reviews for: listing #76610 - Miller Beach, Indiana House rental

Luxury Beachfront-Lake Michigan, Dunes, Chicago
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $215 - $452 /nt
    $941 - $1,864 /wk

sort by:

Loved this Guest House in the Dunes!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

The Guest House is darling! Stayed here for a late summer trip to the beach and absolutely fell in love with the place. Short walk on the trail to the gorgeous beach, surrounded by nature and secluded on a quiet street—my friends and I had THE best time. There were 6 of us and even though 1 couple stayed on the pullout couch, it was no big deal. The kitchen was great—had everything we needed and open to the living area, which was perfect, cause everyone always ends up there anyway right? Also had an amazing view of the dunes!! Who knew this was SO close to Chicago! Seriously—we will be coming back many, many more times.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I completely agree. People always zoom right by Miller Beach to get stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic on there way to other less desirable destinations much further from Chicago with sub-standard beaches. For what? I don't know. The Guest House is LOADED with everything and is always priced right! Thank you very much for you stay and see you again in 6.5 months! Also, we are in the process of updating the furnishings in the Guest House as well.
Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Staycation

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

I decided to book a quick winter “stay-cation” for my family and was searching for a comfortable, relaxing place where we could also enjoy the outdoors. I found the Guest House and knew it would be the perfect getaway.
The owner responded to my inquiry immediately and thoroughly walked me through all of the amenities and highlights of the home. As it turns out, we were also allowed to bring our dog!
Our stay couldn’t have been better. The kids spent the days playing in the dunes while my husband and I caught up on our reading and even a nap or two!
The house is situated on a quiet cul de sac and was such a delightful respite from our everyday hectic lives in the city. We were able to cook all meals in the fully stocked, open kitchen (with everything from utensils/pots and pans to a toaster oven, coffee machine and a dishwasher) and enjoyed having the entire family in one cozy space. All five of us fit comfortably in the house, with one bedroom for my husband and I, a room for the girls and a pull out sofa in the main room for my son. The kids loved the big screen tv/dvd player, hubby was glued to overstuffed leather sofa and I adored having a washer/dryer. The indoor Jacuzzi tub was also a huge hit with eveyone!
The Guest House was truly a great value…more fun and in the end more cost effective than a hotel! We will be back again, hopefully when it is warmer!
~Kim L.

Owners response: Thanks Kim! I'm glad everything worked out so well. Hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely beautiful!!!!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

Met with a bunch of girls who all Scrapbook. Thats what we did from Thursday until Sunday in Nov. 2011. Beautiful home, beautiful location, beautiful times!! Would I do again? In a heartbeat!! Oh and did I mention the hot tub. This would be a great place for a small family reunion or maybe a New Years Eve party. Very lovely--hoping to make plans to do it again.

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Great Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the guest house for a much needed getaway in January. Very beautiful, comfortable and relaxing....just what we needed. He liked the well stocked kitchen, for he is the chef in the family ;) I especially enjoyed the comfy cozy bed and jacuzzi tub!!!! Great for couples needing to get away together and recharge the batteries.
Another great thing....they are pet friendly! Hard to come by.... Nice not having to worry about our dog when we go on vacation.....
Any questions or concerns we had were answered by the property owner who was waiting for us when we arrived (nice perk). We both highly recommend this property and are looking forward to our next escape!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Beautiful views, relaxing, quiet, great hiking

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

My four sisters, I and 2 dogs met at the house in Mid-December and loved it! it was big enough for all of us. 2 of us are from Galveston, 1 from Detroit, and 2 from Rockford, IL. we do this sister's getaway once a year. The dunes and lake were very pretty. the location was convenient and somewhat centrall located for all of us to get to. we love to be outdoors and even though it was chilly, we enjoyed hiking the beach trails. the dogs (boxer and golden retriver) loved to romp all over the dunes and beach. The staff was pleasant and even met us on site to give a tour. We will definitely make this place our yearly sisters outing. thank you Jim and Marty!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

My husband and I rented the Main House and Guest House for a family vacation this summer and had an incredible time. Wonderful management, impeccably clean, tons of amenities! We were really blown away by the size of the house and all it had to offer, but spent the majority of the time on the beach. The water clarity and temp. were perfect. When we weren't at the beach we spent the rest of the time on the padio cooking on the gas grill. Really an incredible place to spend time with the family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

What a get-away!

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We rented this "Guest House" for a weekend get-away from Chicago and had an absolutely wonderful time! My family really needed something last minute and close by and this was perfect. It only took us about 45 minutes to get there from the north side of Chicago!

The home was beautiful and well-appointed with two large bedrooms and an open concept main room. The plasma screen tv was an added bonus as well. The beach was peaceful and the swimming was perfect. Though the next time might be in the Winter so as to take full advantage of the whirlpool in the Master Bath.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review