reviews for: listing #76846 - Mammoth Lakes, California Townhome rental

Beautiful Wildflower 1 BR + Loft, 2 Bath Sleeps 6-8
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Wildflower
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $375 /nt
    $625 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Awesome Condo!!!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

Myself and 5 friends stayed for four nights in this condo and loved it! We came up for a weekend to get away. The condo is very homelike and we felt comfortable the second we stepped in. It was a cold weekend and the heaters were more than enough to warm us up. Waking up inside the condo was another great treat especially when it was snowing outside in the morning. The kitchen has plenty of appliances to cook any meals as we did and the TV, fire place, and speakers for ipod were key too. It was perfectly located a minute from the main strip and we would definately love to come stay here again. Our ages ranged from 25-29.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic condo and location!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

This was my first trip to Mammoth and boy was it amazing. The weather was gorgeous, it wasn't too crowded, and the condo had a great cabin-like, wilderness vibe to it. Ken was so informative and helpful on recommending great hikes and major points of interest that it saved me a ton of time that I would have normally taken to research where to visit. He stayed in contact and even called the condo a couple of times to ensure that we were enjoying our stay and that everything was in order. The cabin has everything you could possibly need and the kitchen is fully stocked with all cooking utensils. If you visit during the winter or colder months, definitely take advantage of the wood burning stove in the fire place - it heats up the place much faster and more efficiently than the wall heaters, and also gives a campfire-y type of feel. The condo is also walking distance to shopping plazas and the Vons grocery store. Will definitely be back again. Thanks, Ken!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Experience!

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

As a first time visitor to Mammoth, I was hoping to find a cabin that would magnify my experience up in the town. With the Wildflower cabin I found just what I was looking for. The cabin was wonderful, equipped with all the essentials needed for the vacation, including a washer and dryer. Additionally, the master bedroom and loft with bunk beds was perfectly suited for myself and the 3 guests with me.

The location, along Old Mammoth Rd., is perfectly located within the town for easy access into the forestry, mountains, and along the lakeside. If you're looking to dive more into the town, which has a nice small mall, movie theater, and excellent dining, then the location is well suited for easy access to those locations as well. You have full access to both, amazing Northern California forestry, and the fun town life of Mammoth Lakes.

Ownership of the condo is tremendous. Owner was very honest and professional with me the entire time. The entire process was a piece of cake and the return on my deposit was also very easy and handled well. Excellent owner who is willing to help with anything needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place to stay for our Mammoth Vacation!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

My wife and I found Ken and Barbara's Vacation Rental on HomeAway com. We were NOT disappointed! This was a Very Spacious, Comfortable, Well Cared For and Well Stocked Home for our 7 nights in Mammoth. Our original intent was to cook our breakfasts and pack our lunches and have a few special dinners out. Welllll... there are SO Many Wonderfully Delicious places So Very close to our condo we wound up eating every meal out and the only regret was the amount the scale went UP by the end of our stay!! We were on the go every day from the usual tourist spots like Devil's Postpile to Tuolumne Meadows to Bodie and Mono Lake. Wildflower is a perfect base to range out from with everything within walking distance to not much more than an hour away. Including Mammoth Hospital which I wound up needing on our 1st hiking day of the trip. That hitch in our getalong slowed us down a bit but didn't stop us from having an Exceptional Vacation. Thank You Ken & Barbara for the use of your Lovely and REASONABLE Home.
Sincerely,
Allan & Carol

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great condo!

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

Everything was as advertised!
The owner sent great information with easy to follow directions for checking in and out as well as included some nice tips on places to eat around the area. He was also prompt in replying and checking to make sure things were right.
The condo was cozy and clean ! There were 6 of us (2 couples and 2 singles) and we were comfy with the stay throughout. We stayed for the weekend to go snowboarding and it was a perfect place that was close enough to Mammoth mountain, places to eat and get groceries.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place, Fully Loaded

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

This house was a wonderful place for our family. Not only was it cozy, had a comfortable family room, warm wood burning fire insert, BUT it had a FAB stocked kitchen: more plates, bowls, pots, pans, forks, etc than 6 people could use in day, AND a fully stocked movie, game and book library. You could stay here and just eat and watch great classic movies and play games all day long and have a great time.
Ken was very helpful in getting us the info for the condo, and it has an on site key pad, so you do not have to worry about carrying keys all day on the slopes.
Enjoy a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mammoth fall vacation

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

This was our family's first trip to Mammoth after wanting to go for the last several years. I was very satisfied with our stay at the Wildflower condo. Everything was just as I expected it. There was a large selection of movies, games, etc. We didn't take advantage too much of the movies and games as the weather outside was perfect, and we spent a lot of time hiking and fishing at the beautiful lakes in the area. It got a little cold at night in early October, but the wood stove was very efficient, and easy to use. There was plenty of wood on the porch, but I recommend bringing a hatchet or something to make kindling, and some newspaper for starting the fire. The kitchen had just about everything we needed in it to prepare the food that we had brought. I highly recommend staying at this condo, and I plan on doing so again in the future, and I hope to make this an annual family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a good time. We try to have the condo equipped with everything to keep all occupied whether the weather is good or bad. Hope to see you again soon! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wildflower #72

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

I'm so glad that we stayed in this condo for our yearly visit to Mammoth. The location was perfect, providing us with opportunities to walk to town instead of having to drive, and the unit was clean and well maintained. We felt right at home, since the unit provided such a "homey, comfortable feeling". There was an abundant supply of games to play, movies to watch,books to read, tennis rackets and balls for tennis, pretty much everything you would need if you were snowbound. Unfortunately our stay was a short one and we didn't put these amenities to use, we were to busy hiking and enjoying nature at its best. We would recommend this unit to our friends/family, and would love to come back and rent it again next year, and make it our home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mammoth in Summer

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The condo is huge by normal ski appartment standards, it was spotless on arrival and is very well equipped. It's in a quite location set amongst pine trees and only a short walk to restaurants, shopping, bike hire etc. There is a pool, hot tub and tennis courts in the complex. We usually had the pool to ourselves. Ken the owner is a joy to deal with, both efficient and helpful. For example, coming from the UK, we dont have access to USD cheques so being able to pay by Paypal was quick and easy. The breakage deposit was refunded promptly and unsolicited. Ken is also a font of knowledge regarding places of interest and good hikes in the area and will happily share this with you. The locals are also very friendly, helpful and proud of the area. Mammoth itself is an amazing place. On one side is the skiing mountain which is turned into a giant bike park in the summer. Simply awesome biking. I regret not taking my own bike so as to be able to sneak in a few early morning rides. The other side of the mountain is dominated by the lakes and the natural beauty of the high Sierra Mountains. Think Alps and multiply by 10. A short drive will get you to Broady, Mono Lake and a dozen other interesting places. Getting to and from Yosemite Valley and Glacier point from Mammoth is a bit of a slog in a day, and in hind site I would recommend booking a lodge in Yosemite to make it an overnight stop. We saw coyote, bald eagles and ospreys in Mammoth but missed out on any bear sightings. In summary, a great condo to rent, a helpful owner and a stunning place to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Vacation in Mammoth

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The condo is huge by normal ski appartment standards, it was spotless on arrival and is very well equipped. It's in a quite location set amongst pine trees but a short walk to restaurants, shopping, bike hire etc. There is a pool, hot tub and tennis courts in the complex. We usually had the pool to ourselves.
Ken the owner is a joy to deal with, both efficient and helpful. For example, coming from the UK, we dont have access to USD cheques so being able to pay by Paypal was quick and easy. The breakage deposit was refunded promptly and unsolicited.
Ken is also a font of knowledge regarding places of interest and good hikes in the area and will happily share this with you. The locals are also very friendly, helpful and proud of the area.
Mammoth itself is an amazing place. On one side is the skiing mountain which is turned into a giant bike park in the summer. Simply awesome biking. I regret not taking my own bike so as to be able to sneak in a few early morning rides. The other side of the mountain is dominated by the lakes and the natural beauty of the high Sierra Mountains. Think Alps and multiply by 10.
A short drive will get you to Broady, Mono Lake and a dozen other interesting places.
Getting to and from Yosemite Valley and Glacier point from Mammoth is a bit of a slog in a day, and in hind site I would recommend booking a lodge in Yosemite to make it an overnight stop.
We saw coyote, bald eagles and ospreys in Mammoth but missed out on any bear sightings.
In summary, a great condo to rent, a helpful owner and a stunning place to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great time. As a third generation homeowner in Mammoth I have a wee bit of knowledge of the area and enjoy all the hikes and surrounding beauty. We have had several guests from the UK and its always fun to correspond before their trip, give them recommendations and then hear their response afterwards. Now you need to try Mammoth in the winter! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wildflower condo

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

This is a very pleasant condo. Perfect for a family. One bedroom downstairs with a loft upstairs that kids can really make into their own space.
The decor is mountain rustic that suits the environment well. The kitchen is fully equipped and easy to cook in.
There condo is filled with games and books and videos (old videos, but our kids had a blast watching old kid movies from the 1980's and 1990's.)
The condo is in a development called Wildflower that is very quiet, we all slept very well. There is a nice pool and hot tub that our children used every day and we never saw anyone else.
The condo is walking distance to restaurants and shops.
The owner is very nice and easy to work with. He was also very helpful.
Rent with confidence. We will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, great people

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Would like to start by thanking the owners. They were very helpful in all regards. From before making the trip up, to giving us a good sense of options once we were there, to helping find a lost iPod after we left! I took my wife, two kids and brought the mother-in-law as well. The place was more than big enough for the 5 of us. I would highly recommend this place to stay to all friends and family as we plan on staying here again. Close to town, right down the street from the Eagle lift. Tons of movies and games to choose from when winding down at night.

We ate at Grumpy's one day and had some awesome burgers...didn't want to leave that place out! I didn't leave grumpy at all.

Thanks for everything Ken.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time and great property

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

Condo very clean and well maintained. Owner very quick to answer questions and very forthcoming with suggestions to add to the enjoyment of our trip. Thanks again.

If we come back to Mammoth we will rent again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Glad you had a great time despite the lack of true snow Christmas 2011. Hope our British guests try it again to experience a true Mammoth winter!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Definitely will return!

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

This is a great condo, nice size and very clean and nice. Great location easy to get to the buses. I would return to this condo again as well as recommend it to friends and family. The owners were easy to deal with, smooth transaction.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wildflower

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

Though a little maintenance work is needed (refrigerator, and ceiling fan) the property is still very nice, and conveniently located to everything in Mammoth. The property manager is really easy to work and get along with, and stated the above items will be looked at. Not a single complaint.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We notified the owner and they have replaced the refrigerator.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great getaway weekend!

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Thanks for a great get away weekend. We took 2 teenage girls along with my mother who is 86. Mom enjoyed seeing how Mammoth had changed but was still beautiful. She remembering going their back in 1946 or '47. Thanks for making it possible for us. We will keep you in mind for another vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Definitely enjoyed our stay. The place fit us perfectly with the condo having everything that you will need. Plenty of games, dvds, and its own washer and dryer. It's also close walking distance to the shuttles. Ken was also very easy to contact and was available to answer any questions I had. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy Holidays

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Cannot say enough about the comfort of the condo and the ease at which the owners worked with us to respond to our booking and other requests. And for someone to have so many movies available for guests was a great treat. The home is comfortable, well furnished, clean, modern and ideal for a family. The loft is fun, the kitchen is great for cooking (we cooked Christmas dinner for 4 with no problem) and the place is conveniently located (walking distance to many great restaurants). And the only minor problem we had was fixed instantly by the local manager. Definitely recommend the property and will definitely return on our next trip to Mammoth.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review