reviews for: listing #76493 - Carmel, California House rental

Oceanview Crml/Big Sur 2 Mstr Suites; LAST MINUTE DISCOUNTS
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  palo Colorado
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $600 /nt
    $1,800 - $5,000 /wk
    $5,500 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Thanks Tony!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

Such a wonderful home and location. We stayed on the smaller La Casita, which was perfect for a couples retreat. Additionally Tony was very kind and professional, he really helped us out in a pinch after we had some issues with our previous vacation plans. The property is even more beautiful than the photos are able to demonstrate, and has all the comforts of home. We particularly liked the soaking tub, and the well stocked and outfitted kitchen. Thanks again Tony, and will certainly plan to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house and location!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

We had a last minute wedding come up in Big Sur and were immediately concerned about where to stay. Luckily after some searching we came across Tony's property. He could not have made the process any easier. The house is set in and amazing location on the hills overlooking the coast. Tony provided detail directions with turn by turn photos which made it incredibly easy to find (not one of the three couples had any trouble finding the house (even the late arrival). The house itself is very welcoming and comfortable. The bedrooms are outfitted with comfortable beds and ample space. Everything was impeccably clean and well maintained (and exactly as described in the listing). We enjoyed the deck and the hot tub, taking in amazing views and sunshine between wedding duties. With just a short drive down to the 1 we squeezed in a quick coastal run and visit to the beach. While we were not able to take advantage on this trip, I have in the past hiked many of the nearby trails which offer tones of access to the best that Big Sur has to offer. We certainly hope to stay again during our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home, Spectacular Location – The Perfect Holiday Home!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

We have just returned to the UK after spending a wonderful vacation touring the beautiful Pacific Coast Highway and undoubtedly one of the highlights of our vacation was the time we spent at the fabulous La Casa Principal at Sobre Sur Grande.

The drive through the redwoods up to La Casa Principal is simply stunning. The house is located above the tree line at the top of a steep and narrow private lane and is well worth the drive as the views of the valley and the ocean are breath-taking and the photos do not do it justice.

Tony, the owner, is a pleasure to deal with and nothing seems too much trouble; from recommending restaurants in San Francisco, to offering advice on places to stay further along the PCH. Tony has thought of everything and has equipped the house to suit all needs, and the extra special welcome touches really do make you instantly feel at home.

The views are amazing, watching the sunrise from the master bedroom or the balcony and seeing the sunset over the valley from the hot tub are not to be missed.

The property was spotlessly clean and we would not hesitate in recommending the property to friends or family.

Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT GETAWAY!!! RELAXING AND REJUVENATING

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

What a great place...perfect for a girls trip/getaway...there were 6 of us!! Tony greeted us and then left us to it, but left very elaborate directions for everything...his house is very accommodating and has
everything you would need in the kitchen, bedrooms and bathroom!

Once you get up to the house...( it is a little bit of a trek) you don't want to leave! We had breakfast and cooked dinner every night and sat out on the patio enjoying the amazing view and the magical sky and air! Had one day in Carmel, one day in Big Sur and 1 day hiking, all beautiful! The last night we had a sky filled with more stars then any of us had ever seen! GORGEOUS. Would love to make it a yearly trip and would highly recommend this house to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We stayed at La Casita for an impromptu get away. The cabin is absolutely beautiful and the views are breathtaking. I'm so glad we chose this place isntead of staying at some of the hotels nearby. Waking up in the morning to a view of the green, redwood covered hills, covered in a sea of fog was one of the most memorable moments of our little get away.

This was a last minute get away and we hadn't done a lot of planning but Tony made it easy for us. From the minute that we contacted him he was an absolute pleasure to work with. He accomodated our very tight timeline and gave us super detailed instructions on how to get to the cabin.

I only wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Retreat / Family Vacation House

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The property is located in the mountains of Big Sur, but not difficult to find off Highway 1. The environment surrounding the property is absolutely stunning. Owner had done a great job on the landscape and the view from the entire house and balcony are spectacular. In the morning and sunset, the famous fog of Big Sur sets in. During the day, one can lie on the comfortable recliner on the balcony in the mild sunlight or sit on the grassland area right outside the bedrooms.

Owner had thought of every single detail possible to make the guests feel comfortable. From the facilities, to quantity of bathtowels, to the quality of the throw on the lazy boy chair in the living room. Our family felt pampered. We dined outside for breakfast and lunch everyday, and cooked some decent dinners during our stay.

We loved our family reunion staying at Tony's property. We will come back again for sure!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Everytime I buy a little something for the house, that's maybe more expensive than my frugal brain would choose, I ask myself,"what would i think was special." So nice when folks agree!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Property, Wonderful Location

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

This property is simply amazing. After a 2.5 mile drive through dense redwoods, you emerge to an incredible view of Big Sur and the ocean (accurately depicted in the photos). The property was very clean, spacious and ready for our arrival. It was unseasonably warm but the AC soon took care of the heat. We had purchased breakfast and lunch supplies in Monterey and made use of the well-equiped kitchen and deck. Tony was accessible and super friendly! We only wish we could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect home, perfect location, everything was incredible!

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Tony was great to deal with. Responsive, accommodating, and the house was exceptional! We stayed at the smaller house, perfect for a couple, and couldn't have asked for a better time. The kitchen was great to cook in, and it's a real bonus having a washer/dryer and dish washer in case you need them. The bedroom was fantastic with a large comfy bed, and the soaking tub was amazing! I want one for my own home. The deck was great to relax on, and the views. Ohh the views! Amazing! Even the second day with fog that rolled through, we woke up and felt like we were floating. Pretty cool effect. I highly recommend staying here. It's a great value for the money honestly.

A few notes: Kitchen is fully stocked, just bring veggies! You really don't need to bring anything but clothes, and some food, that's about it. Everything else is there. You will need to have a vehicle that can handle a bumpy dirt road, so no low cars unless you can navigate on the last leg up.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing, Relaxing, Romantic, Quiet, Fun, and Beautiful!

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

Looking for a weekend getaway to Big Sur/Carmel? Stop Looking! You've found the place!

Sobre Sur Grande is an amazing property sitting on a cliff overlooking a gorgeous valley. After a long day of driving up the beautiful central coast we arrived and finally exited the highway and made the turn up to Sobre Sur Grande. You drive through a beautiful Redwood trees, and feel like your in an enchanted forest! Then we arrived at the house, and our jaws dropped as soon as we got out of the car. The view from the living room and deck is stunning! The house is perfectly designed, and the views couldn't be better!

In the mornings you can stretch out on the lawn overlooking the valley while sipping local coffee(fresh beans provided by the owner), and watch the sunrise! In the evenings you can sip local wine(The owner has great taste!) , and watch the sunset over the ocean, and clouds roll into the valley. Keep an eye out for whales cruising by in the water(Great set of binoculars and tripod provided by the owner for wildlife watching)!

The owner of this place goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is the most memorable weekend you've ever had. Local wine, chocolate, treats, and every amenity you can imagine.

The best part of this place is having everything you need, wifi, cable, quick access to town etc, but not needing it at all! It's easy to turn everything off, and just relax for the weekend. You can choose to stay in all weekend, and just soak in how beautiful the surroundings are, or go out and adventure.

We choose to spend the first day relaxing around the house sipping wine, basking in the sun, and reading on the deck. The second day we went into Carmel and enjoyed some great food and wine tasting. You can truly do it all at this place!

This place is truly special, and made for an amazing weekend getaway for my wife and I. I cant wait to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, views and amenites.

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Our group of 4 adults and 2 large teenage boys stayed for several days at La Casa Principal @ SobreSurGrande and could not have asked for a more convenient, clean and well equipped house. As our home based for sight seeing and hiking along Big Sur the location was central to our day trips. The house is in a quite unique development and there are homes on either side but the slope of the site and placement of the house provided excellent privacy particularly when inside the home, hot tub or on the deck. Views from the home, deck and hot tub of the valley,next set of mountains and the ocean are the perfect beginning and end to long days in the car and hiking. The home is immaculate with nicely updated bathrooms, shampoo and body wash are provided as are all kitchen cleaning supplies. Kitchen is spotless with ample cookware, dishes, plates, etc... which made cooking for and feeding 6 not as issue. The grounds are well kept with a pride of ownership obvious from the condition of the entire property. The description and photos of the property well represent the home and its features. The owner is great to work with providing local knowledge of places to eat, shop, hike, etc... which was especially helpful when traveling from the east coast. The directions to the home provided ( including photos) are spot on and worth printing out and following particularly the first time to the home. Highly recommend arriving while there is some daylight left as the homes along the lower portion of the development built amongst the trees are very interesting and a few turns could be missed in the evening. We would stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay Big Sur.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Not too often you can make teenagers happy with their parents' choices!
Glad to have provided a great spot for all of you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casita the perfect retreat!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary at Tony's Casita. It's the perfect combination of the seclusion and tranquility of a treehouse cottage-in-the-woods with the grandeur of a luxurious glorious vista out to the ocean. From both the soaking tub and shower you stare out at the beautiful oaks. From the bed -- which is extremely comfortable with beautiful linens -- you can see the blue ocean, perfectly framed by the canyon. The gourmet kitchen is tiny -- but wonderfully stocked with high quality cookware and tools. Tony was great to work with -- super responsive and available to answer all questions. And he refunded our security deposit almost immediately upon our departure. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm always glad when special times happen at La Casita...I designed it with couples in mind and it's wonderful when you find it so cool!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

This was a great rental for us (five people) for three main reasons: location, the property itself, and the owner.

First: Location. Location. Location. This was an ideal location in two senses: It was close to Carmel/Monterey to the north and Big Sur to the south so we could enjoy the amenities of those towns while finding wonderful places to hike and explore. And, the house itself is located on the side of a canyon with absolutely beautiful views (more stunning than we had anticipated even after looking through the website photos).

Second: The property. The house was immaculately clean and very well maintained. Tony has done a great job of making you feel at home. From the thick bathrobes to the well-situated hot tub, from a grill on the deck to the wifi and Dish television, from a great kitchen to the lovely dining room, the house was perfect for us. We would spend most of our days exploring the area and then come back in time for dinner and the sunsets. We got to play board games while watching the twilight turn into night. Very special.

Third: The owner. One of the reasons I chose this property was that many of the reviews mentioned the owner and his commitment to the house and his guests. We were not disappointed. Tony was available to answer questions and help with our plans. He lives next door to the rental property (though you can't see his house from this property) and was there to welcome us and say goodbye. His book on yoga (a copy is in the house along with other books on Big Sur and the area) is well-worth the look.

I would certainly recommend the property to friends, and if we ever get to go back to Big Sur, we would hope to visit here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I"m humbled by these words....It's so amazing to have so much fun helping guests have a great time, then to hear your responses. I never thought this would be one of the benefits of making my home a vacation rental, but it's truly become a gift to me

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

This was absolutely the PERFECT rental! The owner responded right away to my inquiry and was able to accomadate my last minute plans. The rental is remote with a wonderful view, yet has everything you need if you want or need to stay in touch with "reality". Otherwise, it is a secluded escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. There were very detailed directions and instructions to the house, which made everything simple. There was lots of information and guidence to the nearby attractions as well. Most importantly, the house was CLEAN and everything you needed for you stay was provided, from spices to plush bathrobes. I'll certainly recommend this rental to anyone visiting Big Sur or Carmel, as it is in the perfect location for both!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I resisted putting in TV until one set of guests said they had to have it; now it's there if you need it, but hopefully getting off grid is a treat. So the wifi is also there, but just so you can realize how far you are from it all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place for Relaxation & Rejuvenation

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

I stayed at Sobre Sur Grande with a few of my girlfriends for a weekend, we could not have asked for a better location and experience. Tony has truly thought of every detail for providing a five star experience. The views were breathtaking, the atmosphere was relaxing and it was a close drive to Carmel. It was really a weekend in paradise and we can not wait to go back, my first thought upon arriving was that the pictures do not capture how great the home is, it was clean and well kept. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A charming house with a spectacular view

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better host. From the prompt responses to inquiries and easy rental agreement to the helpful notes that allow you to enjoy the property without any grief from either party, the whole stay was amazing.

The house is extremely well equipped for enjoyment: a well equipped kitchen allows you to enjoy espresso and breakfast and a grill to enjoy the vista while entertaining. Additionally, there is plenty of places to relax and lounge after hiking and exploring the surrounding trails.

If that isn't enough, I'd highly recommend topping the nights off with a soak in the hot tub while enjoying the stars, which are magnificent from this vista.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking beauty and serenity

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Our family spent four nights at this extraordinary place. The accommodations were perfect for our family of four adults and two teenagers. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook special meals each night, the beds were the height of comfort, and the views were breathtaking -- especially when sitting in the hot tub after a long day of hiking. Tony is a charming and extremely thoughtful host, making sure that his guests have all they need for a perfect stay, including many personal recommendations about must-see hikes, restaurants, and other sights in the area. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love to have multigenerational visits..There seems to be some worderful combination of privacy and togetherness that even works for teenagers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breathtaking

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

My sister, cousin an I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Tony is an outstanding host and the property was absolutely breathtaking. The location was perfect for hikes to Big Sur and shopping in Carmel. The drive up to the house makes you feel like you've entered another world...lovely redwoods and quaint cabins line the road and are truly part of the charm in this experience. Be ready for steep hills but know when you arrive, it will be all that you've imagined. High above the trees overlooking the valley below with the ocean in the distance, a beautiful sight, indeed. Make sure and stop for groceries before, so you can stay put and enjoy all this place has to offer. Everything was very well kept and clean. The garden to the side of the house is lovely and fragrant. We all slept well as there isn't a noise to be heard...so peaceful. We'll be back again and are so fortunate to be able to count Tony as a new friend. Thanks, Tony for sharing your home, gourmet skills and warm personality...it was a trip we'll never forget. Fondly, the MN Girls.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I ran into mary and friends at Rocky Point Restaurant. It was so cool for a stranger to come up to me, and turn out to be my houseguest! We walked back up to the house, slowly to be sure. Then i cooked dinner for them and we had a great time..What a treat for me!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Family Getaway Location

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

All of the great reviews that I saw on this house were 100% on the mark. It definitely did not disappoint! Tony, the owner, was fantastic to work with. The views from the house were breathtaking (ocean, sunset, & redwood forest), the hiking from the front door was a great surprise, and it truly felt like an escape. The house itself was well appointed, bedrooms were big and comfortable, and it was a great place to relax.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm humbled by reviews like this...I sometimes feel i get to involved with my guests, so it's great to hear my "two cents" often helps!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sorry to break the trend but...

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

This place is nice but not nearly like all the reviews suggest. The negative for me was that the one bedroom that seems to best be described as the master on the main floor is open to the kitchen/living room. There is a flimsy rice paper window divider that made it uncomfortable for one to use the sofa bed in the living room without feeling like there was no privacy in the bedroom. There is no master bedroom because there is no attached bathroom to any room. There are two additional bedrooms down a narrow spiral staircase with a sleeper sofa in one of the bedrooms. I think the layout was weird. There was a separate dining room that went unused that would quite frankly be better used as an enclosed bedroom. The kitchen and living area was cozy and nice and that made our stay delightful. There was too much clutter but once I put away some of the owners stuff and made room, it was great. There was too much of the owners stuff. Clothes in the closet, food in the fridge. That part was creepy. It would be different if we were staying at a friend's house but I don't know the owner at all so it was just weird. Fortunately, we were only there for 3 nights and we were so busy vacationing that the time went by quickly. The location was excellent for visiting Monterey as well as Big Sur.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: i am so sorry this guest did not get what she/he expected. I would like to respond to the concerns. The "flimsy rice-paper room divider" is actually a hand-made Japanese shoji screen costing $3500. I installed it to allow ocean views from the Master Bedroom. I have no defense but rather am proud of how the master opens onto the living room kitchen area..This is not a home for traditional visitors wanting a maximum of privacy between rooms. It is designed for an open and sharing environment. There is plenty of room for privacy, but this is mainly a home for families and groups who want to be together.

The narrow spiral staircase is built to code, but i agree for large people it is not as expanxive as a regular stair case.

I am sorry my Master Bedrooms do not fit the traveler's definition since the bathrooms are not attached. If this is in fact the defintion then i will need to clarify it in my description. Actually other guests consider the upstairs Master to be pretty amazing with its Airloome King Bed and Yves DeLorme bedding, and the Downstairs Master has received equally great reviews because of its similar bed and two room suite, both looking out to the sea.

I am also distressed by the traveler's statement about the dining room which other guests consider the high point of my home. It allows for up to 12 folks to dine together while viewing the ocean and oak forest

The traveler is correct that i do leave some personal clothing in the closet but make ample room available for travelers..if this is a problem for other guests it's very easy for me to remove but hasn't come up

I am so sorry this traveler expected something different.

4/13/13 UPDATE: MASTER BEDROOM CLOSET HAS BEEN CHANGED SO NOW THERE IS A TOTALLY SEPARATE CLOSET FOR GUESTS, WITH MY THINGS KEPT SEPARATE. HOPE THAT ADDRESSES THESE CONCERNS

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Best weekend ever

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

I planned a surprise birthday weekend for my bf and a group of our friends and everything about the house and Tony made it the best weekend ever!

First of, the house is simply amazing. Great views, so clean with all the amenities you'd need, secluded enough to make you feel like you're in a mountain retreat, near trails (literally you can walk outside and go hiking and we did an afternoon hike as a group), awesome deck (though it was raining and we didn't get to use it much). But despite the rain, the house made the perfect retreat for the weekend.

Tony was so nice and the most gracious host. He was so responsive throughout the booking process, was super accommodating, left us a bottle of wine when we arrive, had extra food in the fridge for us. Honestly I couldn't asked for a better host.

We all loved it and we'd all come back in a heartbeat!

Owners response: I always love it when my guests want to come back...that's the ultimate compliment, and the ultimate review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little piece of heaven!

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

We stayed at Tony's La Casita for 2 nights during our honeymoon trip. What a lovely stay! The house is located about 1/2 way between Carmel and Big Sur. It is perched on the top of a mountain with amazing views of the ocean in the distance. It is exceptionally clean, decorated very nicely, and has all of the comforts of home. Tony was a pleasure to work with, even calling to make sure we had arrived safely. We would definitely recommend this property and hope to return someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I don't advertise La Casita much; and had the idea to create a luxury retreat in miniature...I built it around the two person soaking tub, and am told it's a truly romantic spot....I can't say it's better than the main house, but it's so cool for a couple

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous View and Peaceful

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We stayed at La Casita, which is very private as it's down a path away from the main house and neighbors. It's a very new home and it has a beautiful view of the mountains to the ocean. We had a very relaxing time here and unwinding from the busyness of life. It's also only about half an hour away from Monterey to the north, or activities down south in Big Sur, so you can take advantage of both, which we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: When i designed La Casita, i hoped for a really special place for couples, but also a perfect space for me when La Casa Principal is rented. I seem to have gotten the best of both worlds: a wonderful retreat and a comfy luxury home. Thanks for appreciating it

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a wonderful retreat

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Casita over Labor Day and had a fantastic time. I don't typically write reviews online but this place was special and Tony is a great guy so I'll spread the word.

La Casita is great for a romantic retreat - very private and with spectacular views. We loved being there and ended up staying in each night to enjoy the sunset views and the soaking tub. The house has a fully equipped kitchen and a bbq grill so we cooked dinner, enjoyed some wine and relaxed. The house has an open design that lets in a lot of light and embraces the natural surroundings and the furnishings in the house are of very high quality. We spent most of our time during the day hiking in the Big Sur state parks nearby.

I'd recommend grabbing groceries from Carmel on the way in so that you don't have to leave the Big Sur area. Also, expect to drive for 15-30 miles each way on Hwy1 to get to the various state parks and to the restaurants in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The House IS the Vacation.

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Tony's home was in itself a self-contained vacation. Everything was fitted out to enable an entirely pleasant and stress-free stay, from comfortable bedrooms to abundant kitchenware and quality linens.

We were 8 adults, which in hindsight was probably 1 or 2 too many for the number of bedrooms the house provides, but the 2 of us on the living and dining room sleeper couches were quite comfortable. I can see families with young children especially loving the house, and easily fitting 10 - 11.

Even so, we only ventured out once per day, and were always happy to return. We cooked every meal over our 3 days there in the ample kitchen and on the expansive deck, with its stunning views of the valley and ocean beyond.

Our tendency to stay home was both due to how much we enjoyed the house and because of its seeming remoteness. Access to the house is gained through a few miles of beautifully forested winding, steep roads off Highway 1, a decompression zone between the relative bustle of the highway and the tranquility of the house. Don't stay here if you want to be in the thick of Big Sur/Carmel - it's removed from everything - but everything is only a half hour drive away, and staying here you will feel deprived of nothing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have a bit of a hidden gem here in our 'hood: it's completely private, removed from the more touristy parts of Carmel/Big Sur, yet easily accessible to both.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunsets, stars and fresh air

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

What more could you want?! We had an amazing weekend at Tony's house. Whether we were sitting on the deck enjoying the sunset, grilling up some fresh fish from the market or going for a hike just outside the front door, it was everything we were looking for in a long weekend away from the city. It's been a while since we've seen that many stars and the fresh air is invigorating. Not to mention that the house is well decorated & equipped with everything you need - a fully stocked kitchen, nice bathrooms and comfy beds. Looking forward to returning!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sobre Sur Grande Las mejores vistas en Sur Grande

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

Everything Tony says about the house is absolutely there, the views, the tranquility and the feeling of being at home in such a beautiful place. We were blessed with fantastic weather with deep blue skies during the day and spectacular evening shows as the Pacific mist and sunsets combined. The house easly accomodated two grandparents, two parents and two boisterous kids giving each their own space when needed. The kids loved playing on both the green and the gravel yards, see saws, paddling pool and mini campsite kept them happy. Lots of great places to visit nearby if you can drag yourself away. On a practical note the house was spotless and well equipped and stocked.
Tony even cooked a great Monterey sea food dinner for us on the last night --- not many rentals include that. Volveremos algun dia pronto!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I often say how making my home a vacation rental has been a wonderfully serendipitous experience..I cooked dinner for my guests and had the best time doing it....You all remind me what an amazing place this is...thanks to you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Tony’s place in Carmel. This house is a true Home away from Home.
The house was really beautiful, has a very unique character, very comfortable and has all you need to enjoy the stay while you on vacation.
And when you step outside to the deck…this is the “Jewel in the Crown”. You will see the sunset you can’t see anywhere else. It’s the million dollar view!
We really found ourselves waiting every day to the end of it just to come back and enjoy the place.
Access in and out from all attractions and tourists location was easy, quick and simple.
Also dealing with Tony was a real pleasure. He was very responsive and helpful.
If you are looking for a place to stay at the Carmel area – Don’t miss the opportunity to stay in this lovely place. You won’t regret your choice. It’s guaranteed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Tony’s place in Carmel. This house is a true Home away from Home.
The house was really beautiful, has a very unique character, very comfortable and has all you need to enjoy the stay while you on vacation.
And when you step outside to the deck…this is the “Jewel in the Crown”. You will see the sunset you can’t see anywhere else. It’s the million dollar view!
We really found ourselves waiting every day to the end of it just to come back and enjoy the place.
Access in and out from all attractions and tourists location was easy, quick and simple.
Also dealing with Tony was a real pleasure. He was very responsive and helpful.
If you are looking for a place to stay at the Carmel area – Don’t miss the opportunity to stay in this lovely place. You won’t regret your choice. It’s guaranteed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Tony’s place in Carmel. This house is a true Home away from Home.
The house was really beautiful, has a very unique character, very comfortable and has all you need to enjoy the stay while you on vacation.
And when you step outside to the deck…this is the “Jewel in the Crown”. You will see the sunset you can’t see anywhere else. It’s the million dollar view!
We really found ourselves waiting every day to the end of it just to come back and enjoy the place.
Access in and out from all attractions and tourists location was easy, quick and simple.
Also dealing with Tony was a real pleasure. He was very responsive and helpful.
If you are looking for a place to stay at the Carmel area – Don’t miss the opportunity to stay in this lovely place. You won’t regret your choice. It’s guaranteed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to put your feet up.

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

This is a terrific house to stay in, with a very nice view of the hills and the ocean peeking through in the distance. The yard is full of quail and other critters all day. The house itself has been thoughtfully designed for guests. The kitchen works well, and the equipment and seating seems to be just where you want it throughout. The place is not huge, but is carefully set up to soak up people in a way that is comfortable and private. There are three bedrooms that offer complete privacy, but there are additional sleeping options. Even the fold out couches (I think there were three of them) are American leather with tempurpedic mattresses, so comfort is not lacking anywhere. The road up to the house is a bit of an adventure, but once we (two families with 7 people total) got there, we stayed for three days and only left once. There was no real reason to go anywhere. The deck is such a nice place to sit and contemplate the world and life. Bring some wine (our terrific host Tony provided some) and put your feet up. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

La Casita

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

What a wonderful stay...perfect for those who want to get away from the hustle and traffic found in Carmel and Monterey! Truly a peaceful get away, would definitely plan a return visit. The owner was very accomodating and the Casita was very well furnished/stocked for our visit. The views were amazing-

About 10 minutes S of Carmel and 20 min N of Big Sur....

Thanks again Tony!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A true find- excellent in more ways than expected

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

With a last minute rental on a busy Big Sur week, I was happy simply to find a suitable rental. Driving up to the home I realized a couple of things:

A) This property puts you right in the most spectacular part of the Pacific Coast Highway- near the great photo scenery between Point Sur and Rocky Point. If you plan to do any exploring by car, this is exactly where you want to be.
B) The road you travel off PCH travels through a thick redwood forest, reminding you each time you venture out of the awesome flora- literally making you "part" of the experience.

The above could be enough to make this a desired property, but the house itself is very well set up- the owners care is obvious and there's a kitchen set up well enough that we were able to put together a substantial seafood feast we brought up from the Monterrey commercial fishing wharf. If you're two or three couples looking for a "Big Chill" kind of get back to knowing each other, don't look any further. Plan to have your major meals here instead of at the touristy restaurants of Big Sur- Thanks Tony for a truly unforgettable stay in the heart of one of America's most intense and delicate partnerships with nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's so wonderful when my guests love this area and my hOme as much as I do! Few travelers know this is some of the best Big Sur has to offer!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

La Casita is Grand - What a View

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

A couple of friends and I were looking for a relaxing place to stay in Big Sur with a good view. The drive up to La Casita winded through the Redwoods and then after going up the hill, we walked onto the deck of the house and were blown away by the panoramic view of the woods and ocean. The house itself was very nicely furnished with great amenities. While it is a cozy fit for three people, the grill and balcony are a great place to spend the evening grilling and hanging out.

Will definitely be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hidden Gem with Majestic Views

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Our journey to Tony's home started off a bit rocky - there was a tree down on the windy road leading in and when we arrived the power was out. Tony was very accessible and helped us find flashlights, etc, but luckily the power went back on 20 mins later. When it did we realized the minor trouble was worth it! The house looks out over a gorgeous canyon straight to the ocean. The deck wraps around and is an amazing place to sit back and enjoy, savor a meal, grill, play games into the evening. We ate in one night, explored Big Sur the next - hiked, walked the beaches, dinner at Rocky Pt. restaurant down the road. Apparently you can order fresh fish at the house which we will do next time. Tony gave us a late checkout and extra night for free because of the hassle. With or without it, we'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Big Sur Marathon Group

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We had a group of 8 ladies all running various races for the Big Sur Marathon weekend, and all in town from different places. Everyone absolutely LOVED the house. It was perfect. It easily slept everyone comfortably, we were able to relax, have meals together, enjoy the views and the house itself. Everyone was sad to leave! Can't wait to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So lovely. Ju

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Such a wonderful home. Really welcoming with all the amenities you need to hunker down and relax. Space is flexible enough that a couple could enjoy it on their own with it being 'too much' or a larger group could find room to not be on top of one another.

The location is great -- We were happy to stay put, but you can easily make your way to Carmel or Big Sur. Definitely recommend arriving during daylight initially, as the narrow roads might be a bit more adventure than you are seeking come nightfall.

Tony was responsive and thorough in his communications - making this, my first experience renting from an individual, an easy one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Peaceful Mountaintop Retreat with Stellar Deeply Wooded Views and Ocean Beyond

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

I'm a year late with my review and the memories are fresh in my mind as I write this, and the kids are off school for Spring Break - which is when we were there in 2011 - and of course we wish we were there now! Tony kindly gave me a break on a last minute booking and perhaps also because I am a single mom. He is so sweet, hospitable and kind - and was attentive to all our needs and very responsive. My two extremely fussy teenage daughters loved the house, so much so it was quite difficult for me to get them to go out and explore with me! It really is a comfortable house - great beds, lots of extra bedding, some extra supplies in bathroom which proved very handy as stores are not quite a hop-skip-and-a-jump away. The house is very spacious - and there is room enough that I did not see my kids for long stretches as they took over the large lower floor bedrooms, large bathrooms, and decks - and moved around in the comfort of their own spaces which they loved. The deck is wonderful, expansive, and looks over a deep and lush valley, with open blue skies and a peak of the ocean beyond. We were fortunate to have wonderful weather. There is abundant wildlife around the property, and lovely native landscaping all round. The house is situated in a very private and peaceful setting, and makes a great get-away. If you go, a must-see along the spectacular Big Sur coast (known as the 'Greatest Meeting of Land and Water') is Point Lobos, just minutes away - and If I could post the photos I took there, I would - I think it is my favorite place on earth. Carmel of course is only minutes away and has some of the most gorgeous beaches in California. Thanks for everything Tony!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Weekend

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We had such a wonderful experience at this home. My friends and I were looking for a place we could get together to celebrate our 30th birthdays. We wanted an affordable place with views and we came across Tony's listing. Not only was it the perfect weather, we had gorgeous views of the ocean and the hills and spent 90% of our time on the balcony enjoying a cook-out in the early evening and star gazing at night. The home itself is very well maintained and Tony provided all the essentials. He also left us coffee which saved the day for all of us on Saturday morning :) We spent the day at the beach which was a close drive from the home. Tony was very thorough in providing us with details on the house and nearby activities. Overall it was a great experience and this vacation rental comes highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sobre Big Sur - "Sobre" all expectations!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Pictures don't do justice to this place.
It is far nicer than what the pictures show.
The house was very clean, very well equipped, great kitchen, comfortable, easy access, quiet, simply a great place to stay, either if you want a base camp to scout around Big Sur, or just enjoy time indoors cooking and enjoying the views, sunsets and local fauna that walk around the yard.
I would definitely stay there again. Best part is that our two teenage kids didn't want to go back home and almost demanded to stay longer!
It is probably an overkill for a family of 4, it can certainly comfortably house 6 to 8 people.
We left the house as we found it and the safety deposit fee was promptly returned to my bank. No hassle.
I would recommend this house to my best friends, that's how much we liked it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good description of property.

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We had a terrific time. The views are spectacular. The house is funky and remote but very well maintained. It was exhilerating to never have a TV on during our five days there - a TV is present but only for DVD playing. The kitchen is small but functional. All three bedrooms are very comfortable with good beds. The dining room easily seats 8-12 with the table extended.

The owner (Tony) was extremely accomodating although we never met in person (not necessary).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Home Rental!!!

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

We were SO excited when we pulled up to the house! We were even more excited when we entered the house! This rental home exceeded our expectations! The house is warm and cozy, and we felt very welcome and comfortable. The whole experience was very positive and pleasant, from making the reservations, to our actual stay, and very prompt return of our security deposit. We had such a wonderful time at the house, and wished we could have stayed longer! The highlight for us was waking up one morning and seeing two deer in the back of the house, just outside the window! The view from the back deck is spectacular, especially at sunset! The house was perfect for us, and we look forward to being able to rent it again in the future. I highly recommend this rental property!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We stayed at Tony's house for 2 wonderful nights over Labor Day weekend, but we really wished we could have stayed for longer.

Our group was made up of 12 twenty-somethings. Tony was very patient and helpful as I got all the people together and solidified the plans for our stay.

To get to the house, you take a beautiful drive along the coast, and then up though tall dreamy redwoods on Palo Colorado Road. It's surreal when you arrive at the house for the first time. The place is surrounded by lavender and it feels like the top of the world.

We spent a lot of our time out on the warm deck admiring the view, watching the fog roll in and out. We grilled our hearts out. We baked. We made coffee. We had nearly all the equipment we needed to make all our meals, the only thing I was missing was a rolling pin, but we made do with a wine bottle.

Even though there were 12 of us, everyone had a comfortable bed to sleep in. The pull-outs were amazingly comfortable. There were enough towels and bed linens for all of us. The bathrooms were spotless and spa-like. There's one big shower and one extremely deep bathtub. No complaints about the amenities.

The drive down to the beautiful coast is not very long... maybe 10 minutes. The nearest grocery store is 25 minutes away in Carmel, so we made sure to stock up before heading to the house so we would have all the food we needed for the weekend.

The best parts about the house: the big deck, the view, the pull-out beds, and Tony's hospitality. Thinking about it makes me miss it.

No doubt about it, we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Three nights was not long enough!

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

Luxury, privacy and elegance are superb ways to define this property!
We were very grateful to receive a complimentary bottle of wine and amazing fresh local coffee beans upon arrival. The location, views, appliances, amenities and decorations exceeded all expectations.
Although we had grand plans of hiking and eating out at the many fine restaurants suggested by Tony, my boyfriend, my parents and I all preferred to stay in for some quality down time.

This property was a highlight of our 2 week road trip of California, and I would definitely recommend 'Sobre Sur Grande' to those who want to spend some time relaxing and getting back to nature.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanks for a great stay :o)

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

Fantastic property in a spectaculal location close to Carmel and the coast but high enough to get sunshine all day and avoid the sea fog/low cloud that hugs the coast. House is perfect inside and out and sunset views from the deck are really amazing. Will definitely stay her again and would have no hesitation recommending the property to friends or family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments...I love hearing my guests reflections on my home...I get to see it through so many others' eyes.
Please come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Sur Splendor

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

Our family of four (2 boys, ages 7 & 9) stayed at this beautiful mountain retreat in June on a California coast vacation. In the mornings, when fog covered the valley and ocean below, our spot on top of the mountain was bathed in sunshine. In the evenings, we sat on the deck and watched the army of fog march back into the valley, an awe-inspiring procession.

Loving touches throughout the house make you feel like an honored guest, not an occupant of an investment property as at some places. We loved everything about the house, and my only hesitation in recommending it is that don't really want to let the secret out about what a great home it is!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great retreat

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

I rented this house for a company meeting/retreat and it was perfect. Much nicer than staying in a hotel and a lot cheaper since we had 3 people staying there. Recommend shopping for food ahead of time since there are no good resturants nearby and the kitchen is great. Would definately stay there again. We live in the area (just up the hill) and we love the area. Lots to do and see.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing views with a luxurious but cozy atmosphere

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Everything about this house was perfect. The views were to die for, you will never want to leave the front porch!! We spend more time relaxing and cooking at the house than we had planned on because it was so cozy. But it was also luxurious, with very comfortable high end bedding. We never had to use the air or the heat, the weather was perfect. Tony has everything you could ever need, just pack your clothes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I tried really hard to make it feel luxurious but still like home and not a hotel...I love your word cozy...come back in the winter and crank up the wood stove!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING BEAUTY!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

LOVED our stay at this get-a-way in the sky! (it really feels like you're on top of the world) There were 10 of us and there was plenty of room! The views and scenery were amazing, including the hawk that flew at eye level just a few feet away! Tony was a amazing host, making sure all of our needs were met!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always great to have folks appreciate my home. And when the hawks come to visit, riding the thermals up the canyon, it's a special treat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Spacious, Welcoming!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Myself and 7 other girl friends stayed 4 nights at Tony's gorgeous home. From the second you walk in the door, the energy of the place takes a hold of you! The views are spectacular and every piece of furniture is so comfortable. Tony was incredibly helpful and kind throughout the whole process, even checking to make sure we all got to the site safely. An unexpected storm came through the day a friend was supposed to leave. With 20mph winds and unfamiliar terrain, she was understandably nervous. Tony was not in the area, but suggested we call his neighbor to get their opinion of the road conditions. His neighbors were so kind and helpful, they all helped to make my friend feel safe on her travels!

Thank you!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're calling this Junuary, what with the crazy weather...So glad you all had a great time...It's a pretty special place to me, and I'm so glad when others appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best week I've had in years...

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

My girlfriends from college and I had been planning a girls retreat for this summer so that we could all relax and reconnect together, since a lot of us have moved away since graduating. We found this place on vrbo.com and it looked SOOOO gorgeous we had to give it a try. The house is just as beautiful and serene as it looks in the pictures on the web site! Although the first day we were there was actually really stormy, it didn't matter that we were stuck inside since the house is AMAZING and Tony has stocked it with pretty much everything you need! (I mean he has an ESPRESSO machine!! Come on!! *I* don't even have one of those!!) Also, the area this house is in is beautiful rain or shine.

What made the stay even better was how wonderful and accommodating Tony . Since there were 8 of us girls planning the trip, it was really hard for us to lock down an exact date, and about a month or so before our trip we had ot move it forward one day. Tony was so patient with us :) He was really attentive to us as guests when we called him with any questions. Oh! He offers a free yoga lesson while you are at the house!

I can't recommend this place enough! It's a little hard to get to, but so worth it. This vacation was one of the best weeks I've had in years. Thanks Tony!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect weekend

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

I rented this beautiful house for a laid back bachelorette party with a group of old friends. our weekend couldnot have been more perfect. the house is beautiful, we ended up spending every possible minute on the deck, drinking wine and taking in the jaw dropping view. Tony was very hospitable and helpful, answering every question I had and making sure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. It goes without saying that we will be back and hope to make it an annual gathering. I wont be looking at other places, why bother, this one is perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

We had an amazing experience at this beautiful retreat in Big Sur. From the cozy beds, to the exquisite views and the attention to detail in the house...we couldn't have asked for more. It was a great getaway for our family. Highly recommended....you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Soulful Retreat

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

We were four dear friends looking for a soulful retreat and we weren't disappointed. Tony has created a beautiful, serene space perfect for stepping off. We awoke to beautiful blue skies and feel asleep at night to perfect silence. I brought specialized cooking equipment and found Tony already had nearly everything I brought--the kitchen is well appointment. We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It warms my heart to hear how many people feel at home in my home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway House - what a VIEW!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Beautiful home, clean, everything in working order, and 'as described' in listing. Owner was very helpful beforehand with answering our questions, and providing detailed directions for the ride up the hill (once you've done it then it's easy.) Spectacular home with large deck & a sunset view - could have spent the whole weekend there with wine on the deck! Four girlfriends enjoyed a long weekend - each had our own bed, very comfy, even the pull-out. Took hundreds of photos of Big Sur coast! Added bonus for dog lovers: a local gentle soul named Cocoa visited us each day. Owner has info inside home on local hikes, restaurants, etc. Loved it and would stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Don't know what it is about the house but quite a few women's groups have come to reconnect with one another....Glad the home suits you...
tony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Like Staying in a Postcard!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

From the majestic view to the clean, comfy furniture, this house was fantastic. If you or a group want to experience the best of Big Sur, this is your destination. The owner provides a sanctuary. One is hard to pick a favorite feature but I would have to say the sunsets over the ocean on the deck was probably my favorite part. I am a clean freak and this place was immaculate. The bedrooms are lovely, the kitchen appliances work like a dream, and the water tastes amazing. From the little things to the big things, I would have to say this place handles it all. This is a place that can mend the soul.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: words like these remind me of what an amazing place this is, and they teach me not to take it for granted...thanks for coming
tony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mountain Top Gem

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

This was the perfect house for our girls weekend. I loved the gorgeous views, the huge deck, the well appointed interior, the art, the quality linens, the big bath tub, the full kitchen and dining room. There were beautiful sun rises and sunsets off the deck and it was wonderful to be able to hang out and cook.

This is the first place I've rented on vrbo and I can say I'm now a convert. Thank you Tony for the wine and coffee. Your love of the house and area is evident!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's amazing how serendipitous having my home as a vacation rental has become. I am connecting with so many great people, most of whom I never meet...Yet I feel like i've come to know each of you. Please come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful vacation for family with grown children

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

This beautiful, well equipped house provided a wonderful reunion site for my husband, our three grown children and me. There was enough space for everyone to have privacy and a lovely living room and kitchen for coziness -- plus a big screen tv with easy access to netflix, etc. which pleased the younger generation. We took beautiful hikes -- which the owner's book told us about. We had a couple of great meals at the very nearby Rocky Creek restaurant, where we sat outside and looked at the beautiful ocean. This was the first time we had ever rented via vrbo and the owner responded quickly and helpfully to all our questions. I would heartily recommend this property to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love it when families come to warm my home. It's like I get virtual family...I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
tony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Left feeling perfectly relaxed

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2011

I found this place and hoped it would be a great place to get away and relax. We arrived early in the evening and were able to watch the breathtaking sunset from the patio. For the next two days we didn't even leave the house. The kitchen has anything you would ever need and we grocery shopped while on our way. My boyfriend and I work a lot and it was a welcome change to find this place and just be still. Although we chose not to leave, there were options for hiking and dining, but we just wanted to relax. The master bed is so comfortable, and the sunken tub downstairs was just amazing. All in all, this house is a beautiful space and a wonderful retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: every time I get to spend some time in my home, i have all these things i'm planning to do...but most of the time I just look out the windows, or sit on the deck and watch the birds cruising on the thermals coming up the canyon
tony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fab location, beautiful & comfy place, great for big families

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Wow! What a tremendous vacation in the loveliest of homes. Our family of 7 was greeted by Tony's gorgeous house perched at the top of the hill with a stunning view of the mountains and ocean. The photos just do not do this house justice! This house would be great for a couple--as the master suite is nicely perched away from the hustle and bustle of the living room & kitchen. But it is also great for big groups; our group of seven filled up the house. There are so many cozy spots and nooks and spaces to be together and also to squirrel away into your own little world. The dining room provided the perfect space for our Thanksgiving meal, and the kitchen is well stocked (even includes an ice cream maker!). The TV gets pandora (for radio streaming) and netflix--both of which are free and easy to use. And the beds...delightful. Tony was great and available. He even left us some goodies and checked in to make sure all was well. I was very impressed and our family had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: while i wish i could show how wonderful this place is, I always like it when folks say the pictures don't do it justice...It's always better to have it be more special than you expected.
And to have my home full of family on Thanksgiving was an added bonus for me.

Tony

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location for a work retreat

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

My co-founders and I spent a fantastic 3-day weekend working on our project here at Tony's place. With groceries and laptops, we were all set to work hard, but also head out from time to time to enjoy the ocean and surrounding mountains. Wifi/Internet was plenty fast, the kitchen had everything we needed, Netflix was hooked up on the TV, and the scenery was absolutely spectacular.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Since I've often looked for places to do management retreats, it's great that you found my place so great for yours....I hope more founders/boards come my way
tony

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beatiful Big Sur retreat

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

This location was perfect for our family of 4. We spent an amazing 4 nights in Big Sur. Very welcoming home with amazing views of the wilderness... even with foggy weather. Location not far from great hiking, beaches to take long walks, and the Monterey Peninsula for Carmel and Monterey. Tony was very helpful, and the house was very tidy with those little extras that made the difference. Perfect for couples or families alike.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Even in bad weather, my home seems to beckon folks...glad you enjoyed it.

Tony

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

We were the last long-term tenants in this lovely, secluded ocean view home prior to its conversion to a vacation rental. My husband and I lived there for two years. It is impossible to overstate the beauty of the location. The views from the wraparound deck are just spectacular, as are the stars at night- you'll see the milky way, and shooting stars are commonplace. Though there are neighbors nearby (always handy in this somewhat remote area), the sense of privacy and quiet are unspoiled.The house sits on a ridge looking across a canyon to the Pacfic in the South and a lovely native garden, oak groves and the Ventana Wilderness to the West and East. The house itself is beautifully appointed and meticulously maintained, with tiled bathrooms, soft carpets, a big soaking tub, top of the line appliances and a simple, quietly elegant ambience. Everything was remodeled not long before we moved in and is in excellent condition.All three levels of the house are light and airy, with windows everywhere, yet the place retains a very warm and cozy feel at the same time. While there is a good wood burning stove, the heating system is excellent even in winter weather, so it is not necessary to rely on the stove to stay warm. The well water is just sweet! Tony was a very reasonble and responsive landlord throughout our tenancy and can be counted upon to provide good upkeep and the little touches that make a place special and comfortable. Be aware that the drive into the canyon and up to the ridge, while not really difficult, may feel a bit daunting the first time, and I never recommend anyone tackle it for the first time after dark. Winter storms funnel some fierce winds in from the south, and it can really shake the timbers, but the house is sturdy and secure. Though final access is off a dirt road, we never had any problem getting in and out during storms, even without four-wheel drive. My daughter visited this area from age two throughout her childhood, and it is just magical for kids. But parents should be aware that extra vigilance is required especially, in the case of this house, around the stove and spiral staircase. The flow of space is lovely, but both light and sound can travel from one level to the next, and the coziness of the space might make larger groups want to double check to be sure space and sense of privacy are adequate. The location halfway between Carmel and Big Sur can't be beat, but it's 20-25 minutes to stores and gas, so stock up going in!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Have Never Had A Better Family Vacation

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

My husband, two children (5 and7) and I drove all the way from San Diego to stay in Big Sur. Sure, we had seen pictures on the vrbo website but the photos simply couldn't breath life and dimension into the beauty of this property. We awoke each morning to the most beautiful landscape, nature, and rising sun. The home is perfect for a family or a couple for that matter. It is really comfortable, spotless, very charming, tasteful and everything has been considered including: wine, cereal and milk, hiking books, laundry detergent and our favorite - every Netflix movie online on tv you can dream of. In addition, we weren't far from Carmel and horseback riding, restaurants and the gorgeous beach. We hope that we are fortunate enough to be able to return. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Georgeous spot

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

We were stunned when we finally wound our way up a narrow canyon and reached the house. It is perched on top of a hill above Big Sur with a fabulous deck overlooking the ocean. The interior space was both modern and comfortable. We had ample space for three couples. The home owner was very nice to work with and answered all of our questions about the house and the area. We hope to make another trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Palo Colorado road can be daunting the first time for folks not used to Big Sur. Even though it's paved, it is narrow and winding...But as you found it keeps my secret safe! Glad you made your way and enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

YOur place is fantastic! The kids loved the big tub, & the adults loved the spectacular views and the silence that ensued, once said children were laid to rest!.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

Your wonderful home was absolutely perfect for us. Thank you so muc for all the little details that made us feel at home, even on the very first day. Everything here is fantastic, and we will keep great memories of our stay

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

Thanks very much for having us in your home. We had a great 3 day stay. the kids enjoyed your house very much and the adults too. The view is fantastic, the silence oh, so enjoyable and the scenery breathtaking. We hope to be back very soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Where the World Stops

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a place of silence and beauty to decompress for just a night or two and this was it!

Everything about this location and home is just spot on. From the wine welcoming us to his home, to the beautiful quail who greeted us each morning while we sipped our "Carmel Foglifter" coffee (another present from Tony) we could not have chosen a better location, or more beautiful home. The pictures in this listing while 100% accurate cannot convey the sense of beauty and peace that envelops you as you enter the home.

This location is a perfect place from which to visit the beaches, do some hiking, or just sit on the desk and breathe.

Tony was a great host, answering all questions quickly and completely, ensuring we had no issues during our stay.

We will be back and would recommend this spot to any one, you will not be sorry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad i was able to help. And yes, the coffee is a treat isn't it!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoy the Local Life

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

If you want to really experience the serenity and beauty of the Big Sur coast, this is the place! It's away from the hustle/bustle along Hwy 1, yet close enough to everything from the Big Sur redwoods to Monterey peninsula. You could simply sit on the deck and look down the canyon from morn til dusk and watch the sun circle overhead, visited by the local critters from time to time: deer, fox, hawks, raccoons, coyote.... It's a peaceful place, comfortable and welcoming, just far enough inland to be away from the fog. We really enjoyed ourselves, and felt like locals during our stay. It's a great place to slow down and be with the beauty of this spectacular area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review