was nice to go back to the cabin for peace and serenity.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing Weekend In a Beautiful Cottage!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

My stay at the cottage was more than perfect. Beth & Bill are extremely friendly and I'm so glad they let us stay on their beautiful property. It's a perfect place to stay if you would like to enjoy the country side of TN but would still like to visit the big city. My boyfriend and I wanted a weekend away before he left for the Army and it was the perfect way to get in great quiet quality time.


Thanks Beth & Bill


Ashley & Matt

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A dream vacation!

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

My wife and I and our two young children stayed in Billy and Beth's Little Red Farmhouse this past July. It was absolutely a dream come true. The house is in immaculate condition, with a fully equipped kitchen, and all the amenities throughout the house. It absolutely felt like home to us for the 7 days we stayed there. We had friends to visit in Nashville and the 25 minute drive from the farm was beautiful each day we went into town. But most days we just stayed on the farm and enjoyed the scenery, hikes in the forest, exploring the barns, and relaxing around the air conditioned house. Each day at sunrise and sunset my 4 year old son and I walked up the road to the fishing pond and caught some 16 and 18" catfish which we fried up for breakfast and dinner; a memory we still talk about often. Billy was even kind enough to provide us with all the poles and tackle we needed! The area around the farm is great for a drive and you're within 15 minutes of a Kroeger, Wal Mart, Chick Fil A, and I highly recommend the small breakfast joint down on the corner. The Wilkinsons are exceptional people with an honest passion for serving and hosting people on their property. I strongly recommend any of the accommodations Billy and Beth have to offer on the farm and encourage everyone I know going through Nashville to stay there. We were amazed that we paid HALF the price we would have for a hotel for an entire week and we had an entire house to ourselves! You will not be disappointed! We hope to make it back soon, it was the best vacation our family has ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: December 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

We have seen the "Little Dove Cottage" in person while we were staying at the "Little Red Farmhouse" which is next door (owned by the same family). The house is beautiful. The property is very clean. We loved the location because we were close to Nashville, yet still in a rural setting. The owners were fantastic - very nice people. I would definitely recommend this property to my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Get Away

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

I would highly recommend this place for anyone wanting to have a cozy and quiet weekend in the woods. Cabin was spotless, lots of rooms and had all the conveniences of home. Hiking trails and surrounding grounds were very well maintained and easily accessible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Get-Away

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

I would highly recommend this place for anyone wanting to have a cozy and quiet weekend in the woods. Cabin was spotless, lots of rooms and had all the conveniences of home. Hiking trails and surrounding grounds were very well maintained and easily accessible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a great place to stay and relax...You will love it!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

Just got back home from staying 4 days at the "New" Dove Cottage north of Nashville. I cannot believe how nice this cottage was..in fact we were the first to stay. Beth and Bill have done a great job on this cottage. We walked on the hiking trails and just sit on the front porch to look at all the beauty of this area. It has everything you would want in a cottage. One bedroom downstairs and 2 upstairs with 2 full baths. My wife and I will be back next year. This is a first class place with first class owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review