reviews for: listing #76595 - Lake Cumberland, Kentucky House rental

Lake Cumberland-Lakefront-Sleeps 10-4BR-Hot tub
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lake Cumberland Resort
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $300 /nt
    $900 - $1,800 /wk
    $1,200 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful house and area.

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

We just wanted to say thank you for a lovely vacation. The house is beautiful and met our needs perfectly. Family and friends were able to come and go and there was plenty of room for everyone. There was an issue with the hot water heater, but it was repaired the same day. Dave is very easy to work with. Would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent for families and getaway weekend

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

We enjoyed having our Mother /Daughter getaway weekend at this lovely home. After a day of rafting at the Cumberland Falls area, Dave suggested a very nice restaurant to kick off our weekend. We hiked around the development and enjoyed the hot tub and pool on the property. Our only disappointment was not having access to the river except for the public boat dock. Great for boaters not floaters!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Renters are able to walk the path through the woods to the lakes edge where they can enter water at their own risk. The woods behind the house are Daniel Boone National Forest and is overseen by the Army Corps of Engineers. It is best if one states ON the path and not wander off due to creatures which live in the brush and poison ivy. This renter called the LCR office and the newly hired desk clerk suggested they not enter lake here. We swim off the bank often when we are not on the boat. Just a matter of personal choice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Once again, GREAT!

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at this property and it has been perfect for our family. The house has everything we need and the kids all like their own little "space" in the house, as it is large. We use the lake every day and the nearby boat launch is very convenient. Dave is a great owner and always calls to make sure everything is OK, which I appreciate. Great Property!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks again for the wonderful review. We enjoy offering noir home to guests like your family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

H & H

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

Great House, very pretty view of Lake Cumberland

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great being able to serve your Family's needs during the wedding. Look forward to seeing you at the resort again when we are here

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

We had a great getaway. Home very clean and spacious. Lake right down the trail from the home. Beautiful view. Amenities all in home. 4 adults and 4 children. We all enjoyed it! Caught cat fish and blue gill right off the rocks. Grilled and chilled all weekend. Ran out of propane, a new was replaced immediately. Very pleased!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Annual Sister Weekend

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Our stay was Great. House was clean, very well appointed. It was like visiting a friend's home. Not your usual rental supplies, nice wine glasses we appreciated. David made the rental process easy. We only had one issue and the gas fireplace ran out of gas after the first day. This is not a huge issue, more like a disappointment. I figure it was an over site. Hot tub was great and huge so much fun catching up on a years worth of gossip with sisters.
Thanks David and Andrea we hope to rent again in future. Perhaps next year. We will gladly recommend your place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property was lovely and well kept and comfy.

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

The road leading to the "resort" was treacherous at night.
All tourist activities/attraction other than Waterpark and Marinas were closed, "kids went back to school". Disappointing, we drove around two days looking for local flavor. We were also Hoping to find at least some kind of small beach-like area to go in and out of with a jet sky,absolutely nothing any where around the whole lake.
Two good restaurants and many franchises which were fine if that's all u wanted.
The pool was small and wasn't cleaned until several calls were made by myself and others. finally Wednesday late afternoon someone took garbage away. Garbage was spilling over and the bees were very annoying as well as trash around area inside and out.
Dogs and cats wondering around. Neighbor called Animal Protection.
House was lovely, clean and very comfortable. Wish we could have seen the water from the deck.
We cooked in often, kitchen lacked pots,lots of lids tho. Lots of fry pans and any thing else u might need.
FYI Dave -I suggest new can opener (barely cut) measuring cup( it leaks) knives (need to be sharpened). These r easy fixes and certainly didn't affect our comfort. We were very happy with the house. Clearly wasn't our kind of vacation.
We are not boat people, although we totally enjoyed our day on a Pontoon, so our activities were VERY limited.
We accidentally left a bag at the house. The housekeeper was very kind to quickly send it off to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Very nice house. Will return again!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Grandmother

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

My family loved the house, it was beautiful, well furnished and clean and well kept. The house was just as the photos and descriptions depicted. Despite the rain we all enjoyed the stay, we drove to Cumberland Falls and spent an afternoon there, It was beautiful even in the rain. The guys and the kids fished behind the house and also at the marina dock too. And David was very nice and helpful. Only one small suggestion, the bedroom upstairs the far right one, needs a ceiling fan and higher tv table, it got a bit warm, and you cannot see the tv while lying in bed, just a small matter, no biggie thing, I would recommend this house to others. Thanks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your rental as well as the suggestion of placing a ceiling fan in the upstairs bedroom. We will take this suggestion under consideration.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lake Cumberland Home

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

The house is in a beautiful location, with a view of Lake Cumberland from the back of the home. The house has everything you need and more. Kitchen was well supplied and then some. Owner called to check on us during our stay (which I appreciated) and the kids enjoyed the foosball table. Hot tub worked great. We boated a lot, so didn't have the chance to use the pools, but have used them before and they were a lot of people using them as we would drive by. Great house and location, would highly recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful lakeside home!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Our family had a great time! The house was very accommodating for our family of 11 (6 adults and 5 children). The hot tub was very relaxing and the pool was a very short walk, which was no problem.

There are some things I want to point out though to make your trip go smoothly. The deck off the living room has some older boards and in some spots the nails are starting to pop back up. One of our kids cut his foot on one of them. It wasn't enough to ruin the trip but I would advise that if you have kids with you that you either warn them of this or make them wear shoes if they venture on the deck (like we did). Also, although the house sits near the lake, there really isn't a clear path down to the water. There may have been at one time but it was pretty grown over with weeds. I still made my way down to water but after I got back I pulled 4 ticks off of me. I would suggest walking or driving to the ramp for boat access which is on the other side of the gate.

The internet connection was fairly slow, so if you are planning on bringing a computer for work purposes I would advise against it. And the only thing I want to point out is that the house is at least a 20 minute drive from a grocery store. So be sure to stock up before you get to the house. There is a little market at the LCR center but they are very limited on what they have.

Thanks and we enjoyed the stay immensely.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review. Addressing some issues - the deck nails will be taken care of next week. Replaced with screws and new wood as needed. Path to lake will be trimmed. this part of property is US National Forest and I cannot cut more than 3 foot path. Internet service (TWC) in that area of KY is slow. I have no impact on this. Again thank you for the positive review and issues are being addressed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We do a bi-yearly vacation with our two children and their spouses and our three grandchildren ages 10 and twins 15. We enjoyed David and Andrea's home and they were prompt about the few problems we had. We found lots to do in the area--whitewater rafting, rented a pontoon boat (great fun), horseback riding, archery at the state park, train to a coal mine and hiking. I would have preferred to sit in the rockers on the porch and enjoy some quiet time but our family vacations are usually filled with activities. The home is beautiful and we had lots of room for all nine of us and beds for all to sleep in. We really enjoyed the new king size bed in the master bedroom. I did a lot of cooking but we did order pizza one night and ate at the state park buffet on the last night. Overall, a great vacation and a great place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Culver Review

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

Dave's responsiveness was great; thank you.

Beds are "OK' - firmer matrressws would be very nice,

Overall the house was well equipped and everything worked - which is great.

Biggest drawback to me is the lack of boat parking and the drive to Burnside.

Thanks again for providing your nice home and I look forward to assurance that my deposit check is returned. Barb Culver

Owners response: I'm sorry that the only negative comment was on docking availability. Since the property is on Daniel Boone National Forest land the Army Corps of Engineers will NOT allow permanent slips or marinas on that side of the lake. Therefore I encourage renters to slip their boats at Burnside Marina which is 20 minutes drive from the home. This marina is also much closer to the main body of Lake Cumberland. Thanks for your nice comments. We try our best to provide good customer service.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

Dave and Andrea's cabin suited our needs perfectly. Even though it was only 2 hours from Lexington, it felt like we were far removed from everything stressful! The scenery at the resort is spectacular. The cabin was impeccably clean. They thought of everything! There's plenty to do in the area but a perfect place to just relax and do nothing. We plan to stay here many times more in the future and highly recommend it to people of all ages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Totally Relaxing

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

Dave really helped in terms of letting us know where to shop and helping with any thing that was needed during our stay.

This area is exactly what we needed. This home is in an area where you have seclusion. This was the most relaxing area that we have been to in many years of traveling. The only noises we heard were the birds! We live in the city and this was a great retreat for us.

The grand picture window is great for viewing the lake from the lower or upper level. And it is relaxing.

There are nice restaurants in the area and shopping stores that we did not mind driving to. Guthries has wonderful salmon salad and salmon meal!

We are planning for next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway Property on Lake Cumberland

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Spent the Thanksgiving holiday with my family. We had a great time. The location is very private. The community is gated and the well kept. We enjoyed relaxing outside on the deck and in the hot tub and had a very short walk out back to the water. Great location for picture taking and pure relaxation. Thanks for sharing your home away from home with us. Hope to be back next year

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks John. Will look for to seeing you next year. But I will have to root for the BENGALS this week end! Merry Christmas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend get away with college friends

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

College friends living now in various states we try to find a meeting point to see each other once a year. This year we came upon this listing and were so happy we did. The house was perfect for hanging out, catching up and lots of laughs. This could definitely be where we end up again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Favorite vacation

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I want to thank Dave and andrea their home was nice and peaceful .it was the perfect getaway we needed . Had everything we needed. All we needed was to pack our bathing suits and laptops ( they have wifi) .my husband is a writer And he loved the seclusion they had. It was very clean and peaceful. We will definitely go back again soon. Thanks for the hospitality. Jenn&frankie

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

4th Get Away

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

The home was great! It was quiet and very secure, would stay there again! I loved the setting of the home and how peaceful the surroundings are there.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

A wonderful weekend!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Our group of 10 absolutely enjoyed every minute of hospitality provided by the hosts, and the wonderful rental home. The description on the site was accurate, the property was clean and well-maintained, and everything we could have needed was available for us, including extra blankets, etc. The owner provided excellent customer service and extra details before our arrival. I would highly recommend this property, and would definitely come back again. We went to the Burnside Marina and rented a double-decker pontoon boat (complete with a water slide) and had a blast in the sun and water all day on Saturday.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relaxing and Romantic

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Dave and Andrea are the perfect hosts of this beautiful home in the Daniel Boone Forest.

We were greeted when we arrived by 4 deer in the driveway. It's a quiet getaway surrounded by nature.

Their house is well equipped and inviting. When you walk in the door, you know you're in for a treat. It's a well equipped home away from home and worth every penny we spent.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks again for your extended rental. I'm glad that the weather cooperated and the snow (which is abundant in Iowa) stayed away. Love having renters like you who appreciate our home and treat it as their "Home away from Home". Hope to see you again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Relaxing and Romantic

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

Dave and Andrea are the perfect hosts of this beautiful home in the Daniel Boone Forest.

We were greeted when we arrived by 4 deer in the driveway. It's a quiet getaway surrounded by nature.

Their house is well equipped and inviting. When you walk in the door, you know you're in for a treat. It's a well equipped home away from home and worth every penny we spent.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything as Promised

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Our group consisted of 6 adults and 6 kids under the age of 5. The house provided more than enough space for us and the kids were able to play in the finished basement. The weather was beautiful for December so we spent a lot of time outside playing in the front yard and grilling. The veiw from the deck was great because there were no leaves on the trees and the kids enjoyed hearing their echo's across the ravine. The home owner provided great communication and the house was spotless. The community is very private and safe, and very kid friendly, so next time we will bring the kids bikes. We were very happy with our rental. Thank you David!

Adam

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

More then what we expected!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We rented the house with our family(8 people) and friends. We had 10 people staying and the house had plenty of room. Everything was very clean when we arrived and the property was amazing. The views from down by the water and pictures that we took are gorgeous!!!! We will return and plan on making this a yearly trip. We live in a tourist area and it is pretty hard to impress us and we definately were.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kari:
Thank your for the timely review. We would like to have the web site for your lodge in Michigan since my wife is ret USAF. May be a nice week trip for us.

Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Louisville, KY

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

"Thank you for letting us stay at your house. Each day we took our speed boat on Lake Cumberland. The lake has beautiful crystal clear water. The weather was grea each day. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second Stay at LCR

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

"Visiting from Naperville, IL. Our second time to LCR. Weather was mostly cooperative & beautiful. Went to Cumberland Falls, enjoyed a day on Lake Cumberland with double decker pontoon for the kids. Did some fishing off the boat dock since it is presently unavailable as dock. Lovely pool & location of house to lake is picturesque! Swam off dock and jumped off cliffs --FUN TIMES! Would have been perfect if lake was higher to have immediate access from property.

Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Malo, Wolf & Denman Families

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

"We had a wonderful time on vacation and were so pleased to have such a comfortable place to relax and lay our heads at the end of each sunny day.

The view from the deck is so beautiful!

Thank you for sharing your home with us!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We love it very much. Thank you very much!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

fun getaway

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

very peaceful. right by the lake. minutes from downtown Somerset. great for a weekend getaway

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well worth the price and the Landlors are awesome

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Me and my wife work in Afghanistan and stayed at the location with our family, the lake was visible but not accessible. A small path at the end of the drive that needs to be cleared leads to a cliff with a beautiful view of the lake. We wanted to rent jet skis for a day and dock them behind the house but was unable to do so.
O'h if you drink alcohol, it can be purchased with meals in the restaraunts located about 15 minutes away but you will have to drive 31 miles to Tennessee if you want beer and 11/2 hours for liquor, so bring plenty with you for the BB-Q's..
The neighbors located to the right side are conservative and do not like noise so you will not be able to party in the hot tub or when sitting on the deck."Although you can hear their and other neighbors big mouths at all hours of the day". Welcome to the bible belt which is fitting since you are renting a church."kidding"
Overall, The home is beautiful and the landlord is awesome and if you want to just get away, you have come to the right place.

Thanks Schwytzer's and god bless you.

The Harris family enjoyed your home and hospitality.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lots of room, great deck!

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Just wanted you to know once more how much we enjoyed our time spent at your clean and beautiful home. We had plenty of room, and a wonderful time on your deck. The area is beautiful and peaceful. The 4th of July spirit was alive and well! Thanks again and we hope you have a continued wonderful summer.

Peace,
Keith & Karen

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review