reviews for: listing #76983 - Half Moon Bay, California House rental

Elegant & Spacious Coastside House with Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $445 - $595 /nt
    $3,115 - $3,465 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Property

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2014

We are a family of 6 - two parents, two teenagers, a young adult and a senior citizen. We usually stay in vrbo properties when we travel because we like to have plenty of room, and we like to have the option of cooking and doing laundry. The Montara Beach House was absolutely perfect for our needs. San Francisco was within easy reach by car, and Monterey and Napa were about 1.5 hrs drive, making it a perfect base of operations for lots of activities. Even better, within 5 minutes walk are a lighthouse, a gorgeous beach, and an adorable little coffee shop! Mornings and evenings were so wonderful and peaceful with these things nearby. The house itself is spacious and beautifully decorated, and I have rarely encountered such a well-appointed kitchen! It didn't feel like a vacation rental at all, it is cozy and home-like (if your home has Viking appliances, beautiful hardwood floors and a fireplace in the master bathroom!)

One extra bonus was the kind, attentive property manager, Allen. He met us at the house and showed us where everything was, and he assisted us with a minor issue (we had trouble figuring out the thermostat). He located an extra fan for the master bedroom when I found it a little warm. He even had soup waiting for us on our arrival! We are very happy that we stayed at the Montara Beach House. It is perfect for a family vacation, and we will definitely be returning for another stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Customer Service at its Finest

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

Eleven members of my family just returned from San Francisco after staying in this absolutely beautiful home. With a commercial Viking kitchen range to the beautiful view of the ocean, even in the rain, a fire place in the master bedroom extending through to the world pool bathtub this house is a true win especially at the price. Now what truly capped off the trip, CUSTOMER SERVICE! In a time when customer service is iffy at best, the Owner of the property, was there in a moments notices if you needed something. Again, a wonderful place to stay and the attention to making our trip as enjoyable as possible will make this vacations on of our best ever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family reunion

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

We stayed in this gracious comfortable home for my husband's 60th birthday. We had extended family from across the US here for the holiday weekend. The house was comfortable, space for everyone, space for privacy, space for a gathering. Convenient location for a San Francisco day and a day south along the coast. Easy walk to the lighthouse on the beach.
This was the perfect place for a family gathering.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

Our extended family stayed in this beautiful home for grandma's birthday celebration. The home is in perfect condition, no detail spared. Fabulous gourmet kitchen with every cooking item needed -commercial stove and double oven. Nice flat screen TV in the cozy living room with view of the ocean. Was foggy a lot in Montara during the weekend but a quick drive south to Half Moon Bay found sunny beaches and wonderful walks along the ocean/coast. Highly recommend this home for any family or friend gathering. Due to the stairway, this home is not good for elder people who have difficulty walking. The main living area is upstairs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ladies only 50th celebration

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

This property was perfect for all of our needs and I would recommend it for the following reasons:
reasonable price, spacious 2-story that sleeps a large party, access to SFO, very accommodating & attentive property manager.

We were seeking a place that was close enough for the majority of the ladies (mostly bay area residents), yet far enough to feel like a true ocean get away.

The kitchen was spacious and comfortable for us ladies to bond & cook together.

Recommendation: 'California Coastal trail' public beach (adjacent to Ritz Carlton), sunset dinner at Moss Beach Distillery restaurant.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family visit

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

What a beautiful place and location. Loved every moment of our stay. Could not have found a better place to stay with our family and enjoy our visit to the bay area. Better than we thought or had ever imagined.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jill's Wedding

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

This is a large lovely home. We found it perfect for my wife and me and our grown daughters and their children to gather and prepare for our other daughter's weekend wedding. It had plenty of bedrooms plus nice gathering spaces to work, visit, and eat together. A nice garage and laundry was a bonus.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rental home for wedding

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

My friends and family rented the home, because my brother was getting married in Half Moon Bay. The home met and exceeded our expectations. There were eight people that stayed in the home, we could have easily accommodated four more guest.

Allen was great to work with, he answered every question thoroughly and quickly. When we arrived at the home, the home was very clean. Allen also provided a tour of the home and made sure that we knew were the laundry room was and where the extra bath towels were.

I would definitely recommend staying in this home and I plan to rent this home again from Allen in the future. There is no need to continue searching for another rental home for a large group of people, this rental home and my experience working with Allen met and exceeded our expectations.

Jason

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kayakers Paradise!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Eight of us shared this beautiful home for an enjoyable three day weekend. We're a group of Sacramento area kayakers (Sac Paddle Pushers) who took pleasure in the short distance from the house to Pillar Point Harbor, where we truly enjoyed the day. The house is very spacious and has plenty of room for a large group. The King bed in the Master was quite comfortable and I heard no complaints from anyone else who stayed. Plenty of dishes and silverware, pots and pans, etc. Be sure to grind any coffee you wish to bring, but there's a nice 12pot coffee pot for brewing. The views from the Living room, upper patio and Master are pretty nice. We walked across the hwy to take advantage of the sunset too. We were met at the door on Friday, given the grand tour and left to our own the entire weekend. The beautiful water color painting all through the house were a special treat. There's a huge room downstairs that isn't really set up for use, but would be perfect for either a pool table or another seating area. My vote would be another seating area especially with as many as can stay here. We'll definitely come and stay here again. Oh, and I made my reservations a year ago :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

I rented this home for the weekend of my son's wedding in nearby Half Moon Bay. It was wonderful to have the whole family together in such a beautiful place. The accomodations were excellent. We were able to share this joyous time together in a comfortable, clean, well appointed home. And the view was spectacular.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home in Montara

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

The home was very clean, extra dish towels, paper towels, plastic wrap, foil, needed. And one toilet paper roll extra for each bathroom is not enough for 7 people.

The owner and property manager met us when we arrived and gave us a tour. The house was perfect for 7 of us. Perhaps a twin bed in one of the rooms so guests don't have to share a bed?

Great location and I would recommend to large group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

visitor from Texas

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

Property is as described with view of ocean. Exceptionally clean home is spacious. Worked out well for brothers and sisters with spouses in for a wedding celebration in Half Moon Bay. Owner can be relied on to follow through. All equipment working.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Montara Beach

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We stayed in this amazing home last weekend for a wedding in Half Moon bay. The accomodations were wonderful, the beds comfortable and the views incredible. Everything was there for us down to a French Press. Loved it!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reunion

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

The home was absolutely lovely,looks just like the photo's, very clean, great location, easy to find, convenient. The beds were all very comfortable and the views were beautiful. We used it as a reunion for my daughters Stanford Alumni Polo Club and it was perfect, plenty of room, no one felt crowded.
This place would not be good for someone who has trouble with stairs tho as the kitchen and eating area is upstairs which means bringing groceries from the garage up a full flight of stairs. Not a problem for me with 8 healthy 30+ year olds!
My only disappointment was the kitchen: it has this marvelous wolfe cook range w/6 burners and warming racks and grill, double oven, large refrigerator; however it was very poorly appointed with cooking utensils. no whisk, no can opener, no tongs, no serving fork, etc... But hey, everything can't be perfect!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reasonably priced vacation house. Easy to talk to agent and owner. Well kept house.

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

I called and emailed a few houses in the Half moon Bay area for my husband's college re-union . They were the first to respond with a great deal. The agent Allen Price was very helpful and friendly with all my inquiries. They offered me no cleaning fee and no security deposit. Coming from Chicago I had no idea about the general area, so he gave me some places of interest to go to,activities to do, where to shop for fresh fish etc. He let me checked in earlier too. Easy to negotiate and talk to agent. The owner welcomed us. They offered us 1 free night on our next visit. Nice!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Extended Family Stay

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

Our extended family (11 people) rented this house for the weekend, while attending a wedding in Oakland. Everyone had a fantastic time! The house was filled with laughter, and children's laughter and playing. The house is absolutely gorgeous!!! The pictures on the website are accurate, but do not do the actual beauty of the house justice. We walked to the lighthouse (twice) and had a great time finding shells on the beach with the kids. The Fitzgerald Marine Reserve (a short drive) is also very amazing and beautiful. We loved the house so much that we wanted to spend more time there then anywhere else! If we ever have a need to return to the area with a large group, and this house is available, we will have to look no further and will be renting it again. Thank you Tom and Allen for making our stay so wonderful and memorable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home for Vacation Getaway

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

We had guests come to town and stay at this home. They were delighted with the accommodations, the view and the location. The owner and caretaker were very responsive to our specific questions and needs from the moment we expressed an interest in the property to the day at which our guests departed. They were professional but more importantly, they were always always pleasant and friendly. The home is beautifully decorated and very well-kept. We felt we were staying at a relative's home - they made us feel that comfortable and welcome. We highly recommend this home if you are looking for a place that refreshes your spirit. You do need a car to get around; but that is a small price to pay for the setting and comfort.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Our family of four and grandparents loved our stay in this beautiful, spacious home. It was immaculate, thoughtfully designed and every consideration was provided for (amble towels, new top-of-the-line kitchen appliances, comfortable beds, two gas fireplaces, amazing master bed and bathrooms). We also loved being in Montara, a sweet little town with a grocery store and cafe within walking distance of the house and a fabulous Peruvian restaurant just a short drive north. Looking forward to our return! Nancy and family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family home

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

Great newer home in a great location with fantastic views. Very cozy home. We would recommend this home to anyone looking to explore the area. Customer service from the owner throughout the process was exceptional.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I definitely recommend staying here!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

We stayed here for five nights in December of 2011. The house was exceptionally clean and accommodated multiple families. The neighborhood was a cute coast side town near one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen! There is a delicious restaurant overlooking Montara State Beach within walking distance. The house has panoramic ocean views from every window and I truly felt like I was at home away from home. The best part is that we could fully indulge in the tourism perks in San Francisco and come back to a beautiful home near the beach in less than 20 minutes! The price is well worth it, especially if you are with another family. You won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review