reviews for: listing #77363 - New Smyrna Beach, Florida House rental

Ocean Front Four Bedroom House with Garage
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,200 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

BIKE WEEK 8-15 MAR 2014

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

I don't think we could have rented a better place anywhere for our group of 9. Right on the ocean, 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. We had 3 generations of family, plus 2 friends of family members. The garage was large enough to accommodate 6 motorcycles, with mine even having a side car attached. The parking pad held my car and our son's 3/4 ton tow pickup, leaving a lane clear for bike departures and arrivals. Cathy and her husband Chris cannot take credit for the fantastic weather we had for the whole week, but even if the weather had soured there was plenty of room for privacy. We plan on being there again for Bike Week 2015.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and it was a wonderful experience. The house was clean and well equipped. The layout makes it great for large groups. The owner, Cathy, was great to deal with and she was very responsive. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing : )

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

This house is absolutely amazing!! We completely fell in love with the house, the beach, the town...absolutely everything about this place!! We will definitely be back to vacation here. There was plenty of room for our group of eight to spend time together and yet still have plenty of privacy and their own bathroom. Catherine, the owner, was so kind and gracious. She took the time to answer all of our questions, and even called on our last night to inform us their was no one checking in the following day so we could check out later if we wanted instead of 10 am! We all had a wonderful time!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation house

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation here. The house was perfect for our two families to vacation together. The house had plenty of space and was well furnished. We also drove into Disney and Sea World two days. The beach was amazing and not crowded at all. We would definitely come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation Rental

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

The home was excellent for a large group. It is well stock with appliances, dishes, and cooking items. The location is great with a fabulous beach. The owner was wonderful to work with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Beach House

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Especially for a large group this home was perfect. The three levels allows for alot of separation (like kids from parents which is in itself a vacation at times) when you want it but the main floor on the second level had two bedrooms the kitchen and all the room you needed when everybody wanted to be together. Even though the beach is separated by a berm and a a street it is actually closer than any of the places we have stayed at. 20 feet to your spot and the beach is NEVER crowded. The street by the way is one way, seldom traveled except by folks who live there and has very slow speed limit to boot. SO no problems for kids. The place was clean as a whistle and kitchen was more than adequate. The place was as described on the website and more. Two master suites were great one had access to the wrap around porch from which you can see the ocean. The home included all the necessary beach towels and bath and bed linens etc.Lots of bunk space. We were just real please with how perfect it suited our needs and the owner went out of her way to make us feel at home and welcome. We would recommend this home highly to anyone wanting to get away to the beach and relax.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House for Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

My siblings and I rented this beach house to celebrate my father's 80th birthday. Although my parents and I live in the area, we wanted to all be together and what better place to get together than the beach. This house was perfect for us--plenty of sleeping accommodations, a large kitchen/family room to gather, and the gorgeous views of the ocean from the two decks. The house is only a few miles from the shopping and restaurants in NSB. We liked the fact that the beach is quiet and not crowded. The owner, Cathy Laurer, was very nice to work with, and always responded to my inquiries immediately. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this beach house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The High School Reunion

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

First I must confess I am a "returnee," but this time with four high school girl friends from the 60's. I knew that there was a spot for everyone and that the night owls wouldn't bother me if I went to bed early. We did catch what some locals called "bad as any hurricane we've had" weather our first night. Boy, was that an angry Atlantic out the front windows! We were snug in our beds.

Everyone was so pleased with the accommodations! And this from a group who spent last year's getting together in the Highlands, NC. We ate breakfast each morning looking at the ocean view, and cocktails on the patio. The two master suites were great for us, with lots of space. The early risers who had coffee in the living room at 6 am did not disturb anyone. The house is so comfortable and inviting.

The quaintness of NSB with its cute shops (a very nice church thrift shop too) was enjoyable. We ate lunch at the Riverview Hotel which was nice to be on the inland coastal with the boats going by. The next night we ate at "the Garlic" which is a very popular local place too. Sunday we went down to the National Park at the end of A1A. I bought a $10 senior pass that can be used at any National Park that got the carload in. Worth the time spent to view their movie in the Information center.

So, in other words this is a special place to bring friends. I had brought my family last Thanksgiving and have put in a reservation for our next family get together as well. This is our new NSB home away from home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Proud parents

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

We rented this property while we were in Fl for our son's graduation. The house was beautiful, just as advertised. We walked on the beach every morning almost alone and found many shells. The area is very quiet but still convenient to all the shopping and stores in New Smyrna Beach. We had our teenage children and their grandparents with us and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the house. The owner was easy to work with and there were chairs and skim boards and toys to use on the beach. We would definitely rent this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

I was traveling on business for two weeks, working in Florida the first week and then in the Midwest the second week. I found this house when I was looking for a place to stay on the weekend between those two weeks, and I'm glad I did!

The home is everything it is advertised to be: large, modern, clean, and right at the beach! There is a lightly used asphalt path between it and the beach for the residents of that block-- very lightly used. It is mostly used by joggers and cyclists. Then there are private steps over the dune and you're on the beach; terrific!

The views from the house are terrific too.

The owner is terrific and easy to work with too. I highly recommend this beach house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

indiana

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

we rented this wonderful home for a family spring break with our children and grandchildren. had a wonderful time the house was clean and the owner very kind and helpful even called us to inform us of a festiful going on during the time we were there. the beach was just across the road which was not busy at all. it was very safe for our grandkids to cross to head to the beach which was just steps away. i can not say enough good about this home. would suggest anyone to rent this lovely home. if and when we decide to take the entire family on a trip to florida again would diffantly rent again if given the opputunity.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MO

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

The view was great, the master beds were SUPER comfortable, and the hot water never seemed to run out. The house was spacious and accommodated two families with kids very nicely. The photos are exactly what the house looks like. The upstairs area was cleaner than the downstairs area. We did have to cross a road to access the beach, which was close and easy to access, but the road was busy and often had cars and trucks driving too fast. There was even a wreath signifying a death across from the house. Hopefully, that was for a dog.
In spite of that, we would have certainly returned to this property. However, we did not receive our security deposit back because of an old broken lamp shade, a bent metal mini blind, and a dirty garage. We were accused of breaking the garage sensors, but never saw the pictures. We never pulled the cars into the garage. In addition, we went above and beyond the owner's request to clean all of the towels and one set of sheets. When the owner arrived to clean her home for the next renters, we had washed and dried all of the towels and sheets from every bed in the house. Additionally, we had made two of the beds with fresh sheets and newly washed comforters, swept the floors, including the garage, and taken all of the trash to the side of the street.
We also called the owner to let her know that the a/c was not working properly, even though we didnt need the a/c after the first day of our stay. When we were unable to meet the a/c people because of scheduling issues (we werent there), her response was this, "I should have been called when the air conditioner did not work properly. I tried to get the repair man there and you would not agree to let him in." This was given as one of the reasons we were not given our deposit back.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: I am the owner of the property and I also take care of the property myself. I am always the last person in the house before renters check in and the first in the house after renters check out. My home is always clean and the past "reviews" attest to that. The road in front of my house has never caused any problem with guests at all. There is barely traffic on the road except for the people who live on the road. Lots of walkers and bike riders.
In reference to the wreath - it is a small remembrance of my son who was killed in an auto accident many, many years ago. This renter never, ever called me with any complaints, in fact I had called her on Thursday about check out on Saturday. The renter informed me that the air conditioner was not working properly in the basement. I immediately call my air conditioning company and she would not allow them to come inside the house.
I found the garage door open when I arrived on Saturday morning. This renter chose to check out on Friday night and left my house open for anyone to enter. When I entered the garage was trashed, the basement had the blind broken and the lamp and shade broken.
This renter also traveled back and forth from Orlando to New Smyrna Beach all week and left her teenage children in my house and friends. She seemed to think that was acceptable and I feel it was totally unacceptable. I am responsible for what happens to minors in my house according to my insurance company. My neighbors complained about teenagers in and out of my house without supervision.
Please read all previous "reviews" to get the full picture about my house. You will find that I am easy to work with and my guests have been completely happy!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Family Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful time during Thanksgiving week. The two master suites are very comfortable and roomy. My granddaughter slept on an air bed we brought in the master closet on the third floor. There was light and electric outlet for her phone and DVD player. The downstairs play room was perfect for the three large boys (bunk bed and day bed) and another family member slept in the downstairs bedroom that has twin beds. The view of the ocean from the main floor is spectacular. We also went to the third floor deck area in the late afternoon to watch the sunset. The one lane one-way road in front of the house is often occupied by runners, bikers or dog walkers. The winds were high the first part of the week, so there were some shells to be found on the beach. We enjoyed walking to the small park that is south and across A-1-A to look for dolphin and manatees. We used our paddle board in the cove area too. The boys brought their surf boards and wet suits for the ocean. It was challenging. The garage is big and easily held my daughter's Chevy Suburban and my little Honda CRV. We used the grill one night and the oven was "on spot" to make perfect Betty Crocker brownies (three times during the week). Cathy was helpful in answering our questions before booking and I was glad I booked it early (about 8 months ahead). You will enjoy yourself at this house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A family Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful time during Thanksgiving week. The two master suites are very comfortable and roomy. My granddaughter slept on an air bed we brought in the master closet on the third floor. There was light and electric outlet for her phone and DVD player. The downstairs play room was perfect for the three large boys (bunk bed and day bed) and another family member slept in the downstairs bedroom that has twin beds.

The view of the ocean from the main floor is spectacular. We also went to the third floor deck area in the late afternoon to watch the sunset. The one lane one-way road in front of the house is often occupied by runners, bikers or dog walkers.

The winds were high the first part of the week, so there were some shells to be found on the beach. We enjoyed walking to the small park that is south and across A-1-A to look for dolphin and manatees. We used our paddle board in the cove area too. The boys brought their surf boards and wet suits for the ocean. It was challenging.

The garage is big and easily held my daughter's Chevy Suburban and my little Honda CRV. We used the grill one night and the oven was "on spot" to make perfect Betty Crocker brownies (three times during the week).

Cathy was helpful in answering our questions before booking and I was glad I booked it early (about 8 months ahead).

You will enjoy yourself at this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

We rented Kathy's house to have a small beach wedding in New Smyrna Beach, close to my mother. Kathy was very accomodating with us and worked with us to make everything work wonderfully. The house worked perfecty for our small wedding party of about 12 people and we absolutely loved the it there. It was very clean and comfortable and the beach was just across the street. My nieces loved the boogey boards and enjoyed playing on the beach all weekend! This was a very quiet section of beach which was nice. My bride loved the open floor plan and light airy feel of the house. We would definitely stay here again and it was a wonderful place to share special moments with close friends and family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Back Again!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

My extended family rented this house for the 2nd time. Our experience was just as wonderful the second time. The house is fabulous. It's great for 2 families with teenagers and college kids. We can spread out and have space to gather together. The beach is gorgeous and not crowded at all. However, there are plenty of activities within short driving distance. We did not run out of activities, and we managed to keep all ages in our party occupied and engaged. We plan to return!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Cathy is a sweetheart to work with. Her home is very nice and I would recommend it to anyone needing a lot of room for family or friends. It was very clean and spacious. The dumbwaiter in the garage was my favorite thing. We did not have to carry the grocery bags up the stairs. The beach is just on the otherside of the road, very easy access and private. Shower and hose outside to wash the sand off before you come inside, I will add the shower has hot water too! Beautiful view of the ocean and out back great view of the river. Shopping is close by, groceries, drugstores, souvenirs, restaurants. Oh an Manatee Park you can drive or walk(playground for the kids,long pier if you want to fish and of course you can see Manatee's and dolphins. We had our check for our deposit within a few days, she emailed me to let me know it was being sent out. Please check out Cathy's home, she is always just an email away! Thanks again The Lake Family...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing sanctuary on the beach

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We recently spent a week enjoying this beautiful beach house. Our expectations were exceeded as soon as we arrived. The house was very clean and had everything one needs for a comfortable stay. We had 7 adults and one baby in our party. The bedrooms are large enough that people can spend private time in their rooms but the common spaces are also large enough for times spent together. Cathy was a pleasure to work with and called to check in to be sure we were not in need of anything. Cathy even referred us to a rental facility as we needed to rent a crib. She also found a high chair for our use. The beach is right across the street and although the weather was beautiful we were usually the only ones on the beach. The house contains everything for a fun beach time- the beach chairs still had sale tags on them. There is a wonderful park a mile away that has a playground, tennis courts and a waterway where we watched pelicans, dolphins and manatees. We would not hesitate to return to this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We spent our Thanksgiving in this beautiful beach house. The views were wonderful & the home is very warm & inviting. Our Thanksgiving was special in so many ways & there wasn't anything we didn't love about the house & location.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

A group of nine of us - ranging in age from mid-50's to early 60's - stayed at Cathy's house Oct. 8-12, 2011. While it is not a new house, it was very clean and well kept. We were able to have privacy AND spend time together as a group. The house is located behind a sand dune and across the street from the beach but access was only a few steps away - it wasn't inconvenient at all. As a matter of fact, our first two nights were spent watching a ferocious storm rage and we were actually glad that we were not right on the beach! The house felt very solid and safe - even when the electricity went off on the second night of the storm (the power was restored very early the following morning). The house is very warm and welcome with lots of personal touches from Cathy and we absolutely loved the airiness and brightness of the second floor, which was our gathering place each night. The view from the decks was fantastic! We enjoyed sitting out on the second floor deck and watching the ocean in all its glory! As Christians, it just reinforced our belief in an awesome God!

The house is located in the southern section of New Smyrna Beach and there is a short drive to get to the grocery store, shopping, etc. but we were really impressed with the cleanliness of the town. We also enjoyed the fact that we didn't have to fight crowds of people for a spot on the beach or while out shopping, which had a lot to do with the time we were there, I am sure. There is a state park just a couple of minutes from the house that we enjoyed visiting, too.

Cathy was very easy to work with and met the few additional requests/needs we had without any problems. We would definitely stay here again and I think it is really well-suited for families or middle-aged groups who do not need the excitement of the beach crowds or activities.

Thanks Cathy for the use of your house! Some unforgettable times and wonderful memories were added to our lives!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

End of Summer 2011

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We rented this house middle of august and we loved it. We spent an amazing time. The view from the kitchen-living room is peaceful (we even saw dolphins!), the beach is beautiful and was empty...it was just uncredible !
The house itself is really confortable and big. We spent one night with 3 couples and 4 children and everyone had its privacy. The owner is helpful and really nice...we'll definitely look forward to rent this dream house again :o)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Beach Get Away!

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We stayed in August and house was so great we are already confirming for next year! We were stuck inside for a day and half due to Hurricane Irene but with the roomy accommodations and the great beach front view it was not a problem. Well maintained with a gracious owner. Truly the perfect house for a family vacation. Definitely going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I WANT TO GO BACK!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

What you see in the photos is exactly the house you get. The house was very clean and roomy for my large family. The bedrooms are large and there are TVs in every bedroom. Cathy has decorated this beach house in a very cute beach theme. Bring your bikes and take a ride to JB's Fish Camp or just go riding up and down the beach. This area of the beach is quiet and you don't have to worry about cars and young children.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We had 14 in our party--11 years old to 90--The home is very spacious, great common areas, adequate bedroom privacy, well stocked kitchen. The views are marvelous. Everyone was pleased.
The owner was more than helpful in every inquiry and transaction.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for Family Getaway

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We had family travel from all over the country to this property in order to help our father celebrate his 90th birthday. The house was perfect for our purposes. There are separate sleeping areas appropriate for different family members. The big open kitchen, dining and living room is a wonderful gathering place for many people. It also has a very nice view of the beach and ocean. There is easy private access to the beautiful beach which is not very crowded. There is a road in front of the house, but it is not busy at all and should cause no worry for anyone. The garage is spacious with room for two vehicles and parking for another four if needed on the driveway. It is also close to restaurants, stores and shops. All in all this is a very good choice. The only thing I would add is a wireless Internet connection.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. I would just add that I have a hook up for internet connection but would have to contact the cable company to turn it on. If renters are interested I can have that turned on before they arrive.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring 2011

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

Great property. It was a pleasure working with Cathy. We had two families plus grandma and everyone had enough space. The three levels of bedrooms was a nice touch. The common rooms were big enough for everyone. The beach was great, almost like a private beach. We found the property clean and well maintained. We definitely want to come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SPRING BREAK 2011

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

My family and my sister's family enjoyed this beautiful home the end of March 2011. The home accommodates families so well. The older kids stayed in the lower level and loved having their own space. The main floor's openess made it quite comfortable for a large group. The beach is quite private. And last but not least, what a view....magnificent! Hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous House!

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

There is lots of room to spread out in this house and have some privacy as well as space to gather as a group. The house was clean and "plushly" comfortable. There were private steps to the beach about 10 steps from the garage. The owner was great. There were lots of helpful tips posted in the house for using things like the jacuzzi, the dumbwaiter, and other extra's. Our party had two families which included adults, teenagers and tweens. EVERYONE agreed the house was fabulous and that we should count on renting the house next year. The beach was beautiful and not crowded at all as this stretch of the beach has only houses. The house exceeded our expectations! We loved it!! I have rented condominiums in New Smyrna for years, and I can't describe how much more wonderful and relaxing this experience was.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Home with amazing views

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

We stayed at this home this past June and enjoyed it so much. Its so spacious, with a large party or family you dont feel like you are on top of each other. The views are amazing from every floor! The beach was so close and convenient. The house is clean and stocked with everything you would need. I will definitly come back to visit! The owner was also so easy to work with and made things seamless, which is nice when you are going on vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the great review. Now I know that other people love my house as much as I do. Thanks again and hope to see you real soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review