reviews for: listing #77263 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Fabulous Home with Garden! Lots of toys! Steps to the beach!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mission Bay
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $575 /nt
    $1,365 - $4,515 /wk

sort by:

Simply Superb! Must Stay!!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We stayed there during Christmas 2013 and I must say what a WONDERFUL vacation home! One of the best we have stayed at so far. Both the exterior and interior of this home are impressive.
Extremely family friendly home. This home has smallest of the details well thought out for a vacationer, right from pots and pans to books, toys, bikes etc. The home is very cozy, well decorated, very clean. The utensils in kitchen were in very good condition.

And one couldn't ask for a more convenient location - right on Mission bay, just five minutes from Pacific beach. Trader Joe's and grocery stores within 5 min driving distance.

The staff too was very friendly and easy to work with.

What can I say, I am all praises for this wonderful vacation home. We will be coming here again and again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

My family rents homes whenever we travel and this was hands down one of the best equipped and most comfortable homes for us. We have two young sons (1 & 4) and it was great to have the fenced yard to play in as well as all the toys that were available for their use. The entire home was clean and inviting and had more than enough space for all of us. The location was perfect - literally steps to the sand on the bay and only a couple of blocks to the ocean. We made good use of the bikes, surrey bike, and beach wagon as we explored. We even discovered the Pacific Beach Farmers Market where we were able to pick up some fresh local foods for dinner one night. I highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to San Diego. Nicole was a pleasure to work with. I can't say enough good things and we would definitely stay again if we had the chance!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great setup - in Every Way!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in February and were very pleased with this property. It's a minute from Mission Bay (sandy shores, boardwalk) and about 5 minutes from the Pacific Ocean (surf, sand, pier, shops). The home is very clean and has every amenity - from kids toys, to paddle surf boards, and then a 4 wheeled surrey for the boardwalk. Minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Legoland, and Coronado Island. Had a wonderful experiece here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Rental... If You're Looking For A Memorable Family Vacation =)

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

Upon arrival and check in, my family and I were very impressed with the exterior look of the house but just as important, we were very pleased with the location. All property details at spot on. The house is very very close to the bay and the beach area. Its not on the beach but it doesn't need to be. It was close enough for us to sit and enjoy the view and for my two toddlers to walk to the beach to play. Location was great.

The house, very clean, extremely well stocked with kitchen, living and lodging necessities. My entire family and I were very impressed. With my past experiences with home rentals, this house takes the cake. What really blew us away was the garage and all the beach toys, beach equipment, and bikes (for all ages) they had for us.

The management team was very easy to work with and the entire rental process was very smooth from front to back.

Great rental. Great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving Holiday

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Returned from an unforgettable week at Mission Bay. This home was very clean and worked well for our family of 9 (3 little ones). We were over joyed with all the toys that were available for our use. Easy access (walking) to market. Beautiful sunrise over bay. Less than 30 seconds we were digging our toes in the sand! Secure BAC yard made for relaxing evenings for parents/grandparents.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Keeps getting better

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2013

We recently spent two weeks at "our" beach house. This was our fourth stay at the Briarfield property, and the grandchildren think we own the place. (Ha - we wish!) The listing photos and description listed are accurate. A quiet location steps for Mission Bay and two blocks from the ocean.
It makes sense that the property managers need to keep tabs on the number of people using the house. The neighborhood is very quiet with permanent residents on either side. Our family with 4 to 6 year old children enjoyed the fenced backyard once again and made happy kiddo noises. I don't think we bothered the neighbors and we were quiet by 7 or 8 pm. If you want a party house you should look for a different property, perhaps on the bayfront or ocean side. This house is better for a family group or quieter adults.
I do have to agree that the beds are quite firm. This took some getting used to, but was fine for our family. Lots of new linens and upgraded furniture have kept the well occupied house in great shape.
I have to mention the garage full of wonderful toys for every age. Bike to Ralph's for groceries about 4 blocks away. Or take the beach wagon with surfboard, chairs, umbrellas, etc over to the bay.
There is room to park two cars - one in the carport and a small car behind the garage door. This can be very important on busy beach days!
San Diego never disappoints and this trip we enjoyed the beach (of course), the Zoo, bike ride to LaJolla, touring the Maritime Museum ships, the Birch Aquarium in LaJolla, and dining at the Pier Cafe in Seaport Village and the Olive for breakfast near Mission Bay.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Late Summer Vacation

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

This is a great rental property, and we enjoyed our stay except for one thing: the property owner was absolutely inflexible on allowing guests. No one was permitted on the property. We attempted to negotiate the guest policy since we have friends and family in the area, but were told it was not possible. The house was clean, spacious, and well-decorated. We especially enjoyed the play room and backyard. The garage has all the toys you'd want for the bay or beach. I would like to stay here again, but probably would not because of the guest policy.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Nice to hear that you enjoyed the house so much. In regards to allowing guests: in your specific case you already reached the max. occupancy limit and we therefore could not agree to having more people over (especially not an unlimited amount of friends/extended family). It's very important to us that our guests can enjoy their vacation to the fullest but at the same time it is our job to protect the owner's investment and keep the neighborhood in peace. Our vacation homes are very nice properties that we keep to highest standards (in all regards). In order to maintain this standard we have to limit the number of individuals to a certain maximum.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great accommodation in Mission Bay

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We were a group of two boys (aged 4 and 6) their parents and one of their grandmothers. The house was perfect had everything we could possibly want! The inclusions exceeded our expectations. Its location was great, and we all agreed that we'd happily stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful, charming beach house

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We spend (unfortunately only) 1 week in this nice house and we loved it from the first minutes. It is very familiy friendly with a lot of nice toys, bikes, boards, ... and also beautiful, sunny garden to relax. Our Kids (3 and 6) loved the bicycle tours along the beach and the playgrounds nearby. The water in the bay was perfect for young children and it is really just a few steps away. But we also enjoyed to watch the Surfers and "Party People" at the ocean side.

The house has a very nice beach atmosphere and beautiful decoration (boards everywhere). It is central (you do not need a car - all Restaurants and Shops are just a few streets away) but quiet. There was more than enough from everything: dishes, glasses, towles,.. and all was very clean. Finally: It was perfect. Thanks a lot!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

House is wonderful! Clean and well stocked. The garage full of toys is the best. We had 2 girls ages 5 and 6 staying with us. Everything was perfect. Kitchen has everything you will ever need. Close to bayside and within walking distance to beach side. The park down the bayside walk is perfect for the kids. I love this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A few unmentioned details

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

My family stayed here for a week in April 2013: 6 adults, (1) 19-month old very active boy. We fully appreciated the single story (2 steps down from kitchen into TV living space), the many kid-friendly toys/books, only a few decor items that weren't as kid-proofed (probably just my child!), protected outlets on every outlet, and the enclosed patio/outside area. The "den" must refer to the 2nd living space (the pictures show a white modern low-back couch....there is a different couch, regular back, comfy one); so there are two living/sitting rooms. We spent most of the time in the "den" as there was adequate seating for all of us. The queen bedroom (not the "master") has the adjoining bathroom. We were able to fit our graco pack n play in this bathroom for my son's nighttime sleeping (he is way too restless and light of a sleeper to sleep in the same room as us). There are two coffee makers: a traditional coffee pot maker (basket style, liners were in cupboard) and a Tassimo pod-style. The local Ralph's only had "large" pods, which make a larger cup than fits the coffee mugs (i.e. major spillage!), until we finally used the coffee pitcher. Just a note of caution! Our only complaint is that the beds were very firm and polyester pillows. My dad ended up on the couch, and the rest of us had a little less than perfect sleep (and we don’t normally sleep on really soft beds either). They also did not have a paddleboard, as mentioned in either the description or another review—we were hoping to do this activity on the bay side, saving $$ on rental fees. Nevertheless, the location, price, and "family-friendliness" of the place probably can't be beat! We would stay here again, just maybe bring our own pillows and maybe even a mattress topper.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Family Holiday Rental

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

We are from Australia, and met our English family here in San Diego - a perfect halfway point. The house as amazing, and perfect for our three small kids (6mo, 18mo and 3.5yr). Toys for all ages and even a dress up box made the holiday for the older kids. High chair, cots and all normal inclusions meant we could relax immediately, and then explore the safe and beautiful neighbourhood on the bikes, skateboards and scooters that the house had for us to use, whenever we liked! The grocery store and ocean beach are just 5 minutes walk away, and Mission Bay is right next door with still water and soft sand. Again, the house had a million beach toys for kids of all ages to enjoy, and 100 metres down the beach is a watersport rental place. I couldn't recommend this house, and the rental company, more highly. It was absolutely perfectly located and perfectly set up for a magic family holiday. Oh, and at only 5 minutes by car from Seaworld, and 20 from the city we took in all the fun San Diego had to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Setting

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

My husband and I, along with our son and daughter-in-law and 4 grandchildren stayed in this lovely home for 8 days. We felt it was the perfect location...close to the beach, Sea World, the zoo, restaurants, and grocery stores including a Trader Joe's. The house was set up with everything we needed and we all loved the garage full of bikes and the surrey. We would definitely stay here again for our next San Diego vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

from the frozen north.....

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

if you are traveling with kids, this is the house to rent. (our kids range in age from 15 to 5) the house had EVERYTHING necessary. impeccably clean, well organized and tremendous location where everything important is walking distance. delightful home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

This place was great for our family of 6. The house had everything we needed - it was wonderful!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

This house was very clean and comfortable and had every amenity you could need on vacation (even hairdryers in the bathrooms) We really enjoyed and appreciated the sports stuff in the garage that the owners graciously share with renters!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable home near ocean and perfect for families!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our one year old. It was our first big family vacation. I wanted a location that had the things an infant needs, and they had it all. Everything was organized and clean. The high chair and crib were there along with things that we didn't think to bring and were glad they had, such as a baby monitor and changing pad. They had lots of kid dishes too. They even had bath toys! There were two strollers, one was a jogging stroller. We never went running with her, but it was nice to have the option. There were toys, games, puzzles, board books, books for grown ups and DVDs to watch. We spent a lot of time at night catching up on new movies. The couch is very comfy!

The house was secure and in a quiet location next to the ocean. It was in walking distance of the boardwalk which was the main place people would take walks, bike or run. The grocery store was close too! The kitchen was stocked with all the amenities you would need to cook.

We are looking forward to coming back to this location in the future. Possibly with another couple or family. I would recommend this house to anyone who has kids or who don't- it's a great house in a nice location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Home

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

A fantastic house, close to the bay, beach and restaurants. We had a wonderful time here. It has everything you could possibly need, and so welcoming to stay in a family home after a few weeks away. The push bikes and kids toys and dress ups were put to good use. We went for a 10km bike ride every morning with the kids and took in the beautiful surrounds of Mission Beach. We would highly recommend this house!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Home-Away-From-Home

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

Great beach home for families with kids steps away from Mission Beach (less than 1/2 city block). Property was clean, well maintained and fenced backyard was well manicured. Tons of kids toys included in the house and garage. High-speed internet was fast and Directv was a plus. Can't wait to go back. Would highly recommend to any family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect property and location

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We loved our week here. We looked at so many homes/condos and feel like we could not have made a better decision. the location was perfect (close to everything, but not a beach house on the beach side... which had a different vibe for sure). Every night we would walk for dinner and/or drinks.
The house is also perfect. Lots of toys for the kids and a nice backyard to enjoy.
Rental management company was great to work with.
We look forward to future stays!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Family Getaway!

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

I was lucky enough to visit this house when one of my friend's family rented it last summer, as I live in San Diego. They have a little girl the same age as mine (now 3) and it was just perfect for kids. I convinced my parents and brother and sister-in-law to make the trek down from Northern CA to rent for a long weekend (6 adults and 2 young kids). We had a blast! I now have a 1 year old and 3 year old and the house is just perfect for kids. Great enclosed backyard, so many toys and books for the kids. Literally didn't need to bring anything for the kids aside from their clothes, bottles, diapers. They have everything from a high chair to multiple strollers, to an awesome beach wagon, to sippy cups and kids plates/bowls/cups, etc. Everything was so organized and labeled - loved it! Awesome great room and the outdoor shower is amazing to rinse everyone off before coming in the house. It was also great to not be directly on the boardwalk but 2 houses in - so still a view of the water from the living room and front porch, but none of the heavy traffic/noise. Mission Bay is just a perfect place to bring families with young kids. There are rarely any waves, yet you are a few blocks from the actual beach, if that's what you're looking for. Made me realize how lucky we are to live in San Diego near all these great places - such a great family destiation. Nicole and Pacific Sands team were awesome to work with. Quick to respond and super helpful. Highly recommend! We will be back!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded Expectations in Every Way!

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

This is a fantastic rental property, especially for families with kids. The house is so well stocked with no details left out. Everything from toys, puzzles, books, bikes, boogie boards, wet suits and skateboards. For those with young children, there is a crib, high chair, and plenty of kid-friendly plates, bowls, cups and utensils. All you need to bring is yourself!

The two sitting areas were great – allowed the adults to separate from the kids.

Perfect proximity to ocean / bay walks, restaurants, shopping, and Sea World. We are seasoned VRBO'ers - and this is without a doubt the best family home in San Diego that we have stayed in.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for Family Fun and Relaxation

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our family - mom (celebrating her 75th birthday), two sons and their wives, and a grand-daughter - enjoyed a week of wonderful weather, daily outings to the beach (about a minute's walk) where we enjoyed beach chairs, paddle board, building sand critters, collecting shells, and swimming in the calm and sort-of warm water of Mission Bay. The only time we used a car was to go to Sea World (10 minutes - go early in the day to avoid the large crowds) and to Old Town for dinner one night. We walked to restaurants, the open-ocean beaches, grocery and drug stores, and shops. The lawn chairs in the back yard were comfortable, the grill was easy to use, the outside shower provided an easy way to clean up after time in the sand. We would be delighted to go again,l and/or recommend the property to friends wanting a relaxing home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than expected

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We loved staying in this home. The list of amenities did not even mention all of the extras that were provided. The garage was full of toys to have fun with. The home was beautiful, just 3 doors down from the water, you could see the water from the living room and bedroom. We would definately stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelieveable home with fun play accessories :-)

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

I have a 10 month old daughter and loved the fact that there was a full crib, jogging stroller, high chair, co-pilot for bicycle, and even rocking chair...it made it so much easier to travel "light"!
The home itself is beautiful, well-kept, and stocked with games and books, and has a wonderful one-story lay-out. Location is prime, right on Mission Bay and only a couple blocks from the Mission Beach boardwalk. We loved our stay and would definitely recommend/do it again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Phenomenal Experience!

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

This was our first time renting a vacation home vs. hotel and we had no idea what to expect. We could not have been happier with this home and will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area. Not only was the home clean and spacious, it offered a plethora of extras such as children's toys (books, games, puzzles) and sporting activities (numerous bikes for all ages to ride on the beach's walkway, scooters, boogie boards, etc.). I came here with my husband, his parents, sister, and his 4-year old nephew to enjoy the area's attractions such as SeaWorld (literally a 5-minute drive away) and the San Diego Zoo, but I wish we had more time to spend just relaxing at the house. It is one of those places that gives you a sense of a true vacation. I would highly, highly recommend this home for a vacation - alone, or with your family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Rental Property

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

I read many reviews on this particular home before we arrived and it did not disappoint! I loved everything about this property, from the proximity to the beach, to all the toys, books, bikes, movies, etc for the kids, the enclosed yard; I could go on and on. We will definitely be looking to rent this place again next time we go to San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home. Can't wait to return....

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

We are a family of five, with three young boys (from Australia). We arrived at the house after dark and the check in process was simple. We were amazed at the property, the beach house theme was a nice touch and the facilities were more than one could ever want for on a holiday. The garage was full of equipment, bikes and toys, it was great. They even had the batteries on charge for the electric car. It's the little things that make a difference. There is so much in this house, that we were still discovering new toys, games or the dress up box days after we arrived. The location is great, the bay is only seconds away from the front door and restaurants and grocery stores are a short distance away. Everything was very convenient. The agent was a pleasure to deal and communication was always quick. The security deposit was refunded promptly. I would recommend this house to any family large or small, we even had a friend and her six year old stay with us for a few nights and never felt crowded. This is the first time we have used VRBO and had been putting it off for more than a year, (always stayed in hotels etc) simply because we weren't sure how easy it would be from the other side of the world. It was simple and will probably never stay in a hotel again. This is definitely the way to holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Rental

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

This is a great rental property, especially for families with kids. Lots of toys, dress up clothes, small powered pink mustang, movies, puzzles, books, etc. There were plenty of bikes for us all to go on family bike rides. It was one of the cleanest well stocked rentals we've ever stayed in. Perfect proximity to ocean / bay walks, restaurants, shopping, Sea World, whale watching, and more. I would definitely recommend this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Return Trip

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

This property was even better the second time around. It was great to return and find everything still in place. The fact that the house is all on one level (except 2 steps down to the family room) makes it great for our whole family from the grandparents to the 2 year old.

The fenced yard is very secure and provides a great place for the kids to play with all the wonderful toys from the 2 car garage. Those toys are in good condition and provide hours of fun for children and adults.
The bikes with baskets and kid carriers were our favorite items, but it is hard to beat the kids scooters, bikes, pink car, red wagon, beach sand toys, stroller, beach chairs and umbrella, surf boards, wet suits, etc. Save a bundle of money and time on rentals if you are an active family like ours.

The kitchen is well stocked and Ralph's is about 1/2 mile
away and is a full grocery store. Enjoy the BBQ and sip a drink in the lovely quiet back yard. Or stroll 50 yards to Mission Bay beach for sand play and calm, sailboat water. About 3 blocks to the west is Mission Beach with lovely sunsets, boardwalk action and big surf waves. Try The Green Flash restaurant for yummy fish and seaside
sunset dining.

This trip we especially enjoyed Pt. Loma, USS Midway and Harbor cruise, Legoland and beach play. There is so much to do in San Diego.

We will return to this property ASAP!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AN EXCEPTIONAL PROPERTY in every way

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

The owner's description completely understates the quality, location and amenities this property offers. The 1970s house has been recently renovated to like-new condition with impeccable taste in the choice of colors, finishes, and appliances. The immaculately maintained interior garden is like an elegant outdoor room with its grand tile-topped table and stainless steel BBQ. The two indoor sitting areas--one for the kids and another for the adults--provides something for everyone. We are seasoned VRBO'ers and this property deserves more than five stars for its location and quality.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

This house was as wonderful as all the other reviews state. It was very spacious for our group of five adults and two preschoolers. The toys for kids are amazing: not only the bikes of all sizes, some with baby seats, scooter, kid's electric car, sand toys, kids toys but a whole trunk of great kid costumes in the room with twin beds. Terrific barbque outside and big wooden table: lovely evenings for adults at the table because the two kids were so happy playing with the toys in the yard after dinner. We loved being right by the bay for gentle waves and walking only four blocks to big ocean waves. And we all appreciated the outdoor shower with warm water after the beach. Being close to Trader Joes and Ralphs made shopping easy and we cooked almost all meals at the house. Separate living room with ocean view and big family room gave everyone lots of space. Everyone hopes to go back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A dream

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

This vacation home was a dream for all the various ages in our family. Within minutes we felt like we were home. The house had everthing we possibly need and more. We all loved the home and our week on the bay. Hope to be back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home for Extended Family

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

We stayed at this property during the last week of June 2011 with our family ranging in age from 1-year old toddlers to grandparents. Before our arrival, the management (Nicole) stayed in contact with us and readily responded to any questions that we asked. The house was very clean and had a beautiful backyard and patio that we used frequently. The property had everything one could imagine to create a fun and enjoyable week for all ages. The beach equipment, toys, strollers, crib, high chair, bikes, etc. were all wonderful to have on hand. The location of the home was wonderful - a couple of feet from the Bay beach - which was perfect for young children. In addition, the ocean, restaurants, stores were just a couple of blocks away. A big plus was that parking was available for this property. During our stay in San Diego numerous friends in the area stopped by to visit and were overwhelmed by our "rental" - "WOW - what a find!" was their usual response. Every member of our family loved this property. We are already talking about when we can get back to San Diego and stay here again. What a memorable vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Bay House

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We had a great time at the mission bay house. The owners knew exactly what to have on hand
to make kids happy. Our 2 grandchildren loved all the toys and the adults loved the bikes. Nicole
was very easy to work with. Location is great. Quieter side of the action for families. Great vacation
house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal Family Rental

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This rental was as advertised and everything we were hoping for and more. Very clean. Plenty of room for six plus a baby. Nice separation from the sleeping areas and the television area. Plenty of toys and videos. Enclosed yard with BBQ and large eating area. Garage had everything a family would want at the beach: bikes, beach toys, chairs, boards. All you have to do is show up. It is ideally located close to everything (bay, beach, supermarket, restaurants) but in a quiet neighborhood. Two car parking a big plus. I would recommend (and have) to a friend, and would like to stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

This was the most amazing well equipped rental house we've stayed in. Superb location and everything we needed. Fantastic decor - hope to return. Thanks for all the kids toys and garage full of bikes etc.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

The house was better than we expected. Clean, comfy beds, nice furniture, and the list goes on. We bbq'ed and sat out back as the kids rode scooters, skateboards and played soccer (all equipment provided. Our kids we under 7 yrs old). We felt right at home. The outdoor shower was a huge hit with the kids and I enjoyed one too. The sand wagon was key and all the bikes were superb. Since two families split the spring break prices, I think we got off cheaper than a hotel since we ate at home for breakfast (and a few dinners) used all the great toys, boogie boards and bikes. highly recommend this beach house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family vacation spot

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This house was very nice, comfortable and stylish; exceeding our expectations. We stayed there with our two young boys who quickly made themselves at home in the family room towards the back of the house. They were entertained with a well stocked closet of toys, games and videos plus freqent trips to the Bay or Ocean Beach to dig in the sand with sand toys from the garage. We thought the location was great, about 15 minutes from Balboa Park which we visited several times for the Zoo and museams (railroad museam is a hit for boys under 5) and 40 minutes from Legoland. All the bedding and furniture was of nice quality and in very good condition, a tough find in some rentals. In addition to the toys we took full advantage of the strollers in the garage for trips to the beach, shopping or to cafes. We'd highly recommend it and stay there again if we get another week in San Diego again soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great Beach house

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

This house, yard, garage full of toys and location were just as billed and delightful. The ranch style home with no stairs was great for all of our family. The fenced yard was perfect for our two year old twins and being 100 yards from Mission Bay and a couple of block from the ocean made beach access very accessible. A great grocery store called Ralph's is a short bike ride away and the baskets on the bikes made quick shopping trips a breeze. The kitchen had everything we needed including coffee maker, blender, dishwasher with soap and many pots, pans and dishes. The BBQ worked well and dining on the patio was very nice. We hope we can return to this comfy beach house one day soon. Many thanks to Nicole for making everything go smoothly for our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Hi Nicole,
Just to let you know the house on Briarfield was every thing you said it would be. We could not have asked for anything more. Our 22 month old granddaughter had everything she needed. We all had a great time. It is the perfect little house and yard by the bay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great trip...

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

This property was perfect for what my family needed. The best thing is that the property is conveniently located to everything that the Mission Bay/Beach area offers - it's all within a short walk, or a quick bike ride if you prefer! We were in town for a wedding and had people going different directions every day. The house is very comfortable and open... comfortable beds, just steps away from the Bay's boardwalk, and a nice private patio area in the back if you prefer peace and quiet. All amenties listed were available for our use. The property manager was very easy to work with and answered all of my questions in a timely manner. Would definitely consider renting from them again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quite a find!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

Snatch up this house while you can! Both the yard and the house were very nicely kept. We found everything to be just as it was described in the listing/photos. We loved the private backyard with it's large patio table. It was perfect for quiet evening BBQ's. The location couldn't be better. It's just 2-3 houses in from the bay. It's close enough that you feel like your right on the bay-there is a beautiful view of the water from the living room window- and it's far enough away that you can enjoy some privacy and quiet from the boardwalk. We traveled with an infant so the crib and pack-n-play were nice to have. They even had a baby monitor and a high chair-not to mention strollers galore! My older two children loved the bikes and toys that were in the garage. They stayed entertained every minute we were at the house. My husband and I also had a great time on the adult bikes. Try the tandem bicycle. It is so fun! Boogie boards, wet-suits, kites, sand toys, you name it and this house has it!
The kitchen was well equipped. The beds were comfortable. The towels were soft. We were really sad to leave this home away from home. The next time we visit San Diego this is where we will be staying.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Beach House Adventure

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 26, 2010

This was the most awesome vacation house ever. My family of 6 adults and my one grand daughter had a GREAT time. The house was more than we expected and furnished with anything and everything that we
could imagine to make our vacation the best. This home is just steps away from the mission bay and beach and just a few blocks from the pacific ocean, where it was easy access for boogie boarding and surfing. We were able to enjoy the garden area for the grand daughter to play and cook out and eat outside..Myself and my family HIGHLY recommend this house and will definetly go back. The management is great and very helpful and easy to work with.

Try it you won't be disappointed!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home set up for an active and fun holiday!

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

The warmth of the owner made our stay all the better. The house is beautiful and well furnished in a surfer beach theme. Included in the rental are all of the beach toys that you could possibly wish for, surf boards, boogie boards, bicyles and more. Set up for an active and fun holiday. A great location, steps from mission bay and thus on the quite side and a short walk or ride to mission beach. A great find for us since we had never visited mission bay/beach before. Very close to all attractions. A well equiped kitchen and a enclosed private garden with bbq. We had a blast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review