reviews for: listing #76958 - North Captiva Island, Florida House rental

Las Olas The Waves at Gorgeous North Captiva Island
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $600 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,600 /wk
    $8,000 - $14,000 /mth

sort by:

Awesome Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We just returned from our third vacation on the island. Las Olas was, by far, the most beautiful and best equipped home we have rented. Steve and Andrew were waiting for us with a trailer when we arrived and were attentive to all of our needs. We were given privacy yet received immediate help when we asked. We enjoyed the gorgeous views from the eagle's nest every morning with a cup of coffee and every evening with a glass of wine or cocktail. We explored the beach in the morning and relaxed in the pool and hot tub afternoons and evenings. The home was very comfortable - more than enough space for 9 adults. Quality towels, linens and beach towels were provided. We recommend Las Olas without reservation. A wonderful place to slow down, and reconnect with those you love.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

Exactly as described could not have been better. Steve and Andrew are the best. Perfect vacation! Have rented several places on vrbo and this was the best ever. Exceeded our expectations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome vacation rental!

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Las Olas was just as wonderful as all the reviews have said! It's our new favorite get-away destination! The house is spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. There are comfortable chairs, chaises, hammocks, etc. EVERYWHERE inside and outside of this house! It is the perfect place to relax with family or chill out by yourself and take a nap. The roof top lookout is an awesome place to watch the sunsets and enjoy the views. The lot is quiet and private and nestled behind beautiful foliage. Even our teenagers found plenty to do between the swimming pool, ping pong and pool tables, kayaks, and of course, the beach, which is just a quick walk or golf cart ride away. (They didn't even want to use the Xbox or watch tv!).
North Captiva is definitely a best kept secret! You can do as much or as little as you like. It was the perfect vacation for us and we would most definitely recommend Las Olas to anyone wanting to come to North Captiva.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Everything in Las Olas was exactly as described. The home is beautiful and looks just like the pictures. The beds are comfortable, the house is clean and the owner is very helpful when you arrive and leave and also if any questions arise during your stay. This had to be our most relaxing vacation ever. We will definitely be returning to Las Olas.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House, well maintained!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

Steve and Andrew take pride in their home. It shows. There was so much thought put into the house. I can't think of a single thing it was missing. The pool was perfect with shade or sun available at all times of the day. The hot tub was in an area where using it was possible even during very hot days. The home has a working reverse osmosis system so that water was drinkable out of the system. The exterior decks were perfect for coffee in the morning, lunch or dinner. The Bocce balls, Pool table and table tennis are all wonderful additions for a beach vacation. Steve will send you plenty of information about the island so that newcomers may plan adequately. It is such a wonderful vacation that i recommend this house to EVERYONE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCEPTIONAL Home! Beautiful Location!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

I was looking online for a spacious home with a pool, in a good location where the beaches were beautiful but not over-crowded, & shelling was good for the kids. My expectations were far exceeded with this home & island!!

From the moment we walked in the door, we were amazed at how beautiful the home was; the pictures do not do it justice! The pool was a great size - not too small. The living area was doubled when we opened up the big double sliding doors leading to the big screened in porch that included several fans, adding to the great ocean breeze. Steve and Andrew provided so many extra little touches that many places do not - over-sized, fluffy beach towels & bath towels, high end comforters & linens, beautiful serving ware, ect ect. The beautiful beaches were within walking distance & were never crowded. We saw dolphins close-by on several occasions. The island is so tropical and beautiful & definitely a place to visit, but Las Olas is by far the reason our stay was so enjoyable.

I rented this house with my kids, following a trip to Disney and Nickelodeon Resorts- where we had a GREAT time, but when I asked them what their favorite part of the vacation was (ages ranging from 4-13), the unanimous response was the home Las Olas!!!

Thank you SO much Steve & Andrew for giving them memories that they will have forever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You will not be disappointed

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

Fantastic home. The owners Steve and Andrew have literally equipped the home with everything a family or group of friends need for a comfortable N. Captiva vacation. Las Olas is quite possibly the best rental value on the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

This is the most quiet place on earth ! Steve and Andrew have developed the Hawaii of Florida. We come back here over and over again. Steve, thank you so much for your home away from home atmosephere

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Cheryl (aka Grammy) Maine

This property is just as described and pictured. You will find this home equipped with everything you need for a memorable vacation. This home is well maintained and clean. We were a family of ten and found the home comfortable and spacious. My five grandchildren enjoyed the beach, pool, nature walks and exploring the island. The five adults also enjoyed sunsets on the beach, early morning runs through the sanctuary and watching the sunrise. There is something for everyone to enjoy at Las Olas on North Captiva. Although we were sad to leave the island we took with us wonderful memories of our time together. We all agreed that we had such a wonderful experience at Las Olas that we will return. Thank you Steve and Andrew for sharing your beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

The stay was fantastic!! Las Olas and North Captiva were the perfect blend of tranquility and fun with the family. The beauty of the island to me was there wasn't the typical noise of shops everywhere, tourist traps etc we are able to spend time with our family without those distractions. Access to be the beach is a easy walk a few moments away where we saw wildlife at very close distances including a manatee, heron, sea turtle and osprey. The nature trail going to the south side of the island also was a great escape and made for some leisurely exercise. All in all we can't wait to go back and when we do this will be the house it had everything we wanted and more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

This was our third trip back to North Captiva. Las Olas was by far the best house we have rented. The house was exactly as described, and is perfect for families with children. When the beach gets too much, the pool table, ping pong, pool and hot tub keeps everyone occupied. The furnishings were beautiful, and everything we could possibly need was there. We definitely hope to be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Recharge

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

My family and I enjoy spring break and travel south to Florida after the long winter. There were 10 of us and a chocolate Labra-doodle. This was our first stay on N Captiva. I loved the home, surroundings, beach, nature, quiet.

I can't cover everything but in short - The property "Las Olas" was excellent. The photos really cannot give you an idea of how nice the home is. I strongly suggest you trust the reviews and preponderance of evidence, like I did.

Nuts & Bolts: Every time I stay in a rental there is some sort of issue(s) with the house. This year was no exception. One can easily judge the quality of management/ ownership by their response to issues. We had a couple:

1. When we arrived the homeowner Steve, with Andrew (great guys) informed me he'd been struggling with the AC on the lower level (of all things!). It was Saturday afternoon and getting a heating/cooling tech to the house would be difficult. Not only did Steve find an immediate solution Sat, he had the thermostat replaced on Sunday just in case.
2. Midweek one of the golf-carts had an electrical issue and was losing its charge rapidly. When informed of the problem, "golf-cart repairman" (not kidding) was over to the house same day with a fix.

We've stayed in FL from beaches of Ft. Walton to Marco Island. I only go to the gulf side of the state and will definitely be back to N Captiva at "Las Olas" for some extreme R&R.

If you're looking for a trip with, shopping, fine dining and a bunch of people... this isn't it.
If you want to unplug, fish, avoid pot holes, walk/run the beach or national park, see wildlife, enjoy friends and family... this is definitely the place. I'm currently looking at my calender for the next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Dream House on North Captiva!

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We had a group of eight at Las Olas and had an absolutely perfect vacation. The accommodations are wonderful and just as listed and pictured. The adults and children alike loved the proximity to the beach (enjoyable 1 minute golf cart cruise,) pool, hot tub, pool table, ping pong, etc. After touring the island, I didn't see any other house with as much to do. The house is extremely nice. And yes, the bedding is super comfortable. We will not think twice about returning to Las Olas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

I have been coming to North Captive over the last four years. We have stayed in several of the homes on the Island. I can say Las Olas is a wonderful place to stay. The home is very clean and well furnished. They have the most comfortable beds ever. Would have liked to bring the bed back home with me. Steve and Andrew were great. They were there to greet us at the doc on the day of the arrival. They showed us around the home and brought in our bags. The kitchen was great and it had everything you needed. The porch was wonderful for evening dinners and a glass of wine at night. The observation deck was a great place to see the sunrise and sunset. We had a great time in the pool and hot tub. The kids had a great time playing pool and ping pong. This home is very private and at night it is great for a little skinny dipping after the kids are in bed. I would highly reommend this home. Thank you Steve and Andrew for letting us stay in your wonderful home and we can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing house!

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

We just arrived home from our vacation at Las Olas. If you are looking at renting this home, we would highly recommend it. Steve and Andrew went out of their way to make us feel comfortable (even brought over coffee when we realized we didn't have it on our first morning there!). The house is immaculate. The beds are comfortable. The pool and hot tub are amazing. It was so fun to drive the golf carts around to all of the different beaches. We saw sharks, dolphins, manatee every day. We felt like we had a private island all to ourselves (didn't see anyone for the first few days). After 2 days, we felt like we had been relaxing for a week! We had a 9 month old and a 2 year old in our group, and Steve even put up a toddler gate which was wonderful. Would love to go back every year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible House!

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

We just arrived home from our vacation at Las Olas. If you are looking at renting this home, we would highly recommend it. Steve and Andrew went out of their way to make us feel comfortable (even brought over coffee when we realized we didn't have it on our first morning there!). The house is immaculate. The beds are comfortable. The pool and hot tub are amazing. It was so fun to drive the golf carts around to all of the different beaches. We saw sharks, dolphins, manatee every day. We felt like we had a private island all to ourselves (didn't see anyone for the first few days). After 2 days, we felt like we had been relaxing for a week! We had a 9 month old and a 2 year old in our group, and Steve even put up a toddler gate which was wonderful. Would love to go back every year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

We go to North captiva every year and have been for the past 9 years - we love it! The house was awesome and Steve was a great help when we needed him. would definitely go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Over the top

Review submitted: December 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

I'm obsessed with North Captiva...and now I'm obsessed with Las Olas. It is 100% perfect. Steve & Andrew are wonderful..even though we just met on this trip... In my heart, they are like old friends. We are a family of five, three boys 15, 10 & 8. Their words "BEST VACATION HOUSE, EVER" This was our third time to the island, our first at Las Olas, and we will never stay anywhere else again. We have found our "home" at Las Olas, because S & A have thought of EVERYTHING. Love this house! Counting the days until we return....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

They have thought of everything...

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

We have stayed in many homes on North Captiva, but this one is now our favorite. The home is beautiful and has amazing patios and crows nest. The section of the island which the house is located has a great beach, but if your not a fan of sand then you can hang out at your own private pool. The house is extremely comfortable; great beds, comfy living room sofa and even plush patio furniture. We were very impressed with the small details that you don't get with other rental homes on the island. Things like 'real' toilet paper and paper towels (and plenty of them), lots of kitchen supplies, a washer & dryer complete with laundry soap and more towels than you could possibly need. Las Olas doesn't feel like a rental or time share, it's like staying with a friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven!!!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Absolutely beautiful property and very well taken care of, high quality linens and bedding, top notch furnishings. I think that this property is the best on the whole island, as we stayed else where before. Thank you, if we are to be back on North Captiva, Las Olas will be place where we will be staying!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation !!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This was our third visit to the island and second to Los Olas. It is a great vacation for families with kids of all ages. The house is has everything families need for entertainment and relaxation. The house is well taken care of and the kitchen had everything we needed for large family cooking! We highly recommend staying at Los Olas!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation time after time

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Best vacation spot in the world ! We will be back every year ! The house is always perfect, the pool clean , and the service is top notch. Thank you Steve for a great stay. See you soon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

All of the reviews are correct. We reviewed every available rental on the island and decided upon Las Olas based on the reviews. We could not have been happier. The house is clean and in great condition. All of your needs have been anticipated and catered to. We quickly developed a routine of exploring a new beach every day, coming home for lunch, kayaking and playing in the pool for the rest afternoon. All of the beaches have a different flavor and our boys (ages 8 and 11) loved exploring the island on golf carts. We hiked through the state park to a beautiful beach (but remember to bring water - it's a long walk). We also enjoyed the observation decks, board games, pool and ping pong tables. The children were never bored or needed to be entertained. We've found our family vacation spot and looked forward to making it an annual event!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We just returned from our week vacation at Las Olas and can't wait to return! The trip was for our daughter's high school graduation. We all had a fabulous time! All the "extra" amenities that are included in the rental were wonderful. This was our 2nd visit to North Captiva but our first time to stay at Las Olas and I will not stay anywhere else from now on. Steve was very accomodating and that shows in the layout of the property. We are already talking about returning with some of our friends.. You will be pleasantly surprised when you arrive and see Las Olas!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW!

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

This place had everything you could need. Steve made the process smooth with his attention to detail. The pool was perfect for relaxing with my family. The beach gear was perfect for relaxing on the beach. The fully furnished home was a great way to finish out the day. The bedding was VERY comfortable....much better than I expected. I hope to be able to return soon. Thanks for a fantastic home to vacation in Steve!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Las Olas - Home Away from Home

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Las Olas is truly a very special home. And I stress "home", as it feels like you are staying in someone's home, vs. a rental. It is a unique mix of luxury and comfort. While we caught a cooler week, all of the house amenities kept us entertained until the weather improved. And Steve has truly anticipated every need you could have in the house. If there are questions or requests, his responses are always prompt. We have been coming to NC for 5 years, but this was our first stay at Las Olas and we hope to return next year. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Las Olas is a wonderful retreat!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

This was our second trip to North Captiva Island, and our first stay in Las Olas. Steve's home is very well equipped and a perfect set up for staying on the island. The kitchen has every pot, pan, appliance, and utensil we could ever need. The board games and DVDs kept us entertained when we were not on the beach or enjoying the warm (83 degrees!) pool. Our kids range in age from 6years to 15 years old and the house was perfect for each of them. Horseshoes, Bocce Ball, ping pong, and the pool table made the beautiful property even more enjoyable.
Steve puts many personal touches into his home. He met us at the dock, showed us to the house and helped us get settled. We enjoy traveling to various islands and Las Olas is the best equipped home we have stayed in - and Steve is the most personable owner we have rented from. I have never written a review... and, while I wish we could keep Las Olas a secret, I had to write this review because the house is wonderful.
The photos are a very accurate reflection of the house and grounds. I was surprised at the privacy of Las Olas. There is a more than ample supply of both beach and bath towels. And, I must say that even the kids commented on how comfortable the beds are at Las Olas!
We took walks on teh beach, zipped around in the golf cart to dinner at Barnacle Phil's and had many day time excursions to get ice cream cones. We rented a boat for two of days we were on North Captiva and took trips to neighboring Captiva Island and Cabbage Key.
We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely return to Las Olas!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Holiday!

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

We had a fabulous holiday at Las Olas! This was our second vacation on North Captiva but our first stay at Las Olas. We would easily recommend Las Olas to anyone. We will certainly go back next year. Steve takes care pride and care into his home and property and it is very evident. Their home is very clean and you instantly feel at home. The pool and hot tub is wonderful and very private. We loved the little extras - two golf carts were very convenient and the sea kayaks was a great way to explore the island. I loved too that Steve provides all the spices, cleaning supplies and paper products. 0ur other rental on the island didn't provide any of that. The beds were all comfortable too. I have no hesitation recommending this house to anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love the property

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We visited Las Olas Feb. 9-15, 2013 - our second time there - and it was a fabulous as the first! Steve, the owner and his assistant, Andrew, are the best. Steve is immediately responsive to any problem, request or query and puts every effort into creating a flawless vacatiion. We had a rainy day on the island and thought we would watch movies. I contacted Steve to ask about ordering some movies, but he offered to hand-deliver the two movies that we had wanted to watch - which is exactly what he did. A cable on one of the golf carts had wiggled loose so Steve came from the mainland to fix it, and it was back in action within a couple of hours. We love everything about the island and the property which is well-maintained, clean, and has a fully equipped kitchen. It is one of few vacation homes that actually has comfortable beds to sleep on which is priceless when you are away from home. There is nothing like sitting on the 3rd floor screened-in deck to sip coffee at dawn or eat dinner at dusk with lively conversation discussig the day's adventure of fishing or just exploring the island. We are hooked, as is our 26-year-old and 16-year-old sons. We all have a blast - whether sitting and feeling the cool gulf breeze on the deck, taking a dip in the beautiful pool, meandering around the island on the golf cart, or exploring the state park located on the island - it is all just wonderful, and addictive!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Your own private resort

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We just had an incredible two week stay at Las Olas. It was like we were at our own private resort. The luscious landscaping and outdoor décor made the pool area our favorite – nosing out the wonderful screened porch on the main level. That is where we ate most of our meals, overlooking the sea of palms with views of the Gulf of México as well as Pine Island sound. The floor plan was great for our 3 generation family and the home is beautifully and comfortably furnished with many details seldom found in a rental. The kitchen has a good supply of dishes, glasses, cookware and utensils. Even spices! Most of the time you are lucky if you find slat and pepper! Steve also provides facial tissues (Kleenex) as well as toilet paper (Charmin). Everything is first class including the personal service provided by Steve and Andrew. This was our first time back to the island in thirteen years and we are so glad we selected Las Olas. Our little dog enjoyed her walks on the beach and cart rides; our son, his wife and our two granddaughters enjoyed exploring the island and the beaches. It was so wonderful to have two golf carts and to be able to bring our pet! We hope to make a trip to this island paradise and a stay at Las Olas an annual tradition

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great break from the cold!

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

Thanks so much for a GREAT week! We have been to N. Captiva numerous times and have stayed in many houses. On previous trips to the island, we would spend time cruising the island (in the golf carts) looking for a house to stay in next. There was no need to do that this trip as we will be back to Las Olas!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas Week 2012 at Las Olas

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

My wife and I together with our 2 kids ages 23 and 21 and my brother and sister-in law and their kids ages 17 and 15 had an absolutely wonderful week at Las Olas. Steve the owner is the perfect host. He met us at the dock with golf carts and a trailer for all our gear. Steve's house and grounds are beautiful. We all enjoyed the heated pool, hot tub, patio with the Tiki bar, pool table and ping pong table outside and great rooms inside not to mention landscaping that could be part of a magaizine spread. North Captiva offers amazing scenery with wildlife including a bald eagle's nest with a mating pair, dolphins, lots of birds and an Eastern Screech Owl who lives on Steve's property in a nesting box. Walking along the beach at sunrise with my wife to collect shells was very romantic. My brother and sister-in law brought along their 2 dogs and they also had the time of their lives. They went on long walks, swam in the Ocean and loved trying to dig up crabs. Life on Norht Capitva is relaxing and fun. We may actually get a place for ourselves at some point in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Warmth & Charm WelcomesYou

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived on the Island to the time we left, every need had already been furnished by the homeowner. The attention to detail in the home and surrounding property makes you feel like you are in a 5 star resort, without the interruptions of other guests or staff.

We loved the decor of Las Olas from its comfortable furniture and warm open spaces that invited you to relax, to the wonderful ground level recreation area with the pool and hot tub. The Lanai was the most popular room for gathering morning, noon and night. The look-out tower provides breath taking views from sunrise to sunset, and is a great place for star gazing at night. The home was perfectly clean and out fitted with all the amenities one would need for a perfect vacation.

We were greeted at the dock by the homeowner himself, with our two golf carts; he assisted us with all of luggage and provisions and escorted us to Las Olas. Upon arrival at Las Olas he made us feel at home, answered all our questions and explained all the ins and outs of the house.

We would highly recommend anyone contemplating a stay at Las Olas to go, it is a once in life time opportunity. This was our second visit to the Island and our first time at Las Olas, we stayed there for our yearly family getaway, and hope to stay there for many years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

This was our first trip back to island in almost 5 years. We were so pleased we chose Las Olas for our five days in paradise. The home is completely equipped and very well kept by the owners! They were readily available if we had needed anything at all. I highly recommend Las Olas if you are thinking about a trip to paradise. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Las Olas as beautiful as ever

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Attention to detail with all, and more, of the comforts of home. I cannot imagine a better home to spend a family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our stay at Las Olas

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

Our stay at Las Olas was great , didnt want to leave. We really felt at home. I really have nothing but good to say and would love to come back again. I wish i could jump in that pool right now. The whole house was so comfy we all enjoyed!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

North Captiva Island great family vacation with no lines or traffic, no cars for that matter.

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Incredible vacation: This is my second time renting “Las Olas” and it just keeps getting better
The house is super clean and beautifully decorated, from the well-stocked kitchen, with the exception of the wine glass that I broke!!, To the Jacuzzi and beach chairs. Everything is in great working conditions.
Please don’t let other people know, I want it available for me at any given time, thank’s JR

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation home.

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We just returned from our vacation to North Captiva Island, and were sad to leave. This was our first trip to the island. Everything was as described in the listing and communication with Steve is fast and accurate.

The house is also very clean and updated. Steve has thought of everything and nothing has been overlooked. During the day we sat on the beach with the chairs, towels, unbrellas and beach toys which were provided. At night we played card games on the back porch or swam in the pool. Our son loved the kayaks.

When I say they have thought of everything they have. You just need to bring casual clothes and food. This made going to the island a stress free vacation and can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very relaxing

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Our family ranging in age from 10 to 46, including older teens and young adults, had a very relaxing and enjoyable time at Las Olas, The natural beauty of the gardens, the fine amenities and the fullly stocked kitchen made our stay, our favorite at North Captiva so far. The superb TV and sound system, the clean swimming pool, the beautiful furnishings, the pool and ping pong tables all met needs that far exceeded our expectations. The quality of construction is also worth noting....the steps which let from floor to floor were wood and very comfortable to climb. Other houses we've rented have not had this luxury. The owner did a fabulous job with responding to our needs. We had a problem with one of the golf carts and it was fixed by the time we returned from our beach excursion that day. It was also very nice having the use of two gold carts that helped meet the needs of our differing interests and ages. We look forward to coming back to North Captiva very soon. Check in and check out were very smooth and enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family with small children

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

A secluded tropical paradise!!!

We can't say enough about our wonderful week at Las Olas! The house is beautiful, and very well equipped. The pool and hot tub are a perfect way to spend the morning before heading to the beach for the afternoon! The island itself is stunning, lots of beautiful, often private beaches, great wildlife to see and beautiful sunsets to watch. We strongly recommend Las Olas to anyone looking for a week of relaxation, "island style!!". We are planning to make a week at Las Olas a regular trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Don't waste time looking elsewhere

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

I researched every place on the island before booking Las Olas. I needed 4 bedrooms for my four kids (one toddler and one infant), two grandparents, and my wife and I. Simply put...Steve thought of everything and there is nothing missing. Nothing. Everything is high end and classy...nothing cheesey.

The owner picked us up when we arrived, made us feel right at home, and immediately answered email questions once we got there.

I'm a value guy. I want to most bang for the buck and I want to stay in a place that is high end and clean. I did the research. I chose Las Olas. I chose wisely. I also drove by the homes that we were considering prior to arrival...nothing compares to Las Olas unless you want to spend double.

Book Las Olas.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The BEST of Paradise

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

My wife and I can't wait till next year to come back again. We have stayed in other houses on North Captiva which were great, but this is the Best. I will never stay anywhere else again. You can tell that Mr. Muse really loves his home, the decor and beauty of the home was beyond - inside and out. You wont be disappointed with your stay. Thanks So much - Todd and Lisa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

RADASAHA

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Las Olas is an amazing place. It is beautifully decorated and fully functional. Anything and everything we needed was in the house. We were a large party, 3 couples and kids and there was not one single person who did not love the island and the house. A very relax place where we were able to bond as a family, best vacation we have had in a long time. We all want to return, and not just to the island but to Las Olas. We recommend the island, the home and especially the owners whom were great hosts and made sue we had anything and everything we needed. Lovely place to go back in time and enjoy old style family time with all the new world amenities and luxuries. Loved it and would return in a heart beat!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

SHHHHHHH!!!! DON'T TELL ANYONE. ;-)

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

North Captiva Island is a very special place on earth. We hope people don't find it!! What a wonderful place to stay in what we call heaven,LAS OLAS is beautiful and charming. Everything about the house was amazing. We have never stayed in a rental home that had so much attention to detail. The kitchen was stocked with top of the line utensils. When we went to the grocery store we forgot coffee filters upon arriving we were shocked when we opened the cabinets and saw all the spices, condiments and coffee filters. Having all that there just made it feel more like home.The attention to detail the homeowners considered while stocking the house full of ammenities. This is a perfect location on a one of a kind island. The heated pool and well kept home will keep us coming back year after year.We appreciated the privacy of the home and the well landscaped yard, which was a rarity to see on the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family Vacation on Captiva Island at Las Olas

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

I highly recommend Las Olas on North Captiva Island. It was even more beautiful than the pictures could capture. The house was very clean and had plenty of room and plenty to do! The island is incredibly beautiful and we had a great location to enjoy it from. The view were amazing. I loved being so close to the nature preserve and the beaches. My kids had endless fun with the pool, hot tub, ping pong and a pool table! we enjoyed the kayaks and the golf carts were great. The owner was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome. I searched a number of Captiva Island rentals and I am so happy we chose Las Olas for our family vacation. It was paradise.
thank you!
Kristan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Can't wait to come back!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Las Olas was perfect! My family and I are already planning on returning. Every amenity possible is provided. From the towels, linens, pantry items, games, pool toys, nothing is forgotten. Steve thinks of everything! The house is beautiful, comfortable, and very well maintained. The pool is very large and the temperature is perfect. Not too hot, not too cold. He has a great stereo system, ample TV's and even provides a desk top computer for the guests. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and two have king size beds which is really nice. We ate all of our meals outside, most at the beautiful table on the veranda, but it was also nice to have the picnic table by the pool so we didn;t have to come inside to eat at lunch time. The photographs of the house do not do it justice. They just don't capture the luxuriousness of everything. Steve was extremely helpful in everyway. Anytime we needed anything or couldn't figure anything out, he was just a phone call or text message away. I would recommend saying at Las Olas to anyone going to North Captiva. Everyday since returning, we wish we were still there!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Spring Break Vacation at Las Olas!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We were all very impressed with Las Olas. The house is impeccable and obviously professionally decorated. The owner has given lots of attention to detail. Everything we would possible want was provided with Las Olas. The landscaping is amazing. It quite obvious that Las Olas is a "labor of love" for it's owner. The 360 degree views from the 5 story look out tower are amazing. A great place for morning coffee and evening sunset cocktails. The hot tub underneath a grotto of palm trees provided for a relaxing, private quiet time. The beds and linens were extremely comfortable. The house was extremely clean. We spent many relaxing afternoons by the private pool and Tiki Bar.
We were all extremely happy with our vacation at Las Olas. I always read reviews from others before I make my vacation rental decision. We will definitely plan to return to Las Olas on our next vacation to North Captiva.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful time at Las Olas

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We had a great time at the Las Olas property on N. Captiva Island! The property was clean and well-maintained. The owner, Steve, was great and unobtrusive. We hope that future guests are respectful of the property and of the inslanders so that all can enjoy future experiences there. We swam in the pool, relaxed in the hot tub, went sightseeing in our golf cart, and especialy enjoyed sitting on the enclosed 2nd story deck sipping coffee in the morning as the sun rose over the beautiful Gulf, and in the evening at sunset. We had also rented a boat and went fishing each day. Meandered up to Sanibel Island and ate lunch in the Bubble Room, had beverages on Cabbage Key and lunch at Barnacle Phil's on N. Captia - all were very good! We hope to return next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

WONDERFUL time on the Island

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We had a fabulous time at Las Olas just hanging out, fishing (we rented a motor boat), EATING, swimming in the pool or meandering around the island in our golf cart. We boated over to Sanibel Island's Bubble Room for lunch, Cabbage Key for beverages and ate at Barnacle Phil's on N. Captiva. All were very good. Just sad that it ended much too soon. The owner of Las Olas, Steve Muse, was great. He offered information when asked, but did not intrude during our time on the island. The house was clean, well-kept and in good repair and we left the home the way we had found it. I hope others who are fortunate enough to stay in the home are respectful of the property and considerate to other islanders, so that everyone has future opportunites to enjoy the island and Las Olas. We hope to return next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

North Captiva Rental Review

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

The house is beautiful and well-taken care of by the owner, who is also very quick to respond to e-mails and answer questions. The owner is also very welcoming and met us at the ferry to help with our bags. The island is very isolated which creates a very relaxed and private vacation. There are only 4 restaurants and no grocery stores on the island so there is more planning involved with this vacation. In that end, it creates an adventure and wonderful memories to last us a lifetime! We would return in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Outstanding Home

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

The best thing I could say about this home and island is "go and visit". It will not let you down, the home is beautifully appointed and wants for nothing except the food.

The island is a true experience enhanced only by the property. The owner is excellent. Put this at the top of your list!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

FANTASTIC VACATION AT LAS OLAS!

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Associate at my Law office rented Las Olas on north Captiva last year. All she could talk about for months was how great Las Olas was and what a beautiful place north Captiva is. I finally decided I had to experience this place for my self. I discovered that she was absolutely correct. The house is stunning., impeccable decorated and fully equipped with every thing you could want for. I was equally impressed by the island itself. I did not know such a place existed in the United States. Previously, I have always gone to the Caribbean for my winter get a ways. Now that I know about north Captiva there is no reason to leave the country. Touring the island in the golf cart was great fun. We dreamed about which house we would want to buy one day. Our first choice was always Las Olas. The grounds and landscaping are one of the best on the entire island.
The other thing that was special from the moment we arrived was the the owner Steve personally came to greet us upon arrival at the ferry dock. He then escorted us back to the house and assisted us in getting our luggage and provisions into the house. It was obvious Steve had given attention to the details to make certain we had a great vacation. Renting Las Olas was better than owning my own vacation home as everything was all ready for us. I was immediately able to relax the moment I arrived at the house. Frankly, I did not want to leave. The week went by entirely to fast and I can not wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Most beautiful place in the continental USA!!!!

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

I was fortunate enough to have a chance to spend the weekend at Las Olas, on North Captiva Island, with several good friends- and couldn't have been more pleased to have done so. Pre-conceived ideas of what it would be like, on a vacation where the only access was by boat, were quickly discarded.
The modern-man in me was relieved to find high-speed internet, high-definition television, DVD's, video games and more.
The luxury-starved man in me was even more satiated by the lush foliage, expansive decks reaching multiple levels of island and sunset viewing, well chosen decor, and oodles of square footage to enjoy the company of good friends. It was just so easy to relax, take in the views, go for a swim, or chat in the hot tub- with the troubles of the outside world fading away.
The nature-lover in me found a paradise with no speeding cars or noxious exhaust fumes. Instead they use electric golf carts to traverse the scenic roads of the island. No crazy beach traffic, no ugly tourist traps, just a restaurant or two and the heavenly comfort of Las Olas.
Truth be told, I'm a little picky about cleanliness. Gladly, this wasn't an issue either, as the entire house was very clean and neat.
It's clear to me now that I am going to have to plan another trip there to re-charge, like this recent one did because it has been ages since a vacation has been so effective on my mind and body.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best vacation I have ever had.

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

Owners have thought of everything to meet your needs. I love that there are such great views all around the house. The décor is fabulous and makes you feel right at home. I have plans to return as I felt so relaxed when I returned home. Certainly not the usual feeling like you need a vacation to recuperate from when you returned home.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We spent our New Years Holiday with family and friends at Las Olas. Our 4 day mini-getaway started with a personal greeting as our Ferry arrived at Barnacle Phils. We were promptly wisked away to Las Olas (5 minute golf cart excursion). Las Olas is decorated both for the eye as well as comfort. We felt right at home welcomed by the warm gulf breeze and a glowing Sun intent on its final decent for the day.

Our time was spent exploring the pristine nature preserve, shelling on the beach and sharing the surf with schools of mullet and pods of Dolphin all under the watchful eye of a pair of Osprey.

Afternoons were spent by the pool, enjoying drink, fun and sun winding down to what became a serious family Horseshoe Tournament.

The kitchen was the perfect place to end the day. My wife established a menu for every day of our stay and we all enjoyed doing our part to prepare the evening feast.

Las Olas was the perfect way to end our 2011 and kick off our 2012. We will definatley be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

It was a wonderful Christmas at Las Olas

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We could not have asked for a more wonderful time than a week over Christmas at Las Olas. The setting and furnishings were outstanding. Easy walks to the ocean, kayaking and swimming in the pool were a great break from the more "touristy" areas of Florida. We also enjoyed the spectacular sunsets from the home's upper-upper deck. What a view!
My family can not wait until our next visit on North Captiva and Las Olas. Whether you are party of adults, or adults with young children, you can't go wrong with Steve Muse's home. There's something for everyone to enjoy.
Our family has traveled all over the globe and we've unanimously concluded that this was our best vacation ever. Thanks, Steve, for sharing your wonderful property with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

This place has it all!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

I came here with my husband on our honeymoon with the idea of just having a place we could relax and unwind after a big wedding and a lot of planning.

We were able to bring our two dogs which was a huge blessing since one of them had emergency surgery a week before the wedding. The owner was extremely accomodating to this change in our plans and we were so thankful for that!

Anyway, to the good stuff...this place is amazing...it is absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. The home is wonderfully furnished and VERY comfortable. The beds are very comfortable and the kitchen has everything you need as if you were at home.

We spent a lot of our time on the main floor with the kitchen, living room, and dining room. This floor has a huge screened-in porch with couches that we took full advantage off. The sunsets were amazing and it was a bit chilly out so we often times cuddled up on the couch on the porch and watched the sun set.

I can't really say enough good things about this place. We had so much fun and it really was the best time we could have asked for.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Thanksgiving Vacation!

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Las Olas for Thanksgiving week. We had an amazing time with our children and all the grandparents at Las Olas. The home is absolutely beautiful...Steve, the owner, has thought of everything to make you feel at home and totally relaxed. The decorating is impeccable and the layout is perfect for entertaining. We enjoyed many a night laughing and playing games in the great room area and screened porch and danced and swam down by the pool and tiki bar. Our kids are already talking about bringing their children here someday when they grow up. It truly is a special place where you have nothing to worry about but spending time with loved ones, relaxing and enjoying the calm and peaceful sounds of the island. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wow - What a place II - the Return Visit!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

Well, we made it six months before deciding we needed to get back to the island (see the review below from Happy Guest (Colorado). The island is truly a special place. This time, we took my mother for the first half of the trip to celebrate her recent retirement. In talking with her after we all got back to real life, she told me that until you do it, you can't understand how easy it is to disconnect and relax on North Captiva. Again, the house is wonderful. People slow and sometimes stop in their golf carts to look at the "Old Florida" decorations all around the outside. The inside is modern and is set up perfectly for island life. The guests just prior to us were in a party of 100 for a wedding in which 13 homes were rented. The note they left in the guest book was that they visited the 12 other rentals and Las Olas was far and away the best equipped house. Steve has done even more work on the garden areas and now the pool is blocked from anyone's views. Cobine a great place with a great home and you know why we hope to return to sooner rather than later.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Extremely relaxing!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We loved everything about Las Olas. Steve has definitely thought of everything when building this home. All we needed were groceries. Everything else was provided. A fully stocked kitchen, 2 grills, and the most comfortable bed ever. We were looking for a place to decompress and relax and Las Olas was just the place for it! We will be returning there in the future!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

I felt like I was at Disneyland

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

This was one of the most memorable vacation. It reminded me of the jungle ride as we came in to the island, with mangroves thick on the shores and egrets fishing by the banks and ospreys perched in the tress. A totally surreal experience after the hustle and bustle of the Bay Area.. I expected to hear the natives drumming any minute.

Then on shore and into the golf carts you use to transport your self along narrow, white soil/sand lanes. Better than Disneyland because here you don't have to walk unless you feel like it.

House and grounds are breathtaking. Owners have a knack for interior design, and the landscaping was the best I saw on our trip.

Jogged two mornings along a path the owners recommended. It takes you through the verdant island landscape--turtles!--before leading you to the beach, which I followed all the way to the southern end of the island. I've never seen so many sea shells washed up on the beach. Not bucket fulls, but truckloads. Seriously?

I saw more herons and egrets and ospreys, and at the very end a golden eagle that didn't mind me at all. And 100 feet away not one but two bald eagles sittin' in a tree. Are you kidding? In Florida? --Shows how little I know.

And if I didn't mention dolphins on the boat ride I apologize. And Northern Cardinals that live in the sea grape (?) trees in the backyard by the pool. I am only sorry I didn't catch a glimpse of the bobcat family.

So my jog to the end of the island and back was 7 or 8 miles, but it didn't seem very grueling--probably because I had to stop multiple times to pick up whole sand dollars and scan for perfect shells to take home. Or just turn to the ocean to soak up the solitude. On two separate morning runs I saw a total of one person, who was carrying a bucket to collect shells. This is the place to truly get away. Most of the houses you can see over the tree line were empty during our stay.

My only complaint was the shower in our room was so clean and there was no rubber mat so we had to throw down a few face towels for safety.

Oh. Only other complaint: one morning it rained so hard my book got completely soaked and took two days to dry out. Fortunately, we were warned to bring cell phones and cameras inside before bed. This was the second week of October for anybody still reading my review :-)

Beautiful house. Total privacy. Zero nightlife.

Our stay at Las Olas was incredible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Pllace to Rent

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

This is an excellent vacation property, very new and very clean with a lot of amenities, pool, HD DirecTV, internet, golf carts to get around on the island, etc. I was impressed with the roominess of this house. Also, it is a very good value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A perfect tropical getaway

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We enjoyed yet another stay at Las Olas. As a returning guest, I was happy to see the many upgrades and appointments the owners had taken the time to think of. The pool was the biggest hit for warm sultry summer's days. Great thanks for another great stay.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

wonderful vacation rental

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

My stay at las Olas was a wonderful experience. It is definitely a 5 Star rental with all the amenities that you would have in a 5 star hotel. You have your privacy in a beautiful home with amazing views....I highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A-O.K!

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

From the short ferry ride over to the island, to the warm reception by Steve and Andrew, followed by a fun golf cart ride on the sand packed roads that lead us to the fabulous house above the trees - vacation was off to a wonderful start! Not only does the island encourage you to disconnect and fully relax, our very own "tree house" provided the perfect refuge from our busy lives. We had everything we needed and got more than we expected. All rooms were very well appointed. Our bed was heavenly. The private pool was refreshing. And of course the views...BREATHTAKING! We can't wait to go back....and fish!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Long Beach Labor Day Weekend on the Island

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised with this home "Las Olas". When I arrived at the home and took a tour I noticed that it shows much better in person than the pictures. The home looks larger, prettier, well laid out floorplan, and has all the necessary items to enjoy your time on the island, including great views 360 degrees. You can see water almost all the way around on the upper level decks.
I found the home clean and tidy. Everything was as promised with the owners. It was very relaxing to swim in the private pool and use the golf carts for a cruise of the Island and to access the restaurants.
I will recommend this vacation home to all my friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Looking for the most relaxing vacation in comfort?

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Las Olas was by far the best, most relaxing vacation we have ever had! If you are looking for a unique stay at a well decorated house with a POOL, give Las Olas a try. Friends of our also stayed on the island in a very large home. When we compared what the houses were stocked with they said they wish they were in Las Olas. Their kids wanted to stay with us. You name it, it is pretty much there and if you could not find something the owner was very quick to respond to the emails we sent them from the computer in the kitchen. The kids used the computer a lot to check face book and emails. Our friends wanted to kayak together, we were covered with 2 kayaks, they had to rent theirs. When we arrived we had two golf carts waiting for us at the dock and did not have to rent another like our friends did.
We will be returning to Las Olas next year and I am sure you will say the same after you stay there.
Great Home with a ton of features.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

BEST VACATION RENTAL EXPERIENCE ON NORTH CAPTIVA!!!!!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

My family has rented homes on North Captiva for many years. We have stayed in numerous homes on the island. Las Olas is with out a doubt our best rental experience ever on North Captiva. From the moment we arrived it was obvious from the curb appeal that Las Olas is a home that is well loved and cared for by it's owner. The Landscaping is stunning! Driving up the driveway I felt as if I had arrived at a tropical resort. Once inside the house I was immediately impressed by the tall ceilings and large rooms. The bedrooms were very large and comfortable. The mattresses were so comfortable I did not want to get out of bed in the mornings. The house is obviously professionally decorated in a island British Colonial theme. The large great room is a great place for my entire family to gather with plenty of seating for everyone. The 5 story look out tower has amazing views and is a wonderful place to enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset. The owner "Steve" was very helpful and answered all of my questions . It was obvious that this owner managed and maintained his own property. His attention to detail was very apparent. Many of the homes we have rented on North Captiva are poorly maintained probably due to absentee owners depending on others to take care of their houses. It was so nice to stay in a home that is so well loved and cared for. I enjoyed sitting on the 3rd story screened in Lanai enjoying the view of the gulf while my kids played in the pool. The Tiki Bar and gas Grill was a great place to enjoy a barbeque lunch at Las Olas! There was even a large sun shade adjacent to the Tiki Bar that allowed us to take a break from to much Florida Sun Shine and enjoy a frosty beverage from the refrigerator at the Tiki Bar. Las Olas seems very private as there are no neighbors on all four sides of the house. My wife told me that we should Keep LAS OLAS our secret and not to write this review because it may not be available when others find out about how nice the house is. I told her the solution to that problem is to make our reservations a year in advance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

WOW - What a Place!

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

My wife and I are from Colorado and had never been to the Gulf Coast of Florida before this trip. We felt like we were taking a chance by going to an island that is essentially cut off from “normal” vacation type things (like a grocery store). But, now that we have returned, I can’t tell you how happy we are that we took the chance.

Everything about the trip was perfect. From the pre-ordered food at Publix, the ride to the ferry, Island Girls Charters, Las Olas House and the Island. The owner was easy to work with and answered any questions we had before the trip. The owner’s on Island agent, Sherman, was also very helpful.

The Las Olas House is beautiful inside and out. The third level great room offered wonderful views of the Gulf while cooking and the screened in porch/eating area with Gulf Views was great. The bedrooms were large and the bed very comfortable. The pool, Tiki bar and grill were extras that made the trip even better.

As far as set-up for a trip in which we had to bring all of our groceries with us on the boat out to the Island, the house is great. In addition to a great full kitchen, there are tons of re-sealable containers. These made packing for the beach and storing leftovers easy.

The Island itself is incredible. If you want to truly get away from reality, I would highly recommend Las Olas House. Days on the Gulf and/or kayaking and then returning to a beautiful house to watch the sunsets from the observation/rooftop deck do not get old. Nine nights here went faster than we could believe. We are definitely planning a return visit.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

BEST FAMILY VACATION EVER!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Our family enjoys at least four vacations each year together which includes my husband and I, our two sons and their significant others and our daughterl, son-in-law and our beautiful granddaughter. This was our 2nd visit to North Captiva, but our 1st visit to LAS OLAS!!!! There are not adequate words to describe how lovely and spacious this beautiful home is. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the ammenities of this amazing home afforded our family every luxury and convenience that one could want! The refreshing pool and tiki bar allowed us to have great fun in the afternoons after awesome morning trips to the beach. We relaxed and kept no particular time schedule. We truly took advantage of island time....Watching the sunsets in the evening were a family favorite and it was so nice to come back and have the gas grill to cookout our yummy dinners. Las Olas is a "one of a kind" experience that everyone should have the opportunity to experience. We can't wait to go back and relax in this beautiful home away from home. Thank you Steve for allowing us to share your FABULOUS home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

23 year olds taking a vacation from work

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

Las Olas was an amazing house and experience.

We were there from April 27-May1st.

As 23 year olds the house had everything we needed. I plan on taking my family and reletives to the house next time. Great for all ages. The Kitchen and Grill was well equipped to cook all the food we brought. The pictures do not do the house justice. The location is very private but very near the beach. I plan on going back to the house next time I visit, which will be soon.

The house is perfect if your hesitating on spending your North Captiva visit in LAS OLAS don't. It will meet and exceed all your expectations.

Thanks again,

Steve

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

The minute we arrived I felt myself starting to relax. Las Olas is a beautiful house - very comfortable, lots of living spaces for everyone, very well stocked with every imaginable kitchen tool, game, and electronic device. My kids were so happy in the house/pool, we had to drag them to the beach! The island itself is adorable - quiet, calm, peaceful. The beach was perfect. Water was very warm (and I am strictly a warm water swimmer.) And the wildlife was awesome. We greeted the resident turtle at the end of the road every day. From the screened porch, we watched the sea hawks flying back and forth with fish. Mathias at the boat shop told us where to find manatees when we rented a boat. The pelicans and osprey and ibis were magnificent. On our FIRST day, my 6 year old found 2 starfish, 3 conchs, several hermit crabs, and countless sea urchins .... all of whom were released of course. Those are LIVE animals, not shells. My favorite though was the school of dolphins that we saw one day, about 50 feet from us, diving in and out the water for hours. What a sensational trip. We can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great week at Las Olas

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

Our family of seven adults spent the week at Las Olas and had a great time. We loved the beach and the pool. The week was very relaxing, alot of water, sun, and reading. Poker games at night around the big round table. Steve was very helpful, letting us know how to make all the arrangements and answering any quesions. The house is large and roomy, and very nicely decorated. It was fun getting around on the golf carts and so nice to be free of cars and traffic. An enjoyable week all around.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Las Olas

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Best vacation ever!!! House was awesome, better than expected.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Las Olas, North Captiva Island

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We stayed at Las Olas for a week in March 2011. It was a little piece of paradise! The house is well maintained and equipped with all that you need. All that is required to bring are groceries and clothes and you are set! We had two familes share the house and had plenty of room. The view from the screened deck was lovely- the perfect spot to watch the sunset. We made great use of the beach towels, umbrellas, and chairs. The children enjoyed the heated pool and relaxing on the hammock as well as playing ping pong. The beach is just a few houses away. We were able to take a long hike on the nature trail and saw bald eagles, tortoises, and plenty of dolphin. We will be back for sure and look forward to booking at Las Olas again! Thank you Steve for being so accomodating and opening your home to our family! I would highly reccommend this property to my friend or relative.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pleasurable experience at Las Olas

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We had a great time at Las Olas as expected! Steve was extremely accomodating and we are looking forward to our next vacation at Las Olas! The house was clean and inviting and everything was as expected. Thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic Vacation at North Captiva

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Living in Snow country we needed a warm sunny florida vacation. We had been to North Captiva before and loved the island. This time I wanted to rent a newer home. Las Olas more than met our expectations. The house is obviously newer construction and has high ceilings and extremely large rooms and marble floors through out. Some of the houses on the island are older and run down so you really have to be careful when renting on North Captiva. Las Olas was extremely clean and well maintained. We found everything at the house to be in excellent working condition. We loved the location of this house, very private and peaceful and convenient to the beach. Laying in the hammock on the deck was most relaxing. Enjoyed dining Alfresco on the screened in Lanai. We did eat out at "Over the Waterfront" and found the food there to be very good and reasonable priced. The landscape at this home is well cared for. My wife enjoyed sitting on the top of the observation tower and reading her book and working on her tan. Which was also a great place to end the day with a cocktail and watching the sunset. We even saw the "green flash" one evening at sunset. The pool bar even had its own refrigerator so that we could get refreshments with out leaving the comfort of the heated pool. Also found the owner to be very helpful in answering questions. I would definitely recommend Las Olas to my friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

LAS OLAS was a fantastic Florida Vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

This was my first visit to North Captiva. The island is indeed beautiful and very private. The boat trip to the island was amazing. Dolphins swimming behind the boat. I got some great photos. Arriving at the house I was very impressed. The photos do not do the house justice. This was not your typical stripped down vacation rental. It was obvious to me the owner was welcoming you into his private home. The attention to detail was very apparent. The location of the house was very near the nature preserve which allows for great morning walks down the beach. The private swimming pool was heated to a warm 82 degrees. There were 2 private ocean kayaks for our use as well. There were no other houses adjacent to Las Olas so it allowed for maximum privacy. The sunsets and sunrises from the house made for some great photos. The observation tower is 5 stories high and makes you feel like you are an eagle sitting at the top of your nest. The beds were extremely comfortable! I have never slept better. You could even hear the sounds of waves crashing on the beach while you lulled yourself to sleep. The open floor plan and big lanai allowed our family to spend some quality time together. The were lots of board games and a Xbox video game that provided lots of entertainment for our family time together. Riding around the island in the golf carts was great fun as well. The memories and good times that my family had at Las Olas will last forever. I am already planning to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Dream Getaway

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

At first I was hesitant to vacation on an island lacking many of the creature comforts I've come to enjoy. However while at Las Olas, I quickly adapted to the Island life. The property was well-appointed and most all of my creature comforts were within reach. The four bedrooms, large living room and kitchen and multiple outdoor decks were extremely comfortable and well-equipped. From the gorgeous sunrises to amazing sunsets, the property's indoor and outdoor areas provided some of the most spectacular views that nature has to offer...The owners were very accomodating and seemed to think of everything we would need for our stay. I will definitey visit again. I AM HOOKED!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Very relaxing stay

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Just came back from our vacation in North Captiva. We had a very relaxing and easy going stay at Las Olas. The house is very spacious and very clean and comfortable.
We will be back on North Captiva and Las Olas!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susi was actually at Las Olas on January 10, 2011. They really enjoyed the private heated Swimming pool and went swimming and sunbathing on the private deck everyday.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful Home in a Great Location

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

My son got married on the beach at North Captiva. I hosted a reception for the couple, family and friends at Las Olas. We spent the week at this wonderful house . There were 8 of us including their 2 year old son. The house had everything and it all worked. It was clean and there was plenty of all the day to day things you need for a self catering holiday. The location was great, being so close to the beach and being private, everone was very friendly and helpful, and it was less than a minute stroll from the beach. Simply a glorious beach. Clean, white sand - great for sand castles and sculptures.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Thanksgiving 2010

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

We so enjoyed our stay at Las Olas on Captiva Island! The house is amazing, better than the photos - so spacious and well decorated. We can't wait to come back next year!
John

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Las Olas, a lovely place to stay !!

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

We had a wonderful, trouble free, experience at Las Olas on North Captiva Island. The home was clean and fresh, the amenities fun and adequate. The views were wonderful, and we had a great time enjoying
the sights and breeze on the enclosed balcony. The kitchen was well equipped which was important to us, due our cooking habits. All in all I will return to this home in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A great holiday

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

My holiday time went perfect from the moment I arrived at Las Olas till the time I left. The house is decorated beautifully with a huge living room and open kitchen. I loved sitting out on the deck looking out at the wide open views of beautiful North Captiva.
The house was warm, comfortable and very clean. I highly recommend Las Olas for a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

My recent stay at Los Olas in North Captiva

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at Los Olas in North Captiva. We were very happy with everything. What a great vacation we had. The property is big and spacious and has 4 big bedrooms. The main living area is also very large with an open floor plan which I love (I don't have to be left out while I'm preparing meals).
There is a very large screened in porch adjacent to the main living area. Everying is bright and clean and fresh and very well maintained. I believe all the furnishings were brand new. There were 8 of us total so with all the room (not to mention 2 levels of totaly wrap around decks AND a neat crows nest) we did not feel like we were on top of one another. The dining table sat all of us (I love a round dining room table) and the pool was wonderful.

I plan on returning and I would definatly recommend this property. North Captiva is like no other place in the United States. I also find the people in N Captiva very friendly. I have teenage kids so for me N. Captiva is a "no brainer" (very safe and friendly).

My only problem with Los Olas and North Captiva, is that I was sad the leave. I WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review