reviews for: listing #77370 - Windham, New York House rental

Hunter/Windham Luxurious New Log Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $1,100 /nt
    $1,350 - $4,000 /wk
    $5,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful

Review submitted: December 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had a family getaway for the holidays and the house was perfect. It's beautiful, clean, and well-stocked. We had such a a wonderful time during our 3 night stay. We are especially thankful to the owner who was incredibly responsive with every question I had. Thank you so much for letting us stay at your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A relaxing, romantic retreat!

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

We spend 4 wonderful nights at this vacation home. It was a perfect close by get-a-way for us as we live in NJ. The view is spectacular and exactly as pictured. This was a working vacation for us and the phone / internet connection at the house worked great. We had no problems making calls or checking emails. The little things make a big difference when you rent so I want to mention 2 things---there are numerous outlets in this rental in all the rooms (even the foyer!)---we never had to hunt for an outlet when we we needed to plug in computers and phones. Also the water pressure in the shower is fantastic--you skiers will love it after a day on the slopes. Another big plus, was dealing with Dan, the owner---as stated in other reviews, he makes the rental process a complete pleasure. We would definitely rent this property again.

Owners response: Once again I have a smile on my face because I have gotten a great review! We strive to respond to our guests needs and listen to their comments to make sure the house lives up to expectations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous Cabin - our favorite house in Hunter

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We had a terrific stay at this beautiful log cabin. Our group of 12 comes up to Hunter Mountain every year around Dec/Jan for a few days. This was our favorite property yet. The house is warm and welcoming. The foosball and air hockey tables in the loft are in fine condition. Same goes for the ping pong table downstairs. The bathrooms are beautiful and spacious. The beds are very comfortable - not a single complaint from any of the 12 guests, which is quite rare with rentals and a group this large.

The kitchen fixtures are all brand new and a it's a great space to cook in - they have most of the basic utensils/cooking supplies. It's an open environment, which is terrific for larger groups.

The grill downstairs under the deck works just fine. There are utensils for the grill as well up in the kitchen.

Hunter Mountain is a short drive away (~15 minutes with snow on the ground, 2 turns from the cabin). There is a local supermarket and wine/liquor store that is just down the road (5 minutes drive). The neighboring houses are a good distance away and there isn't much traffic on this road, so it's a very peaceful, quiet area.

And the view is absolutely spectacular in the Great Room. It is exactly as advertised. You will be hard pressed to find a better rental in the Hunter area. That's about all I can say about this wonderful space. It was a pleasure dealing with Dan from Day 1, who was incredibly responsive. We would gladly (and hopefully will) return to this house again next time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend Getaway with Friends

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

Million Dollar Views is the understatement for the description of this home. The pictures do the house no justice. We wanted to getaway with a group of friends and when I found this house I fell in love. I fell in love all over again upon arrival, as did everyone else. The house was so gorgeous! The cathedral ceilings with all of the windows and the the view was beyond beautiful! We had board games, air hockey and ping pong games which made it fun for everyone. The location of the house is within minutes from Windham and Hunter Mountains and the towns. It is only a few minutes from Kaaterskill Falls as well. Whether you are planning on going in the winter or in the summer, the house is perfect. We were all so sad that the trip came to and end and are all looking to book again for the summer and winter again. The landlord was more than helpful with every thing. He even answered a late night phone call to help with directions to the home which was greatly appreciated. He was a pleasure to talk to and we are looking forward to the next time!

Owners response: Once again we are thrilled to hear from happy customers. We try to under promise and over deliver and depend on happy customers to keep our home filled.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful experience renting this property. Our group went for the weekend to Ski and Snowboard. The home is even more beautiful and spacious than we had expected and very close to Hunter, Windham, and other attractions. The owner is an absolute pleasure to deal with and was exceptionally responsive and attentive. He answered all of our questions prior to our rental and was accessible throughout! The home was immaculate with all of the details! Wireless internet, movies, games, a gourmet kitchen fully loaded, plenty of clean towels and linens, etc. Not only would I recommend this property, it is very likely that we will be renting it again. Thank you so much for this wonderful experience.

Owners response: Few things put us in a better mood than getting this kind of review.

We endeavor to provide all the comforts of home and lots of the toys and comforts we all may not have at home to make our guests stay feel like a vacation and not just a place to sleep.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house on a private lot!

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

I stayed here with some colleagues for a long weekend. This is my second trip to this house. The house is beautifully done. My personal favorite is the great room with cathedral ceilings and big windows. The basement is convienantly accessable from the driveway and has ample space to bring in Skis and Snowboards and let them dry out over night.

The owner has a wifi spot setup which was a really nice touch.

Dan - Thanks again for a great stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house/location for Weekend Away!

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

This is a fantastic house for a weekend away with friends. The owner Dan was a pleasure to work with.

We drove up on a Friday after work and left Sunday morning. The house fit all 12 of us comfortably and was great for entertaining. Most of us went skiing to Windham mountain, which was only about 10 minutes away. The others went shopping, which was nearby as well.

We highly recommend renting this lovely home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

This house is amazing! It is truly set up for entertaining and relaxation. Myself and 11 friends stayed 3 nights recently and could not have been happier with the layout of the home. Very spacious and accommodating and excellent for game nights and big group meals. The basement is perfect to hold all your ski / board gear and the upstairs is pristine. The home comes with everything you could possibly need. The owner was very responsive and friendly and made the experience a breeze.

Owners response: We are lucky to get the considerate tenants we do and like nothing better than to hear that the house met all their expectations.

We try to anticipate the things we would expect as renters of a luxury home and do our best to provide them for our guests.

We also listen to our renters constructive comments and in many cases incorporate their suggestions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GreatHouse/Great Weekend!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

My friends and I rented this wonderful house for the New Years Eve weekend. We were overjoyed by the cleanliness and the beautiful views that this house had to offer. It was very spacious and clean with all brand new appliances. Has a big basement with a washer and dryer where you can conveniently keep your snowboarding/skiiing gear. It was only about a ten minute drive to Hunter Mountain. The owner was friendly and very accommodating and did his best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I definitely recommend this house whether its just a small family or a big group of friends.

Owners response: In these economic times we are very lucky to have the tenants we do and we make every effort possible to insure that they leave feeling that their hard earned money was well spent.

The reviews we get let us know that we are doing a good job and we will never get tired of getting them!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great weekend with friends

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

We had an amazing weekend. From the date we inquired about the property, Dan was very quick to respond and answer any questions we had. The property was very nicely maintained and the layout was perfect for our group of 12. The view from the deck was beautiful, and the house came equip with everything we needed for a relaxing and enjoyable weekend, including a grill for s'mores and burgers, a list of local restaurants, games, movies etc. At the end of our weekend, everyone was sad to leave, and talking about how much we would like to rent it again next year.

A great house, and a great experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Wonderful Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

My friends and I decided to rent this house for the weekend last winter. We are all avid skiers and snowboarders, and wanted to take a weekend getaway to Hunter mountain. This house was perfect. It had everything we needed for the weekend. There was plenty of room for everyone to hang out. The downstairs basement was especially nice to play some games and to leave all of ski and snowboard equipment we had. It was very close to Hunter Mountain and the town of Hunter. The only issue we had was some of our trucks got stuck in the snowy driveway. But besides that everything was perfect for our weekend!! The house looked brand new, as if no one had ever been there. It was very clean and the owner seemed to really care about the house which was very nice! The owner was extremly nice and very personable! I would definatly rent from him again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

GREAT HOUSE ! DON'T MISS OUT !!!!

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

I've been renting houses in Hunter Mountain for ten years and without a doubt this is the best house we ever had. We travel up each year with ten people and this house was more than enough for all of us.

Most houses near Hunter Mountain are all beat up inside from years of kids partying..NOT THIS ONE !!!! BRAND NEW !!!

The house was immaculate in and out and there are plenty of things to do. It's also close to town with enough stuff to keep everyone busy.

Great Skiing - Great Dining - Slopes Night Club.......CLOSE TO ALL !

Kitchen is Great....Living room has the best views around and a huge desk outside.......!!!

If you heading to Hunter make sure you checkout this house...You will not be sorry.


Dan is a top notch guy who wants to make sure everything is perfect for your getaway.


Bobby S

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What can I say ! This is the kind of reaction we strive for.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review