reviews for: listing #76875 - Crystal River, Florida House rental

Waterfront home 2 bedroom 2 bath W/Kayaks
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $129 - $149 /nt
    $695 - $895 /wk
    $1,995 - $2,250 /mth

sort by:

Family of 5 w/ 2 dogs

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

Our family of 5 were very pleased with our rental of the 2 bed/1 bath condo. Pete is extremely prompt on returning messages and phone calls. This rental is located in a very nice & quiet neighborhood. I would recommend this rental to Crystal River vacationers. Kayaks & life vests are available for use. Three sisters is very close & beautiful. Bring your bikes to check out beautiful Crystal River. We enjoyed our stay at Pete's property & would definitely rent from him again. Thanks Pete for a great place to stay!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not all it's made out to be

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

This a older duplex. It is in decent shape and clean, but needs some updating. The location was great. It also has a nice car port. Pete started out to be very nice and accommodating. After we checked in we started having problems. The wireless Internet did not work the entire time we were at the unit. We re-set the modem as instructed, and it did not do anything. We also found that the a/c did not work properly. It was a "network controlled thermostat", and did not let us adjust the temperature properly due to the Internet being down. We also found that the toilet did not flush properly sometimes. The utencils and glassware were all mismatch probably from a garage sale. The furniture was outdated.The mattress in the master bedroom was very uncomfortable and firm. A washer and dryer are available, but the there is a coin collector on the washer that charges you a $1.50. per wash.

The backyard was nice and had a nice gazebo. There is a small floating dock. The water in the canal was very dirty. The boat ramp Pete said to use that was near the house is not a public ramp. It is better to go to Pete's Marina which is a public ramp. It was a logistical problem to get you car and trailer back to the unit.

I sent back Pete the survey he sent us for our stay and became very defensive. He accused me of somehow disconnecting the Internet from the unit even though it never worked when I arrived. Then he implied that I was lying about thermostat not working properly, and that again it was my fault. If that is not enough, Pete then said the only way he would update the plates and furniture is if he raised the rate and charged a security deport. He then said . . "would you be willing to pay a higher rate to stay in a place with newer furniture and matching plates"?? I hate to tell you Pete, but a set of plates and some new silverware at Walmart is only about twenty bucks!

Overall, decent place to stay if your in a bind. If the management were not so cheap they would probably do a lot better. If customer service is a priority for you . . . . be cautious!

Owners response: We appreciate constructive feedback. Most guests provide valuable information (good and bad) to help us improve. The above review became personal and provided inaccurate information which we will address.
We have a 2 nt min, this guest requested a weekend stay but wanted to book only 1 nt (early ck in Sat. AM & late ck out Sun. PM). They became upset when we limited the early check-in & late check-out. They sent an email saying although they had a great time, they were upset the internet was down, no flat screen TV and mismatched dishes (remember a 1 nt stay).
Accurate info from review: Our Unit # 2, is pet friendly 2 bdrm 1 bath value unit, "dated" means no flat screen, basic set-up (furniture 4-5 years old). Yes, it is very clean (all tile floors), in a great location & has a nice back yard w/ Gazebo on the water. The queen mattress in mstr is firm, the queen in the 2nd bdrm is soft (offered for both preferences). The washer is $1.50, the dryer is free. Water in our canal is from Kings Bay and tidal (moves in and out, not dirty). The floating dock is 8X12 w/max boat size of 25’ & we also offer a covered boat house & 100’ of sea wall.
Inaccurate info: Internet- Wifi was working and went down after they arrived according to our guest in unit #1. We called the Brighthouse who said "it appears someone sabotage the modem and reset it to factory settings on Saturday evening".
The A/C temp is controlled from the thermostat in unit (not “network controlled”). The WiFi feature lets us set temp limits, turn on A/C prior to arrival/off after depart (which is why we suspect the WiFi was disabled). We read the thermostat log & discovered the temp was set to 71 deg after their arrival.
There is a public boat ramp 3 blocks away (we have used many times)
Toilet flushes "sometimes", we don’t understand this one, our local maintenance man handles most issues w/in 24 hours.
Our intent is not to make this personal (as he did). The 1st time a guest was upset over mismatch plates, we plan to replace this month. We keep the rates low by offering a clean, secure rental in a nice location w/ standard amenities (we offer other units w/ flat screen TV’s and newer furnishings). Please read between the lines from a guest who booked 1 night & was upset we limited arrival/departure times (still offered early arrival/late departure, just not all day). If you are considering our 2/1 pet friendly unit pls contact us & we will email photos & address any concerns. Pete

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Place to spend Christmas

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

We really enjoyed the quaint little house. It was very comfortable. It sits right on one of the canals. The weather for Christmas was absolutely wonderful. We cooked Seafood Gumbo Christmas Eve and Christmas Brunch & Dinner at the house. We only ate out once while during our stay and wish we would have not had so many Christmas leftovers. Lesson learned. This was our first Christmas trip ever and it was all a learning experience. The day after Christmas we went on a manatee tour with River Adventures. We were amazed at the gentle giants. My daughter and I had a full encounter with one. It was a very spiritual encounter.

We highly recommend a drive to Homosassa Springs State Park. There were many fascinating animals and the price to enter was very fair. It was a bit of a surprise! We ate at Neon Leons and it was pretty good. A 20 minute drive to the beach was nice on Christmas day since nothing was open. There's a nice boardwalk that winds to the woods to a pier... another surprise.

The only thing I would ask for the owner to provide is utensils, especially spoons and cooking utensils and possibly more cook ware, especially a big stock pot. Luckily I brought my own gumbo pot. It would have also been good to know that you need 6 quarters to run the washing machine. It's possible it was in the paperwork he provided before we went, but I wasn't prepared. Otherwise, the house had all we needed.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

scuba weekend

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

his a great rental unit in Crystal River FL! It's easy walking distance to restaurants and an ice cream shop. Being right on the water is perfect. I love that there are kayaks and bikes available to use at no extra charge. The tile floors look great and are perfect if you have dogs with you. The place was perfectly clean when we arrived. I look forward to my next trip here for more scuba diving or just relaxing on kayaks and looking at manatees. It's much better than any of the local hotels. 

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

scuba weekend

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

This a great rental unit in Crystal River FL! It's easy walking distance to restaurants and an ice cream shop. Being right on the water is perfect. I love that there are kayaks and bikes available to use at no extra charge. The tile floors look great and are perfect if you have dogs with you. The place was perfectly clean when we arrived. I look forward to my next trip here for more scuba diving or just relaxing on kayaks and looking at manatees. It's much better than any of the local hotels.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My favorite area of Florida

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Travelled around Florida with husband and two teenage daughters. This was my favorite area of the State. It was a little cooler (a blessing in July) and the lovely cool spring water was superb for cooling down. Didn't see any Manatees but we didn't expect to at this time of year. Had a lovely time messing about in the kayaks that came with the property. Also visited Homosassa State Park which was one of the hightlights of our holiday and Weeki Wachi Park which was also good fun.

Insect bites were a problem in the garden during the evening so had to use the covered gazebo. This could use a smarten up to be honest.

The house was very well stocked and relatively clean although we did find rubbish, flush and hairs behind beds and sofas. I'm sure this could be sorted out with the cleaning company. Washer and drier in the outhouse worked very well.

Overall a good stay. With a little more attention to cleanliness this is the perfect place to stay in a lovely area. Lots to see and do and places to eat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We agree there is a lot of things to see and do in the Crystal River area...We enjoy having guests from the UK and Europe visit and bring a unique prospective to the area.
Our cleaning service for the past 5 years has recently retired so we are using a new service. We have received many positive comments since adding the new service, we are also working through the high level of cleanleness we require for our rental, the items mentioned in the comments above have been addressed and corrected....Pete

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Summer Scalloping Vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This unit is exactly what you see in the pictures....plus MORE- evertime we would need something we would look around and there it was provided for us (needless to say I completely overpacked and will not bring so much next year)
The unit is extremely neat & tidy and VERY clean- I am VERY picky when staying at hotels and this went beyond my standards-
We were there for a week of scalloping (it was a VERY good year for scalloping in the Gulf) the boat dock provided worked great for us and we easily shared it with the other guest in the unit next to us-The kayaks were fun to use and in great condition with life vests provided in the boat house
We took a day off scalloping to visit the Springs and were pleasantly surprised to find rafts ready to go in the boathouse (I had brought rafts and did NOT even take them out of the box)We enjoyed a afternoon at the beautiful Springs just around the corner from the property and it is FREE to visit!
Another plus were two bikes....we used them to run to the convience store just down the street- a wonderful bonus not mentioned in the ad for the unit
We did visit the local Crackers next to the Best Western- it was fun and reasonable but we mostly stayed on the property and grilled out and enjoyed the gazzebo (which is screened in and keeps the bugs out)
Pete the owner was a pleasure to deal with and we have already contacted him to visit again next year...we hope to make this a annual event for our family-

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spring vacation

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The condo was clean and had a fully equipped kitchen. The location is also great. You can walk to local restaurants and there are many interesting locations to visit within 1/2 hour drive. It is also a short kayak ride to the river. The pleasant weather also contributed to our relaxing stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Nature Coast Kayaking Get-Away

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

What a great weekend get-away with "the girls!" My mother, sister, daughter and I had a wonderful time at this perfectly appointed property. Super clean, comfortable and modernly furnished, this place is in a good location, quietly tucked away near the end of a canal yet surrounded by beautiful homes. The kayaks are definitely the highlight! Within a few minutes, you can paddle out into Kings Bay and Crystal River. Everywhere we looked, manatee "footprints" were visible in the water and the occasional puff of air was heard often as they came up for their next breath of air. This serene and natural experience is best taken in from a kayak. To have kayaks at our backdoor without having to go to a marina and rent them was a huge benefit! The floating dock enabled us to launch kayaks even at low tide. The property and property owner met all of our needs. Two thumbs up - highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

We had a fabulous time staying at this property. The owners are very professional, knowledgeable on the area and quick to respond with any questions you may have. The property was newly remodeled and very clean and had everything we needed. It was very nice to have kayaks to use and a dock for water access. Crystal River is a very special place and being able to see manatees is such a treat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review