reviews for: listing #76556 - San Francisco, California Apartment rental

Exquisite Prime Castro Top Floor Jewelbox
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $200 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,600 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Great location!

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

We've stayed here a few times. Location is fantastic. Apartment is clean and well maintained. Definetely will stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

The apartment is exactly as advertised. Very nicely appointed with all the amenities you would need for your stay. Close to restaurants, shops and grocery stores. With it being a short walk to the transit hub at Market and Castro Streets, you can go to any part of the city conveniently on mass transit. I would recommend this rental to anyone visiting the city.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Studio in Castro

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

This studio apartment is a great location just off the main street in Castro. The photos are very true to the actual place. The Muni Station is within walking distance. There are also plenty of coffee shops and places to grab a bite to eat. The bathroom wash very relaxing and a washer and dryer was an added bonus! Overall great location and just the right amount of space for two people! I would recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in the Castro district!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful definitely not a garage apartment

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Beautiful apartment, great location - our favorite place to stay in San Francisco

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful definitely not a garage apartment

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Beautiful apartment, great appliances, and great location. Our favorite place to stay in San Francisco.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This apartment is truly a Jewelbox!!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We absolutely loved this apartment!! It was perfect for 3 people (2 adults, 1 small child). The bed was super comfortable with good pillows!! I often travel with a pillow or end up buying one because they are bad. We used the kitchen and the washer/dryer, both made our trip more comfortable. The large walk in closet was great, we were able to put all of our suitcases (7) and clothes with plenty of room left over. It is located in the Castro district which includes many great shops, dining options and interesting people. A few blocks away, we discoverd the Squat & Gobble, a wonderful diner serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ended up eating there twice because it was so convenient and delish!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great find!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

We loved staying here! Great space, everything you needed to stay a while. It's on a quiet street, but close to everything! Parking was convenient and even the neighbors were nice! Hopefully we'll get to stay here again!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect vacation stay

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

This property is exactly as it is described and pictured. Everything went as planned.
The property was clean and well-maintained and the other reviews are also accurate. I stayed for almost a week with my two daughters (17 &20) and felt very safe. This is a great spot if you also want to walk or use public transportation. The grocery store was only 2 blocks away...a lot within walking distance. We took public transportation throughout SF. The washer and dryer was a plus!
We really didnt need to talk to the owner except for the passcode to get in...we had a very peaceful stay. I would highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great spot, great stay

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Excellent location for seeing all the sights and accessing public transit. Near the Eureka Valley Recreation Center and Dolores Park for those who have children. You don't need a car. Market on the corner and many restaurants. Laundry in unit. Great, easy stay.
Owner was fantastic and made arrangements on short notice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay! The apartment is gorgeous, everything spotless and new. The owner was very easy to deal with and quick to respond to my inquiry. I had no issues during my stay. The location is safe and quiet and two blocks from Castro street, easy walking to fun places, great market, good restaurants, nightlife, shopping and mass transit. Super perks are how everything you'd need in a kitchen is right there, wine glasses and all, great laundry machines, a very clean bathroom, free wi-fi, cable and Netflix, (though why watch TV in the city unless you're sick?) Loved the bed, though my traveling partner felt it was too soft for his liking. Lots of room, huge closet with a little desk that could work as an office or extra sleeping space. The ONE thing I can think of that would help improve the overall experience is that the carpet in the entryway of the building and stairs to the apartment needs to be replaced because it's stained. Please keep in mind the apartment itself is clean and gorgeous. Don't let the entryway turn you away! If you want to be in a convenient and fun location, stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Couldn't be better !!!

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

I have nothing bad to say about my stay. This location is GREAT ! It was a 10 minute walk to the Market & Castro Station. We bought a MUNI passport and were able to easily navigate our way everywhere we wanted to go. It's a good thing too, because there is NO WAY I would want to drive in San Fran.
With the location being so close to the Castro, I was a little worried about noise and hell-raisers late at night. Luckily, that was not the case. The street is very quiet and clean and I never felt worried walking back at night. There are numerous restaurants and bars within a 10 minute walk (I highly recommend Escape from New York Pizza and Woodfire).
The bed and linens were VERY comfortable, lots of space and VERY clean. The kitchen was well stocked with the basics (dishes, cookware, silverware, etc), the bathroom was nice and had plenty of hot water (I have had problems with this at other places) and it was great to have a washer/dryer in the unit with detergent provided.
Communication with Jack, the owner, was fast, easy and convenient. When I return to San Fran I would definately like to stay here again. So, in short, if this place is available when you are in town, make every effort to reserve it. You won't be disappointed !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exquisite Prime Castro

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We loved our stay at the apartment. Everything was lovely - the area was great, we had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay in San Francisco

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

Fantastic place to stay. For me it was so convenient to my family as well as great restaurants and coffee houses like La Taza on 18th street. Property was clean, well maintained and just as advertised. I would love to stay here again and have already looked at future dates but unfortunately it is already rented. I must also compliment the owner who always quickly responded to my questions and concerns.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location, perfect, gorgeous apartment - absolutely PERFECT!

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay here for two weeks, from 5/6 - 5/19/12, and can't say enough about how wonderful it, and the location were. Unit has high end touches all the way around - 1st rate, well stocked kitchen, and two big sunny windows overlooking the VERY quiet street below. Bathroom is entirely marble with a huge tub, endless hot water + full sized front loading W/D with detergent, dryer sheets, large comfy towels, little travel shampoo bottles, etc.

The bed is enormous, and very comfortable, and those bay windows are gorgeous - and the blinds were perfect for blocking light. There's a huge walk in closet which doubles, if you want, as an office - with an outlet for a laptop, and a built in desk. There's free wifi, of course. The cable is basic, but who cares - you're in San Francisco!

The best thing about this place is the location. The building is quiet, and yet you're only a few easily walkable (and mainly flat) blocks from Castro Street itself, and ALL that that area has to offer, including a full sized grocery store just 2 blocks away (Mollie Stone’s), great public transit (subway, buses AND a bonus - the F antique streetcar line which was a total delight, and which takes you straight downtown).

There is SO MUCH in Castro, from clubs (of course - both gay, and at least a few of which cater to a mixed gay/straight crowd), to dozens of independent business, restaurants, bookstores (Books Inc., up on Market), bakeries, etc etc. Hot Cookie up on Castro makes fantastic cookies, and Marcello's Pizza serves huge, really tasty slices. I had lunch twice at The Dancing Pig, on Castro - super friendly service, and it's one of the few places right on Castro with sidewalk cafe seating.

For people watching, Jane Warner Plaza - at the corner of Castro and Market/17th - cannot be beat. There are several red iron chairs and a few small tables to sip a cup of coffee, day and night, and take in the sights.

People - ie merchants/clerks/cashiers/waiters, were incredibly nice throughout Castro, I have to say, which was a wonderful bonus. It's just an awesome neighborhood, and was huge fun to come home to each day after sightseeing.

In short, I can’t imagine a better location or apartment to stay in, when visiting SF, for an individual or a couple. A bonus to this unit also was the rooftop access – with views all the way around. Don’t stay at a soul-less downtown hotel! Castro truly has a neighborhood feel to it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and very charming!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this property when we traveled to San Francisco to get married. The apartment was fantastic! We were both a little nervous about not staying in a hotel, but this rental put my mind at ease once we arrived. The location is great with a bus stop less than a block away and a short walk to Castro Station. We also walked to the 16th St. Bart Station several times. The atmosphere in the Castro was great! Everyone that we talked to was extremely friendly and helpful. The apartment is upstairs on the top floor. I loved the windows! The weather was so nice that we kept the windows open most of the time that we were there. Having a kitchen was also a nice addition to the stay. We stayed in a couple of nights and cooked supper. I felt safe here and by the end of the trip we were calling this lovely apartment "Home." Jack was a pleasure to deal with. I had to call him on a couple of occasions and he was very helpful. I would love to stay at this property again and will be recommending it to all of my friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Castro Studio Apartment

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

Comfortable, well-equipped and well-situated. Really loved the apartment and the neighborhood. Accessible, interesting, great restaurants within walking distance. The apartment itself is lovely, with a convenient kitchen, laundry facilities, big closet, great bed. I really loved staying there,

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Castro Studio Apartment

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

Very nice, comfortable, well-equipped and well-situated. I highly recommend it for a base to enjoy the wonderful city of San Francisco. I learned how to use the bus, the streetcar and the train from my neighbors. Awesome restaurants within walking distance. Really pleasant, lovely time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable and Convenient

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

We stayed in San Fran for a week at Jack's studio apartment and it was very nice. The kitchen and all appliances where high end and made us feel at totally at home. Castor is really interesting area, not for the faint hearted if you have issues with public nudity! but we enjoyed our stay...
The actual building that the apartment is in is a little run down and the front door doesn't shut ( when we were there) but we felt pretty safe so it wasn't a big issue.
Would recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Junior Apartment

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

My husband and I spent almost a week in this beautiful apartment in early December. The owner graciously accommodated our early arrival and, although he was out of town during our stay, his business partner Rodger (who lives across the hall) was readily available when we were in need of help. Unfortunately, we did need help a few times (mostly with malfunctioning appliances), but those instances were quickly dealt with and in no way negatively impacted our stay.
The apartment is exactly as pictured in the photos, it was clean and reasonably well decorated/furnished and, importantly, the bed was very comfortable. We like to travel light and this trip was part of a month-long adventure, so having a washer and dryer in the apartment was an excellent plus.
The location is perfect -- a great neighborhood with good (some excellent) restaurants and with great access to the Market Street street cars. There is also a good grocery store just blocks away.
The large walk-in closet was a great bonus in this kind of apartment. It would not serve us well as a separate room, but it was awesome for storage of our suitcases and there was plenty of hanging and shelf space for us to spread out without cluttering up the main areas of the apartment. The kitchen was well equipped. The only things we found missing were a coffee grinder and a colander.strainer for pasta. Neither of these created any serious problems for us. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the small, sunny breakfast alcove and even cooked a couple of nice evening meals during our stay.
All-in-all we had an excellent stay!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fabulous Getaway

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a weeks stay at the "Top Floor Jewelbox", and I must say: It Was FABULOUS! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the wonderful and friendly Roger, everything was first class and fully stocked with everything you could need. The neighborhood is really friendly and safe feeling, close to all the action, yet quiet as well. We have stayed at many hotels in San Francisco, but after staying here we never will stay at a hotel again. It's so nice to have a kitchen so you don't have to get cleaned up and dressed just to have coffee and a roll, or pay 3.00 for a water. There was a cute grocery store right down the street that has everything you could imagine.The only small knock was the T.V. just had basic local chanels, although it had Netflix, we missed CNN and football. But really, who cares, you're on vacation, right? Book this place and enjoy! Thanks again guys!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Just Rent This!

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

My wife and I spent a week in this apartment in August and were delighted with our choice.

The exterior and communal stairs of the building are not promising. But the apartment is, if anything, larger and smarter than the pictures show and has a good size study area/walk-in wardrobe. Immaculately clean, very tastefully decorated and complete with all the linens, cleaning products, kitchen utensils and toiletries you could want.

Capacious bath; huge and very comfortable bed; top end kitchen appliances and laundry; excellent TV and stereo with the bonus of netflix - great for an evening in. Frankly I ended up wishing we owned the place!

We had one issue which was the bed sheets smelling strongly of bleach on arrival - remedied with a quick wash and dry. Tiresome but soluble.

The location is ideal for getting a feel for living in San Francisco. Very quiet at night but a few minutes walk from the excellent (but expensive) Mollie Stones food store and all the good eateries of the Castro. 5 minutes walk gets you to the Castro Metro and F car stops for easy travel around the city so you don't need a car at all. I was delighted with the proximity to Gold's Gym.

Good communication from the owner who was accommodating to our late checkout. We had no problems but I felt confident any would be dealt with promptly and professionally.

No negatives but two points to bear in mind. As stated in the description the apartment is up 2 flights or stairs. Also while we loved the Castro be aware there are a number of in your face sex shops you will be walking past daily. There is absolutely zero sleaziness to the area, but if you are likely to be offended, or don't want to explain to your kids what that interesting thing in the window is for, you may be better off elsewhere.

We would have no hesitation recommending this rental and would book again if we were returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review