reviews for: listing #76928 - Hernando Beach, Florida House rental

Luxury Gulfront Home - Fantastic Views - Book for Winter Now
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $175 /nt
    $900 - $900 /wk
    $2,500 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

Heavenly connection to nature

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

I loved everything about my stay at this property. The house is gorgeous and the views are even more gorgeous. Loved the views of the marshes from the decks of the house. I have a very stressful job and have never stayed anywhere so peaceful and serene. So relaxing. Loved the "boat" bar in the house. This is a great place to kayak. It feels like you are away from it all but yet you can easily get to Spring Hill, Weeki Wachee, and Homosassa. We went to the Monkey Bar in Homosassa and it was great fun watching the monkeys at play on their little island. We also had a fabulous gourmet meal at Nouvelle Cuisine in nearby Spring Hill. However, my favorite thing to do was sit on the deck at the house and watch fish jump from the water and all kinds of birds. I also loved the beautiful sunsets from the deck of the house. The owners were wonderful and very interested in making sure everything was perfect with our stay. The only negative thing I can say is that I had to leave - can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Nature Lover's Paradise

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

We had a great two week stay at Bob and Sharon's Hernando Beach home. The house is well laid out and well appointed. The first floor is a large rec area with a pool table, bikes, fishing gear and a tandem kayak. The second floor has two bedrooms with a jack and jill bathroom, a large living, dining area with a boat-shaped bar and a well equipped kitchen. The third floor has the master bedroom with a full bath and a walk-in closet. The whole house is decorated in nautical and piscatorial splendor. A balcony/deck goes completely around the second floor and there is a balcony on the third floor as well. There are spectacular views out to the Gulf and over the wetlands that run for miles up the coast. Manatees and dolphins go by the dock and birds, from eagles to egrets to bluebirds, are everywhere. It is a fantastic location if you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful spot away from the crowds. There are great restaurants and bars nearby and a beach on the Gulf at Pine Island, a 15 minute drive. The large Weeki Wachee Preserve is practically across the street and has miles of hiking and biking trails. This place is a natural gem. We absolutely loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great time, come back again. Bill and Sharon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gem for getting away from it all.

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Wonderful views of creek, marshes, and gulf from living and sleeping areas, as well as the full walk around deck. Comfortable, attractive, and well equipped. Lots of space in an open layout. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, including use of the owner's kayak to explore the marshes and nearby canals. We also took advantage of local restaurants, kayaking the crystal clear Weeki Wachee river (down river kayak rental/shuttle available), visiting local parks and biking (we brought our own) around the community.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

February Visit

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

We just had a few days to stay at Bill and Sharon's beautiful home, and even though the weather was cool, we enjoyed the incredible views, relaxing atmosphere, and local places of interest. Be sure to check out Pine Island Beach and the wildlife park and pottery shop at Homasassa. We're already talking about a return visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Relaxing Escape

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

A great escape from the cold up north! Location of property is good...a bit isolated so as to be relaxing but near enough anything that you could need. Several very good local restaurants nearby! Very easy to plan day trips to nearby attractions. The view from the rear of this home is absolutely beautiful! Fred Howard Park in Tarpon Springs and Pine Island (located about 9 mi. from the property) were two parks that we really enjoyed visiting.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic vacation!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

Kayaking with a dolphin, saying hello to a manatee at the dock, bird watching from three levels, fish almost jumping into boats and accessible to Tampa, St. Pete's/Clearwater, Tarpon Springs and with a little patience Anna Maria/Bradenton all in one spot? Yes! If peace, quiet, tranquility and relaxation are your goal on vacation, this is the place for you. You can be on the go and taking it slow on the same trip. Next time we'll be sure to have more unscheduled time and just take it easy and get our Florida fishing licenses - we couldn't believe how fast fishermen were pulling them in right outside the door. The owners are very easy to work with. Fantastic food options within 5 minutes. The house is well stocked and the kayak is a fantastic addition.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you and your family had a great Christmas vacation. Come again soon!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, peaceful getaway. Beautiful, fully stocked home.

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at Sharon & Bill's Hernando Beach home for our 38th anniversary. The home was lovely: clean & adorably decorated & very spacious with comfortable furnishings. It was very comfortable for the two of us, but you can easily sleep up to 10 people without being overcrowded. Very peaceful with easy access to surrounding areas. We enjoyed a nice, casual lunch at the Upper Deck restaurant on the Weeki Wachi River & had a great dinner at the Bayport Inn (good prime rib, shrimp & scallops) at the entrance of the drive into Pine Island Beach. (If she's working, Becky is a fun server!) The rest of the time we cooked at the house which was more than adequately supplied with dish/cookware & many staples for cooking. Sharon was very accommodating & a pleasure to work with. She & Bill have a special property here & we would highly recommend it. We would also recommend bringing a boat or jet skis to further enjoy the surrounding waters. Thank you both for a great weekend getaway. We will keep you in mind for upcoming vacations!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Teacher

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My husband, three children, and my daughter's boyfriend stayed at this lovely house in June and had a wonderful time!! The house was so spacious and we all had plenty of privacy and personal space. My husband and I slept in the upstairs bedroom which was very private and had a beautiful view of the marshes. The first night we arrived, we walked in and immediately had to fix a coctail at the "boat" bar which was a focal point for us during our stay . The house was so inviting and adorned with beautiful beach decorations. It also had all the amenities that were required for our stay. The kitchen was stocked with all necessary items as well as cute serving platters and cake plates.
We fished every morning and evening from the dock, but unfortunately only caught a few little guys. It was very hot during our stay, and we did not bring a boat, so we sought out a variety of activities in the area during the day. I would suggest to bring some type of a boat or wave runner to have instant access to from the dock. We cooked wonderful dinners and enjoyed relaxing sunsets from the dock each evening. We truly enjoyed our stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

GREAT VACATION!

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

My wife, sons and I had a wonderful time here.The place is even better than the pictures. Very open kitchen/eating/living room area. Inside is comfortable, clean, well-decorated. Very peaceful and quiet. The dock is great for sitting or fishing. We saw dolphins twice! Pine Island Beach is 10 or so minutes away. We took trips to Clearwater Beach, Tampa, St.Pete (Dali Museum, Tampa Rays baseball game). Gulf/inlet water views from the house are spectacular! The owners are very helpful. We will definitely return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay in Hernando Beach

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

What a great time we had last week in Hernando Beach. This vacation home made it even better. The house is so clean and well maintained. My husband who is a contractor tends to enter a home and start pointing out all it's flaws and he didn't have much of anything to say about this house. The location on the water is great for fishing. My husband and teenage daughter caught a few small fish that they returned to the water. The best sunrises are seen from the third floor bedroom. This house was also well equiped with everything we needed for a home away from home. It was approx 8 minutes from restaraunts and shopping in Spring Hill. The area is a great little fishing village. Approx. 10 minutes from Weeki Wachee Springs State Park where you can see the mermaid show!

Thanks to Sharon and Bob for a great vacation experience! They were always quick to respond to my e-mails and stay in touch with us before, during and after our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House and Area

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

Beautiful house and a great area to relax and get away. The house was large with a huge family/dining/kitchen area along with 3 very large bedrooms. We had a great time fishing from the dock just 15 steps or so from the back door. During our down time we enjoyed playing pool and just relaxing on the float dock.
The house is still close enough if you're looking to go to Tampa or Orlando to the fun parks in those areas. The drives are easy and take about hour and a half either way. We had very little traffic either direction.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House!

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We loved our stay in this house. The pictures posted don't show the amount of SPACE in this house. The kitchen/dining/family room area has a ton of open space, the bedrooms and bathrooms are very nice, and the basement is a great area for kids to hang out and play pool. During our stay we visited the Mermaid Show, Pine Island Beach, Clearwater Beach, and we even drove to Disney for the day. Our best day was spent swimming with the manatee in Crystal River. We rented our own Pontoon for the day and got to see and even touch several manatee. It was an awesome experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Hernando!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Upon arriving in Hernando Beach, of course we were using our Iphone trying to find our home. We saw the house and my husband made me call the owner because he just KNEW I had put in the wrong address. The house is GORGEOUS! Pictures don't even begin to do it justice. We have two almost grown children and there was plenty of room for all of us. The house was immaculate with every comfort we could wish for. There were three short flights of stairs to the main living area. There was something amazing to see in every corner. The kitchen bar (a boat!) was so lovely. The decor was fun and very comfortable. The three bedrooms were all beautifully decorated and we were all so comfortable. Since my daughter has been in graduate school and is about to finish, we let her have the upper bedroom with the most gorgeous view you can imagine. At the back of the house is a beautiful dock. As soon as we looked out, we saw dolphins! We were treated to a view of manatee and many beautiful birds throughout the week. My husband and son continually fished, but didn't catch much. However, we were told by all the neighbors that the fishing is usually fantastic. There is an unfinished room in the basement, with a functional bathroom, which was quite handy when fishing!
Go to Hernando Beach knowing that it is not your typical Florida town. It is very small and at the beginning you have to look for restaurants. The owner left a notebook filled with suggestions and we tried many of them. Our favorite, although all were good, was Bayport Inn. Wonderful fried shrimp. We made several day trips, including a trip to Fort DeSoto Beach, Tarpon Springs Beach, Homossassa State Park, a deep sea fishing trip, and a trip to the Ikea store in Tampa. Other than my son's severe seasickness and being involved in a 5 car pileup (we were fine), it was an idyllic vacation. I would love to go again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for your great review, we hope you can join us again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Simply Amazing

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

We needed a long weekend away to relax and we got it!!! We loaded up the car, threw the canoe on the top and headed South. The house was wonderful, had everything we needed and even the kitchen cabinets were labeled so we didn't have to search for items. That was very nice. The view was spectacular, we woke up every morning and went canoeing. We saw stingrays, horseshoe crabs, manatees and tons of fish. The kids swam right off the dock. Weeki Wachi State Park is so close by and we spent the day there at the water park and saw the mermaid show! It was very relaxing and very quiet and we will definitely be back. Thank you for welcoming us to your lovely home, we will definitley be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nature's Paradise

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

If you want to get away for a relaxing time and have nature at you back door this is the place for you. Any level of this house gives you a great view of the back marshes along with the Gulf of Mexico but the 3rd level is breathtaking. We experienced both Manatee and Dolphin in our backyard. The house was great with all you needs at one place. We went canoeing on the Weeki Watchi river which is close by and had a great time; if you want a beautiful sunset Pine Island Beach is a 10 minute drive.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting to relax and enjoy nature. We plan on returning sometime soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Breathtaking Getaway

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

I have stayed in many homes in many areas of our country and this was by far one of the best. The view was to die for, with the Marshlands up close, then the forever view of the Gulf. And, it was so quiet and peaceful and relaxing at the house, yet within a short distance of groceries, shopping, eating and beaches. And, a plus for us was that the owner's/property was pet friendly, and our little Shelby, a Jack Russell, loved it there, too. Total freedom outside on the second floor deck, then lots of places to take easy walks around the area.

The house itself is immaculate, and all immenties you need in the kitchen, bathrooms or any area of the house are there.....books, movies, games, etc. We particularly enjoyed the sea/boat decor and the huge boat shaped bar made a great conversational/social area in the house then, of course, with more of our time was spent on the deck off the main living area, it had a wonderful retractable screen to keep bugs out of house, while leaving the doors wide open. We even saw both dolphin and manatee right off the dock.

Both the master bedroom on the third floor with a bath of its own and one of the two separated bedrooms on the second floor had direct views of the Gulf and direct acess to a deck.

We would recommend short drives to Pine Island (where there is access to a beach), Aripeka (the drive from Hernado Beach through Airpeka to Hudson is beautiful), Hudson/Hudson Beach (also a wonderful beach area) or Homasassa Springs area, going into the old town of Homosassa on the waterfront. Lots of good places to eat in Hernado Beach, Hudson/Hudson Beach and Homosassa. We even drove a little over one hour to Clearwater to a Threshers baseball game - they are a AA feeder team for the Phillies....much fun! There is also another AA team in Tampa that is a feeder team for the Yankees and then there is the Tampa Bay Devil Rays in St. Pete. We did it all in just a weekend, but didn't make it to Weekie Wachie.

We can't wait to make it back again, and we will go back. Thank you to the owners for a wonderful weekend of relaxation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

We rented this house for the month of March, 2011 and look forward to repeating the priviledge. We've rented as far south as New Port Richey in the past and always experienced some unpleasant surprises upon arrival. Not here!! Every surprise here was a pleasure.
The nautical decor is exceptional, the kitchen facilities, bedrooms and baths are complete and the house is well maintained. The owner contacted us to make sure all was to our liking and immediately cured whatever little issues arose.
The view over the marsh is often breathtaking and never dull. Whether it's fish jumping, occasional visits from dolphin, manatee or fishing boats, the water outside your door is always busy. The neighborhood is quiet and clean. We took daily walks and admired the vaiety of homes and boats. Good restaurantrs are nearby and you're only ten minutes away from major shopping areas in Spring Hill. We golf, so although we appreciate the nature we woke up to each day, we were only 15-45 minutes away from nice courses in Spring Hill, Weeki-Wachi or Brooksville. This is a great location. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review