reviews for: listing #77119 - Ann Arbor, Michigan House rental

Lakefront House on Private All Sports Lake
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Horseshoe Lake Assoc
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $300 /nt

sort by:

Best Family Vacation ever!

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

It is hard to put into words the description of this home but I can say it is so much nicer than the pictures. The house was clean, nicely decorated, and had so many extras it would be hard to mention them all. My family and I spent five days at this beautiful lakefront home. We enjoyed fishing and swimming in the lake. We also enjoyed the fire pit in the evenings. This home has enough dishes,pot, pans, and silverware that you could feed 20 + at the same time. We all enjoyed spending time in the game room.What I enjoyed the most was the peace and quiet. It was so relaxing! There are so many rooms in this house that you never feel crowded. I loved that the house is pet friendly so I was able to bring our dog. In addition, the owner of the property was very friendly and always responded very quickly. I will most definitely return next year, but this time for seven days!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Don't Bring Anything But Yourself! It's All Here!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

We just returned from our 2nd stay in this beautiful lake front home. Couldn't be happier with our decision to return! And the pictures on this site do not do it justice. The home is lovely and anything that you could need is supplied.
We've rented homes in the past where the owner provided just the bare necessities, 4 forks, 4 cups, etc, you get the idea, but not here! Plenty of towels, sheets and blankets and the kitchen is stocked with more dishes and extras than you can count! Want a Belgium waffle? you can have one! A large family table that seats 12 is fantastic and the appliances are new and in excellent condition. The game room is a great place to spend some family time after a day of fishing. You can fish right off the dock and the little ones have no trouble pulling in fish after fish! (Small ones, mind you, but so exciting for them!) Plenty of (good)beds and bedding. The loft could sleep a small army! Everything is so comfy, a genuine home away from home! Lots of outdoor furniture,toys and life jackets for the kiddos, and a canoe for the elders to take a cruise in. Our family enjoys this so much and now looks forward to this every year. The proximity to Ann Arbor is great (we like the museum on campus for its' great dinosaur bones and it's free!) the owner is great, very good communication and answers your emails immediately! Only downside is that the water is very high in iron so if that sort of thing bothers you, bring some drinking water but it's hardly a problem! Highly recommended!!! A perfect place to relax.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worth Every Penny!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

I just came back from my Brother's Bachelor party weekend with a group of 15. We had wanted to go golfing, as well as to go watch a University of Michigan game. This was by far the best place for us to rent as it was extremely affordable and within driving distance to Ann Arbor.

While it is sometimes difficult to tell if a place is big enough for you based on pictures alone, trust me when I say this place can hold up to a group of 15. You may want to bring an extra air mattress for the main floor or upper den. But, there were enough beds for everyone, including a pull out coach in the main den.

The nearest grocery store is about 5 minutes down the highway and Michigan Stadium is about 20 - 25 minute drive due to Game Day traffic if you are considering renting this place for Michigan games. Otherwise, it's like a 10 - 15 minute drive into Ann Arbor from here and a cab ride back to this rental unit was roughly $35 - $40 U.S. for us one way because we wanted to check out the night life after the game. Everything in Ann Arbor is cheap, though, in terms of food and booze, so cab fare wasn't an issue for us.

There is definitely room for 8 - 9 cars here. You can't really tell by the photos, but you can easily park 4 vehicles on the driveway. The house is at the very end of the road, so just off the side is a grassy area where you could park 4 - 5 more cars if necessary.

There was enough entertainment value in the cottage itself between the television channels available, the pool table, Nintendo Wii, and the main table in the dining room where we could play cards. The one thing we neglected to use was the fire pit, which is situation right beside the lake. You may also want to bring your bathing suits, too, depending on what time of the year you come as the lake was clean and warm for us.

If you aren't looking for a place to rent for a Bachelor party and/or aren't coming to Ann Arbor for a University of Michigan football game (which I would put under the "Adventure Seekers" category, then I would suggest this place to families with young children/teenagers, retired folks or Bachelorette parties if you are just looking for a few days to relax and unwind. This place has more than enough entertainment and space for that perfect cottage weekend getaway!

I would just suggest you bring at least one vehicle if you rent here. In case you want explore the Ann Arbor/Detroit area a little more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful lake front home!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This was a wonderful home that accommodated all of our wants and needs. It was large enough for everyone to have their own space, yet small enough for everyone to come together to enjoy each other. This beautiful home is located in a great area right on the water. The property was clean and well-maintained. The owner of the property was very accommodating and helpful. He always responded quickly to all of my e-mails, calls, and texts. I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone looking for a good home in the Ann Arbor area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Graduation Weekend

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

I rented this house for my daughter's graduation weekend and should we need to stay in Ann Arbor again we will be seeing if the house is free. The house is spacious and could sleep a football team! The bonus room is truly a bonus as it is a great place to hang out and kick back.

The house is set in a quiet area, at the end of the road. I actually worried that our crowd might be too loud! So it is perfect for those that may want to just get away and be quiet. The house is truly right on the lake and can be seen from the sliding glass door in the kitchen. It's great to sit at in the early morning.

The kitchen was perfect and had all the amenities that we needed. We had a few people over to celebrate and there was plenty of room for everyone. The guests who came over remarked what a find the house was. Tobin, the owner, was very gracious. I called him about using the canoe and he was incredibly polite and encouraging. I have rented homes for various vacations and have found myself hesitant when having to deal with the owner. Tobin made the whole process very enjoyable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great place for all ages!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

Each year my family and extend family share a Christmas weekend together instead of a large gift exchange. As our family grew it got more difficult to find places to acomodate all of us and still give us the feeling of being rested. This was the perfect solution. The multiple floors and private bedrooms allowed us to be together but also space to be alone and rest or read. The kids love the bonus game room! The kitchen was fully equiped with everything we needed. I would recomend this place to anyone looking for a get away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

palace on the lake

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

We stayed here for my daughter's wedding in Ann Arbor.We have a large family and the house was perfect for us.Many beds and lots of room to spread out.The kitchen had everything we could have needed.The kids enjoyed the game room tremendously.

The owner is very friendly and easy to work with.He was very responsive to any needs we had while we stayed here.We highly recommend this house and hope to be able to come back in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

This four bedroom spacious home met the needs of our group well. We traveled in from four states to spend time together. Outdoor activities were limited for us since we visited in November; however, the large dining table provided ample space for cards and games. The fireplace warmed the entire downstairs while we cooked and ate and enjoyed each other. The game room is roomy and comfortable. We found everything to be as described.

One minor ding would be the dusty bunnies under the beds and in corners and cobwebs on overhead light fixtures. Another bathroom would make a big difference for large groups.

Ann Arbor is a quick drive from the lake house and offers fun shopping and restaurants. Brighton is also a quick drive with good shopping readily available. Whitemore Lake is an attractive community. This vacation home is in a fun location no matter what time of year you visit! Detroit Metro airport is an easy 45 minute drive.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

great Labor Day vacation

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

The house was, as my daughter so aptly said, a palace. The game room was great for both the younger kids and the teens in the evening after the sun went down, and the kids spent all day in the water. Lake was great--clean, not heavily trafficked by boats, and we adults enjoyed just sitting next to the water reading and chatting and watching the kids. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. There was plenty of space to find quiet, and plenty of space if you wanted to have the family play games. The kitchen is well equipped; we cooked in every night except pizza night (good delivery pizza in the area). You can easily house a family of ten here without feeling cramped. And it was 8 minutes from downtown Ann Arbor but still feels like a vacation away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place for family fun! Lots of fish caught!

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

This was our meeting place for family coming from all over the US.
We had a great time- a nice surprise was the great fishing. My brother and sister caught SO many fish- we lost count! The house was larger than we expected and had more than enough beds!
The only issue we had was the bedrooms were upstairs and my Mom has a hard time with stairs.
Would recommend this place- in fact- we already have to some people we know on the other side of Michigan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Golf Weekend

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

The house was clean, spacious, and had tons of beds. The game room was also fantastic. The backyard was a great size as well, and allowed for anything from bonfires to frisbee. The location was excellent for golfers, as it is less than 2 miles from a golf course in Whitmore Lake. Excellent experience overall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

good times!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Three families (16 of us) stayed here for a week. The house was large enough for all of us to hang out and relax in our own space. We had a wonderful time. I thought 2 bathrooms would be a problem with so many of us but it worked out well. We brought our own boat for tubing and other water activities and had plenty of parking for the boat/trailer and three big size suvs/trk. There is plenty of room for the kids to run around. We enjoyed sitting along the lake at nite while we fished and had a bonfire. We had no problem contacting the owner if we had a question or problem. The response was immediate. I would recommend staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review