reviews for: listing #77279 - Paris, France Apartment rental

19th Century 2-BDR with Character at the Center
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  19 Century Building
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (EUR) €129 - €159 /nt
    €875 - €1,050 /wk
    €2,750 - €3,750 /mth

sort by:

Great location, spacious and so convenient!

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

For a week long girls trip to Paris, we looked at quite a few properties, and we decided on Niko's place, ultimately due to his prompt response to our questions. This was our first time to rent an apt for vacation, so we didn't know what to expect, and we found his instruction/response to be professional, concise and well-organized, which calmed our nerves.

Of course, this wasn't the only reason for choosing his apartment. We had the usual prerequisites: location, convenience and space large enough to house 4 females. Nikos' place delivered all counts. In terms of location, we walked everywhere, including Opera Garnier (10min), Madeline (15 min), Marais and Cite (15 min), Montmartre (30 min), st Martin canal (20 min), just to name a few. The train station was just around the corner. As for convenience, there was supermarkets nearby, a wonderful street market 3 blocks away where we bought a baguette and fruits every morning like Parisians do :) The apartment came with necessary tools/utensils to cook hearty breakfast, a washer to do laundry (used once), and well functioning tv/wireless to stay in touch with the rest of the world (we had a major hurricane situation back home during our stay, and it was nice to be able to watch CNN and BBC to monitor the situation, and skype with the loved ones). We stayed during the early fall, and it was nice to have a built in heaters in all rooms for those chilly nights. The apartment was spacious for four of us, we never felt cramped, except for the fact that there was one bathroom :P (we knew this before booking, so this was not an issue).

The only negative thing was the street noise on saturday night (other nights were fine). If you are staying in the main bedroom, you don't hear a thing, but the second bedroom is facing the street, so you hear people walking home from night-out. Luckily, we don't understand French at all, so it was white noise to us, and it was just one night, which happened to be the night we arrived, so we fell asleep anyway.

All in all, we would definitly recommend Nikos' apartment. Thanks Nikos!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location for central Paris

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

This flat's central location coupled with a Metro station at the end of the road makes it a great base for tourists. We walked to Notre-Dame which was close enough for our children not to complain about the walk.

Also within easy walking distance was the lovely eating and shopping rue des Petits Carreaux.

The flat contained everything we needed and the free wifi was well used planning each day out. We cooked a number of meals in the flat and had enough crockery and utensils. The linen was clean and fresh.

Obviously this is an urban flat and so there was some road noise outside at different times of the day but it was worth the trade off for being so close to the centre.

We would certainly consider staying here again if we return to Paris.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Light, bright and roomy

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We were initially attracted by the photos on line that showed a light and bright apartment, and we were not disappointed.

If anything, it was roomier than we had imagined, especially since our last apartment was also 2 bedrooms but with all rooms being very 'compact'.

Despite some typical quirks like a petite dishwasher and a very 'cosy' shower, it provided a great base for our activities. There were enough 'seed' supplies to mean we didn't have to spend on some of the basics when we cooked for ourselves. Even being able to eat a home-made breakfast each morning can be a considerable saving.

The location of the apartment means its a 10 or so minute walk to the big tourist areas along the Seine, but as that usually means meandering down the big market street or rue Montorguiel, its always a pleasant experience.

Though a small-ish road, rue Poissoniere is used all day and night. Most of the rubbish removal is during the waking hours but the mosquito-like whine of passing scooters is pretty much non-stop. Thank goodness for the double glazing.

Nikos was at all times very helpful.The instructions for the apartment are clear and complete, and he followed up when we were in the apartment to make sure all was well.

If we chose to stay on this side of the city again, we would not hesitate to come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review of 31 rue Poissonniere

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

The apartment worked very well for us, two old souls who spent 3 weeks there in May. We thought it was reasonably priced for what is there and where it is. Nikos was easy to deal with, performed a needed repair when notified, and promptly returned our security deposit. We would be happy to rent the apartment on our next visit to Paris.

This is a walk-up, the furnishings are of the IKEA-type, and the street can sometimes be noisy. But the apartment is equipped so you can live there more or less as a normal Paris resident would. You can roast a leg of lamb, prepare ratatouille, boil a pot of pasta, or you can walk down the street, buy a rotisserie chicken or a carry-out dinner from a traiteur, then reheat it in the microwave. You can do your laundry in the washer and dryer and stay connected to the world through Wifi. The bed is comfortable, the water is hot, and the bath towels are abundant.

We’ve stayed in both the 5th and the 6th arrondissements on previous visits to Paris. In terms of having convenient access to shops for daily living and in terms of being able to walk or use the metro to visit museums, churches, monuments, interesting neighborhoods, etc. the 2nd arrondissement is better. Within a 3 or 4 minute walk south, your street becomes the pedestrian-only market street, rue Montorgeuil, with its numerous food shops and cafes. At the foot of the street, about a kilometer from the apartment, you are at the St. Eustache Church with its wonderful organ and at an entrance to the Les Halles Metro/RER station. You are within a mile of the Louvre, the Centre Pompidou, the Opera Garnier, and the Galleries Lafayette. Within a mile and a half you have the Palais Royale, the Madeleine, Fauchon, and Hediard, Notre Dame, the St. Chapelle, and the Concergerie, St. Germain-des-Prés, the Musée D’Orsay, and the Orangerie, all of the Marais and the Place des Vosges, Montmartre and the Place Pigalle, the Tuileries and the Luxembourg Garden. If you are not a walker, or in bad weather, you can go 100 paces up the street, turn left at the corner, and right in front of you is an entrance to the #8 and #9 Metro lines. Or you can walk down the street a couple of minutes to access the #3 Metro. The three lines either take you where you want to go or connect you to other lines that will.

If you are seeking a comfortable, well-furnished, reasonably-priced, conveniently-located apartment, this is a good choice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Wonderful Place to Stay

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

My family stayed here for a short 3 days in May. We absolutely loved this nice little apartment. My young son had his own room for napping and playing and the TV/DVD player played non-region specific movies (a plus for our north american dvds). The kitchen was well stocked with plates and even a water warmer for my morning/evening/ any time I have a moment tea. The beds were nice and the linens were clean. It was close to everything including the hour walk to the Eiffel Tower!
The only problem was the noise from the street. It was voting day and the crowd congregated outside the door. We felt safe but the cheers woke us up plenty in the morning, but that is no fault of the owner. Just watch for voting day! lol!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You won't be disappointed.

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

My husband, myself, and our three adult daughters stayed in this apartment in March. I was certainly concerned about being able to find the apartment from the metro stop and even more concerned that the apartment even existed. Happily, the instructions the owner gave, were easy to follow, and we were inside the apartment with no problems.

The apartment itself is beautifully appointed and very clean. The beds were very comfortable, and the apartment was roomy enough that even with five people and their suitcases, we didn't feel crowded.

All in all, a great place to land after a long day of sightseeing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice Apartment in a Great Location

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

My family stayed in this apartment for a week in April 2012. The apartment is well-suited for families with children -- very comfortably and nicely furnished. It was so nice to have a kitchen, living room and separate bedrooms. The apartment is around the corner from a Metro Station -- walking distance from several grocery stores, a great crepe/panini outlet, numerous shops and restaurants, including the Hard Rock Cafe. There is also a wonderful line of local cheese, chocolate, poultry, seafood, and other local shops down the road -- they have a farmers' market on Sundays. Being in this apartment gave us a wonderful window into city-life in the heart of Paris.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous apartment in a great location

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

This is an apartment we'd highly recommend to friends and family. As family of 5 it was a perfect size and nicely furnished with all the mod cons. Clean, very secure and warm in winter.
Excellent location - walking distances to everything you need (restaurants, supermarket, banks etc ) and a stones throw from the subway.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Location Location Location

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

Great apartment, just steps from everything. Has all you need for a short or long stay. Excellent communication with owner and very easy transactions with paypal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

natacha

Review submitted: November 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

parfait sejour, l'appartement est tres beau, propre, neuf, la literie exellente!il est super bien situé a 15min a pied des galeries lafayette, le grd rex est collé a l appart et il y a pleins de restau et de bars sympa aux alentours!! bref c'est super!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Great Apartment

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Niko's apartment the last week of October. The apartment was clean, bright, and modern. It is in a well-kept building in a location that has everything you need for an easy vacation. Markets, restaurants, and metro are close by. Nikos has stocked the apartment with everything you could need, from umbrellas to guide books to a shopping cart for marketing. No elevator, you climb stairs up two stories to the apartment. Keep this in mind when packing your suitcase! Nikos is a great person to rent from. We would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Apartment, Great Location!

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

We are wrapping up our last evening here at the apartment, and the experience was fantastic. This was our first time visiting Paris, and after traveling all over the city, I don't think we could have chosen a better place to stay. The apartment is newly remodeled, and the second bedroom was a great place to keep our luggage (there were only 2 of us). It is very close to public transportation (there is a Metro station about a block away with easy access to everything you want to see in Paris), and it is a 5 min walk to Montregueil (a neighborhood full of cafes, bakeries, patisseries, fresh food/produce, and restaurants), and about a 20 minute walk to The Louvre (or take the Metro). The area feels very safe, we were not afraid to walk around at night. The apartment is on a street that is fairly quiet during the day and night, but just steps from food and entertainment in every direction. Nikos (the owner) was extremely responsive and a pleasure to work with. Prior to our arrival, he provided us with suggestions for options to reach the apartment from the airport, along with other helpful information including phone numbers for the local taxi service and the locations of local grocery stores. We will absolutely be staying here again next time we visit Paris!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great apartment..

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful vacation in Paris. What made it even better was this apartment. It is exceptionally well kept and tastefullly decorated in a quiet area. It is also close to the Metro. Nikos was an excellent host, attending to our every need. There is also a great marketplace a few blocks down with loads of shops and cafes.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of the nicest apartments in Paris!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

My husband and I had the good fortune of staying in this lovely property for 3 nights. As described, it is extremely well presented with all the amenities you could possibly need. (In fact, the photos do not do the apartment justice.) It is located in what has to be the best area of Paris for market shopping and people watching. Patisseries, boulangeries, charcuteries - they were all on the doorstep, along with cafes and bistros. It is also close to interesting sights (eg: many of the original Passages and Les Halles) and some great restaurants. We took one of Nikos' recommendations and went to Restaurant Chartier one evening and had a great evening. We would highly recommend this property, particularly to couples, and hope to be able to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely wonderful stay in Paris

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

This apartment made our stay in Paris absolutely wonderful. The location is great. We loved being within walking distance to the Montorgueil market and two metro lines. The apartment is beautiful. All new everything. Having a kitchen allows you to take advantage of the markets, pack picnics and just relax more. The owner provided very detailed explanations of how to get in to the apartment, where things were located and how to get to different places near the apartment. He was always very prompt in replying to emails. I highly recommend booking a stay. We have already recommended this to friends. I would stay here again anytime.
Anne, Toronto, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very pleasantly surprised with our discovery

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

We recommend both this host and his Paris apartment. The host was punctual, responsive, and reasonable. His instructions re: key retrieval and entrance were clear. In addition, it was reassuring to us that he speaks English. His apartment was very clean, bright and spacious. In addition, it was well-secured and contained all of the appliances (many seemingly brand new) and free wi-fi service that we had hoped to find. Moreover, it was conveniently located near shopping, restaurants and a metro stop 100 meters (or less) away. In summary, we were uncertain what we would find immediately before arriving, and we were very pleasantly surprised with our discovery and experience.
Peter, Boston

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect apartment in Paris

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

Nikos' Paris apartment could not have been more perfect. Located in a lively part of the city and within walking distance to the Louvre, Siene, and Tulieres, as well as steps from a convenient subway stop, it was truly ideal. The apartment itself is wonderfully furnished. It worked out great for our group of 4 visiting the city for the first time. Nikos was a wonderful and attentive landlord, and dealt with very minor issues (...like "how do we work the washing machine?") quickly and effectively. I could not recommend this apartment more for a trip to Paris...you'll feel like a local!
Jamie, New Orleans

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice appartment, great location!

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

We just return from Nikos nice appartment and had a wonderful stay there.
The appartment was exactly how we expected it, Clean, nicely decorated, well equipped with all the amenities you need for a short stay in Paris.


It's centraly located, in a small street near Chatelet les halles but also very close from all the shops and Gallery Lafayette. There is also a metro station 25m from the appartment. A few blocks from the appartment you'll find restaurants, cinemas, theatres, bars, cafes, shops, pharmacy, etc!

Nikos, the owner, was very attentive and responsive.

We will definitly return there for our next trip to Paris and recommend it to everyone!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous, completely modern, stylishly and quiet.

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Nikos' apartment in the 2nd Arr for a week and I can't say enough good things. The apartment is fabulous, completely modern and clean, stylishly furnished, and quiet. It is located in an amazing part of town that has a lot going on, but this section of the street is sleepy so you get very little street noise at night. We mainly walked since we were already so close to everything, but it is also around the corner from a metro stop so you can get across Paris in no time. Getting there from the airport was a breeze. We took the Roissybus and it was a piece of cake. Our hosts were just lovely and made sure we had everything we needed. I will most definitely be staying here on my next trip to Paris! Thank you Nikos for making our vacation memorable for all the right reasons!
Rianna, Boston, MA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious, modern and in great shape

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at Niko's apartment for 4 nights. Apartment was clean, modern and in great shape due to the recent renovations. The apartment is well stocked with dishes, towels, dishwasher, clothes washing machine, hairdryer and other amenities needed for a stay. Nikos was a great host, met us at the apartment upon our arrival and was quick to answer our questions via email during our stay. Close to cafes, grocery store, pharmacies. A wonderful alternative and better value than staying in a hotel!

Alexandra, Toronto

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place, exactly as advertised

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

Two good-sized bedrooms, roomy living room with big TV and satellite channels and DVD player; cute kitchen opening into living room, giant American-sized fridge; big, brand-new bathroom, washer and dryer. Half block from Blvd Bonne Nouvelle - bustling with non-touristy shops and restaurants; a few blocks from pedestrian Rue Montorgueil, filled with GOOD restaurants and quaint shops. Spotless building and apartment.

Robert, NY

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious, Completely renovated with character

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

Recently stayed for 3 weeks at this 2 BR apartment. It's spacious, newly and completely renovated ( kept the original wood ceiling beams in the living area and that added character) and clean. It's rare to find a 2 BR, especially at an affordable price. High ceilings and thick walls made for a quiet building. Great location near two metro stops. Close to the Rue Montorgueil, a historic market area where you can have a variety of meals or take out for dinners at the apartment. Easy walking distance to many sights. Our host, made every effort to see that everything was taken care of to make the stay enjoyable. Thank you Nikos.

Frank, San Francisco, CA

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome!

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

We visited Paris for the week of New Years 2011 and had the most amazing trip in part to the great accommodation provided by Nikos. The 2 bedroom apartment is in the heart of the city with 3 Metro stations within minutes from the flat. There are also 3 groceries stores minutes away. Whenever hungry or in need of a refreshment, just walk half a block to the main boulevard and have your pick of restaurants and bars. The apartment is in a quiet side street and you feel at home every time you come back from exploring the city.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Highly recommended

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed in Nikos's 2 br on Rue Poissonnière with her parents and our baby in November and December 2010. Everything in the unit was new and fresh. The place was comfortable, well-stocked, tastefully decorated, and plenty big for us all. The location is super - 20 minute walk to many attractions such as the Louvre and Notre Dame and a metro station is only a few steps away. Plenty of places to eat and shop in the area. We found Nikos considerate, accessible, and responsive. For example, he set up a baby bed and even had a metro-friendly stroller waiting for us on arrival.

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review