reviews for: listing #76816 - Qualicum Beach, British Columbia Condo rental

Shady Shores Beach Resort ONE NITE FREE kayaks clams/oysters
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Qualicum Chamber of Commerce
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CAD) $119 - $209 /nt
    $695 - $1,400 /wk
    $1,160 - $1,160 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful, Relaxed, Away-from-it-all time

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 nights at this quite beach front resort! We enjoyed the hot tub every night with the beautiful ocean in the back ground. We got oysters from one of the locations Carolyn told us about and our friend even found a pearl! We visited Cathedral Grove which is only about 30 minutes from this place. The cottage was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Great start to our holiday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was wonderful to have met you. The very first pearl in 25 years! What a score. I hope the rest of your vacation was fabulous.
Cheers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

Great views
Lovely setting
Warm comfortable
Excellent hosts
Will be back

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome stay!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We stayed at Shady Shores for 3 nights in March and were not disappointed. The suite was very clean, with lots of room, and the fireplace was wonderful! We enjoyed walks on the beach, relaxing in the hot tub overlooking the ocean, a barbecue dinner around the fire on the beach, and sitting on the grass area watching the birds and seals.
Our friends came to stay for one night and they loved it as well!
Carlee was very friendly and helpful. We're hoping to come back some day to stay in the log house she gave us a tour of!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice waterfront, quiet, small resort

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at one of the two small beachfront cabins (actually two duplex units) and found it very,clean sufficiently appointed and relaxing. We launched our canoe off the beach for long paddles in the sound and watched the sunrise from the outdoor spa. The resort also has kayaks for rent. We had neighbors for a couple nights and had not problems with excess noise. The area shops and artists were fun to visit. We recommend seeking out individual artist studies fro that personal touch. Great seafood and get some scallops from the local scallop company - raised in the sound in front of the resort. The owner was a joy, friendly and very helpful in learning the area and making us feel like home. This is a small quiet place with a private beach for those who appreciate a little quieter experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was an absolute pleasure to meet the 2 or you. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our tranquil waters, and the beach bonfires at night. I hope you will return to our natural paradise again. Happy trails

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic relaxing stay at Shady Shores

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We absolutely loved Shady Shores. We were looking for somewhere to chill out for a few days before driving over the Rockies and this resort is the perfect spot for a couple, a small group of friends or parents of a small child, like us, who just wanted to relax. The views of the Georgia Strait are spectacular, the sunsets from the beach gorgeous and the welcome from the owner, Shady, was warm and genuine. We built camp fires on the beach, borrowed the baby monitor so we actually got to stay out after dark for the first time in a very long time, and spent hours just gazing at the view of the Coastal Mountains from the hot tub.

Take a car though as it's not so easy without one, although everyone from other guests to Shady Shores staff helped us with lifts.

It is a lovely, lovely place and we thoroughly recommend it.

Owners response: I hope that your continued travels throughout Canada were as satisfying as your stay with us. I miss my little Pal, and all of his questions. The salmon finally arrived, and are jumping everywhere now. I hope I will get to see my little friend again one day. Happy Trails

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous Shady Shores

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We are a small family of 3, our son is 3 and a half and we were looking for somewhere to chill out for a few days before driving over the Rockies to a wedding in Calgary. We booked online which is always a leap of faith but our stay completely exceeded our expectations. Shady's welcome was complete, from helping us get groceries to a cheeky glass of wine on arrival. Our son loved Shady and she was always available to him and us for whatever we wanted.

The rooms are great, nothing special, but the view of the Georgia Strait is spectacular and the camp fires on the beach at night with other guests were something we will cherish as one of the best parts of our holiday. We borrowed the canoe to go starfish gazing and spent way too much time just sitting in the hot tub looking at the view. The loan of baby monitors meant that me and my husband could sit and enjoy the spectacular sunsets along with the resident Great Blue Heron and not worry about our boy - tucked up in bed happily dreaming about his adventures on the beach.

We even got a lift back to the ferry from the lovely Heinz - my son loved the big red truck and we were very grateful as we were without wheels.

This place is really special and we loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I miss my little buddy. He is so very special. I'm glad you had a great time in Canada, and that we could be a special part of your memories.
Live, Love Laugh

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous thank you

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in one of the cottages on the beach. What an amazing experience right on the water waking up to the sounds of wildlife. We had a nice sized deck where we could relax and and enjoy the view.
The location was great had dinner both nights at the Fanny Bay Pub down the road excellent seafood.
The owner was fun , hospitable and available whenever we needed
I would definitely return to this resort

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was my pleasure to meet you, and hope I will see you again. The salmon have just arrived, bringing along the eagles and sea lions with them. Happy Trails

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

breathtaking scenery and wonderful cottage

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

Gorgeous location! Cottage was extremely clean and well kept. We swam right at the beach in front of our cottage and my son was even joined by a seal one evening! We enjoyed watching the Alaskan cruise ships sail by as we relaxed in the ocean front garden. We loved the hot tub which overlooked the ocean and the hammock chairs!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review. I'm so glad you were able to experience all the natural beauty. The salmon are now jumping along the shoreline. I wish you could have enjoyed a fresh fish for dinner. Happy Trails

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A little piece of heaven...

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

My family and my sister's family stayed in two of the beach houses at Shady Shores. They were clean, comfortable and had everything you needed to feel at home (bedding, little stove top, dishes). We were on a mission to relax in front of the ocean and watch our kids play. This is exactly what we did. The kids loved the tidal pools when the tide was out and loved swimming and kyaking when the tide was in. If you wanted to go anywhere, there were lots of options and Carolyn was a gracious host informing us of all of them. We went on a hike in the "wacky forest" one day and found a loving running trail 5 minutes away from the site. The scenery was amazing- beautiful sunsets and sunrises, eagles, seals playing in ocean, starfish, crabs, oysters. Carolyn was an amazing host and provided the kids with games to play (cards and monopoly) as well as marshmallow sticks. It was an unforgettable adventure that truly was a piece of heaven. Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. I have a lot of children at the Resort right now, whom continue to water gun me each and every day. Oh gosh....it's great to be 4 again. I hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful setting, scenery, sea life & hostess!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

i booked before i read the reviews. one was something like this "we arrived 1/2 hour early and were greeted by the landlady in her houserobe (it was 1430 hrs), cuppa in hand and cigarette dangling from her lips. 'you're EARLY' she crabbed..." on my arrival i mentioned this and the next morning treated me to the same! Thank you Carolyn, you made my solo vacation the best ever! (meaning-big laughs every day including from Mr. H.! yes, i am STILL surgically attached to my laptop!) Too bad i don't care to pick & shuck oysters much less eat them. lots to go around. all of the other guests were relaxed and friendly so i think that says a lot for the ambiance of this nice little resort. i loved the potting shed with the wild roses growing on the roof!, not a hot tub fan but very glad for the BBQ! beach fires, ice cream cones available nearby, not too far for groceries and most important, a store which sells wine (& other non-hard liquor) just down the road. and yay! THE EAGLES! hence no yappy lapdogs! double yay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh ya....you had to tell the ugly house coat story. I miss our morning coffee's. Your review never did show up on trip advisor. Thank you for reviewing on a more reputable site. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A birthday present for "Mom"

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shady Shores, a lovely tranquil setting. Also, enjoyable was the very personable and welcoming hostess who made us feel at home. Deep Bay Marina had excellent fish & chips, and the ice-cream shop in Bowser had 32 flavours to choose from. What more could you ask for! P.S Hope the "Duke" and "Duchess" are "fairing", hee, hee, hee!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome every time!

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite" and we love it every time. From soaking in the in-suite jacuzzi tub while watching the ocean view to walking 15 feet to sit and have morning coffee on the beach we just can't get enough. The room is clean, the bed is comfy and the small kitchnette makes it easy to save money by cooking ourselves. It is almost a guarantee that you will see seals and wildlife galore. If you want a little piece of vacation paradise then Shady Shores is sure to deliver. Thanks Shady for a great time and awesome memories made.....again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's my pleasure to afford you those great little time aways to relax and enjoy nature at it's finest. Happy 29th *again*. The day you left 3 killer whales came by. What a site!!! Hope to see you soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family getaway!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

The perfect place for a quiet family vacation. The owner was really friendly, helpful and always tried to give us everything we needed to have a great time. The place was a fair size for 2 couples. The kitchen could have been bigger, but the the barbecue was fantastic and we did all of our cooking on that. We all really enjoyed the hot tub (Very Big). The beach was was great. My son really enjoyed the rock pools in the morning. We caught and saw lots of crabs and star fish. The sea was calm, which made it perfect for Kayaks. In the evenings we really enjoyed having fires and toasting marshmallows on the beach. It was in a great location, not too far from the ferry port and the main road gave us easy access to surrounding attractions. Great value for money! I would stay here again and would definitely recommend to friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing and relaxing time

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Shady Shores Beach Resort / Beach Log Cabin the weekend of May, 26th 2012 and couldn't have been happier in doing so. The entire weekend was an incredibly relaxing and enjoyable time, with the accommodations right on the beach and the waves practically lapping at your doorstep.

The host was fantastic and made us feel so welcome - the sun was shining for the whole weekend and I honestly couldn't recommend this place more. All thumbs up.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for a girl's weekend away!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

From the moment we arrived, Carolyn the owner, made our "Mom's weekend away" very relaxing. From the clean cabins to the amazing view, we will return for sure! The hot tub is great place to relax and the beach combing is fantastic! There is a great little second hand store just up the road where we found some great treasures! I will be coming back again with the girls or the family. Thanks again Carolyn!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OUTSTANDING, RELAXING, CENTRALLY LOCATED,QUIET, CLEAN WITH REMARKABLE VIEWS

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

A Piece of Heaven!!! We traveled as a Large group, and occupied The stunning Beach Log Home along with a couple of suites at the adjoining Resort. Super clean, friendly staff, and location perfect to see the sites. What a treat to walk out your front door, and be right on the Beach. We all enjoyed scowering the beach for shells, and picked a bunch or clams and oysters for dinner. After the kids went down at night, we loved sitting in The hot tub with a glass of wine. To much to see and do in such a short space of time. We would highly reccomend either of these properties.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

De toute beauté!

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

J'ai eu une semaine incroyable!

Près de l'océan, le paysage est de toute beauté. Chaque jour, on peut observer tant le faune marine qu'avienne, aigle royal, arlequin plongeur, phoques... J'ai plus qu'abusé du spa situé près de la mer.

Tout près de Toffino, de Nanaimo, de comox... Très bien situer si l'on veut visiter les alentours. Un endroit parfait pour ceux qui recherche la tranquilité. Pour les amateurs de pêche, j'ai vu beaucoup de pêcheurs aux saumons à l'oeuvre et leur pêche était fructueuse.

Qui plus est, le personnel est très discret et professionnel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular!!!

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

I stayed at Shady Shores 5 nights. Was fantastic! The place is really nice. Being in the Hot Tub watching at the ocean: Priceless. The location was perfect for my trip. It's not too far from Nanaimo, but it's enough far for being quiet. AND it was almost on my way going to Tofino (a little bit out of my way, but it worth going). The owner is a lovely woman. she wanted us to have a good time. i loved meeting her. Plus, the special (3rd night free) maked my wallet happy !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A fantastic getaway

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We booked our getaway for the labor day long weekend, and we had a fantastic time! The setting is simply extraordinary, the accommodation is well supplied and well maintained and the owner was very friendly and wonderfull with children. This place is perfect for kids, so much to do simply by staying at the resort: kayaking, beach combing or simply relaxing on the long chairs.
We got a fishing license and enjoyed yummy oysters right from the shore. We highly recommend this area and the Shady Shores resort, and we very much look forward to going back!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Toronto traveller

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

We recently stayed at Shady Shores (August 2011) and enjoyed it immensely. It is a great, exclusive-ish (because of its small size), off-the-beaten track resort. We loved the quiet, clean, serene accommodation/ and beach scene. The small coterie of elegant cabanas were full of families like ours, with young kids, who wanted a place to crash after a day full of local activity. We loved lounging on the shoreline deck chairs with a glass of white wine in hand while our daughter played on the beach...I highly recommend this place if you want to contemplate the surrounding BC - Bowser beauty without a lot of tourist noise & kitsch...

The owner is helpful and friendly and allows enough distance for guests to relax in peace.I would also recommend nearby Coombs market for its unique hippy character with good food and shopping.

This resort did seem a bit pricey (although not sure what similar places charge, so maybe fine?) but worth it for the quiet calm we sought and found.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for kids!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

This was an extremely clean and comfortable condo to stay in with plenty of things to keep the kids busy on the beach and in the nearby area. Caroline was very helpful with information about the surrounding area and things to do that were kid appropriate which helped to fill a couple of the days when the weather wasn't great. Tiger Lily farm was great, Goats on the Roof, Butterfly World, the Recovery Centre.

Plenty of eagles, herons, seals, deer, and sea life to watch and tide pools to muck around in. Caroline gave us all long handled nets to go to the tide pools with and also gave us marshmallow roasting sticks to use at the fire.

I would definitely recommend this location and accommodation to anyone - especially with kids!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We absolutely love it here!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

Have stayed here twice and would recommend it highly for a fun and relaxing spot with a great hostess. Awesome views, hot tub, kayaks, canoes, bald eagles, sea lions, otters, hummingbirds, seashells, and ocean front. Very central for day trips and not far to shopping centers in other towns and cities. Suitable for all ages! We`ll keep coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Its always a pleasure to welcome a familiar face, and enjoy a chuckle from days gone by. Knowing that you appreciate the intimacy and comfort of our Family Resort gives us reason to continue doing what we do, and not expand to be just another Mega Property, where you trade your name in for a number. We feel blessed to have met you, and many others a like, that have continued to visit us and have become friends over the years. Thanks to all of you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great family reunion

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2010

We originally rented the beach log home on the adjacent property but due to the large contingent of family we had to rent additional rooms at Shady Shores Beach resort which was conveniently located on the adjacent property. This gave us a wide range of accommodations giving those who wished private rooms right up to the more communal living of the large log home. The location was perfect. We were right on the beach which became the main focus of most of our rec time. We collected clams and oysters, which seemed to be almost inexhaustible. There were the tide pools with all sorts of life which gave the kids [ of all ages ] lots to do. We were also lucky enough to be there when a run of salmon was happening. We could see them jumping all over the place. The fish also brought a contingent of seals and eagles and of coarse fishermen. At night we had fires on the beach and I was amazed at the lack of annoying insects. Because we had rooms at both places we had access to all of the activities such as canoeing and kayaking along the shore,bocci ball, badminton and croquet to occupy our time. The kids loved Horne
Lake caves and Cathedral Grove while the rest of us golfed or shopped or both. We unfortunately didn't do any fishing although there obviously was good fishing right off the shore or we could have gone to the nearby marina to rent a charter. All in all the entire group of us 23 loved the place. Would highly recommend for any type of vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Shady Shores~ A Disappointment

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Overall we were Disappointed with Shady Shores. The "cottage" was very small. The kitchen was not equipped to refrigerate or cook food for more than a couple. The owner was preoccupied with an overwhelming # of jobs and informed us of this. The beach was all rock. I felt that the advertisement pics were deceiving. We would not book this venue again.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: I choose not to dignify this review with a response other than to say.....You know they are out there, you just hope that they are not breeding.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

What a Treasure

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

I found Shady Shores Beach Resort on the internet while “googling” around and it looked so quaint. I contacted Carolyn and just got a “great vibe” from her..........our family and our friends booked. It was the highlight of our trip to Vancouver Island! Carolyn has created the most amazing getaway place. We were so impressed with EVERYTHING! The cottages were so lovely and sparkling clean. The beds and linens were so comfortable and the kitchens had everything! The beach was perfect for beachcombing and there is a fabulous hot tub looking out to the beach surrounded by hammocks. The grassy area with lounge chairs is perfect to relax and read or watch kids playing on the beach. We used the kayaks several times each day and loved the seals popping up early evening. Mornings we awoke to eagles on the beach. I would definitely recommend this place, I will definitely be going back. Thanks Carolyn...........you sure know how to do things right!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Treasure

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

I found Shady Shores Beach Resort on the internet while “googling” around and it looked so quaint. I contacted Carolyn and just got a “great vibe” from her..........our family and our friends booked. It was the highlight of our trip to Vancouver Island! Carolyn has created the most amazing getaway place. We were so impressed with EVERYTHING! The cottages were so lovely and sparkling clean. The beds and linens were so comfortable and the kitchens had everything! The beach was perfect for beachcombing and there is a fabulous hot tub looking out to the beach surrounded by hammocks. The grassy area with lounge chairs is perfect to relax and read or watch kids playing on the beach. We used the kayaks several times each day and loved the seals popping up early evening. Mornings we awoke to eagles on the beach. I have a framed copy of the Pottery Shed covered in flowers in our home now. I would definitely recommend this place, I will definitely be going back. Thanks Carolyn...........you sure know how to do things right!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in July and really enjoyed this resort. The owner was very friendly and made a point of making sure we had everything we needed.The unit was very clean and spacious and the views are amazing. We took advantage of the hot tub overlooking the beach and the mountains.I would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific stay for our family!

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shady Shores. We are a family of 4 with an 8 year old and a 4 year old. We really appreciated how terrific Carolyn was with the kids, our daughter loved to visit with her and chat while she worked around the property. Carolyn was fun to chat and visit with, but also gave us the perfect amount of privacy and quiet time. There was another family with young children and we enjoyed meeting us with them for bonfires on the beach and sharing our experiences. The views from our unit was dreamy, we enjoyed the large bathtub for the kids, and the beach was good for beach combing and very restful sitting on the lawn chairs overlooking the ocean. Carolyn recommended Double B Farms for horse trail rides, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We really enjoyed meeting the owner of the farm and her kids, and we learned a lot about horses from our guide. We also went on a boat excursion from Deep Bay which was terrific. We clammed, picked oysters, picked up crab and prawn traps, saw harbor seals, sea lions, eagles, star fish, octopus, etc up close, visited various islands, fished and learned a tremendous amount about the ocean and the animals in it. We also visited Horne Lake caves and took the family educational tour of one of the caves. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgable and we learned a great deal. Our past vacations to the islands, we did our own thing. We are so glad we stepped out on this trip and got to meet some of the folks who live and work on the island and have so much to share about it! Highly recommended! Having spent many years at 5 star resorts and too many years working and traveling on buses, planes, trains and automobiles, it was such a breath of fresh air to meet so many down to earth, friendly people who live and breath the land around them. It is easy to stay at a resort with high end amentities, but when we stay at small places like this, we get to be more in touch with the earth and people around us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Eagles Galore

Review submitted: May 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

Had a great stay at Shady Shores. There were so many eagles sitting right out front on the rocks...it was amazing. Also, a congregation of sandpipers followed me along the beach. Beautiful scenery. The cottage was roomy and had all necessities for a comfortable stay, and what a view from the livingroom!!! Great spot to experience the coastline of Vancouver Island, and host Carolyn was more than accomodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

A liittle hidden gem

Centraly located, Beach front, and I mean BEACH front. Good service from the very helpfull owner. Property was clean and comfortable.

This was my wifes and mine, third visit to this location, going back 20 years. The upgrades at this property is delightfull. We were pleased to find it was still under the same helpfull and interesting Management.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

Rating
5 out of 5
5
Sooooooo Beautiful !!!!

Beach front, good service, delightful owner.
So cozy, tranquil, comfortable and clean.

My husband and I stayed there because our son was getting married (next door) in front of the ocean.
We loved that cozy lettle cabin.
Went to sleep with the sound of the waves and woke up with it too!!!
Having coffee out on the patio right in front of the ocean.
Walking the beach.
The location is also perfect, so we did some touring.
We will definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

business
BEACHFRONT Resort, ONE NITE FREE- Free use of Kayaks 16 glf crs w/hrs. drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p171509
+1 888-863 4455
Qualicum Beach Vancouver Island
Rating
5 out of 5
5
We'll be back!
D & G J Oregon
Review Submitted: September 28, 2009 Date of Stay: September 2009
We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and conveniences offered at Shady Shores. The location on the island is perfect to access the places we want to go to. The inkeeper is charming too!
We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2009

We stayed in one of the suites and it was truly a cosy, quiet atmosphere to chill out!! Saw blue herons every morning and lots of water...just outside the window!! Suites were very clean, cosy and we really appreciated the gas BBQ, kitchen and jacuzzi tub. Definitely need a vehicle to get around but not far from destinations. limited suites so not overcrowded or busy. Great stay, wonderful fun hostess and would definitely return if needing some peace and quiet!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

An amazing morning awaits your visit to Shady Shores seaside cottages. Waking up to the teaming wildlife and panoramic ocean view on the east shore of Vanc. Island is a memory to treasure.
The cottages are modern and stylish appointed with plenty of native and local nik-naks. The spaces are small but cozy and the mini-fridge/stove/sink unit is practical and useful for daily meal planning.
The only wants you may be left with are closet space, in-floor tile heating in the bathroom (brrr..) and a better mattress on the queen size beds. The heating system employs a built-in fireplace/space heater and circulating fan which keeps the front room comfy but leaves the sleeping areas too cool for comfort in the cool, damp climate.
But lets get real for a minute...when you can walk out your front door into a seaside paradise which includes beach barbeques, hot tubs, sea kayaking and friendly neighbours. The little 'concerns' just seem to melt away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quaint Seaside Cottages

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

An amazing morning awaits your visit to Shady Shores seaside cottages. Waking up to the teaming wildlife and panoramic ocean view on the east shore of Vanc. Island is a memory to treasure.
The cottages are modern and stylish appointed with plenty of native and local nik-naks. The spaces are small but cozy and the mini-fridge/stove/sink unit is practical and useful for daily meal planning.
The only wants you may be left with are closet space, in-floor tile heating in the bathroom (brrr..) and a better mattress on the queen size beds. The heating system employs a built-in fireplace/space heater and circulating fan which keeps the front room comfy but leaves the sleeping areas too cool for comfort in the cool, damp climate.
But lets get real for a minute...when you can walk out your front door into a seaside paradise which includes beach barbeques, hot tubs, sea kayaking and friendly neighbours. The little 'concerns' just seem to melt away.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review as we value our customers concerns and comments. We try to address and improve each problem to the best of our ability. Our propane fireplaces are designed to heat the entire unit providing the bedroom doors are not closed and the ceiling fan is on to distribute the heat. We in fact have new mattresses on order for our suites. In floor heating is not a possibility at this price point. We invite the discerning travelers to book our Beach Log Home if they are searching for more comforts such as soaker tubs, private hot tub, propane fire pit, wood burning stove, full kitchen, walk in closets and pool table. Our private Beach Log Home has been equipped with in floor heating, comfortable mattresses, baseboard heating in each room and you can also walk out the front door to a seaside paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: September 29, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

We stayed in one of the suites and it was truly a cosy, quiet atmosphere to chill out!! Saw blue herons every morning and lots of water...just outside the window!! Suites were very clean, cosy and we really appreciated the gas BBQ, kitchen and jacuzzi tub. Definitely need a vehicle to get around but not far from destinations. limited suites so not overcrowded or busy. Great stay, wonderful fun hostess and would definitely return if needing some peace and quiet!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and conveniences offered at Shady Shores. The location on the island is perfect to access the places we want to go to. The inkeeper is charming too!
We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sooooooo Beautiful !!!!

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

Beach front, good service, delightful owner.
So cozy, tranquil, comfortable and clean.

My husband and I stayed there because our son was getting married (next door) in front of the ocean.
We loved that cozy lettle cabin.
Went to sleep with the sound of the waves and woke up with it too!!!
Having coffee out on the patio right in front of the ocean.
Walking the beach.
The location is also perfect, so we did some touring.
We will definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A liittle hidden gem

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

Centraly located, Beach front, and I mean BEACH front. Good service from the very helpfull owner. Property was clean and comfortable.
This was my wifes and mine, third visit to this location, going back 20 years. The upgrades at this property is delightfull. We were pleased to find it was still under the same helpfull and interesting Management.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Look No Further !

Review submitted: November 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 24, 2008

We where only thinking of getting away for a couple of quiet days alone
together when my husband and I arrived at Shady Shores Resort. Those 3 days soon turned into our most memorable retreat of all times.

This place is very private, and RIGHT on the beach, which is great since many claim to be , but really aren't. The owner is a delightful
woman. The suites are beautiful, and tastefully decorated, and one of
the things we loved was how centrally it is located on Vancouver Isld.
making any destination attainable in no more then 3 hours. We use this as our base, and that way, we always had our place to come back to while enjoying all the delights of the island!
Don't wait ........ make your reservations now!

Linda and Jim

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review