reviews for: listing #76547 - Rockport, Texas House rental

Fish Haven GetawaY-Waterfront Rockport 2Bd/2Bth slps 12
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Palm Harbor
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $265 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,650 /wk
    $2,100 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

We loved the house,and the neighborhood .

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We arrived to find the house and area very nice. The house was very clean and decorated well. The kitchen was stocked with all the utensils needed. Malynda was very helpful and helped us with all our questions. We have booked another stay with her already.
We would recommend this to anyone wanting a great vaction .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

summer vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Very nice place, we all had a great time including our pets. Nice fishing area and the kayaking in the morinig was so peaceful. Next time we will stay longer!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome home

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

I went with my family and my parents. One of the main reasons for renting this home is that it stated it was handicap accessible. While it is a floor level home, it is not a fully handicap accessible home. We did catch a variety of fish in the backyard. Trout, redfish, mackerals and several others. I would highly recommend staying at this home and would stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

fishers

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Family had a great time. House was very nice and has very easy access to bay and intercoastal for fishing. I would definately stay at this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

excellent location. We had a wonderful time house was neat clean tidy and orderly. This is one of the nice house we have stayed in around Rockport will come back for sure for a longer stay later this year. A positive experience . Unit had everything need to make the stay enjoyable, fully equiped kitchen, along with excellent fishing with in 5 minutes. Limited out everyday on trout and a lot of oversized reds on the flats.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

WE ARE "HOOKED"!!!

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

First and foremost, let me just say thank you! This was a last minute trip and we were beyond blown away with the customer service and support to make this trip happen. We needed a quick get away and this trip definitely did the trick.

Before we arrived we were in constant contact with Maylanda. She was quite prompt and made sure that all of our expectations were met and beyond our necessities, including what we needed to bring. When we arrived, we were greeted with an exceptional clean and cozy home, filled with ample space to put our belongings and to start our weekend. The beds provided ample space to relax, the kitchen was large enough cook a feast, and the living room provided a great social atmosphere to watch the Spurs in the playoffs. The outdoor seating area by the grill allowed for us to cook and enjoy the great evenings! The kayaks were already on the dock and ready to be docked out to the bay.

We were able to fish from the dock catching a multitude of fish. They even had lights mounted down towards the water attracting fish. A short paddle away, we were able to fish out in the bay. We caught red fish, speckled sea trout, cats, and black drum. Even got two nice 27" reds from the kayaks! Definitely well worth the value of how close you are to the bay. (Watch out for boats cruising down the inter coastal water way while you enter the flats.)

Overall, it was an excellent get away with all the accommodations we needed to make it a successful weekend! (and the best part, if we forgot something, or she didn't have it, she made sure it was there for us!)

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Awesome place to stay. Very comfortable. Has everything you need and then some! Will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Really great vacation experience

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We had a great experience staying here. The house was very clean, relaxing, and well stocked. There was plenty of room and many extra beds.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay Halowwen and Easter weekend

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

I have stayed at this home twice in the last year and it was great! I am so sorry that Kim had such a bad time. I guess that's why I felt I should write about our stay. We have stayed in the spring and fall and can't think of anything negative. We had a few questions and a problem here or there but one phone and Mrs. Red always took care of everything. They allowed us to bring our little puppy Jack, who loved the back yard. The place was very clean, better stocked than my house, and my husband now has fallen in love with fishing out of a kayak. I would rent this place again in a heartbeat but by looking at the calander so would a lot of other people they are almost booked for the rest of 2012. I am not going to leave my name but Mrs. Red knows who I am she so patiently answered about 50 phone calls from my husband and son before we ever even got there. Thanks again for a great "get away"

Recommended for: people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lesson Learned

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

This was my first time to rent through Homeaway.com and I followed all of the advice by reading reviews before I booked and by speaking with the owner directly. This was my only chance to get away with my kids this summer because of my busy schedule so I was hoping for a relaxing enjoyable stay. Sadly, I was greatly disappointed and I think I will stay away from renting through this website again. The owner who knew I was bringing five children with me never bothered to tell me that she was planning to have crews at the home tearing up the yard to install a sprinkler system. When we drove up to the house there were trucks and equipment in the driveway and yard so when we pulled in the carport we had to do so a little crooked. Needless to say, when backing out to go and get groceries after a long day I ended up catching my mirror on one of the posts and breaking the mirror (a $550 mishap). To make the stay even better there was white dog hair on everything in the home. I spent the first day cleaning so that we would feel comfortable sitting on the furniture and laying in the beds. This was not what I had planned to do on my vacation. The owner also listed that she had two kayaks for use on the property. She did have two kayaks but only one oar and that one was broken on one end. To her benefit she did call the crew who was installing the sprinkler system and tell them not to return the next day. The home was well stocked and she had a very nice washer and dryer which I put to good use cleaning all of the bedding. When you begin a vacation in this manner it is very hard to put it aside and enjoy the rest of it. I left this home much cleaner than I found it, so perhaps the owner should put the cleaning fee she charged me to good use and hire a better house cleaner in the future so her next guests can enjoy their stay.

Owners response: WOW! First, I thank my guest for writing this review. I pride myself in providing excelelnt customer service. I did invest in sprinklers and landscaping for additional comfort of my guests and informed the company hired to NOT be there when my guests arrived. Unfortunately, they did not hear my words. I am pet friendly but DO NOT allow pets on any furniture. Again, not everyone respects the rules and the previous guests have paid the additional fees. I have spoken with my cleaning team and developed a check and balance to prevent this from happening again. As you can see from all my reviews, that I work hard to make your GetawaY's memorable and comfortable. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences and encourage this guest to return. I will be speaking with her and refunding her cleaning fee and inviting her back for a complimentary weekend because I am confident that her return would exceed her expectations! I also praise Homeaway.com's ethics and balance they provide, not only the rental side, but, the Renter as well. Thank you, The Owner

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Best Vacation I Have Had!!!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

We stayed at the house for a week and had a great time. The house was much more then I had expected. It had everything you could need on a vacation and was super clean and had plenty of space. We also had 2 dogs with us that loved the backyard and watching the boats go by. I am working on picking dates now to return in the winter for some fishing. The house is located yards from great fishing. The owner is also more then you can ask for, we had multiple questions before arrival and I always got a prompt response. We also were experiencing some very high tides during the trip so she called me to let me know to keep an eye on it to protect my boat from floating onto the dock. Trust me, give this house a try and you will not regret it, it is perfect for a coastal getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING Famiy celebration!!!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We can't even begin to express our gratitude for paving the way for our family celebration!!!. We were a group that had come from several states - from young in age to young at heart. Every minute of our stay was filled with laughter, memories, and bucket list items checked off. The house left us speechless; The younger guests were thrilled with the "pirate beds", the grillmaster found ever piece of equipment needed, the fishermen enjoyed the "fishing reports" and have many fishing stories to tell. A few of us just enjoyed visiting the sites in Rockport and spending the afternoon relaxing on the great sofas on the back porch. Everything from towels to safety pins where at our fingertips. Many thanks and a big ole texas size hug!!! We will make plans for a return trip next year and have told everyone about our little "secret hideaway" in Rockport.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We aim to please all our guests. We love hearing the experiences and fish stories. We provide weather, tide, fish data and much more. Just ask and I can customize your GetawaY with exciting options. I just udated the 'Pirate" bedding.
Actually, this fall I will be updating flooring, painting and the landscaping in the backyard. We look forward to continue to earn your businss.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a great family time

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

What a great time we had. The family stayed for the entire month of June. The house was perfect for the entire family. We had a ball Rockport is a great place for a family vacation and Miss Red's home is the only place to stay. It was spacious for all of us and we had as many as 12 at a time. We fished and ate and saw the sights it was wonderful. Miss Red was a gracious hostess and her home was great with every thing you need for a super vacation. We made reservations to come back in July next year because we enjoyed it so much. Thanks Red and John for an awesome vacation see you in July 2012!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Us, Our Pretty Girl, Her Soon To Be Hubby & Moma :)

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Had the most wonderful getaway enjoyed every second!! There is no word to describe this property or the owners better than PERFECT!! The home was amazing super clean and beyond comfy right on the water!! We had a blast in the large kitchen cooking dinners together with everything we needed right there for us. It honestly felt like we were in our on home so amazing!! You know that feeling when you go to a hotel your thinking hmmm where is the bottles of shampoo to take back with us cuz we pay too much haha...well here I felt like I needed to run to the store and replace hand soap etc. we were using :) We had the best time and Sea Fair weekend to go with it could not have been more perfect. We will for sure be back and sending all our friends this way too!! You cant go wrong they even have needle and thread in this place THEY HAVE THOUGHT OF EVERYTHING!! Love Love Loved It!!!! ITS SUPER ROOMY!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bachelor Party

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This place was amazing. Perfect place to have a bachelor party weekend. Has everything you need just bring food and beverage. Every time I go down to Rockport I am staying here. Perfect set up for anyone, if you are an extreme fisherman or if you just want to take the family down for a releaxing weekendm this is the place to be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the M&P crew (College Station, Denton & Dallas)

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had a awesome stay. The house was so roomy and comfortable!, and so well stocked!!! We had 10 adults and 3 toddlers, plus 1 dog, and we did not feel crowded whatsoever. Malynda and John think of everything. What a great place for a family vacation/reunion. We will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I just think what I would want and provide it. Like the 2 tandem kayaks that are included in your rate, fish fryer, dock lights and ample seating inside & out to handle large gatherings. I appreciate all my guests and thank you.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Above and beyond

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Perfect setting for family get-away to the coast for relaxation and fishing. A very comfortable, spacious home that is well stocked (best of any of the home away homes we have stayed at) with lots of unique perks - the kayaks were a huge hit for teenage sons and there were even supplies for a crawfish boil! Shady backyard was wonderful for enjoying the breeze at any time of day, The home is as welcoming as the owners - wonderful to rent from and very responsive. This home is above and beyond and we hope to be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

We decided to do a 30th anniversary fishing weekend at the coast on the spur of the moment. This property had a cancellation so we were able to book it. My husband arranged, through Ms. Red, to have flowers and a fruit basket waiting when we walked in. Everything was clean and comfortable, definitely a "home away from home." Having the canal to dock our boat was the best convenience this house offered us. We were able to jump in the boat, go out for a couple of hours without the hassle of bringing the boat in and out of the water. We see this as a great place to come back with some friends. Plenty of places in the house to hang out with each other or separately for some down time. Hope to see "Red" and John again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: This is why I am in this business. The words of your experiences are music to my ears!!! I have 3 homes located on the canal with private docks for your boat, swim, fish, kayak fun. Great for any occasion or just because you can.
Nothing like some salt air to clean the cobbwebs out.
'you too can live like this!' Y KNOT Getaway - call or email today!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great livin'

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

This was a great place to stay for a month. John is one of the best fishing guides I have ever gone out with. We had our fish cooked at Shempy's Grill a couple of blocks away and they did an excellent job. But, you'll probably catch more than you can eat. You can even catch fish off the dock. This roomy home is exceptionally well furnished with comfortable furniture, two kayaks, three TV's, a VCR, a DVD with a movie library, wifi and a kitchen with almost every small appliance you an imagine. There is also a gas/charcoal combo grill. There is a closet full of games that we didn't have time to check out. And, our little guy Dover just loved the place, especially the field close by where he could run.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WOW

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

I see how the calender to rent this home is filling up fast.We have traveled the world and you will not find a more well stock or lovely home anywhere. We spent 3 weeks(not long enough)inFeb. at this amazing home. If that is not enough the nicest most helpful owners you could have. Thanks for the memories.!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Linda & Harold~ thank you so very much for your kind heartfelt words. We truly enjoyed meeting you both. Thank you for the short list of small fixes, please know that they have all been addressed and we have a new flexible up to 7', 3 way massage shower head installed for your next visit! We hope your Dog Harley enjoyed himself in our gated backyard. Sincerely, THANK YOU! See you next year! Ms. RED & John

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

cancal house

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

Ms. Red & John, Wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our month stay at your canal house. We were impressed with all the amenities . Frei thanks you for a yard to chase squirrels. Being on the water was a real treat for all of us. Thanks for all your hospitality. M & Neal

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT THANKSGIVING

Review submitted: December 19, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

The best house we have rented in years......
Our gracious hosts invited us to their home after finding out the A&M ..T.U. game was not going to be available on television at our rental... very anxious to visit them again.
Never had a kitchen so well stocked ....a house so clean.
Afraid to recommend it too highly.....will it be available for our next trip???????????????
Jo Ann

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: A million thank you's Jo Ann. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We truly enjoyed the laughs we shared. You will be glad to know that your A&M games will now be available at our rental. We look forward to you coming back very soon. We are booking up fast so please check our calender often. Keep Smilin' - Ms. RED

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a amazing stay!!!!

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

We searched a few spots online and Red's personality was top notch- just like her and her husband John's rental home! My in- laws were in from Missouri and they enjoyed the home like it was home. My father in law and were given a few spots to fish per John, and man did we find fish!!!!!

Thanks again for all the hospitality!!!! We will be back and the place is nothing but amazing!!!

Erik

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Birthday trip

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

My husband and I along with a few family members visited Ms. Red's fishing haven and we LOVED it. We fished off the back dock, listened to music, and just enjoyed the relaxing back patio. Rockport is only about 5 minutes away, with lots of good food and more fishing. The inside of the house is just beautiful! It accomodated us wonderfully and we can't go back to stay again! Thank you Ms. Red!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Roberson's

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

John & Ms Red,
Thank you for the wonderful time we had in your home. The extra touch's that you provided made us feel so welcomed. Our four legged kids, Lacie, Macie & Buddy felt as welcomed as we did and loved exploring in the back yard and on the dock and the new smells were hevenly to them. Your home is great and we have found our new vacation home when we are in the area. We are also excited about the new friends we have made with you both, can't wait till we can spend time together again. John, Thanks for the wonderful 2 days. Marcus, Lisa & John R

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Marcus, Lisa, John R~ We certainly enjoyed your visit and the bonus of a new friendship. Thank you for sharing your family time with us. Your Dad Bob and Yvonne are just precious. We are looking forward to the next time you come to visit.
I hope you are enjoying all those fish and fish stories! Your kind words are very heartfelt.
You are very welcome. Ms. RED & John

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

Thank you Ms. RED for accomodating our last minute plans. Your home was neat and very spacious. The kitchen and the shady backyard over looking the water was my favorite. Of course my husband and children enjoyed fishing and swimming on the private dock. We will be back!
Thanks again- Kelly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review