reviews for: listing #77080 - Boone, North Carolina House rental

Affordable & Spacious Nestled in the Woods
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $79 - $99 /nt
    $450 - $500 /wk
    $1,200 - $1,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful cabin

Review submitted: August 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay! We had already made reservations to return before we left. Very clean, and absolutely everything you could need is right there in the cabin. Plenty of clean towels. Close to everything attraction you could want. Andrea, thank you so much for the wonderful cookies and coffee. I have to be honest and say I almost didn't want to write a review because I would love to keep this place to myself. Very private and quiet. I absolutely love your cats. One came in with me one day. Hope you don't mind. I now have a place I know I can go to when I want to visit my son at app. Thank you for allowing us to rent your cabin. We will be back next month. Maybe sooner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always a pleasure meeting guests as nice as you and your family Anna.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

excellent

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

the house was excellent the people was nice.when we needed something we got it and yes i would stay there anytime. love it

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

101 Shilol Road

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Property was very clean and maintained nicely. The owner was very accomodating - Not very far from Grandfather mountain - close to supermarket and small stores.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. Had everything we needed. Very nice and clean.
Andrea was a wonderful host. We hope to return again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I love to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay in one of our cabins!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quite Seclusion

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

This is a great location just outside of Boone, tucked up on a nice hill surrounded by trees. You would never realize this house is just off the highway.
Nice large bedrooms and large comfortable family room. Andrea, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful, thanks for the great cookies on our arrival. The house was well maintained and furnished. This location is close to Boone, Blowing Rock, Foscoe, Grandfather Mountain, Hawksnest and many other attractions. This was such a better alternative than staying in a hotel for the number of days we were staying. The Ingles food store,in Boone, was on our way to the house on Hwy 105, which was easy to get our groceries when we needed anything.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Late March girls weekend

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

My sisters and I wanted to take our mother to the mountains to celebrate her 60th birthday for the weekend. We were looking for a low key location but still close enough to Boone for any day trips intended for shopping, eating and other things. The location is perfect, right off the main highway but tucked away in the woods for privacy. Just a quick drive to Boone, Banner Elk and Blowing Rock. There is an Ingles grocery store very close by as well. The description of the property is very accurate regarding the location, layout and amenities. The propery owner was very thoughtful of travelers with the details by providing things such as Sheets, towels, movies, games, and a fully equipped kitchen (even with basic condiments). This made it very effortless with packing so many extras from home. The property was clean and well maintained. Great customer service. Would recommend to a friend as well as return for another stay.

Owners response: We love to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay. Our goal is for everyone to have a worry free time. Thank you so much for the wonderful review and it was a pleasure meeting you all. Your mom is a lucky woman to have such nice daughters.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding quiet get away

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

My wife Carol and I loved this cabin. It was the perfect little get away cabin for us. We only spent three nights there but fully enjoyed every second. We went sight seeing during the day and spent nice quiet evenings watching DVD's by the fireplace. We definitely plan on going back again some time this year to see the change in scenary. Next time we'd like to stay in the upstairs cabin and see which one we like best. Either way, great bargain in a great area.
Thank you Andrea for letting us experience Boone in an outstanding cabin.
Joe & Carol

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent accommodation and Incredibly good value

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We really struck it lucky with this place. Living in the UK and not really knowing the region, except by such research as we'd been able to do on the internet, etc, we weren't quite sure what to expect until we arrived but I have to say that we were absolutely delighted with the standard of the accommodation. It was a real home from home and Andrea and Darryl are both delightful people who couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. We were totally satisfied - more than satisfied - with our stay here and it wish it wasn't so far away - else we'd definitely be back often.
You could pay a lot more than what we paid for our week here and get something not half so good. Totally recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your generous and kind review. We do feel compelled to give you a chance to reciprocate and have started planning our trip to Liverpool! Ha Ha We are only happy that you were happy with our accommodations. Andrea & Darrell

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Enjoyable Mountain Stay

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

All of the descriptions are correct of the cabin. It was downstairs from Andrea's house. Andrea was a welcome host and said she would help with any of our needs, she gave us directions to a very nice "local" hill to go sledding with the kids. It was roomy enough for my family with a 6 & 7 year old we were very comfortable very clean and "homey" would definately return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Boone for the SoCon Volleyball Championship held at Appalachain State College. We stayed at Andrea's Cabin and were so happy to come back every night after competition to such a nice, cozy place with all the comforts of home. It was nice and peaceful and the owner was very pleasant and helpful. This cabin was clean and they supplied more than the average rental. We were there 4 days and saved money by cooking in the well stocked kitchen. The rental rate was so reasonable and we would certainly return there again if in the Boone area.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

We had a wonderful week's vacation in the Boone area at the end of September, and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The cabin was clean, comfortable, well-equipped for preparing meals, quiet and centrally located. Parking under the carport was helpful for loading & unloading, rain or shine.
We really appreciated Andrea's thoughtfulness in providing cookies, the local paper and directions to grocery stores and tennis facilities. We hope to stay there again, and will be sure to tell our friends about this cozy cabin!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property #194387

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Thank you for a warm and welcoming arrival. We enjoy your lovely place, it was very comforable. We were relaxed and enjoyed our time at your property. We will be back and we will also tell others about your placce.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Girls Getaway

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

My 20 year old daughter and I, along with our dog, recently spent 3 wonderful nights and 4 glorious days at this charming cabin. We were greeted by the owner and immediately felt "at home." I recorded the sounds of the crickets and tree frogs singing us to sleep so that I can reminisce about the peaceful nights after we returned home! After returning from dinner one evening, we were delighted to find freshly baked cookies that Andrea had left for us to enjoy. The cabin was even better than described and I hope to bring my husband back for a visit very soon. I would highly recommend this property! It was perfect for our Girls Getaway weekend!!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous place to stay!

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

Wow -- where do I start? We came from Florida for the summer, and had a fabulous time! The cabin was all we wanted, needed, and more. Everything described in VRBO was accurate. We had TVs, DVD, wireless internet, AC (only needed because the summer of 2010 was hotter than normal), a fully-appointed kitchen and bathroom, and a spacious bed room, living room and dining room. We felt very much at home. The location of the cabin couldn't have been more accommodating. It is right in the center of all the areas we had come to experience -- Boone, Blowing Rock, Valle Crucis and Banner Elk. The Blue Ridge Parkway, where we spent a lot of time hiking and biking, was only a short distance away. Andrea and Darrell are fantastic hosts. They invited us to several barbeques, and made us feel very welcome. Anything we needed or asked for, they made sure we had. From homemade cookies to a last-night dinner out, they became friends we'll not forget. Thanks for a great summer!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Time In Boone

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

Had a terrific time staying at Andrea & Darryl's cabin. A restful retreat with all the comforts of home!! The cabin in in a terrific locations to ALL the places and many attractions the Boone area has to offer.
Whether you're into shopping, children's attractions such as Tweetsie, walks in beautiful parks, finding
special scenic spots along the Blue Ridge Parkway, or hikes - easy strolls to more challenging climbs, it's ALL there within a very short drive.
Don't forget to check out the local streams/rivers for both fishing and by canoe/raft. Both Boone & Blowing Rock have some unique & interesting stores for browsing. Some of the local architecture is so unique and buldings fascinating histories. For an easy hike - try the trail at Moses Cone Park. Every restaurant we tried was terrific and reasonably priced. Can't say enough about the area and already making plans for my next visit to the area.. Love it!!
As if the location & diverse activities aren't enough, nicer "landlords" - more like helpful friends - are few and far between. Such a fun and special couple who make one feel so welcome.
Check out the Swim Club in Boone, park in Blowing Rock, Grandfather Mountain, bookstores/coffee shops and some of the towns surrounding the areas. Stop to "smell the roses", take pictures of local wildlife &floral/fauna. and meet the locals - wonderful stories and interesting folks. Very friendly. Enjoy your stay by stopping to appreciate the sounds, smells, sights, and peacefulness. We go this way but once....so ENJOY!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Holiday Charm

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

After a long and tiring move to another state, I could not open another box so neglected to put up holiday decorations this year. I was thrilled to arrive in the cute cabin to elaborate holiday decorations including a small decorated tree in addition to many other classic decorations! Andrea was also kind enough to leave holiday cookies for us which was extremely thoughtful! The cabin was perfect for our needs as it was clean and tidy in addition to allowing for us to celebrate the holidays with our entire family including two labs. Thank you for allowing us to stay and making our holidays bright!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

"We had an incredible stay at the cabin this past weekend. My husband and I needed some rest and relaxation which is exactly what we were able to get at this cute cabin. The kitchen was completely stocked with everything and anything we could have ever needed. The charcoal grill was easy to use. The property is literally minutes from everything yet tucked up in the woods with little to no noise in the evenings. Andrea is incredibly friendly and makes everything known up front. The wireless internet was good for us to check up on our kids during the weekend. It was a great stay for a great price!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Andrea's Cabin

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2009

We had an incredible stay at the cabin this past weekend. My husband and I needed some rest and relaxation which is exactly what we were able to get at this cute cabin. The kitchen was completely stocked with everything and anything we could have ever needed. The charcoal grill was easy to use. The property is literally minutes from everything yet tucked up in the woods with little to no noise in the evenings. Andrea is incredibly friendly and makes everything known up front. The wireless internet was good for us to check up on our kids during the weekend. It was a great stay for a great price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You and your husband were delightful and I'm so glad that you decided to stay here. I like being close by so I can be on hand to take the worry out of your hands and allow you to relax. Thanks again, Andrea & Darrell

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful pet-friendly cabin.

Review submitted: June 10, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

My two doggies and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Andrea's lovely cabin - it's not easy finding a nice pet-friendly place to stay in the area. The cabin is very comfortable and nicely appointed and decorated. It even has a DVD player and VCR (including a video library) for relaxing after a long hard day on the trails. It is in a great location, only a few minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and right outside of Boone. Andrea is a wonderful hostess (she even had us over for dinner our last night), the price is reasonable. What more can you ask for! Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the lovely review. I enjoyed meeting you and your doggies and I'm delighted that you enjoyed yourself. I believe in giving people a great product for a fair price and I strive to achieve that. Thank you again for leaving the place so clean...I was hardpressed to even find pet hair left behind!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Andrea's (and Darrell's) cabin very much--a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of a family wedding. We would return again if in the area. Andrea was very welcoming and friendly...Tina Salter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 16, 2009

We absoutly loved it. The location and price was perfect. I loved the cabin. The right size and cutely decorated. I would rent only this cabin everytime I visit. Aundrea and her husband David were great and very curtious. Could have not asked for better just wanted to stay longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the kinds words Theressa. You have a lovely family and are welcome to come back anytime. Andrea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice cabin at a good price.

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Nice place to stay and a great price! Very close to ski areas which was nice. We were able to take our 2 small dogs which worked out great as we didn't have to kennel them.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We had a great time. This cabin is very clean, quiet, convenient and very well-priced. We were looking for a quick weekend getaway, but we definitely look forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

8/15/08 & 8/16/08
This was a nice find that my wife and I enjoyed the short time we actually at the cabin. The facility is very spacious, clean, and quiet. It is a great value. We liked it so much we are planning to return 9 more times this Fall. We wanted more but the days were already booked. We also hope to enjoy the mountain facility and surroundings a little more in the future, as time will allow.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Our stay in this cabin was everything we were hoping for with our mountain getaway. It was clean, comfortable and aestectically pleasing. The location was perfect for all sorts of activities since it is situated in between Boone, Banner Elk, and Blowing Rock. We enjoyed sitting on the deck in the cool mountain breeze watching the garden until dark every night. I would recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Andrea has a beautiful mountain cabin! After visiting several cabins I have to say this was the most cozy of them all. I felt right at home with a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, and sofas to stretch out on after a long day. There is an area outside with comfortable chairs to enjoy coffee or wine and watch the butterfiles from her garden. Andrea is very hospitable and was always two steps ahead of my thinking, providing fresh linens, dishwashing detergent, anything she thought I would need.

I cannot wait to get back up and visit Boone and stay at her property. I plan on telling friends and family about what a pleaure it was to stay in this cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

This is from the owner...I'm new here so no comments to report yet; however, I guarantee that you will not be disappointed if you decide to spend your "getaway" with us. You will have complete privacy and generally have the place to yourself most of the time. Please give us a try!
Andrea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2008   Date of arrival: July 2, 2008

We enjoyed ourselves very much and felt at home in this cabin. We had a great time visiting Grandfather Mountain and seeing the animals and the mile high bridge. We look forward to returning soon.

Natalie Woltz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review