reviews for: listing #77470 - Queens, New York Townhome rental

Stylishly Furnished 3 Bedroom Luxury 1200sq ft Duplex
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Astoria
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,750 - $1,750 /wk
    $4,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this property. It was exactly as pictured and perfect for a family of 5 to stay. the main floor offers a nice size living room, dining room and kitchen. There is a balcony as well but we did not use that due to the weather. Upstairs is where you find the 3 bedrooms. The 2 king bedrooms are quite large and the twin is a bit smaller but perfect for the twin size bed.

The whole place was nicely cleaned when we got there and there were no amenities that we were missing. I would love to stay here any time I visit NY.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great NYC Experience

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We stayed there for four nights in October of 2013. It is a great value and very well maintained. The owner keeps it in great shape and is very easy to work with regarding booking and terms of stay. The unit is about a 10-15 minutes from a subway stop and you can be downtown on the N line pretty quickly. There are restaurants and shops nearby. We highly recommend this unit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for large family!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We had a great time in NY and our rental fit us perfect. No issues with the place and would definitely be back to rent. Thank you Mark!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a wedding stay

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Our daughter was married last week and Mark's place was perfect for our family to use as a home base. Mark was very accommodating and accessible throughout our stay. The neighborhood is terrific, lot's of fun restaurants & hookah bars. The subway is close by (N train to Manhattan). Grocery store, cleaners,convenience and liquor stores are very close. Dunkin Donuts just around the corner. Beds are very comfortable, we would definitely stay here again the next time we head to Astoria.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Place to Stay in Astoria

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

This is a clean, comfortable and lovely vacation rental in Astoria, Queens. It has all of the amenities one needs for a great stay: wifi, full kitchen, washer and dryer for laundry, television, and front and back porch. The furniture and decor are elegant and tasteful and the beds very comfortable.

The only caution I would add is it is a bit of a walk to the nearest subway (maybe ten/fifteen minutes) and the bedrooms are all on the upper hallway so it can get a bit noisy if you have a full house.

Otherwise, it is just perfect. Great location in Astoria. Walkable from lots of good restaurants, grocers and shops. Fantastic neighborhood and lovely home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, convenient, comfortable, safe and quiet

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

The title pretty much says it all. My husband and I stayed here with our teenage daughter, to visit our grown son and girlfriend over Christmas. The apartment is just like the pictures, if anything, it's larger than it appears. Plenty of comfy hang out space for all of us, nice kitchen for making full meals, dining area accomodates all of us nicely. Two big beds were super comfy, the smaller bed was a little firm. Bathroom clean, tidy, plenty of hot water, towels, paper goods. The off street parking is a huge plus if you've got a car with you. The neighborhood was quiet and we felt perfectly safe. The grocery store is a quick walk, as are many bakeries and coffee shops, restaurants and street vendors. Subway is about a 10-15 minute easy walk, takes you right into the middle of Manhattan. We had a great time, and will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Holiday

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

Better than the photos. Driveway a BIG plus since a couple of us drove 1400 miles to be there for Thanksgiving. Kitchen is great, beds are new and awesome! One bath for four of us not a problem and the location, so close to Ditmars in Astoria is really great for eating and grocery shopping. 4 block to Astoria Subway/train Station made getting into town and back home easy.
Good place, easy to get to and from, price is OK for New York.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Astoria in the Storm

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

We were in New York during the preparation for, throughout and after Hurricane Sandy. As we wound up staying indoors much more than anticipated on this trip, we were very thankful for the clean, cozy accomodations. We prepared several meals in the fully-equipped kitchen, ate in the lovely dining room, and watched way too much news in the comfortable living room. We walked to the nearby grocery stores and pharmacy, and enjoyed fantastic Middle Eastern (Little Morroco) foods even while Sandy traveled through town. Before she hit, we did get to go into Manhattan via the very close subway station. When it wasn't stormy, and we were unable to get out of Astoria, this home was within walking distance to delicious Italian (Il Bambino), Greek (Bahari) and Spanish (La Rioja)restaurants. This home is perfectly situated to go into Manhattan quickly and easily, and if you find yourself in unusual circumstances, it is a great place to enjoy the company of the others you are with.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Schöner Aufenthalt - nice stay

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Sehr schöne Wohnung in Queens. Wir haben dort 2 Wochen mit 5 Personen gewohnt. Alles war wie im Internet beschrieben. Netter Vermieter, guter Kontakt, gute Abwicklung. Wir würden jederzeit wieder dort einchecken.
Very nice apartment in Queens. Our stay there for 2 weeks with 5 persons was already perfect like the discription in the internet. A kind landlord, good contact, good handling. We would stay there anytime again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Disappointment

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Place was pretty clean, though the paint was chipping away on a few walls.the fans and beds are old but decent.the neighborhood is very charming, it's very multicultural.the owner left plenty of helpful information and maps on the area. location is pretty good, subways only about 10 min walk.
and then there's the bad news:
There was a cockroach in the kitchen the night we arrived, and others throughout our stay. Also, there were hundreds of ants in the kitchen. I understand that such pests are difficult to control for in cities. Perhaps the previous tennants were dirty.These I can live with, and blame on bad luck.
The big problem was NO WORKING INTERNET for our ENTIRE stay (5 days). Despite calling the owner (Mark) when the problem was noticed (call during which he was rude, telling us it was working fine before we got there), we never got connected. For people who were trying to schedule meetings, find places, buy tickets, and work at a distance, this meant our holiday was compromised on a daily basis, forcing us to take care of things at a starbucks or other such place with free wifi.
What did the owner do? Leave a note with 60 dollars, saying "thats the best i can do". Considering that we paid more than 10 times that for our stay, it is, in fact, not the best he could do. 60 bucks barely covers the cost of buying a starbucks latte for 5 days. The best he could do would be to take care of the place and make sure things are working BEFORE people arrive.
After the fact, the owner told me that he relies on clients to tell him there is a problem, so he could not know the internet was faulty, or that there were ants and such. But clearly it is better to prevent such problems by regularly going to check on the place personally instead of waiting for the problems to arise and then fix them.
bottom line: I would advise people to get personal guarantees from the owner that things are working before going, and add a refund clause in the rental agreement.the person in charge of this place may not be as dedicated to personally making sure that everything there is working well as one would expect, so staying here may be come with some problems. if you just want some place that is pretty clean in a nice neighborhood not too far from the city, this will do.

Owners response: I would like to apologize to JC for the unfortunate circumstances that you encountered at our rental property. We take every comment very seriously and have put measures in place to hopefully never have this happen again.

It is true that we do not live at the address of the rental but we try to make sure all is the best it can possible be. We’ve never had this happen before and any pests will not be tolerated or be accepted as bad luck. This was the first complaint that we had received concerning these unwanted guests so we have implemented a bi-monthly program with an exterminator including a complete inside and outside the wall treatments for all types of bugs. (including bed bugs) We will never - hopefully - have problems with any bugs again.

Concerning the beds, 3 out of our 4 beds were bought new for this rental business – less than 2 years old, and mattresses are extra-plush and top of the line (from Sleepys) This comment was not warranted – see other reviews.

Concerning the internet - First again my apologies but this is where the bad luck comes in for JC. The previous renters were having problems at certain times getting access to the internet. So I came in the previous day of their arrival make sure the internet was working. It was. When JC called this is what I told them. If I came off rude, that is possible, not intended, but welcome to NY.

The rest of their story is a complete misrepresentation of what actually happened.

I went over the next day and spent 2 hours on the phone with the internet service provider’s techs and they came to the conclusion that my whole house had to be rewired. There is no 24hr emergency service for internet repair. I called Time Warner Cable and they did not have an appointment for me for weeks.

I left a full page note apologizing again explaining the situation and decided that since hotels charge $10 a day for internet I would refund $12 for a total of $60 which “was the best I could do”. I believe that this was overly generous and fair. You are paying for accommodations, not internet service. It still surprises me that the pest problem is something they could live, but not having the internet was next to the coming of Armageddon.

This vacation rental’s income is the linchpin for my family’s continued financial success. To say that I am not invested in this personally is insulting to me and cannot be further from the truth. Thank you MT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As it says on the tin!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

This property was exactly as described on the website, even better! When we arrived it was all ready for us and exceptionally clean. Only a 10 minute walk to the train that takes you into Manhattan which was no problem at all and the journey took about half an hour. Having never ventured outside Manhattan when looking for accomodation, Astoria was great for our family, the area felt safe, even when we eneded up taking the wrong train and having to walk for 20 minutes at midnight!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a Great Time!

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

Mark was very accommodating and helpful. The place was amazing! To be able to park your car off the street was also a big plus. Highly recommend this property, very clean and the pictures and descriptions online are exactly what you get. Beautiful kitchen and so helpful to be able to keep up with the laundry while away from home. One issue that didn't get fixed was the second bedroom TV. Mark said he would come back to fix, however, this didn't occur. Mark was prompt at replenishing all toiletry and soap supplies when requested. He also was in the process of cleaning out the backyard which still needs quite a bit of work and is very overgrown. The back screen door handle needs replaced but Mark is working on that as well. The subway is a bit of a walk (about 15 minutes) but the ride into the city was pretty quick! Also, the park nearby the subway was great for the kids who had a blast! Had a nice meal at the Sparrow, but a bit pricey. Mark was nice enough to have maps and directions to all major grocery stores, liquor stores, pizza parlors, etc. Great place to stay with a large family, so much better than a hotel room!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Place to Stay

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My family and I stayed on the property in late July and early August for 8 days. We found the place to be in very good condition and the owner was very helpful in resolving any questions that we had. This house is definitely a nice home away from home. Like most people, we were apprehensive about the surrounding area but when we got there, we found it to be a good neighborhood for anyone to stay. It is definitely a safe place to walk around at night. The place is alive with activities. We stayed in the porch for a few nights and we see people walking around as late as 1:00AM before we went to bed.

We had a great time in the house. We wish we spent more time in the house since it was very comfortable place. My family spent a lot of time in Brooklyn, Manhattan and Queens. The train station is fairly close to the house if you don’t mind walking.

My family and I would definitely recommend this place as an alternative to a hotel room. It is definitely more reasonable and more comfortable with your own parking access.

John R

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Astoria apt.

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We were very pleased with the apartment, the six of us were very comfortable.
We found the location very convenient to visit Manhattan, easy access to the subway. Nice neighborhood with lots of shopping and restaurants within an easy walking distance.
The owner was very helpful. We recommend this apartment to anyone.!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachlorette Weekend!

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

This is an incrediably amazing rental that is very clean and well kept! It is in a beautiful neighborhood near the subway. It is so spacious and modern. We drank coffee in the morning on the backyard veranda looking over a beautiful garden. We loved the off the street parking. There was four of us girls on my baclorette weekend and we couldn't have picked a better place. I t was so close to the night life in astoria and was only a short train trip away from manhattan nightlife. We took a short 4 am walk to find a 24 hr gyro stand close by. Delicious!! We did shopping in manhattan and was a short trip home with tons of bags. We will definately be coming back to this rental. The owner is very accomidating and such a nice person. We are planning another trip to nyc and we will definately get this rental!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

I spent a nice city family-vacation back in October due to Mark's hospitality and house amenities including a nicely furnished dining, living, bedrooms and back patio where I barbecued for the family.
Supermarket, restaurants and bus transportation within two blocks. Overall great experience!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place to stay & visit NYC with family

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

We spent a week with our 3 teenagers, the apartment was just the perfect fit. Mark & his wife are very kind, flexible and attentive that everything fits well. The accommodation has been renovated, is clean and very well equipped, with lots of documentation about places to see and how to move around in NYC, which was very helpful for us Europeans. Commuting to Manhattan is easy and agreable, shopping in the neighbourhood is a 5 min. walk with all what you need, quiet surroundings (there is a railway nearby though) make it all a perfect base to visit the big apple. Price is very reasonable (considering cooking is easy for the kitchen is really convenient, then it is really cheap compared to staying in a hotel in Manhattan). Warm recommendation

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great digs in Astoria

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This is the first time I have tried VRBO in an urban area and it worked out fantastically. We had a wedding nearby with a lot of old friends coming in from out of town. The place was perfect for six of us. It also had to be just about the best deal in NYC for price.

Also, the neighborhood is great. Lots of middle eastern and greek food, the cachet part of Steinway is just a few blocks away and being so close to LaGuardia and the subway made it really easy to get around.

The other great thing... the parking spot! You can't beat parking included even if it is to just leave your car sitting there all weekend.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Astoria dream rental

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

What a great place to stay ! Would have trouble finding better accomodations for the size & cost of similar houses. Very convenient area for restaurants,shops,and subway is only a 20 min. walk. Mark is very personable and was always available to answer questions whenever we called. House was very clean and comfortable with plenty of amenities available. Everybody in our party really enjoyed the place and I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay in New York

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Having a great time in New York

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Our family had a great break. We definitely chose the right house and location. We were a little anxious about booking the place through the internet (coming from England meant we couldn't 'check it out')

Bu Mark was very helpful in all communications, and both he and Caroline made us very welcome. The house is really well appointed, and the air conditioning really helped !(it was a scorching week) I'd recommend the location to anyone looking for a very comfortable home, in a good, safe and interesting neighbourhood, and only 30 minutes from Manhattan by subway.

We saw all the usual sights, but I'd recommend the 'Museum of the Moving Image' if you haven't already included that on your itinerary. Also, we came to trust the local restaurants, where we always got good value and service. Avoid buying any meals around the bigger tourist attractions ! (really poor food) and have a great time.

We also booked online to watch baseball at the Yankee Stadium. We're not baseball fans, and we loved it !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice place and owners are wonderful!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Most wonderful place. Very clean, and well maintained. Close to subway and resteraunts. Very nice neighborhood. Plenty of room inside for me, my wife and 5 kids aged 18-13. (wish there was another bathroom but there are 2 showers which helps) The owners were wonderful, very nice and trusting. everything that we needed was included as far as towels and sheets etc. I would not even bother looking for another place if I return to NYC as this one was perfect. Great little resteraunt called Via Espresso around corner. Food is really cheap in the neighborhood compared to Manhattan. Mark's Mom lives downstairs with an adorable dog and she also is so nice and helpful. With the subway being inside 10 min walk, you don't need a car, I drove 1 time in 9 days and it was only to White castle about 9 blocks away. Grocery store is with-in 5 min walk also.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls getaway

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

The place was nice. I went here with 3 of my friends. The walk to the subway wasn't bad. The only thing we wished it had was at least another half bath BUT before going to New York, we thought 1 bath would've been good enough for 4 girls. We also wished there would have been more choices of food in the area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Girls' getaway

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

The place was nice. I went here with 3 of my friends. The walk to the subway wasn't bad. The only thing we wished it had was at least another half bath BUT before going to New York, we thought 1 bath would've been good enough for 4 girls. We also wished there would have been more choices of food in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: As you can see in the next review ntips17 changed her mind and made us a 4 star recommendation.

I will say that Astoria has a tremendous amount of eclectic options for food. Within 3 - 5 square blocks there are more than 30 eateries - that is not an exaggeration.

Just please do you homework before you visit to take advantage of these all this.

Thanks
Mark T

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Whatever your need ...

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

... this place should meet it. We needed to head out onto Long Island for family events and into Manhattan for tourism. Despite the crazy NY hustle and bustle, its location couldn't have been much better. The subway's less than a ten minute walk away, and the freeway is close at hand. The place is very tastefully decorated and there was plenty of room for all of us - five adults and Gianna (11 months) - without a scent of claustrophobia. The surrounding area is great - especially Steinway Street, which offers a glimpse into another culture. As another reviewer said, you gotta love that parking spot! Mark's Mom and her dog, who live downstairs, were both a joy to meet, and Mark himself was most friendly and accommodating.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good Digs in Astoria

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

Mark (the owner) was very pro-active and accomocdating. The property itself has been recently updated, and everything was clean, in good working order and comfortable. The location is excellent, particularly if proximity to Manhattan is desired. Looking forward to an opportunity to stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

We had the opportunity to be the first to use this completely renovated home…and that’s exactly how it felt, like our home away from home. House comes equipped with everything, even your very own parking spot which is a huge plus in NY! Astoria location is great because you are close to airport and city w/o having to deal with the city chaos or high $$. Area is safe, quiet and very convenient for shopping, eating and walking to subway.
Mark and Karo have scouted the area and leave a list of key places which makes grocery shopping or ordering take out more convenient.
Highly recommend this Astoria home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Arizona Family

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We highly recommend this vacation rental. It was big, clean, and very comfortable. All the amenities you need are provided. The location couldn't be better. Just a 15min subway ride to Manhattan!! You also cannot beat the parking spot!! This was one of the best features as it is VERY difficult to find parking on the street. The owners were really nice and attentive. They even provide maps to the closest necessities, like pizza and chinese food! I will definitely stay again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Astoria!

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

The place is blocks away from famous Steinway Street! A variety of ethnic foods available in the area.

Wonderful furnishings. Charming home. Description of space is accurate.

Convenient walk to the metro (Astoria Blvd stop)!

Mark and Karolina are professional, honest and friendly. Smooth key exchange and transaction!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review