reviews for: listing #76530 - San Francisco, California Apartment rental

Location, Location, Location, Stay on Lombard Street
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Russian Hill/North Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt

sort by:

Wonderful location

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

This spacious apartment was perfect for a couple with a teenage daughter. Even though the master bedroom was right on Lombard, it was very quiet. Having the Trolley and the 30 bus right down the street was so convenient. It was an easy walk to the water and cabs to Union Square ran about 9 dollars with tip. The apartment was just as described and was very clean, the window's sparkled! The corner restaurant was our daily haunt for coffee and snacks. We would definitely stay again and recommend the property to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible 4 Days in SF

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

Just spent 4 glorious days in SF. We were greeted by Ben on our arrival and he spent a good deal of time helping us get familiar with the area. We spent our nights at this wonderful apartment and spent our days exploring North Beach, Russian Hill, the Marina, the Embaradero, Hyde St. Pier, Fort Mason. etc. The apartment was exactly as we expected and more. We had a few minor issues and Ben was immediately responsive and all was taken care of. We had a great lunch at Vicoletto's, a good dinner at Rose Pistole and good coffee at Cafe Roma. Great location for exploring SF.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location in SF

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

The place was great and in an awesome location. Just a few blocks from the crooked road on Lombard. Everything was set up when we got there. Pretty much everything you would need when you're away from home. The house was comfortable and there were great views of the city and Alcatraz. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here when in SF.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location!

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

Our family of three stayed in this condo during the week of Thanksgiving and could not have been happier! We were able to walk to many San Francisco neighborhoods (Washington Park, China Town, Nob Hill, Russian Hill, North Beach, Fisherman's Wharf) after stopping for coffee each morning at the coffee shop down the block. Restaurants, stores, and attractions were all around us and we enjoyed becoming part of the city. The condo itself was very clean, comfortable, and spacious with great views. Ben and Bethany were very helpful and friendly - we will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfy, bright, centrally located

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We loved Bethany and Ben's place; it looked exactly like the photos (this isn't always the case). It was clean, bright and surprisingly quiet. The beds were super comfy, the kitchen was well stocked, although we at most meals at the fabulous restaurants in the area. The little coffee shop down the street was perfect for mornings. I will come back to this spot again! Thanks, B&B.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great central place to stay

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed staying at this spacious apartment, so handy to everything. It is very well equipped, and comfortable. The stairs (1 flight, but narrow and steep) present a challenge but it is worth it for the comfort of the apartment. Despite being so close to the action (and with a lot of foot traffic to the crooked part of Lombard St) it is not noisy. We would stay there again when we visit San Francisco.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Live Like a Local in the Centre of Everything

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

We rented this apartment for 5 nights while my husband attended a conference at the Hilton. My 5yo daughter and I would head out in the mornings and then spend some 'downtime' at the apt in the afternoons. We expected to cook a lot, but the local restaurants got the best of us.

We wanted a more-authentic experience than an overpriced city hotel would give us, and that's precisely what we got. It felt amazing to step out of our front door on Lombard street, where tourists were trekking up and down to take photos - we felt so *local*, in the very best of ways :)

The apartment itself is well-presented and clean, has great views, and is central to Fisherman's Wharf as well as the *awesome* cafes and restaurants of North Beach and Russian Hill. A block or two in either direction and you hit the cable cars. LOVED IT - Ben and Bethany, THANK YOU THANK YOU!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

You Found It!

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 4, 2012

We come to San Fran at least once a year for a family trip and usually stay at a nice hotel on the Embarcadero. This year we decided to try VRBO.com. The Lombard apartment is gorgeous. There is so much natural light and space we immediately felt at home. We ate here for breakfast, but never cooked more than what our 4 year old needed for a quick meal, there are just too many wonderful places to eat close by! The public transportation and bicycle rentals were so easy to get to from here. One of the best aspects of staying here were the views. You are just a block away from the crooked part of Lombard St, you can see Coit Tower and much of downtown San Fran, and even have a sneaky view of Alcatraz looking the other direction! We would not hesitate to stay with Ben And Bethany again in their perfect apartment. I don't know how many times I said how happy I was that we picked their place! Thank you for letting us stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this apartment for our first trip to San Francisco for five days and can not say enough about it! We travel a lot and almost always rent apartments other than staying in hotels and this was one of the best so far. The apartment was way bigger than I expected and extremely clean. The furniture and beds were very comfortable and it is quite charming. The neighborhood of North Beach is wonderful with great restaurants and cafe's. You just have to check out Sotto Mare for great Italian food. We were right in the middle of Fisherman's Warf and Union Square and everything in my opinion is within walking distance however the historic cable cars are only a block away. I truly cannot wait to return to San Francisco and would never stay anywhere else! Thanks Ben and Bethany for sharing your wonderful apartment with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

878 Lombard - Fantastic Apartment!

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

My husband and I and our three boys spent the Thanksgiving week in the apartment. It is simply fantastic! It was so great to give the boys a real San Francisco experience (not a hotel). The apartment is very comfortable and has loads of character. The views are tremendous (Alcatraz out of the kitchen windows and the TransAmerica Pyramid out of the living room windows). In particular, the bedding is very cozy. It is a short (3-ish block walk) to the turn-around for the Powell-Mason cable car - a must see for little boys. Great restaurants nearby, great access to so many SF sights. I highly recommend this apartment!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

876 Lombard - Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

3 ladies celebrating our birthdays, we are so happy that we choose your place to stay during our 5 day stay in SF! Great location, comfortable beds, clean and safe. We could walk most places or transportation was easy to find. Loved the local pubs and restaurants.

We recommend going to see the show "Beach Blanket Babylon" - fun & funny... we booked online just before coming down on another travelers recommendation. It's walking distance from the apartment and well worth your time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

What a great place to stay. 1 block from the famed Crooked Street, within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, restaurants, the trolley. Everything you need is close by.
The owners are extremely nice and helpful.
We didn't want a hotel room and this was the perfect alternative.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful visit

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

My family stayed here in July for a week and had one of the best vacations ever! The pictures are exactly as in the ad.Was very cleaned and well maintained.The flat is so close to the attractions, walking to the wharf was minutes away, and all of the wonderful Italian eateries on Columbus Street was amazing. We have a family of 4 adults and the flat had plenty of room for us. The owners were very warm and accomadating.The only issue could be the walk up Lombard Street and the flight of stairs in the building if you have small kids or older adults. But we loved it! One attraction I would highly recommend is the Catamaran trip out into the harbour.The close up veiws of the Golden Gate Bridge was AMAZING , and it is only 40.00 per person.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Neighborhood! Lovely Apartment!

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We stayed for 5 night in October. The neighborhood is fantastic, with great restaurants and cute little shops. There are loads of espresso/coffee shops. It is very easy to get to the apartment either by bus or cable car. We did not rent a car, and were able to get to most places without transferring. It was nice to be in a neighborhood away from all the uber-touristy hotels.

The apartment is very clean, comfortable and quiet. This one is on the top floor, so it has great views and is light and airy. The beds are comfortable, and the linens are very nice, too. Everything is well maintained. I would not recommend this place for people with young children for three reasons: 1. the stair climb, 2. the low and unscreened windows, and 3. the owner's request for respectful quiet as tenants of the top floor.

The owners are low key, and available, but not intrusive. They are very flexible and accommodated our early arrival and late departure, offering us a place to store our bags.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

If location and cleanliness is key for you, this is the place!

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

We had a girls getaway week in San Fran and found this great apartment. We absolutely loved the location, walking distance or a short cheap cab ride to everything. The beds were very comfortable and the apartment was super clean:) would definitely recommend this place for the location alone! Awesome view of Alcatraz from the back bedroom too!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

We had a girls weekend getaway and stayed on the 3 rd floor apartment -- it was wonderful -- clean -- bright -- great views and very comfy! This home is located in a great location. We enjoyed Cafe Sapore at teh end of the street and the foghorns at night. Chinatown, NoPa area, Haight Ashbury, Golden gate park, Coit Tower,and had a wonderful time -- we plan to stay here next tiem we come!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A Real Find!

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2010

If you're looking for a decidedly nice, more than affordable apartment in a GREAT San Francisco location then your search may as well end here. My family of three, two adults and one child, age 7 stayed here for five nights in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As the owners of three vacation rentals our own selves, we know what's required to make a traveling guest's stay more than complete and while pretty basic, this place offers a level cleanliness, comfort and convenience that MANY others definitely do not. The proximity to myriad major attractions was wonderful, the choice of fabulous restaurants within walking distance was incredible and the view from the apartment, especially at night was unbelievably beautiful!! Bethany and Ben were very gracious hosts, responding to our needs immediately which was greatly appreciated, I can highly recommend this apartment to anyone wanting a reliably satisfactory stay in San Francisco. Enjoy ~

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

charming and comfortable!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

Our family stayed in the apartment down stairs from this one. We loved it.
Our stay was wonderful. This apartment is located in a great walking neighborhood close to all kinds of great sight. It is easy to catch a cable car or a buss from here or just to walk. We found it easy to get around.
We found the apt. to be comfortable and charming, yet simple. The beds are really comfortable with nice sheets and bedding. The bath towels were nice and the apt. was very clean and well maintained. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook with. It was great not to have to eat out for every meal or snack!
There was plenty of room in this apartment for our family to relax and get some space from each other...IE... one child could play in the livingroom while the other could sleep.... much easier than a hotel room.
The street is fairly quiet at night. In the daytime there are many tourists coming to see the zig zag street that starts just up the hill from this apt.
Benjamin and Bethany were wonderful hosts. Easy going and helpful.
Thanks for the great stay guys!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review