reviews for: listing #76454 - Santa Barbara, California Apartment rental

Classic Luxury in the Heart of the Fun
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $325 /nt
    $895 - $1,295 /wk
    $2,495 - $3,595 /mth

sort by:

Great getaway in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

We had a fabulous one week vacation at this luxurious unit in Santa Barbara. Everything was as pictured and described on VRBO. The location is close ( 1 block) to State Street where there are many restaurants and access to the wharf and beach. You can walk or take the shuttle which is 50 or 25 cents, based on age. We chose this unit because it was pet friendly. We had the downstairs unit with a lovely courtyard and fountain. We were very happy with the management and Laura was extremely helpful and kind, providing us with information that made our stay much better. It was a quiet, cool place to relax while the outside was a beehive of activity. Would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Earl and Rita,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and have you as guests and I hope you will return in the future for more Santa Barbara fun.
My best to you both,
Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place to stay!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house was quaint and in a great location. It was a nice alternative to staying in a hotel. We really felt at home there. I am looking forward to staying in the future.

Owners response: What a lovely review. We thank you and hope you will return to visit again in the future. Laura Inga and John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Barbara stay

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

We are a family of four (2 adults, 2 kids aged 4 and 6) from Germany. Part of our California trip led us to Santa Barbara where we were lucky enough to find this place. It was as described in the home away ad, located very practically near the busy state street full of shops and restaurants. No car or cab needed after dinner- an easy walk.
The place was clean, the kitchen well-equipped. We enjoyed breakfast there every day and cooked a couple of times. There's even a crockpot, a blender and a barbacue. Supermarket just on the next block. Also there are some great restaurants around, our favourite was the "something's fishy" japanese hibachi grill on state street where they barbecue for you at your table.
We had a wonderful sty with trips to the beach, to town, to the santa barbara zoo and day trips to santa ynez valley, solvang etc.
We would recommend this place to anyone and hope to come back someday

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Barbara stay

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

We are a family of four (2 adults, 2 kids aged 4 and 6) from Germany. Part of our California trip led us to Santa Barbara where we were lucky enough to find this place. It was as described in the home away ad, located very practically near the busy state street full of shops and restaurants. No car or cab needed after dinner- an easy walk.
The place was clean, the kitchen well-equipped. We enjoyed breakfast there every day and cooked a couple of times. There's even a crockpot, a blender and a barbacue. Supermarket just on the next block. Also there are some great restaurants around, our favourite was the "something's fishy" japanese hibachi grill on state street where they barbecue for you at your table.
We had a wonderful sty with trips to the beach, to town, to the santa barbara zoo and day trips to santa ynez valley, solvang etc.
We would recommend this place to anyone and hope to come back someday

Owners response: Hi Stefanie, thank you so much for the glowing review we appreciate it with all our hearts. Do come see us again in the future. Thank you so much, Laura Inga and John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

I had a wonderful experience staying in this fabulous apartment in the heart of Santa Barbara. It was the perfect space for a restful get away, complete with a beautiful, clean, and efficient internal environment in the center of the city. I highly recommend staying here for anyone wanting the luxury of a hotel stay with the comfort of being in one's own home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, luxurious! Highly recommend!

Review submitted: December 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

The place has absolutely everything you require! A fully equipped kitchen, comfortable soft sheets for a great night's sleep. A short walk away from State Street and downtown Santa Barbara, where all the shops and cafes are located.

I got some groceries from Lazy Acres and Wholefoods - and as I didn't have a car I used Uber. I also cycled around town - as there were a few bicycles available for us to use.

Laura also offered to pick me up from the station and sent me to the station when I was heading back to LA. Such amazing service, I felt very taken care of - and can't recommend it enough. When I return to Santa Barbara I am sure to book in here again!

Thank you for the amazing experience.

Owners response: Dear jia Ni,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you made it home safe and sound. We look forward to your future visit.
Very best to you,
Laura

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEAUTIFUL SANTA BARBARA HOME. SIMPLY PERFECT. A+!

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

This place is just so wonderful. The location, the design, the amenities, the parking, the space, everything is A+++! My family truly loved it here. This beautiful property is perfectly situated in Downtown Santa Barbara. A short block from Downtown State Street (where everything happens in this city) and few blocks from the beach. This is truly what they call a "Walker's Paradise" and a "dream vacation home". Perfect for a family of 4, maybe even more! The place is spacious and very well decorated with all the amenities you wish for in a vacation home. From the entrance to the property, the beautiful parking, patio, and deck area,... to the warm comfortable feeling of the design of Mama Dux, one could certainly tell that a lot of hard work and thoughts were put in making this home a perfect place for a getaway. The king bed is very comfortable, so are the two round swivel chairs and two single beds. With two large TVs, Netflix, Wifi, DVD player included in the property, you don't even need to get out of the house for entertainment. The kitchen is fully-equipped with a large fridge, full-size stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and cooking supplies. There's also a washer and dryer. A BBQ grill with outside seating and a deck with patio chairs. The bikes (for all ages and sizes) are also included in the rental for no additional charge. The service is probably the best you'll ever get and can't be any more grateful to have found this place. Inga (property owner) and Laura (caretaker) are great, proactive, warm people. Although I didn't get the chance to meet them since we were out and about, I felt confident and secure knowing that they'll be there the second I ever need any help. I'm so thankful to have had the chance to stay at this property and certainly looking forward to coming back again. Thank you Inga and Laura for your warm welcome and accommodating all of my family's needs. Until next time! :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEAUTIFUL SANTA BARBARA HOME. A+++!!!

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

This place is just so wonderful. The location, the design, the amenities, the parking, the space, everything is A+++! My family truly loved it here. This beautiful property is perfectly situated in Downtown Santa Barbara. A short block from Downtown State Street (where everything happens in this city) and few blocks from the beach. This is truly what they call a "Walker's Paradise" and a "dream vacation home". Perfect for a family of 4, maybe even more! The place is spacious and very well decorated with all the amenities you wish for in a vacation home. From the entrance to the property, the beautiful parking, patio, and deck area,... to the warm comfortable feeling of the design of Mama Dux, one could certainly tell that a lot of hard work and thoughts were put in making this home a perfect place for a getaway. The king bed is very comfortable, so are the two round swivel chairs and two single beds. With two large TVs, Netflix, Wifi, DVD player included in the property, you don't even need to get out of the house for entertainment. The kitchen is fully-equipped with a large fridge, full-size stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and cooking supplies. There's also a washer and dishwasher. A BBQ grill with outside seating and a deck with patio chairs. The bikes (for all ages and sizes) are also included in the rental for no additional charge. The service is probably the best you'll ever get and can't be any more grateful to have found this place. Inga (property owner) and Laura (caretaker) are great, proactive, warm people. Although I didn't get the chance to meet them since we were out and about, I felt confident and secure knowing that they'll be there the second I ever need any help. I'm so thankful to have had the chance to stay at this property and certainly looking forward to coming back again. Thank you Inga and Laura for your warm welcome and accommodating all of my family's needs. Until next time! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nina,
What a lovely, glowing review. Thank you so much. I regret not being able to meet you but apparently you were out enjoying all the wonderful sights in beautiful Santa Barbara when I was around the property. I do hope you will return to visit in the future and stay with us again.
My very best to you and your family,
Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

This was my first visit to Santa Barbara. The MAMA DUX apartment was exactly as advertised. It has a very convenient location just a block from State Street. Turn left on State and it's just a short walk to the beach, harbor and Stearns Wharf. Turn right on State and walk to all of the shops and restaurants. In addition, there was a very nice cafe with great coffee just a block away on Anacapa Street.
The apartment was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortably furnished. In addition, parking is provided, which is a great convenience. Despite the location and the fact that there are two other units in the house, it was very quiet. The owner and manager both provided great service and made themselves available should any need arise. Happily, I didn't require their services during my visit.
I would recommend the apartment without reservation.

Owners response: John, it was a pleasure to have you and you, no way, look 60! smiles, Inga

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay, Great Location.

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The unit was beautifully furnished, the bed was very comfortable. It was very quiet considering the location which is extremely close to downtown. This was a great experience and we will definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I hated to leave....

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

I don't know where to start. I stayed at the Mama Dux for 33 nights and can only say wonderful things about it.

First of all, it's lovely. It's decorated with taste and style and in beautiful colors that tells you that thought has gone into every aspect of it. The deck, the yard, the surroundings are all delightful - filled with old growth and well-tended plants and trees - every day it looked like paradise out the window.

The location cannot be beat. I rarely got in my car the entire time and, in fact, walked to every single meal that I ate away from "home". The beach, wineries, shopping, groceries, you name it...all within blocks. Need milk? Walk 1/2 block to Smart N' Final. You could do all your shopping there and never get in your car. I needed an emergency vet for my dog and it was 3 blocks away. It doesn't get any more convenient.

Laura, the caretaker certainly took care of me and acted immediately for anything I needed. Since I grew up in L.A., I had many friends visit me during my stay and each and every one of them were floored by my digs and I made sure to tell them how accommodating Laura was. For example, when I arrived there were no screens on the windows and, since I had my dog with me, I needed them. She immediately attached 2 screens and within a few days all new screens were on all the windows! When I mentioned that I couldn't get the DVD player to work, a new Blu Ray player was delivered the next day. Plumbing emergency? Handled within minutes. Literally. I locked myself out and a simple phone call to Laura and I didn't feel embarrassed nor did I have to climb in a window! Above and beyond the call of duty each and every time.

Inga and her mother were present and pleasant, too. The yard was tended to daily. My porch swept and cushions primped daily. A ripe bag of plums delivered to my doorstep and given to my guests, too!

I cannot recommend Mama Dux highly enough. I would stay there in a heartbeat again and certainly hope to. The highlights of my stay were Lotusland (do NOT miss this but make reservations well in advance), whale watching on the Condor Express, tour of Casa del Herrero, dinner at Wine Cask and Intermezzo, Bouchon, The Palace Grill, Super Rica of course. I didn't really have a bad meal the entire time. Don't miss the "old hippie" and his van down on the boardwalk. (You can't miss it).

Thank you Inga and Laura for a vacation that far surpassed my hopes.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Weekend ever!!!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

I and my family stayed at Mama Dux and it was absolutely amazing!

The place is close to the beach and close to downtown Santa Barbara. It is very quite and relaxing. Santa Barbara is absolutely charming!!!

The hosts of Mama Dux were very helpful and even set up a crib for my baby.;)

I absolutely recommend Mama Dux to everybody who wants to visit and have fun in Santa Barbara.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing vacation in September

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

I wrote a long review of our wonderful stay back in the fall, but it somehow didn't go through, so at long last, I'm trying again. We came from Boston to help our son settle in to graduate school at UCSB, so we wanted a central location in walking distance from the shop and the beach. We couldn’t possibly have chosen a more wonderful place. The apartment is spacious with plenty of shelf and closet space. The kitchen has everything that you need. The patio in the back is beautiful for relaxing and having a fine glass of Santa Barbara wine. State Street, with all its shops, restaurants and bakeries, is just a block away. We loved every minute and hope to come back in 2013 (alas, not this year). Make sure to take Inga’s recommendations for activities. We capped off our stay in Santa Barbara with a concert at the Santa Barbara Bowl. Amazing!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Stay in Santa Barbara!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

This was our first time visiting Santa Barbara and it was amazing!! I have family that comes to visit from out of the States for the holidays and every year we try to do something different. We absolutely loved this place. The location is perfect, just a block from State Street and a couple of blocks from the Ocean. The place was super clean, cozy and very "chic".
We arrived Friday evening and Laura had the electric heater on for us. It was perfect. The bed is also super comfy!!! The next morning we made breakfast (the unit is fully equipped with pots and pans, plates, even wine glasses and some condiments) and then went out for a bike ride (also included). We had a blast! My sister picked a three wheeler and even my dad went out with us. There is also a supermarket at a walking distance and a Trader Joe's too. The location is so convenient. We biked all over the place, to the beach, State Street and the Courthouse building! What a day! For New Years Eve we made our own dinner at "home".
We also recommend going to Goleta Beach (about 15min car drive) its a fun dog friendly beach with a great restaurant.
We absolutely recommend this place and we hoping to go back soon! I cant imagine how fun Santa Barbara can be during the summer!! Thank you so much Inga and Laura !!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great apartment in a great location!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in this adorable apartment for three weeks while we were in Santa Barbara for her jaw surgery. It was every bit as inviting as it looked on the web site, but the apartment had real substance as well. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and the shower worked great. My daughter especially appreciated how the velvet curtains were able to close out all the light for sleeping. The management does everything possible to make guests happy so you really can't go wrong with this choice. An extra plus is that it provides excellent value.

I would recommend this property to anyone planning a stay in Santa Barbara!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Property, Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

We decided to end our recent one month vacation in Santa Babara before returning home to the UK. We're so glad we found this beautiful apartment which was just moments from State Street and a few blocks from the beach. The apartment had everything we could possibly need including a washer/dryer which came in very useful for us after our travels. We made use of the bicycles provided which was such an excellent way of seeing all that Santa Barbara has to offer. We would definitely recommend staying here and hope to come back again soon ourselves.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

We truly had the BEST time! The trip was exactly what I hoped for and your home could not have been a better home base for us.
The house was everything we had hoped it would be and more. Beautifully decorated, clean, and a perfect place to enjoy Santa Barbara and the surrounding area.

The kids especially enjoyed the fishing that we did up on Sterns Wharf ($7/pp to rent the poles & bait for an hour.... a great deal and just enough time for everyone to catch a fish) We also enjoyed our ride down to Carpinteria to eat lunch at the notorious hotdog stand and to see the seals. We also enjoyed the Santa Barbara Mission and stand up paddle boarding at East Beach.

Best of all was that I barely cooked while we were there b/c we found a place called Baha Sharkeez around the corner from the house on State Street that had the best happy hour specials. I dont think that I ever paid more than $30 for all four of us to have dinner - including tip and 2 margaritas for me. I'm not sure it was the most nutritiously sound week, but the four of have never eaten so many plums from your amazing fruit trees which I'm hoping made up it :)


We had the very best time and truly felt so at home and happy..... a perfect vacation!

Thank you and Laura, for a fantastic family vacation!! Also, thank you to the very nice man that we often saw in the evenings taking care of the property..... he was great!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Santa Barbara perfect location!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

I just wanted to take the time to tell you how much we enjoyed your home. We all agreed it was one of our best family get aways ever, and we get away a couple times a year….so, that’s saying a lot. The access to bicycles any time probably put it over the top, as there was a bike for all size and experience levels in our group! Ha Our 11 year old daughter was able to manage the one adult girls bike you had, and my husband and I switched off on the adult tricycle.

You have done an amazing job on the interior design and amenities, and the patio with the fountain was superb. Laura was very sweet and even gave us a tour of the upper level unit which I am sure we will come back to enjoy at some point.

Thanks again for providing us a place to enjoy the beautiful Santa Barbara. ? ?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stellar! Location+Comfort = Ahhh We'll be back!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

The decor makes this place feel good in your bones; decor is like Pottery Barn meets a luxury hotel, then stocked with the function of Ikea, the savvy of Martha Stewart, and the comfort only Grandmom can bring.
If you can dislodge yourself from the tropical backyard recliner chairs, by the bubbling Italian fountain, the location is perfect walking distance to shops, beach (there was aloe vera for our sunburns), grocery + dining-3-4 blocks; did I mention the bicycles? Yeah, it's the good life here.
So don't pack the motherlode of stuff, just grab a small bag of clothes and enjoy this relaxing retreat!
If you Need ANYTHING during your stay, someone is close by to help, very approachable, yet courteous of your privacy! (Laura, I miss you already-thank you for your prompt call backs)
FYI-The location is close to Ventura, Solvang, wine country, and has many historic buildings of interest ,such as the Mission-check it out! And 25cent buses up and downtown/beaches! We went to Channel Islands too! So much fun, and a great place to come "home to". -Meredith Guthrie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Meridth and Rich were one of the guests that makes this a heart filling enterprise. My gratitude is enormous for such good people is enormous!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything and more

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Just wanted to tell you, your place is awesome. Its is so CUTE!!! You picked out some lovely wall colors, fixtures and accessories. I do real estate staging, so I notice EVERYTHING. Had a lovely visit with my son...and soaking up Santa Barbara. We rode the bikes along the beach, now both want to go out and buy cruisers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Extremely relaxing room & Perfect location!

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

My wife and I recently spent four days here and had an absolutely wonderful time. The interior is as nice as it appears in the photos -- we spent more time indoors than we had expected just because it was so peaceful. Even the bed was great! We're both very picky about beds and usually assume that while on vacation the beds where we're staying just won't be as nice as the one we have at home, but this one was extremely comfortable. The location was perfect as well! One short block from State Street, we could walk everywhere or take advantage of the four bicycles that were provided with the place. We never got around to grilling, but there was a large grill and very nice patio area right outside our door. And finally, when you consider how much you would have to pay for a comparable hotel room with the same location in Santa Barbara, this place is a total bargain! We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Good people leave good good go-od, good vibrations...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Super!!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

We absolutely enjoyed our stay here on Thanksgiving weekend! The unit was spotless, decorated really nicely, kitchen has everything you need, the location can't be beat and most importantly -customer service is SUPERB!!! Thank you!!! Perfect for a small family or a couple. We will be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your consideration in taking the time to post a review -- which is so helpful to travelers as well as to the innkeeper! Laura, the property manager, also loves the strokes.

Travel well!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This accommodation was totally perfect! The apt. is spacious and beautiful. You'll find everything you need. The owner Inga makes sure you'll have a fantastic und stressless vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Centrally located well-equipped spacious suite

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

This elegant apartment with high ceilings and plenty of windows seemed even more spacious than the pictures suggest. The king bed is comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets for the occasionally chilly December nights. The new Ikea kitchen was very well equipped with a gas stove, all manner of cooking utensils, condiments and basic cooking ingredients (coffee, sugar, ground pepper, ketchup, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, a full spice rack with fresh spices, salt, etc.). It was easy to whip up meals without needing to buy every little thing. The owner provides three reasonably comfortable cruiser bikes and one big tricycle for shopping (note: it would have been very helpful to have a tire pump and flat tire repair supplies available on the premises, but there's a bike repair shop just up Anacapa and free air nearby at State & Ortega). Santa Barbara is mostly flat, so cruiser bikes were great for riding around most of the city and along the beach. There's a full-size washer and dryer, a new big LCD TV, iPod dock, and good sound system. The shower was very small (about 30" square?), a tight fit even for a slim person. There was some noise from the upstairs neighbors (shoes on the wooden floor, muffled voices, washing machine & dryer). The shops and restaurants of State street start just two blocks away and the beach is an easy five-minute stroll. The Walkscore site gives it a well-deserved score of a 97 out of 100: "Walker's Paradise". There may be parking for one car in the yard depending on how the other residents park, but if you'd like to take car-free vacation, this house's location and Santa Barbara's bike-friendliness make it really easy. The area also seemed very safe and the street was not noisy, except for the weekly street cleaning trucks around 4am. The yard has pretty fruit trees (persimmon, citrus) that attract (quiet) birds to provide a quiet oasis for relaxing after a day of biking and strolling around. This was a terrific base to get to know Santa Barbara and all that it offers: beautiful tree-lined streets, East and West beach within 5 minutes walking, the Douglas Preserve and Arroyo Burro beach (just over 4 miles by bike, mostly flat), cute cafes (e.g., Crush Cafe 1 mile up Anacapa, South Coast Deli, Daily Bread Bakery), great people watching on State Street, and the train station. And check out the majestic, huge, beautiful 130-year-old tree just behind the station, to the NW. Awe inspiring!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review