reviews for: listing #7668 - St George Island, Florida House rental

Scenic Bayfront Home 1.5 Blocks to Top Ranked Gulf Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $165 /nt
    $740 - $1,140 /wk
    $2,100 - $2,100 /mth

sort by:

Natural surroundings

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

Really nice place surrounded bye trees and birds. The view is perfect and relaxing. Easy walking to the bay and to the sea. We enjoyed the quietness and the nature of the house and the island. It expected all our needs.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location and wonderfully clean and equipped!

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

Stayed a week with my wife and kids, including twin two year old boys. Equipped well for families, plenty of space, and the kitchen was well stocked with the necessary equipment. Don't worry that it's not beachfront; the beach is a 200 yard walk away and there's NO traffic around your house. Being bay front is better, you get to see the wildlife up close. The binoculars came in particularly handy with the tidal pond just out back. You're also far enough out from the main drag that there's no noise from others, which is great with small children at night. We spent every day but one on the beach, either playing or fishing (supper!). The suggestions made by the owner were extremely helpful, and saved the rainy day for us. All in all a perfect stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

old florida is alive

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

This was our 1st ever trip to st george island and it wont be our last by no means. Old florida is back with the atmosphere of st george island. Family friendly places and the people are very friendly and welcoming. A truely relaxing vacation on floridas best beach and bay area. Heron now is a great place to stay and has the best location we found. Beach is very accessible by a short walk and bayside area behind house is great for a relaxing evening away from it all. Natures all around you at heron now and st george island. Simply amazing is all we can say about heron now and st george island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clarke Triplett

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

Heron Now is a beautiful property...Very private! We have stayed there a few times in the past and we would not stay any where else on St Georges.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lu

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

We loved the location and quiet, peaceful setting. Heron Now is clean and comfortable. Lots of extras, including Owner's suggestions for outings and dining. Very environmentally friendly. Walking distance to both Bay and Gulf beaches. Saw eagles everyday! Enjoyed kayaking with Journeys.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heron Now Best on St. George Island

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Just returned from a month at Heron Now. Loved the home and location. We biked all around St. George and thought "our" place was the most desirable with the constant changing view of nature in the salt pond out the back windows- truly a tranquil, natural setting. Just a short walk to the wonderful ocean beach. The home was so comfortable, as well as clean - and always sunny on one or the other decks! Thank you Heron Now owners for sharing your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

Wonderful few days of retreat. New favorite place

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable and Well Equiped

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

Heron Now suited us very well - simple and uncluttered but comfortable and well equipped...We loved the view from the deck, living room, kitchen, and bedroon.. The binoculars and library are a great asset.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories Were Made

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Memories were made and treasures found! We had a wonderful family experience...Bottle-nosed dolphins were spotted many days along with the bobbing heads of loggerhead turtles. We had the opportunity to watch a biologist and his intern record a turtle nest which ended up as a false crawl... still appreciated the rare chance to learn about Florida fauna and natural communities...What a view you have here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Every Minute

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We are sad to go tomorrow. We have loved every minute here...We loved seeing the dolphins out the backside of the living room... Just watching the boys(age 10 and 13) play in the water was priceless... Hope to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything Clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Here for the week to celebrate our Mom's 83rd birthday - couldn't have been lovelier. View from the deck, easy walks to bay and gulf. Thanks for all the tips...we used the folder every day. When asked what Mom liked best she said "everything" - everything was clean and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nature Lover

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

This is the most beautiful home on the island if you're a nature lover like my famly is!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keep Coming Back

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Another fantastic week at Heron Now . Our 4th year in a row an third spring break.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Midwest travler

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time on St George Island. We saw dolphins swimming in the bay behind the house. The only thing missing were candles or a flashlight in case a storm knocks the power out.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Nature Lover's Haven

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

My family had the best vacation ever at Heron Now--so glad we decided to stay two weeks--one would not be enough! The bay view is so magnificent that even on a rare rainy day, we enjoyed it--my artist sister-in-law painted the view repeatedly. The photos of the home are spot on--it is a lovely, comfortable, clean home. The deck is wonderful and we sat out there often during the day. The beach is only two blocks away so we enjoyed long walks and shell collecting. My brother and grandsons swam in the cold surf. We brought our kayaks and paddled in the bay several times. We brought our cameras and captured numerous nature scenes, including close-ups of many bird species. We took advantage of the binoculars, nature reference books, jigsaw puzzles, that were there. The kitchen is a bit small when there are three competing cooks! The bedroom view from the loft was as spectacular as from the living room. We experienced a loose dial that broke from the stove and could not turn off the burner, but a maintenance person responded within minutes for repair. We were fortunate to be one of the few cars of the day to be admitted to the eastern-most portion of the nature preserve--beautiful! We also went to the free estuary museum and recommend that also. All in all, it was the best vacation ever and we recommend this rental highly--we'd like to return every year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Snowbirds

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We loved our stay at Heron Now. After exploring the Island we decided our location was excellent, one of the best. Convenient access to beach and the bayside view. Great getaway!! We especially appreciated the library and learnt a lot about nature on the gulf. It would be our first choice to stay if we return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location: Great Price

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Heron Now was just perfect for us. The house is not luxurious, but it suits us just fine. The location is ideal for the price, with beautiful views of the marsh pond and bay off the back. The beach is as close as touted...an easy walk. We rented a kayak for the week. It was very hot off of the beach. We plan to return in the spring with cooler weather to explore the St. George Island State Park inland trails, and kayak the smaller coves and bays.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Be Prepared to See Eagles

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

Great place to relax, watch birds and enjoy the beach. We loved walking the beach every morning and exploring the surroundings in the afternoon. Many birds and butterflies. Be prepared to see eagles.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gem of a house and a private location

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Rented the home for Christmas as the two family homes rented were filled to capacity. Lightly decorated the home with some Christmas lights. What ambience the home had then with a wood burning fire place. My family enjoyed visiting our rental home more than the expesive houses they were staying in. It was so relaxing that we did not want to leave and visit the other family rental houses. Very cozy house with a great layout. We will be renting this home again and again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy heronites

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We really enjoyed relaxing at Heron Now. The house more than met our needs. The resource materials available were fabulous. We saw many birds, dolphins in the bay when canoeing, and rode bikes through the state park. St. George Island was absolutely what we were looking for as a destination. Everyone should vidit the research center at the end if the bridge. It's free and adults and kids will love the aquariums and hands on sea exploration. Food was better purchased off the island although we liked Teach's. We enjoyed restaurants in nearby Appalachicola We'd love to come back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Far Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Heron Now is really a great place. Far exceeded my expectations. Birds galore. The house is well stocked and the kitchen is great. Slept great every night which is rare for me. I'll b back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Clean and Functional

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing your cozy house with us. It was very clean and functional.Dolphins play in the bay about every other day which was very enjoyable to watch from the deck. We saw bald eagles about every other day as well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Secluded House

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the back is awesome...St George Island is very relaxing and this secluded house makes the perfect get away

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Marvelous and Comfortable

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The bay view and privacy of the house was marvelous and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Last day at Heron Now after a week of much needed relaxation. St George Island was exactly what I was looking for when I started researching non-touristy Florida destinations. Peace and quiet and gorgeous weather

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Sight I Hope Never to Forget

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Our third trip to Heron Now. Our girls now being 5 and 7 expands our options for exploration and fun!.... For first time in our lives we saw migrating songbirds cross over the Gulf surf to land- a sight I hope to never forget.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mom, You Did Good!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

"Mom, you did good" is the comment I will retain from our 2 adult kids accompanying my husband and I on this St George excursion .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Total Relaxation

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Our second time at Heron Now...loved every minute here. Hope to come back again for total relaxation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It Was Magical

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

The month flew by in its ever changing moods of weather and abundant and humorous wildlife especially the river otter in the pond. Your love of nature and the environment permeates the house. Thank you! Thank you! We love being on the bay-side so cozy and enveloped, the owl hooting ,the eagle soaring and only the faint rhythm of the ocean in the background. It was magical.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best kept secret...shhh!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Last week was our second family vacation staying at the Heron Now. We've vacationed at St. George's Island probably @ 8 times (including the past two visits). I used to think that "we" needed to stay on the beach or with a beach view - until we discovered Heron Now. Best of both worlds - really. Bay fishing and surf fishing is about all my family does. We used to go to the State Park... the beach access at 11th street is just as beautiful as the State Park - plus you can come and go as you want. Some are not as beach hearty as I am! The house and views are exactly as seen on the pictures! I hope this time next year I'm reporting on our third visit! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dana from Alabama

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

My family enjoyed Heron Now very much! We hope to return there in the near future! It is a nature lovers paradise!! Very quiet and relaxing!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Nature Lovers Get-Away

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Huron Now has everything you need for a perfect vacation. The view of the bay is spectacular with a variety of wildlife. It was fun watching my 2-year-old grandaughter chasing the birds, dragonflies, and butterflies. It was also had a good time exploring the island. Our favorites were the State Park and the Lighthouse. The home was not only beautiful but was clean and comfortable with a wonderful collection of books. Our only wish was to be able to stay longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time!

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We had a great time, the place (heronnow) was wonderful. My self , Son & My friends from Arizona would love to come back again. We walked down to the bay one afternoon and there were 6-8 dolphins not far off the shore, It was great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a Blast!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Our family had a great time here! Our boys, ages 4 & 5, enjoyed birdwatching (with your binoculars) from the balcony. The view is amazing! We loved the beautiful shells in the bay, occupied by hermit crabs and snails, and letting them crawl/slime all over our hands. Was a very easy walk to both the bay and beach. Thanks for providing fun games...it was the boys first experience at Jenga and Twister. Hope you get the leaky faucet fixed soon:) Wish we had known about the Thursday night weekly (free) party at "Sometimes It's Hotter Seasoning Co" before Friday. Their Asiago cheese bread is out of this world, and we also enjoyed the kalamata olive bread, and 7-season blend peanuts. Thanks again for a fun, well-equipped place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heron Now St. George Island

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Heron Now/St. George Island

If you’re looking for an ideal place to relax and enjoy the sun and sand St. George Island is a great choice. It is very noncommercial, relaxed, beautiful, and an ideal place for children to play.

Heron Now is located in a lovely wooded section on the bay side of the island and provides a very private setting but is only a 3 minute walk to the beach. We have stayed at the house two times now and look forward to more visits with family. The house/kitchen are well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. When not enjoying the offerings at the beach we were able to walk just around the corner from the house to a secluded section of the bay where the kids could play on the rocks or along the sandy edges of the bay. As we are birdwatchers, we enjoyed sitting on the decks and calling out the birds as they flew into the nearby trees and shrubs or we could walk along the sandy road just down our front steps. One afternoon we had three Bald Eagles sitting in the trees outside our front door! For more birding and more beaches we drove to the eastern end of the island to St. George State Park.

I never considered myself to be a beach person but I have truly enjoyed everything about the island and look forward to more visits.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation at Heron Now. The view is beautiful, just as described. The short walks to the beach made the most of our time. The state park was the highlight of our trip and one of the stretches of beach was particularly kid-friendly. We did book an boat trip through Journeys which was fantastic. Thank you for sharing your peaceful and glorious house.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Heron Now

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

My wife and I totally enjoyed our stay at Heron Now. The home is beautiful, comfortable and ideally located. It is the best place we have ever stayed in on a vacation. We plan on coming back!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Love the location!!

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We mostly enjoyed the privacy, view and proximity to the beach. Waking in the mornings to the gorgeous bay out the window was wonderful. Bikes made it accessible to anyplace on the island in a relaxing mode.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

St Georges in January

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

Most people like going to the beach during the warm season but may I suggest an alternative. If you like peace and quiet try St Georges in the off season. The house was perfect with a huge deck and a magnificent view. Very private. The nature trails all around the surrounding area are some of the best we've seen. Stay for a week. You won't want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Heron Now

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

Dear Edward and Robin,

We enjoyed our stay at your wonderful Heron Now. It was very comfortable, clean, and beautiful. It was such a great place to spend time with our daughter. We have some wonderful memories and photos. Your neighbors were a joy to visit with too.

Robin, thank you for the well stocked kitchen. The pans and knives met our needs. Meg and I had fun creating many dinners with the local sea food. It had been awhile since we had been able to cook together.

Mike's photography of the crane in the pond off the deck and on the dock out in the bay are spectacular. We have framed many of Mike's pictures already.

Enjoy St. George Island!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

We could not have picked a better place to spend our honeymoon! We spent our days hiking and riding our bikes. As amateur bird watchers and nature lovers the state park and deck at Heron Now were amazing. We look forward to our next visit to Heron Now.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

This is our second visit to Heron Now... We had another excellent visit...We are already planning our next adventure to Heron Now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2009   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

Thank you for sharing this splendid piece of the planet. The birds, the water, the trees-- a sacred place.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: November 10, 2008

We've been busy with Christmas preparations since getting back but I didn't want to forget to thank you for our sublime month at Heron Now. Wow! What a special place! My mind goes back often to the scene off the deck of the bayou and the bay. And the air was so clean and easy to breath--I think if we lived there all the time we would all be so much healthier. We're very grateful for that lovely experience of a whole month in that sweet-sweet place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 8, 2007   Date of arrival: December 8, 2007

This is a beautiful home with breath-taking views. We could not have had a more incredible vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 26, 2007   Date of arrival: October 26, 2007

The house is comfortable;the view amazing.We really enjoyed the bay shore, tide pools as well as the gulf beaches.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2007   Date of arrival: August 25, 2007

Had a wonderful time during our first visit to SGI- will be back! The house is in a great location- we loved the easy walk to the beach

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2007   Date of arrival: July 13, 2007

Thanks for allowing us to rent your wonderful home. It is definitely the best on the island

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 10, 2006   Date of arrival: November 10, 2006

We will come back to Florida in february next year and we would have liked to spend another week on SGI. But we found your house completely booked for this month.
What a pity!
We are now looking for another house, but Heron Now was so great that it will not be easy to find an equal one.
I'm so sorry.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2006   Date of arrival: June 16, 2006

Thank you so much for this most wonderful of houses, locations, and opportunities for rest, restoration, and adventure! My words can't tell you how much this wonderful week and this house have meant. Thanks for sharing it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 28, 2006   Date of arrival: April 28, 2006

This is the second year that we came to Heron Now. We truly love this place. The view is outstanding, but what I appreciate is how quiet it is and how dark it is at night.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2006   Date of arrival: March 21, 2006

We have been vacationing in the Apalachicola area since 1990. This is considered our second home and upon retirement, it will be. We have stayed in many houses on the island. Heron Now has offered a wonderful view of the Bay and peaceful haven on the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 11, 2006   Date of arrival: March 11, 2006

We all had a wonderful time in this perfect little niche... Thank you for sharing your beautiful house with us-- its the best on the island. We will surely be back...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review