reviews for: listing #76415 - Austin, Texas House rental

darling tropical bungalow in So/Co with pool
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $1,600 /mth

sort by:

Great place to stay in Austin!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

We had the most enjoyable stay at Dixie Shores for 5 months. All the aforementioned descriptions and comments well describe the home and the owners. The house was so comfortable and was equipted for all of our needs. We loved the "50's beach bungalow" décor and Deloras' attention to details. Mike and Deloras are wonderful people and we so enjoyed them and the time we spent with them; would generally see them once a week as they took care of chores on the property. This was the first time we traveled with our "boys" [two black labs] and they adjusted well to their stay. Make and Deloras were most helpful with any questions we might have and they were often our 'go to' people for information. Home has washer and dryer. Can't beat this rental; we are looking forward to our next stay!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our perfect Austin Oasis

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

I live in Austin, but my girlfriends and I wanted to find a place in Central Texas for a girl's weekend to escape our day-to-day life, preferably with a pool in this August Texas heat. I was ecstatic to find this wonderful hidden gem on the VacationRentals website - and it's just a few miles from my house!
Four of us stayed the weekend, coming from all parts of Central Texas. It was just what we all needed - we were instantly comfortable in our new-found escape. From the moment I did the walk-through with Delores, I realized we couldn't have found a better place if we'd tried. The house, porch, yard and pool were spot on. Although we spent 90% of our time in/around the pool, a rain shower came through and we were able to escape to the screened porch, where we played card games and music until we could go out again. We cooked up a feast on Friday night - the kitchen had everything that we needed.
The words "perfect" and "amazing" were uttered more than once over the weekend. And Delores's hospitality was so gracious. She makes you feel like you're an old friend, not a new renter.
We've already booked another run next August, but next time we'll definitely bring the dogs with us! Hopefully we can make this a yearly escape! Highly, highly recommend. My only con: It's always booked, and no wonder! :)

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Time in Austin!

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I wanted to take the time to create a review on this vacation rental because it was honestly such a great relaxing time. Delores is very very nice and takes it upon herself to make sure we are having a great vacation. The house was very nice and clean and the pool was amazing. She even set up a volleyball net for us in the pool, that was very toughtful of her and we had fun playing. We bbq'd outside and by the pool and just had the best time ever. I recommend this place for anyone to stay here, you will have a great vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Couldn't agree more with the positive reviews. To state that Delores is accommodating is an understatement. She takes care of every need and want. The home is perfect for small families and couples and is a very convenient location. I just hope we have an opportunity to stay here again as I wouldn't know why it's not always booked.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for visiting our hometown with baby

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

We moved from Austin 3 years ago and have been staying in hotels and with family until our last visit. This time, with our 9-month-old in tow, we were delighted to find this hidden gem in South Austin. What a difference it made! Definitely my favorite visit home. It was like we moved back for a week.

The house was comfortable and clean, and the property (patios, porches, lawns and pool) were well maintained and pretty. With a baby, the washer/dryer was a blessing. We entertained family one night for a bbq/swim and everyone felt right at home. Plus, we hosted some siblings that had too much fun and they stayed in the second bedroom and on a convenient air mattress.

We also got to enjoy the proximity to lots good food and HEB grocery, but also a quick jaunt downtown (only 15 mins. in rush hour).

Really don't have any negatives. The whole experience was very easy and enjoyable. I don't think we'll be staying anywhere else for future trips. Thanks so much for being a pleasant part of our vacation!

The Soules

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay at the bungalow

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We stayed a weekend at the bungalow and really enjoyed our stay.
It was a rainy weekend, so the owner had prepared heated blankets for us.
And she provided us with all the information we needed.
The apartment was really clean and cosy and kitchen had all amenities we needed.
It was close to some nice restaurants on South Congress.
Would love to stay there again, if we come back to Austin and I definitely recommend it to other travelers!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Gem in South Austin!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

The bungalow in South Austin was magnificent! Delores was there to greet us as per schedule and made sure we had evrything we needed to fully enjoy our week long stay. The location is great and includes access to the bus on S. Congress just a couple blocks away as well as the famous Hill's Cafe.
The house was beautiful with a great yard and pool as well as a screened in porch, perfect to enjoy our morning coffee and late night chat to recap the day's events.
I would highly recommend this property and look forward to my next visist!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place to Stay! Great Find!

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

We were so happy we decided to stay here during our Austin vacation. This rental property was perfect for our family of 5. The home is darling and the backyard, patio and pool was so much fun for the adults and the children. The kitchen had all of the necessary equipment for us to cook all of our meals, the beds were comfortable. The home has a relaxing beach-house type feel that is perfect for summer time. We absolutely had no complaints!

This was our first time to rent a private home like this, so I was a little nervous, but everything went perfectly smooth! Delores was extremely nice and helpful. She was there when we arrived to let us in and go over the amenities of the home and then left right after that. She even left information on restaurants and other Austin attractions. We definitely want to return for another visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome tropical house in S. Austin

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Delores' comfy vacation rental for a weekend while visiting Austin for a wedding. The house is very comfortable and charming, with awesome vintage decor. With the beach decor and pool, we felt like we were staying at a beach cottage! Delores is incredibly friendly. The house is convenient to S. Congress (a few minutes drive away) and an easy drive to the airport. Parking is not an issue, unlike many other places in Austin. My fiance loved the vintage Fire King mugs and the vintage Pyrex bowls. We would have loved to stay longer to have a few meals in the dining room, deck, or sunroom. Will definitely be back next time we visit Austin! Thanks again, Delores.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming little dog-friendly house in Austin

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We stayed in this darling little house over Labor Day weekend and loved it. We have 3 dogs and they came along. We and the dogs LOVED the fenced in yard and the pool, and the little pergola outside is just perfect to sit and enjoy your beverages underneath the wisteria without getting too much sun!

Delores is very kind and accomodating. She asked us several times if there was anything that we needed, but we were well taken care of just the way she had the house set up!

The house does have window AC units and they kept the house at a comfortable 76 even when it was 100+ degrees outside.

The house is 5.5 miles from zilker park (we checked our GPS) and very close to South Congress. Great location and very relaxing house to spend some time in. Thank you Delores!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

So much better than a hotel! We came for a week with 2 kids, and staying in a house was priceless to us because 1) we had the privacy of our own bedrooms; 2) we had the option of cooking some of our meals instead of having to always eat out; 3) we had our own private pool to relax in; 4) we had a separate living room and kitchen. And Delores was very welcoming, making sure we had everything we needed and checking on us during the week. It's also in a nice, quiet neighborhood and yet close to everything. You just can't beat the value. We will definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful oasis

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

I spent a week in Austin while looking at properties to move to in the area. This little cottageis GREAT. Very comfortable,close to SOCO and major hiways. The pool felt good after the hot days and Delores was wonderful. Checked several times to see if I was doing well, safe, comfortable. I highly recommend it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Summer Stay

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

I almost don't want to write a review because I don't want to share the bungalow with anyone else. We had a great time here and it's hard to know where to start. Delores (who is super nice and hospitable) will meet you at the property and show you around which is really nice and makes you feel taken care of.
The bungalow is super cute and cozy. We loved the sun porch and the pool. We loved the fact that it comes fully equipped..grill and dishes and dishwasher. We got to bring our dog and he had a blast running around the back and front yard. We had to drag him out, he did not want to leave the sunporch.
The bungalow is not in a busy, loud area. It's tucked away in a cute, quiet neighborhood. When you want to get to the busy, loud area it's just a couple of blocks away :). Super easy to access the grocery and several good restaurants and good shopping on Congress. We spent a lot of time running around to Magnolia Cafe, Shady Grove, Barton Springs, Krause Springs and Hamilton Pool. Then we got to come back to the bungalow and just relax and hang out.
We were really sad to go and can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wedding family retreat

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

This was the perfect place to stay with temperatures in the high 90's in early May. Easy to cool off in the pool after going on a bike ride to Barton Springs. My son had a beautiful wedding and we were able to host our family and cool off when it got too hot. I would definitely recommend it. This house is cozy and comfortable, and the owner went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable with true Southern hospitality.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A house made for your four legged friends!

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

When my husband and I first came upon this listing it sounded too good to be true. A little house right off of Congress with an in-ground pool that's even dog friendly?! Surely something had to be wrong with this house! We went ahead and booked it while hoping for the best. A couple of days ago we got home from the single best trip back to our hometown that we've had since we left. Not only were we blown away by the property but so were our friends and family. I think the only guests who had a better time at the rental property than us was our dogs. They were exploring the yard constantly and completely wore themselves out every single day! They barely even played with their toys they were having so much fun there! During our stay we also had my two cousins with us who are 11 and 13. They also loved the house and spent any spare moment we had splashing around in the wonderful pool. To top it all off the owners were incredibly sweet and accommodating but didn't intrude on our trip in the slightest. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing and convenient place to stay during a visit to Austin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Retreat

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Pleasantly surprised at the character and charm of this South Austin bungalow. Only in Austin for one night but Delores made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Enjoyed the patio and pool - very relaxing afternoon among the flowers. We plan on staying again very soon - I highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a sweet wonderful review that I know will sound great to people
who are a little unsure about a vacation rental. I thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at the bungalow
I look forward to seeing you again but this time I insist you bring the rest
of your family!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Vacation Getaway

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

When we were making travel plans to Austin for the South By Southwest festival, we were having trouble finding an affordable place to stay. When we found this bungalow online, the low price made us a bit skeptical. But we booked it, and it turned out to be one of the best travel decisions we've ever made. When we arrived, the home owners were there to welcome us, and they couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. The house was clean, larger than we expected, and included all of the amenities we could possibly have hoped for (internet/cable, fully stocked kitchen, clean towels, laundry, games, etc.). The backyard/garden was beautiful, with a pool and plenty of privacy. We missed an evening of the festival because we wanted to maximize our time on this property. The surrounding neighborhood was peaceful and safe - we even went for a jog or two over the course of our stay.
Overall, this place is a gem in Austin. The owners, Delores and Mike, made us feel like family, and we hope to keep in touch with them.

So if you don't book a stay soon, we will... again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What an oasis!

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

What an oasis! Perfect location, close to downtown, parks, shopping, sightseeing, easy access via several nearby interstates. Home is beautifully decorated in a beach-y theme, completely furnished, extremely pet friendly, gorgeous pool with vine covered veranda, screened-in side porch for those quiet days, having breakfast, lunch or dinner, or for entertaining in the evenings. The master bedroom has a door that leads right out to a private sitting area and the pool. Front and back yards are completely fenced in and big enough for our dogs to run around without worrying - they even have a built in doggy-door in the screened-in porch so we didn't have to worry about letting them in or out. Barton Creek Mall and the 360 bridge are a few minutes down the road, as is the South Congress shopping corridor, the state capital, the University of Texas campus, downtown and the fairly new Convention Center. Having lived in south Austin in the mid-70's to late 80's, Austin has gone through a lot of growth and expansion, it's good to know that some things from the "old days" like Hill's Cafe and Casa Maria's are still alive and kicking. We visit Austin several times a year and have always dreaded staying in hotels or with friends because of our dogs, but now we have no worries - we know of this great little place in south Austin where all we need to bring with us are our clothes, toothbrushes and dog food - everything else is provided. We'll never stay anywhere else! The owners go out of their way to make sure your stay is more than you would expect with a vacation rental. I have highly recommended this wonderful place to many friends and family and will continue to do so.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Two Week Stay

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

I decided, on a whim, to leave the cold of North Dakota behind for a few weeks, and a lengthy list of unlikely circumstances brought me to 14 days of calm solitude in this home, nestled in the warmth of South Austin. The house was marvelous, the owners are now like family (family that I like :-) and I will long remember my two weeks there. Both front and back yards are completely fenced, so my dog was in heaven, being able to run around without leash or supervision. The house is fully equipped and very nicely decorated in a beach theme. Because of the January temperatures, I did not take advantage of the pool, though I sat reading next to it on a number of warm afternoons.

There is a nice Mexican restaurant within walking distance, as is Hill's Cafe, but otherwise you'll likely need a car to get around. A Walmart Supercenter is a few minutes away to the north, and there are lots and lots of stores, restaurants and clubs within a fairly short drive. The neighbourhood seems a bit busy, but this never posed a problem, and there is off street parking within the fenced front area.

The owners really went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant one, and I attribute the "perfection" of my two week respite to their care and attention to detail. When I think about my initial plan to find an extended stay hotel, I just have to shake my head. There is no comparison, whether in rates, facilities or "customer service."

I will, most wholeheartedly, return.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review