reviews for: listing #77019 - San Francisco, California Townhome rental

Urban Oasis Carriage House w Parking, Garden Deck
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Nopa
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $179 - $179 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,150 /wk
    $3,650 - $3,650 /mth

sort by:

Convenient, capacious and with a charming host

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

With a daughter in San Francisco, we fly in at least a couple of times a year. We've tried hotels, B&Bs, and now VRBO. For us, this location was perfect. The 1 BR flat in which we stayed was on the first floor of a two story carriage house. The main house has a deck in front, overlooking the street, to which we had access. The flat itself, because of its off-street location is quiet. The bed is comfortable. Having access to a full kitchen meant that a quick trip to one of the many near-by convenience stores allowed us to stock up on breakfast items and snacks, saving some money and the inconvenience of eating every meal out. Public transportation options abound, but if you're driving, there's off-street parking right in front of the carriage house. Location-wise, since it's in NOPA (North of the Pan-Handle), it's convenient to several great parks...Alamo Square, Buena Vista Park, and of course, Golden Gate Park. We are walkers, so we walked to all these locations, but we could easily have taken a bus or cab. Our host, who lives in the main house was friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. While the flat itself is seeing some wear and could use a little freshening, we still give this rental five stars because of the other positive factors.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Feeling Like Natives!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Loved the carriage house. The only downside, .....the upstairs apartment is bigger and so there were at least 4-5 people above and they were very heavy footed. What would make the stay more perfect: ask the people upstairs to remove their shoes and leave them just inside the front door! (We have stayed in other properties that asked us to do just that!)

Owners response: Thanks so much, so glad you enjoyed your stay.

There is a posted sign in the upstairs to remove shoes in the house. Almost everyone does so but some people think signs are for other people, unfortunately. See you on your next trip to the city!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can I think of enough superlatives?

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

I've just checked all the boxes to recommend this property to everyone! The description at the site was spot-on, everything was clean and well-maintained. We were delighted from the moment we walked up to the door and saw the little patio with chairs and table, and continued smiling until we turned in the keys. We appreciated the detailed guest book with instructions on how to open the sofabed, the security gates, etc., and the additional binder with suggestions for activities and even a selection of restaurant menus. The upstairs neighbors were considerate, and we especially enjoyed the young boy who waved enthusiastically whenever we crossed paths.
A special note for older travelers or those with disabilities--if you walk up the steepish drive, you can avoid steps altogether. The bathroom isn't set up for severely mobility-impaired (no grab rails on toilet, for instance,but most people won't have difficulty).
If you have tickets for the hop-on hop-off bus, the Alamo Square stop is within walking distance. Taxi to Fisherman's Wharf is about $15-$16 before tip. There's a bus stop nearby but we didn't use it.
We did a lot of sightseeing, but the short time we spent in the neighborhood was fun, and a nice contrast to the more "touristy" areas. You can easily walk to restaurants, get your hair cut, go to the Laundromat, order a pizza, find a convenience store if you're craving fresh fruit or need a Band-Aid. We thought it would be a great location to live in!
We came via Amtrak, but there is parking available, a real plus for those driving.
In summary: We loved it, we'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't require a luxury hotel with room service and a pool, and we wish we had stayed longer. If we do return to San Francisco, we hope to come here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Value!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

Upon arrival we were immediately aware of the cleanliness of this one bedroom residence as well as the organization (including labels and a book outlining local restaurants, businesses and maps) that the owner has put into this property. The place was well situated including near bus stops that would get us anywhere we had to go. We really appreciated the parking space for when we had a rental car. We used the kitchen amenities to the fullest and we were appreciative of the appliances that were available for our use. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights and loved our time in San Francisco. Having a designated parking spot was extremely convenient as parking in San Francisco is not easy to find. The owner was accommodating and quick to respond to emails. There are several very good restaurants within walking distance and it was pretty easy to drive to some of the other more 'touristy' sections of the city. The property was in good shape and everything was in good working order. Just note that if there are people staying in the property above, you may be able to hear them moving around from time to time.

Overall, I would gladly stay here again and would recommend this property and the owner to friends going to San Francisco.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

This unit was perfect for our family of four. We stayed for a week and it was a great home base for us. Having a kitchen was great and allowed us to have a meal or two each day not in a restaurant. The carriage house is quiet and in a location where there are more locals than tourists. There are numerous restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance. There is also a great, small farmer's market about 4 blocks from the house on Sundays which made our meals at home wonderful! We would definitely recommend Herbivore and Little Chihuahua for dinner.

We rented a small car and it was great knowing we had an off-street parking space awaiting us each evening. If you have tried to park in SF, you know exactly how important it is to have a parking space.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Cute Quaint Apartment

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

I used to live in this same neighborhood when I was a San Francisco resident some 10 years ago. My husband and I and our little dog B, came into town for 4 days to celebrate a very close friends birthday. The apartment is cozy. No more that 3 people can truly reside in this one bedroom. For 2 people it's a comfortable amount of space. The apartment was clean and quite nice. The bed was very comfortable. And a friend that stayed over one night said that the futon like sofa was comfortable as well.
We were able to walk to Alamo Square Park, Haight/Ashbury, Golden Gate Park and A TON of local eateries and cafes. Sunday morning we enjoyed the local Farmer's Market not even 2 blocks away! The apartment provides one parking space for the unit. We drove up from LA so that was a bonus. Once we were there we only used the car once. Public transportation was easy and convenient. 1 bus to downtown... easy.
The only complaints I have are:
The unit above this apartment is also a vacation rental (I believe) and the guests that were above us for our stay had 3 children and it sounded like they were playing football or practicing acrobatic tumbling whenever they were in. No sleeping in for us needless to say.
The kitchen ware is VERY bare minimum. I would suggest to try and plan your meals before you arrive and bring the necessary cooking utensils with you. We had a few friends over for dinner one evening and it took about 3-4 hours to prepare everything with 1 semi-sharp knife.
All in all we had a great time. Mark the owner came down to meet us (he lives on the property) and he was very nice. I would totally recommend this place :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

San Francisco Hide-a-way

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We highly recommend this property. The location is excellent with easy access to public transportation, Golden Gate Park, and local restaurants. We had a car so needed a parking space and this is one of the few places we could find that provides parking. We know that parking at SF hotels can cost up to $50 a day. Mark was a charming host. The one bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Looking forward to staying there on our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Good Experience. Great choice if you want to have a rental car.

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Having the private parking spot with a remote controlled gate was the best part and it is almost unheard of to get this in a rental property in San Francisco. You definitely don't need a car in San Francisco to get around but my wife was pregnant and it gave us the option of using a car if we were tired. The location of the carriage house is not near a light rail line but you are near the 24 bus line, which is only a five minute ride and a two minute walk to the Duboce Park Stop on the N Line. You are also near the 31 bus route that will take you all the way in to Powell and Market St. We found it took us about 20 to 25 minutes to walk to the 24 bus stop, catch the bus to the N Line, and take the N Line into downtown San Francisco

We felt very safe in the area we were in. Definitely not a touristy area but there are plenty of small locally owned restaurants and markets around the carriage house and many more restaurants within a 10 to 15 minute walk on Fillmore St.

The unit was clean when we arrived and met our all of our needs. It felt very spacious for two people but if you had three or four people and used the pullout, it could feel cramped. Kitchen was adequate and could definitely be used for cooking. My two biggest complaints were it was hard to get hot water in the shower and the soundproofing between our unit on the ground floor and the unit on the upper floor left much to be desired. Fortunately, the other rental's tenants above us were quiet during our stay and went to bed at a decent time but it could be hard to sleep if you had noisy upstairs neighbors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Friendly owner, convenient location

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

First of all, Mark was very friendly and accommodating to my boyfriend and I and our two large Dobermans. Trying to find a place in the city that will allow our two pups is difficult enough, but Mark was very willing to host the four of us! We sincerely appreciated that.

The apartment was clean and in good repair and both my boyfriend and I felt comfortable there. I live not too far away from this property and I can tell you that having gated, on-site parking is a very RARE convenience in this neighborhood, so that was an added plus. Also--having a washer and dryer on the property is very convenient, particularly if you're staying longer than a few days.

If you have dogs, you will have to walk a few blocks to let them use the bathroom, and if they are used to going on grass you may be out of luck. There isn't a yard here, and although there are a few great parks within walking distance (about a ten minute walk) it may be a slight inconvenience if you are used to simply letting your dogs into your backyard--particularly if yours wake you up to go in the middle of the night like ours do.

Although the apartment isn't super luxurious, if you are looking for a conveniently located and reasonably-priced place to stay this is a safe bet. It is also within immediate walking distance of some of the city's BEST restaurants.

Overall, I would recommend staying here and will consider coming back again for sure!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

We had a wonderful and comfortable stay in the carriage house. It was much more roomier than the pictures represent. We had a nice Christmas Day with our family and loved that we had the space to entertain and cook our meal. It was great to have parking . Having access to a washer and dryer was a plus! The location was perfect, close to all our adventures. The owner was helpful and was available for any questions we might have. We hope we will have another opportunity to use this vacation spot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place to Feel Like a San Franciscan!

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We were looking to stay in the area to be near to our son and this place was truly perfect! The carriage house was quiet, clean and comfortable, the off-street parking was so convenient and the front deck was extra special. We would sample a new coffee shop every day and sit out and enjoy the pristine weather, feeling like we were neighborhood regulars. The bus was a stone's throw away for in-the-city travel and we rarely had to wait for one to arrive. The few block walk to Alamo Square to watch the scampering dogs in the park or to grab a view of the painted ladies was the icing on the cake!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Divisidero rental

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

This property was exceptional! Not only did the spacious apartment have great furnishings and decor - it came with a parking space within a locked gate. This is almost unheard of in San Francisco. It also sits back off the street, so it is extremely quiet. There is also access to a wonderful deck, which we really enjoyed during the sunny weather during our visit. We stayed in the apartment during our wedding weekend, with our parents being in another unit on the property. Mark and his wife could not have been nicer or more accommodating and gracious to us. I would heartily recommend this property to others visiting the beautiful city of San Francisco.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mostly What I Expected

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this property for 3 days to go to a concert series in SF. When we arrived, we were a bit confused as far as how to enter the property because the street is busy and we couldn't just stop the car (no street parking...full), so we drove around, called the owner, he opened the gate, and we finally parked, which was more difficult than expected...very tight squeeze.

The house is located behind the owner's house. It is very modern and clean. I would recommend this place for a couple, because I was very glad I did not have to sleep on the futon; I thought it was uncomfortable to even sit on. It was so nice having a full kitchen, which probably wouldn't have been the case if we chose a hotel! The property is located in the NOPA area. We walked everywhere we went...partially because we didn't want to have to re-park our car and partially because we just thought walking would give a better city perspective. We walked to and through Alamo Square. We walked to the Bill Graham for the concerts. We walked to the vegan restaurant Herbivore EVERY DAY, because it is so close and so amazing!

I was surprised to find that the property is located next to a barber shop versus a house. It is definitely in a mixed business/residential area. Some of the areas we walked through seemed a bit sketchy, but then again, it's been awhile since I traveled to a city..and we were walking back around midnight. We could have taken a bus, by the way, there is multiple bus stops nearby.

Coming back to the house so late made us feel like teenagers who stayed out past curfew because of all the motion-activated spotlights...but no big deal...safety and all. I would recommend the owners put a blind or curtain on the window above the kitchen sink...I felt a bit exposed since their windows face that area. I would also recommend screens on the windows. We did not use the patio; although, it was empty each time we passed it. It is right next to the busy street, but it is raised so you aren't on the level with pedestrians and cars. We mainly used the house as a place to sleep...and for that, it worked. The bed was plenty comfortable.

Overall, our stay was fine. I wouldn't say I was head-over-heels dazzled, but there wasn't necessarily anything wrong either. It was mostly what I expected.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay in the unfamiliar big city, and that the place met your expectations. It can be hard to please everyone with wide-ranging and specific tastes, so we're glad you found a vegan restaurant close by – lots of restaurants to choose from in the immediate area. Also glad that the queen bed was comfortable. For other travelers with extra people, the there is a memory foam topper for those who prefer more softness on the convertible sofa bed. Always lots of stuff happening in a major city on the summer weekends…

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Super Quiet & Convenient

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

We loved our stat at this quiet, comfortable & well furnished property. It met our standards for 3 very important features......comfortable bed, well maintained & clean, secure parking. Also several bus lines are within a short walking distance making it very convenient to get anywhere in the city. We hope to stay at this property again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this property. It was awesome. It was even better than the photos. We had private parking off the street with an automatic gate, that operated via remote control. The interior of the place was beautifully furnished. The decor was very modern and trendy like a posh boutique hotel would be. The kitchen was a good size, so we cooked breakfast each morning before heading out to explore the city. The place was actually very spacious, more so than the pictures show. The bed was very comfy. The location was great; walking distance to several nice parks, public transit, and plenty of local bars and restaurants. The check-in / check-out process was very simple, laid back, and accommodating to our schedule. I would highly recommend, and would definitely stay again if returning to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Victorian Charm

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

Location, location, location! This VRBO is located in the heart of the old Victorian-constructed part of San Fran that escaped the 1906 fire. Close enough to downtown, but far away from the tourist hordes, you walk out and mingle with the locals who hang out at the trendy, inexpensive cafes, bars and restaurants. We particularly liked Little Chihuahua. Walking around the neighbourhood was one of the best parts of our SF vacation. With parking provided, we had the option each day of walking, driving or jumping on the bus. We stayed with our older teenage boys - the unit is a bit tight for four people, but we managed well enough. The owner was helpful, although I felt like I had to draw information out, rather than it being volunteered. We'd definitely stay again and recommend to our friends, but it is probably best for a couple.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect place

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

just what i wanted - roomy - all the amenities - terrific parking situation - private - very nice and helpful owner - mark - clean - very interesting location - quite close to just about everything in sf - only complaint about the nightly bowling alley sounds coming from the apt above which must have been the cats i saw staring out the windows. but other than that - not a single complaint.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

San Francisco

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

We found the apartment better than described in their advertisment. Our relaxing time was spent on the beautiful deck. Secure Car Parking. Area well lighted. We felt very secure and safe there. We were close to all amenties and would have no hesitation in recommending this apartment to our family and friend. The owner was must helpfull in advising us on places of interest in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quiet and Spacious; Perfect Location for UCSF/Kaiser Stays

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

My husband was transferred to UCSF from a regional hospital; we stayed at the Carriage House over two months while he was in the hospital, and receiving outpatient care. The Carriage House was perfect for the accessibility with the off-street, secure, to-the-door parking. The layout and furnishings make the place feel very spacious; the separate bedroom and a very comfortable futon (be sure to use the foam layer that Mark recommends) made for the best sleeping for all during my husband's rehabilitation. Mark and Audi were gracious hosts and Mark was always available for help, answers and the odd roll of paper towels. Thank you, again, and we will certainly stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful rental!

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

We rented this property for a week in mid October. We had an excellent stay. The property is convenient to any areas of San Francisco via public transportation. There are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. The owners were excellent to work with and even allowed us the use of the large deck in front of the main house, which is a very relaxing space. The entire property was very clean and well maintained. We plan to rent again on our next trip to San Francisco!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review