reviews for: listing #77379 - Mokuleia, Hawaii House rental

Authentic Upscale Beach-Oceanfront Home-Hot Tub & Sun Deck
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,950 - $4,200 /wk
    $7,800 - $7,800 /mth

sort by:

I left my heart at Honu Hale

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Its been a busy summer so I am a bit late in submitting this review. Yet in my mind I have still not left this beautiful location. That's really what its all about, location,location,location! Previous reviews covered everything about the home, and I have to agree with all the comments. The home was very comfortable and well equipped. I want to focus on the area. This is without a doubt the best spot on Oahu. Away from the crazy crowds and traffic of the south shore. Off the tourist loop of the north and east shores. Just an awesome corner of the island. Every day we marveled that we had such a beautiful stretch of beach(5 minutes up the road) to ourselves. Well not exactly, we did share with a monk seal. We saw whales breaching each day, took the amazing glider ride across the street, and spent countless hours just gazing at the view from the yard. When we did venture away for food or activities, we found so much to do and see(and eat), but always were ready to return to our sea turtle sanctuary. I could go on and on, but I will just end by saying, RENT THIS HOUSE, you will be happy you did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Spectacular house with AMAZING ocean views

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

There was 8 of us who stayed here (6 adults and 2 children ages 5 and 2). The house is about an hour or so from the airport but pretty easy to find using a map and the directions provided. You cannot see much of the house as you are arriving. I believe all that is really visible is the garage (be prepared for a possible vehicle to owned by the owner in 1 garage space that you have no access to. you can park in the front as we had two vehicles), so you might not think much of it passing by. All I can say is this house is spectacular with amazing views and the house is literally right on the ocean. In fact, there is a 8ft to 10ft drop into the ocean waves that mind you come crashing on to the grassy back yard. Its beautiful! But be aware if you are bringing little ones ours were very good about not going over to the wall without us. You actually can fish from the backyard. We caught a few different kinds of fish that we actually fried up later on that night. They also caught an eel and sea turtle. The front yard is very quaint. There is a room up front but on the outside of the house that has washer /dryer, snorkeling equipment, life jackets of all sizes, coolers, swim toys, beach towels and much more. The house seemed to be fully equipped. If you needed something it was sure to be in the house. Pots, pans, all housewares, extra sheets, blankets, tv in every room with CABLE ( I was able to watch the 49er game while I was there), games etc., Our stay was amazing and lots of places to take pictures. I was able to find out where the rainbow ends, REALLY! In the back/front yard, the OCEAN in North Shore! There is also beach access a few houses down. I hope this helps as I know you will enjoy your stay here, it was perfect!

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

A Gem in the North Shore

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Ourselves and two other couples just spent a week in Oahu and a week in Hilo. This property on the North Shore was absolutely beautiful. The location was bang on if you are looking for a top grade rental with an astanding location. We spent many evenings sitting in the backyard listening to the waves and looking at the starfield sky. The airfield was just across the street providing us with a wonderful ultralight experience and numerous parachutist to entertain us daily. Although, pictures are slightly misleading surrounding beach access it is only a short walk to the beach. We spent a lot of time exploring the north shore, Sunset Beach, the Pipeline, the Hilo Market is a must. There is an abundance of things to do whle staying here but having access to a car is a must. Linda was very helpful. The only thing we found missing from our home on the North Shore was a tea kettle but that could be a Canadian thing! Don't hesistate a minute to book this beautiful home for your North Shore experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We celebrated my daughters college graduation with a family gathering at the Honu Hale. It was all we had hoped for! The house was well furnished, the kitchen had more dishes and gadgets than my home, all the outdoor water gear you could use, the comfy beds, the view, the ocean, stars and sunsets! With 9 of us there ranging in age from 20 to 84, we never felt crowded and there was something for everyone. We will be def come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

the description of the house is accurate and very clean and the caretaker was great and very helpful,we seen turtles everyday you get to hear the ocean waves every nite great way to sleep, it was nov.so the wind was blowing that made large waves,lots to do,places to go, good beaches down the road, this is a good place for anyone looking to get away from the rest of the world. we thank you for shareing your house with us, had a great stay
joe&sue s.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Waterfront Property

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We stayed here with our parents and greatly enjoyed our time. The property is located right on the water with beautiful ocean views. Although we never saw any turtles, we did see whales in the distance several times. We enjoyed soaking in the hot tub under the stars at night before retiring to a great bed and listening to the ocean waves. The roof top deck was pretty cool and it was very neat when the skydivers come in literally right above you. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

will be returning!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

We just got back on Feb 5th from 9 days at Honu Hale. Loved the house and we will be returning. We stay regularly on the North Shore and have found our home away from home. Quiet location and neighbours. Great rooftop for star gazing and sunsets, great swimming out front, loved the grassy yard, clean home, all the amenities, even containers for leftovers. Caretaker was very friendly and helpful! Thanks again for some great memories!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Private Getaway

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

My husband and I were married on Kauai the week before our arrival, and stayed inland in the country and were looking forward to the oceanfront home. We were not disappointed. We stayed from 10/8/11-10/16/11. Linda met us there and showed us around. She was very friendly and helpful! The home had everything we needed and more. The ocean waves crashing were music to our ears after a long day of hiking, and the jacuzzi was very nice to have for sore muscles and aching feet. Very quiet, private and relaxing. The beds were very comfortable. We slept with the screen doors open each night and enjoyed the breeze and ocean. The tide was higher while we were there, so the beach was not accessible directly in front, but we actually preferred this and just walked a few houses down and saw turtles, snorkeled, or drove a mile down the road. There are beaches everywhere! (Lanikai beach, on the southeast shore was gorgeous...our favorite!) We didn't spend much time on the upper deck, although it does have a pretty good view (has a pull down ladder in the patio, and I am not a fan of heights). The kitchen was spacious, with lots of counter space, clean and had more supplies than I do at home. The screened in porch was lovely, we spent a lot of time there in the morning having coffee or in the evening at the end of our day. The living room had comfortable couches and chairs, extra blankets and cable TV. We did not spend too much time here, as we were out and about most of the day. DO read some of the guest books...there are some great suggestions in there. The laundry room was huge and a huge welcome convenience after our humid week in Kauai, where we had limited hours for laundry. This was also stocked with snorkel gear, a few beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, cooler and more than enough beach towels....pretty much all you would need for a day at the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you for making the rest of our honeymoon so wonderful, inviting and comfortable.
The only thing I would really complain about was the musty smell throughout the house. More so as you moved towards the back of the home (bedrooms). I assume this is from when the home is closed up after use, since it is near water etc. There was an exhaust fan in the living room, which we turned on and it did clear up some after the home was opened, but does not go away entirely. All in all, I would stay here again.
Julie & Tony De Rigo

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed our Honu Hale! We are in the process of replacing the carpets that have caused the intermittent musty smell. They will be replaced on April 20, 2012. We are sorry that this detail was not perfect for you but on your next return visit it will be. We appreciate you taking great care of our home and look forward to having you as a return guest soon!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Whales, turtles, geckos, and lots of fun!!! Thanks

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Mahalo for sharing your lovely home!
Two families coming together to cure a little cabin fever (from Cleveland, Ohio to Eagle River, Alaska). Your piece of paradise did just the trick.
Our first morning greeted us with whales breaching on the horizon and turtles snacking just beyond the sea wall. The kids – ages 13, 11, 11 and 9 – had a wonderful time looking for geckos, body surfing, snorkeling, and playing football in the sand.
Nuis Thai Food truck across from the old sugar mill provided several delicious meals along with several “shrimp truck” visits.
The surf changed daily and gave us huge breakers and calm waters for a variety of activities. Haliewa Ali Park provided great “boogie-boarding” and lots of turtles playing along the rocks (20 in one count).
Hang loose and enjoy!
Thank you guys

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

We hate to leave

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Evening breeze, pushed by the moon’s glow;
Beautifully landscaped, is this home.
Filled with laughter, clothed with cheer;
Happiness has brought us all here.
Breathtaking sunrises, sunsets so serene;
You have to be here, to know what I mean.
The sun’s gentle slow, kisses white capped waves
Seaweed foods turtles, the food that they crave.
10 women first strangers, when this journey begins;
Each gives a treasure, the gift of new found friends.
We hate to leave, not one wants to go;
We had a great time,
EmmieLa Girls Group

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We had a blast. Highly recommend.

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 5, 2011

Thanks so much for the use of your home. We loved the beds! They were so comfortable. It is amazing that you can be on the N. Shore, which has the feel of Kauai, then go to Waikiki, which is like Las Vegas on the beach. We found a great place for surfing lessons in Waikiki… Beats any other on the island. It is Faith Surf School run by Tony Moniz (famous big wave surfer) and his wife Tammy. They worked the whole family and got great photos of us all. They are at the Marriott.

The shave ice recommendation for Motsomotos was right on. Mmmmm. If you want to see turtles on the beach go to (get this) Turtle Beach, it was true to its name and we saw whales outside the reef. We took a drive to the west shore and found a great beach with great waves and sun!!! It is called Makaha Beach. Great right break and beautiful blue water. We also loved using the kayaks and checking out the turtles out back.
Mahalo

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Family Trip in Your Beautiful Homes

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Our family had an absolutely wonderful time in Oahu! We had 3 houses in a row for a family reunion. We loved staying in both of your homes. They are both outstanding and beautiful. The kids loved the spa and outside shower. Everyone enjoyed the kayaks, seeing the turtles in the morning started our days perfectly! Thanks for providing them. Here are some activities we loved: snorkeling was amazing at Sharks Cove, Pearl Harbor tour, Polynesian Cultural Center (especially the night show), Shark Encounter, and our top favorite was skydiving and seeing the parachutes in the front yard. The caretaker was great to work with. We appreciate the help!!! Hope to stay again soon! PS. Our 20 month old learned how to say “shave ice!” We love Aokis, it’s the best!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Mahalo from a local resident!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Thank you for the use of your lovely home. Our family really had a grand time. We felt so comfortable and relaxed. The weather was gorgeous and in the mornings the beach was so nice. The Jacuzzi was a hit with everyone. We had a fun time walking along the shore all the way to the Polo field and went to watch a polo match on Sunday. I would recommend this place for families with children. The screen room was our best times for meals. The caretaker was so helpful and so was her husband. Mahalo from a local resident!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mahalo from a local resident!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Thank you for the use of your lovely home. Our family really had a grand time. We felt so comfortable and relaxed. The weather was gorgeous and in the mornings the beach was so nice. The Jacuzzi was a hit with everyone. We had a fun time walking along the shore all the way to the Polo field and went to watch a polo match on Sunday. I would recommend this place for families with children. The screen room was our best times for meals. The caretaker was so helpful and so was her husband. Mahalo from a local resident!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

Mahalo for letting us stay in your beautiful home/paradise! We don’t want to leave!

Our favorite was the hike to Keana Point right by the house at Sunset. Breathtaking! We also loved sunset whale watching on an intimate catamaran leaving from Haleiwa – saw 20+ whiles and they were jumping! The coolest experience of our trip!

We couldn’t beat coming home to your beautiful home to watch the sunset, kayak, sit in the hot tub… the perfect vacation! We enjoyed the expanse of beach to ourselves. What a change from Waikiki.

We cooked most of our meals here. I really appreciate the quality cookware!

Again, mahalo for allowing us a glimpse into your paradise here at Honu Hale! We hope to come back and visit in the future! This trip brought us all together. Hopefully the turtles will be here again too – what a treat! The geckos near the laundry room were a lot of fun for the kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Yikes!!!!! - Mice, Mice, Mice,

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

We found the location and general condition of the property, and neighboring, properties much as described.

However, on the third (3rd) day of our seven (7) day stay we discovered mice in the house, which essentially we had to contend with by ourselves. Upon contacting the property manager, we were told the exterminating company said there was nothing they could do except to set traps. They didn't even come out. Subsequently, the property manager brought over and set three (3) traps, a package of cheese, and two packages of D-Con cubes.

During the remainder of our stay, we (five ladies) ended up chasing one mouse from the kitchen, through the family/living room, through sliding glass doors into the screened atrium, and finally, outside. Then, later that day, upon our return from an outing, we found a dead mouse trapped in the kitchen alongside the refrigerator.

We again put in call to the property manager requesting more traps to which she never responded or called back. I found this disappointing.

On Sunday, our final full day in the house, another mouse was spotted in the laundry room.

Pros
*House setting, furniture, televisions, general conveniences, various water gear all as represented
**Hot Tub was cleaned and well maintained
*Ocean views were fantastic
*Grounds and exterior were well maintained
*Guests or residents of neighborning properties very nice

Cons
*Mattresses/some pillows significantly stained - (Had to spray with Lysol to disinfect and then cover)
*Residual foodstuffs and crumbs in lower kitchen cabinets (hence, mice) - cabinets, particular lower ones, need thorough cleaning
*Window coverings needed in select rooms and connecting shower; window and sliding glass doors facing backyard/ocean are clear see- through glass; (people renting from or dwelling in neighboring/adjoining properties have common access to seawall ladder on Hono Hale I property leading directly down into water and can see directly into main suites and shower)
*Screen door locks rusted - unable to secure; laundry room doors also don't lock
*Besides water activity, there's little to do or see in the immediate area

In closing,may I say our vacation was most enjoyable except for the circumstances described above. Unfortunately, we were unable to fully enjoy the house as planned. However, the only needed is time and attention. It has all the makings of a lovely rental property and should be cared for as such.

Owners response: We are so sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. We go to great lengths to be sure that our guests' experience is eceptional. I am sure that you can tell this by the quality of our property. Unfortunately during your stay there was an issue that was out of the ordinary and out of our control. We have the home serviced regularly with pest control treatments that usually take care of all pests. We very rarely have any pest issues. The caretakers mentioned that they cut the coconut trees just before your arrival which may have caused the mice to look for a new home. We have had the home checked by pest services to verify that there are no longer any mice in the house, plus increased our regular services, and deep cleaned all cabinets. We are sorry that you had to experience this. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect House to Hang Loose!! :)

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

I have lived in Hawaii for five years now, but this has definitely been one of the most enjoyable experiences I’ve had on the island.

The house is a little out of the way from the busy surf scene in Haleiwa, adding to its appeal for me. I live in downtown Honolulu, so getting a reprieve from the city traffic was greatly appreciated. I never get tired of looking out to the ocean and seeing so many stars. I loved unwinding in the hot tub and basking in the stars and full moon.

I definitely recommend any local cuisine. The shrimp trucks are great and there’s a ton of delicious hole-in-the-wall spots in Haleiwa.

For a great time, I highly recommend visiting Pearl Harbor around noon/lunchtime for a minimal wait time. The Polynesian Cultural Center is an excellent way to spend a day. It’s interactive and fun, teaching you a ton about Polynesian Islands. Plus if you do the luau, you won’t be disappointed. They’ve got firedancers, lots of hula, and the food is FANTASTIC! It’s one of the best local food luau’s on the island. Diamond Head and La’ie are great places to hike. Take lots of water and wear good shoes.

Most of all I encourage you to enjoy the house itself. A huge part of Hawaiian lifestyle is just hanging loose and relaxing. This house is your opportunity to get away from things for a while… enjoy it. Don’t underestimate hanging out at the house, soaking up some sun, and taking a dip in the ocean.

PS. Say hello to the turtles for us! Watching the whales was awesome!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our week at Honu Hale was AMAZING!!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Our week at Honu Hale was AMAZING!!!

We loved the house and the view of the ocean! The beds were very comfortable and there were lots of things to play with in the playroom!

Walking the shoreline and swimming/snorkeling in the ocean was fantastic, not to mention private.

The sundeck is also a great place to relax and get a tan while enjoying a great view of the ocean and mountains! The hot tub was quite relaxing after a round of golf.

The cove was full of turtles doing back flips in the waves.

We recommend diving with the North Shore Shark Diving Adventures! We dove with 15 sharks – it was exhilarating! Also, the North Shore Surf Lessons was a great time for everyone. Golf at Luana Hills was very scenic and quite enjoyable. Loved the Luaus too!

Mahalo & Aloha! Amazing Vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place!

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

This is our 2nd annual trip back here. What a great place! I love that you can stay here and not go to Waikiki. Saw whales every morning and turtles periodically. Did not miss a day to be able to have shaved ice at Aokis. The only place to go. Not sure if we will be able to come back next year but we will be back. Thank you for making this feel like home.

Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

By far the very best place we have ever stayed!

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We have been to the Islands – 3 times before and stayed in 5 star resorts – This is by far the very best place we have ever stayed! We have so enjoyed your lovely home there is nothing to Change – I sleep better here than at home – great Beds! – Great Views! The sound of the ocean – What paradise!

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Trip – We will NEVER forget it!

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

We could not have picked a better place to celebrate our honeymoon! Thank you for the most amazing experience of our lives.

The weather was picture perfect. A few clouds rolled by occasionally to cool us off.

It was so fun watching for green turtles! This truly is a Honu Hale! We saw turtles every day. Have patience… They will rise to the surface to take a breather.

We went to the Kokua Festival both nights. How fun! We came to see Dave Mathews, but Jack Johnson was pretty good himself. What a great time watching people learn and teach about saving our Earth. Go green baby!

We highly recommend going to see the Pearl Harbor Exhibits. Very emotional. Don’t miss it.

The hot tub was great when the wind came around – How beautiful! Great luau at the Polynesian Cultural Center! We swam with spinner dolphins and green turtles/fish with KoOlina Ocean Adventures – Awesome!

Rented a Harley at Big Kahuna Mortorcycles in Honolulu – Beautiful bikes – Amazing ride around the island!

Dinner at Nicks Fish Market Restaurant – Great Seafood! Finished up our trip at “South Pacific Tattoos” getting matching “Honu” (turtle) Tattoos!

Amazing Trip – We will NEVER forget it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Trip – We will NEVER forget it!

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

We could not have picked a better place to celebrate our honeymoon! Thank you for the most amazing experience of our lives.

The weather was picture perfect. A few clouds rolled by occasionally to cool us off.

It was so fun watching for green turtles! This truly is a Honu Hale! We saw turtles every day. Have patience… They will rise to the surface to take a breather.

We went to the Kokua Festival both nights. How fun! We came to see Dave Mathews, but Jack Johnson was pretty good himself. What a great time watching people learn and teach about saving our Earth. Go green baby!

We highly recommend going to see the Pearl Harbor Exhibits. Very emotional. Don’t miss it.

The hot tub was great when the wind came around – How beautiful! Great luau at the Polynesian Cultural Center! We swam with spinner dolphins and green turtles/fish with KoOlina Ocean Adventures – Awesome!

Rented a Harley at Big Kahuna Mortorcycles in Honolulu – Beautiful bikes – Amazing ride around the island!

Dinner at Nicks Fish Market Restaurant – Great Seafood! Finished up our trip at “South Pacific Tattoos” getting matching “Honu” (turtle) Tattoos!

Amazing Trip – We will NEVER forget it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ohua was Awesome! House was comfortable

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

My thoughts on Our stay at Honu Hale I, This was our first time to Hawaii, we had 4 kids 3 boys and girl, 11,10,7 and 5. We are from a town 30 miles NW of Pittsburgh. My answers or comments are “QUOTES” and I tried to base it off the website description as best I could to give you a better guide..
Large private beachfront backyard! “like I stated below, it is beachfront but no access directly behind during time we spent.”
Experience tropical paradise in upscale”WOULD NOT STATE THAT ON WEBSITE”, luxury “WOULD NOT STATE THAT ON WEBSITE”
It has a variety of excellent restaurants”LOCAL ONLY”
Enjoy the Beach right behind Honu Hale
“Yes if you plan on walking the kayaks, boogie boards, etc, down the road that has a lot of speeding cars) The ladder off the wall goes straight down to a very small pier, no way my Mother or my youngest two kids could have done this, they should also state on website that there is no beach what so ever during certain months ,like when we went, I did email about that and never got a good response. Also the SINK holes that are starting to happen, neighbors yards also, this is being caused by the ocean water going underneath the property when I climbed down wall to look after a contractor from the house next door was there to assess the damage from that owners property, he stated to me that when a sink hole will happen in tard, IT WILL NOT GIVE A WARNING, IT WILL JUST HAPPEN,,made me feel uneasy with the kids, owners of this house need to take a serious look at this problem”.
Great screened in Patio/ Lanai right off Family Rm
“Is nice to have screened in, although the screens and floor were very dirty and the room needs a paint job”
Gourmet kitchen(“WOULD NOT STATE THIS ON WEBSITE, BY FAR NOT A GOURMET KITCHEN”)
– “ENOUGH FOR 7”
restaurant dining guide
– “LOCAL RESTAURANTS CLOSE, FOR CHAIN RESTAURANTS 10 – 15 MILES AWAY”
Kitchen:
“CUPBOARDS AND APPLIANCES NEED UPDATED”
Refrigerator WITH freezer –
“MAKE SURE YOU ASK TO TURN ON A COUPLE OF DAYS BEFORE YOU GET THERE, TOOK A WHILE FOR OUR FOOD TO GET COLD”
grill
– “WEBER CHARCOAL GRILL WAS DIRTY AS CAN BE, A FEW BRIQUETTS WERE IN BAG, NO LIGHTER FLUID, HAD TO BORROW FROM THE OWNERS 2ND HOUSE WHICH IS TWO DOORS DOWN,,,MAKE SURE YOU BUY THE STUFF YOU NEED,,,,,OWNER NEEDS TO CLEAR THIS UP ON WHO PROVIDES WHAT”
– “NICE WALK IN SHOWER WITH A GREAT SHOWER HEAD!”
Bedrooms:
3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
– “ALL THE BEDS AND PILLOWS WHERE AWESOME TO SLE

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha! We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Had you spoken directly to us, we would have done everything possible to ensure your satisfaction. We have a sea wall that protects the backyard from the large winter surf. You can access the beach from the backyard via a ladder. Depending on mother nature there can be movement of sand behind the home due to the surf conditions exposing some rocks and making the access from directly behind the home less desirable. We typically only see this for a short time during the winter. There is a very private public access just 5 houses away that you can use to access the beach year round. Directly behind the house we have a sandy beach most of the year. It is difficult to predict when the sand moves from behind the home. It changes with the surf and winter storms. For the past few years we have noticed this to occur in late January and February but this year we had an occurrence in April. We make every effort to maintain and upkeep our wall to protect our property. Unfortunately, our neighbor had difficulty last year identifying the intrusion point which caused some damage to the side of our property. It is not something that happens often, but can happen anywhere in Hawaii due to the makeup of the foundation. We make any necessary repairs immediately. This issue has been addressed by our neighbor so we hope to not have further intrusion. There is a price to pay living so close to the ocean but it is definitely worth it as seen from the guest comments we’ve had over the last 9 years. You cannot stay closer to the beach than our house. Our current special gives you such a tremendous value as well. Our homes are professionally cleaned prior to each stay and we continually maintain as needed. We just freshly painted the home, re-carpeted and painted the screen room and observatory deck. Please be aware that we do not provide charcoals or lighter fluid. There is a small historic town, 6 miles from the home that is fun for walking around and dining at a variety of great restaurants, many of them unique to the north shore culture. It also has a local market. For groceries and high-end or chain restaurants, we recommend Mililani (15 miles away) as it is very welcoming to travelers. We are glad that you enjoyed our beds and linens. We make every effort to be sure that all of your needs are attended to with the highest level of attention given to detail. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We love Hawaii!!

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

We spent 8 glorious days at Honu Hale 1. The neighborhood was quiet and very peaceful. The house has everything you need for the beach. We ate in the screened-in area every day and listened to the roar of the ocean. There is no beach in back of the house, but the beach you walk to is very close. It only takes a few minutes to get to and we were the only ones there most of the time. We liked the privacy of the sea wall. We saw turtles everyday, all day long. We finally spotted whales on the 6th day, only because we finally figured out where to look. So excited!! The people screaming as they jumped out of planes nearby made us laugh. We saw colorful parachutes all day long, people parasailing, surfing. We stayed in Waikiki our last night there and were longing for the peace and quiet of the North Shore. My husband celebrated his 50th birthday and our daughter celebrated her 16th there in Hawaii. My daughter says it was the best birthday present ever and she wants to live there when she gets out of college. I guess my husband and I will have to retire there! Thank you for sharing your home in paradise. It beats a hotel room any day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Wheretheeaglesoars, Mahalo for the review! We are so delighted that you shared with us some of the wonderful memories that you created at our Honu Hale. We are so happy to have had you as our guest and make Honu Hale your piece of paradise during your stay. We are sorry that the sand was not behind the home during your stay. Unfortunately, the sand comes and goes during the winter months depending on some of the large surf and winter storms. Most of the year there is a usable wet sandy beach right behind the home that is accessible from the backyard. In the case that the access is not desirable from the backyard, then the very private public access is located just 5 houses away from Honu Hale where a dry sandy beach can be accessed year round. We are happy that this alternate solution was a suitable for you during your stay. We too like to enjoy the privacy of our large oceanfront backyard and the sights and sounds of the ocean that are available to us because of the close proximity to the shoreline. Thanks for being our guest and we welcome you back to Honu Hale any time!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It was Paradise!

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

We absolutely loved your home. It was a perfect location for our family's together time after a year and a half of separation. The listing and pictures were true to their representation, it was very clean, well maintained and more than adequately stocked. The only thing I could not find was a hammer to open our coconut. The beds were more comfortable than our own and the ocean sounds lulled us to sleep. I think the sea wall is a definite a plus-it provided privacy and kept the sand on the beach, which was easily accessible only 3 houses away and beautiful. We sampled the shrimp trucks, Mackey's had the best coconut shrimp. We felt Matsumoto's was not as good as expected. Haleiwa was fine for groceries and souvenirs. The drive into Honolulu is a hike, 45 min., but through beautiful country. We swam at Waimanalo Beach, our son's favorite, then drove up and around the island taking in all the gorgeous scenery. We ate at the Turtle Bay Resort Grill, casual and very good. Your home's location is perfect for long walks, whether on the beach or towards the end of island We spent most of our mornings and evenings in the screened in porch, what a plus. The access to the sundeck was interesting, but quite doable, even for this 61 year old. The skydivers and gliders at the nearby were fun to watch every morning. There are really only 2 things that could be improved upon, the carpet and the DVD selection. Great laundry room, comfortable couches, we felt quite at home in your home. We would definitely, highly recommend your home to others. Online rentals can be hit or miss, this was a #1 hit. Mahalo Nui Loa

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful place to enjoy time with the family

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

i am sooooo happy i didn't read the review by calalily before i booked our vacation. we just got home and couldn't have had a better time. i am already planning our next stay and will be staying in your home again.

maybe it was because the rains had just come, but the neighborhood was not "dirty".
the caretaker showed us where everything was and answered all our calls with questions promptly (most were not related to the house and she still was a delight to deal with).
i had deliberately booked a house on a sea wall because last year we had people walk right up the sandy beach into "our yard" ~ so the sea wall and ladder were a plus for us.
the waves had taken out the sand by the wall, but we still could wake up in the morning and go for a swim. i loved that i was able to sit in the back yard and enjoy the view without having to get all sandy ;)
it was a perfect base for our clan to get away from the real world and spend time together as a family. and yet it was close enough to everything that we didn't feel isolated.
the kayaks got used almost daily and all the beach gear was well used.
given the new luggage charges by the airlines, we travel light. and it was such a surprise to have a laundry room with such nice equipment.

THANK YOU FOR PROVIDING SUCH A WONDERFUL HOME! ! ! ! ! ! !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Not worth the money

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We were disappointed with what we got for our money. The neighborhood was dirty. The house ws poorly maintained. There were no instructions on how to use things or where certain things were. When we finely figured out where the sun deck was, we could not climb up the ladder. The plumbing is in very bad shape. But the biggest disappointment was that there is no beach access from the house. That is unless you are willing to lift a heavy metal ladder and climb down a sheer wall. And it is not actually a beach where you can lounge and enjoy the ocean. The waves come right up to the wall. Do not believe the pictures!! Very Deceiving.!!

Owners response: We apologize that the guest was not completely satisfied with our home. Had there been any communication about these issues during their stay, we would have went to great lengths to ensure their complete satisfaction.

We make every effort to provide top quality highly maintained properties. At any time, as was communicated in the Check In Instructions, they could have called our local caretaker for instruction and top-of-the-line service. Our caretaker is there to greet guests and answer questions upon their arrival as well. We will prepare detailed instructions to leave in the home as a backup in case all of the above is for some reason not sufficient.

There was a leak in the plumbing system at the time of their rental. The entire plumbing system was completely renovated immediately after their departure.

The beach comes and goes from time to time during the large winter surf conditions. Just before the guests’ arrival, a large 25 foot surf took our sand away. This happens a few times per year and is unpredictable as to when it will occur. There is a large sandy beach a few lots down that is always available should there have been a recent storm.

Regarding our area, it is very charming and laid back. The long time locals call it the hidden jewel.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

OMG, what a beautiful piece of heaven.

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

There are no words to express how happy we were in your house, Kristine & Greg. OMG, what a beautiful piece of heaven.

Your beds are to die for, what a pleasure to crawl into them at night. You have gone over the top to please, thank you.

We will never forget your home. I felt so secure there, knowing the vehicle was in the garage and we all just felt like it was home.

We kept driving back to Honolulu for shopping etc. until we visited Haleiwa - then we just stayed there and enjoyed the surfing lessons, shark adventures, whale watching and of course the ice cream, hehe....We hiked the Kealia Trail just down from the house by the air strip - 4 1/2 hours later - YIKES- but it was fun.

I could sit and watch that ocean for hours, loved it. And the hot tub, what a God sent - after a long day of driving, hiking or whatever - all I could say was hot tub here I come....thank you, thank you thankyou...then into that beautiful bed --- heaven....

We already have planned to go to Hawaii for 3 weeks next winter. The kids will be coming with us again. They loved it. My son even took a few days just to relax and read by himself- he loved staying in your home. He is so busy at his work -thats all he wanted to do. I'm glad he took the time while the rest of us couldn't get enough Hawaii....

Thank you so very much, your home was lovely! Our joke everyday was - how much do you think they want for this place????

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the private beach, hot tub, & tiki room!

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2008

Aloha! Mahalo for a great week! The house was all we hoped it would be - and more! We loved our private beach, backyard, hot tub, and the tiki room. It suited our desires sooo well! Far from the Honolulu crowds, yet a very close drive, if desired.

We enjoyed the Polynesian Cultural Center. It has been expanded and gives a good idea of the music, dance, and culture of the peoples of Polynesia. Well worth a day.

Sky diving was a terrific experience for all of us.

We thoroughly enjoyed the north shore of Oahu.

We had a marvelous time - one we'll never forget.

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Trip – We will NEVER forget it!

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2008

We could not have picked a better place to celebrate our honeymoon! Thank you for the most amazing experience of our lives.

The weather was picture perfect. A few clouds rolled by occasionally to cool us off.

It was so fun watching for green turtles! This truly is a Honu Hale! We saw turtles every day. Have patience… They will rise to the surface to take a breather.

We went to the Kokua Festival both nights. How fun! We came to see Dave Mathews, but Jack Johnson was pretty good himself. What a great time watching people learn and teach about saving our Earth. Go green baby!

We highly recommend going to see the Pearl Harbor Exhibits. Very emotional. Don’t miss it.

The hot tub was great when the wind came around – How beautiful! Great luau at the Polynesian Cultural Center! We swam with spinner dolphins and green turtles/fish with KoOlina Ocean Adventures – Awesome!

Rented a Harley at Big Kahuna Mortorcycles in Honolulu – Beautiful bikes – Amazing ride around the island!

Dinner at Nicks Fish Market Restaurant – Great Seafood! Finished up our trip at “South Pacific Tattoos” getting matching “Honu” (turtle) Tattoos!

Amazing Trip – We will NEVER forget it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Far Better than 5 Star Resorts! Paradise!

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2008

We have been to the Islands – 3 times before and stayed in 5 star resorts – This is by far the very best place we have ever stayed! We have so enjoyed your lovely home there is nothing to Change – I sleep better here than at home – great Beds! – Great Views! The sound of the ocean – What paradise!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2008

Thanks so much for the use of your home. We loved the beds! They were so comfortable. It is amazing that you can be on the N. Shore, which has the feel of Kauai, then go to Waikiki, which is like Las Vegas on the beach. We found a great place for surfing lessons in Waikiki… Beats any other on the island. It is Faith Surf School run by Tony Moniz (famous big wave surfer) and his wife Tammy. They worked the whole family and got great photos of us all. They are at the Marriott.

The shave ice recommendation for Motsomotos was right on. Mmmmm. If you want to see turtles on the beach go to (get this) Turtle Beach, it was true to its name and we saw whales outside the reef. We took a drive to the west shore and found a great beach with great waves and sun!!! It is called Makaha Beach. Great right break and beautiful blue water. We also loved using the kayaks and checking out the turtles out back.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Regular Place to Come

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 29, 2008

This is our 2nd annual trip back here. What a great place! I love that you can stay here and not go to Waikiki.

Saw whales every morning and turtles periodically. Did not miss a day to be able to have shaved ice at Aokis. The only place to go.

Not sure if we will be able to come back next year but we will be back. Thank you for making this feel like home.

PS – Must skydive across the street, we did 1st time… What a rush!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We don’t want to leave!

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

Mahalo for letting us stay in your beautiful home/paradise! We don’t want to leave!

Our favorite was the hike to Keana Point right by the house at Sunset. Breathtaking! We also loved sunset whale watching on an intimate catamaran leaving from Haleiwa – saw 20+ whiles and they were jumping! The coolest experience of our trip!

We couldn’t beat coming home to your beautiful home to watch the sunset, kayak, sit in the hot tub… the perfect vacation! We enjoyed the expanse of beach to ourselves. What a change from Waikiki.

We cooked most of our meals here. I really appreciate the quality cookware!

Again, mahalo for allowing us a glimpse into your paradise here at Honu Hale! We hope to come back and visit in the future! This trip brought us all together. Hopefully the turtles will be here again too – what a treat! The geckos near the laundry room were a lot of fun for the kids.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Loved by a Hawaiian Native!

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2009

What a way to kick off the new year! I have lived in Hawaii for five years now, but this has definitely been one of the most enjoyable experiences I’ve had on the island.

The house is a little out of the way from the busy surf scene in Haleiwa, adding to its appeal for me. I live in downtown Honolulu, so getting a reprieve from the city traffic was greatly appreciated. I never get tired of looking out to the ocean and seeing so many stars. I loved unwinding in the hot tub and basking in the stars and full moon.

I definitely recommend any local cuisine. The shrimp trucks are great and there’s a ton of delicious hole-in-the-wall spots in Haleiwa.

For a great time, I highly recommend visiting Pearl Harbor around noon/lunchtime for a minimal wait time. The Polynesian Cultural Center is an excellent way to spend a day. It’s interactive and fun, teaching you a ton about Polynesian Islands. Plus if you do the luau, you won’t be disappointed. They’ve got firedancers, lots of hula, and the food is FANTASTIC! It’s one of the best local food luau’s on the island. Diamond Head and La’ie are great places to hike. Take lots of water and wear good shoes.

Most of all I encourage you to enjoy the house itself. A huge part of Hawaiian lifestyle is just hanging loose and relaxing. This house is your opportunity to get away from things for a while… enjoy it. Don’t underestimate hanging out at the house, soaking up some sun, and taking a dip in the ocean.

PS. Say hello to the turtles for us! Watching the whales was awesome!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AMAZING!!!

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2008

Our week at Honu Hale was AMAZING!!!

We loved the house and the view of the ocean! The beds were very comfortable and there were lots of things to play with in the playroom!

Walking the shoreline and swimming/snorkeling in the ocean was fantastic, not to mention private.

The sundeck is also a great place to relax and get a tan while enjoying a great view of the ocean and mountains! The hot tub was quite relaxing after a round of golf.

The cove was full of turtles doing back flips in the waves.

We recommend diving with the North Shore Shark Diving Adventures! We dove with 15 sharks – it was exhilarating! Also, the North Shore Surf Lessons was a great time for everyone. Golf at Luana Hills was very scenic and quite enjoyable. Loved the Luaus too!

Mahalo & Aloha! Amazing Vacation

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

My Hawaii vacation

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

I am happy to say I stayed at Honu Hale I...great location on the North Shore, would go back again....great place, relaxing and listening to the ocean at night to fall asleep to and see the stars--fabulous! Including the big dipper and milkey way!! We saw the turtle every morning and he came back 3 or 4 times the morning we left. Beds were awesome, nice to be close to the towns....the best of which was in the plaza across from the sugar/coffee place getting fresh asparagus every day and grilling it. Go up to Foodland a couple towns away for grocery shopping. Garlic Shirmp from Grass-Skirt Grill was the best! Just buy fresh fish,even tho you don't know what it is/name of it, and grill it...delish! Will be back to this great house! Trying to plan a next trip already! Great house, great location--as long as you want a relaxing, calm vacation...thank you for sharing this home!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Honu Hale 1--Super Stay

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: November 19, 2009

This was a WONDERFUL place to stay, especially away from busy Honolulu. It had just about everything that we needed and was relatively close to lots of things to see and do.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Hawaiian Paradise

Review submitted: March 4, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Best Hawaiian Vacation we have ever had. The house has everything you could want ,clean, beautifully furnished, and is in a great location.
Haleiwa is only 10 minutes away for great shopping and food. We found the food carts had the best food especially Macky's Shrimp Shack. The view of the ocean is fabulous and you can hear and see it from the bedrooms. Star gazing at night on the roof and watching parachuters over the house all day, it was my 7 year olds dream vacation. The turtles were out in the water every day. I would highly recommend this house to anyone for a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 31 / 32

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review