reviews for: listing #77480 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Gulf Breeze House 1
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $500 /nt
    $950 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

Disappointing, like camping with a roof!

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

We stayed here with our extended family for my nephew's wedding. Being a vacation rental owner myself, I know the details, expectations and needs of vacationing families. We rented both levels of the house. It was clean and was just 1/2 block from the seawall/ beach area where we could walk to many restaurants and the Pleasure Pier. The view is obstructed by 2 old buildings, one is a shop and the other an abandoned unkempt building . The decks were pleasing to relax on when the sun was warm enough. We were there the first week of May and nearly froze our first night there. There were no blankets or extra covers of any kind to use so we had to go to Walmart and purchase our own. The sheets and pillow cases were mismatched and very old. The mattresses on the bed were soft and the beds made lots of squeaky sounds. Come prepared, there was no bath soap, no paper towels, no laundry detergent, and no basic condiments like salt and pepper. There is Wifi . The upper level has an odd layout in which you have to walk through one of 2 bedrooms to get to the kitchenette and into the bathroom.The couches are newer and comfortable.It would have been nice to have a dresser since there are was only 1 closet per level. The upper level does not have any kitchen seating. With the amenities available, it is overpriced.

Resubmit this Review

Best Wishes,
Reviews Team
VacationRentals.com™




Property/Unit
#77480 - "Gulf Breeze House 1"

Reviewer Location
Colorado Springs, CO

Date of Arrival
May 2, 2013

Review Rating
2 out of 5

Owners response: The cleaning lady was supposed to have used newer matching
linens which I do have instructed her to do so along with
leavinging plenty of soap,toilet paper and cleaning supplies.
I have hired a New Cleaning Lady to take care of this house now!
This will insure that the future renters are well taken care of.
I have also instructed the New Cleaning Lady to leave plenty of
fresh clean & new blankets!

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Gem of Galveston

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

I wanted an inexpensive place to stay by the beach for a quick weekend get together with my kids(24 and 19). What a little gem this house is! Is obviously an older house, but the inside is not outdated and very well kept. If not for the building directly across the street, you would have a completely unobstructed view of the beach! But you will still have that "beachy" atmosphere as the view on either side of the building is wide open.

The deck is very nice, but we really didn't get to take much advantage of it because the weather was not cooperative. Was a little chilly and very windy. You're within walking distance (half mile to mile) from Pleasure Pier, and we actually enjoyed our strolls along the beach even beyond that. Did our morning run along the sidewalk next to the beach.

We were there for Mardi Gras weekend. Holy cow! Everyone was jacking up the posted price on their website! I didn't know that MG weekend was a big deal in Galveston til I started looking for a place. But Diane's price quoted on her website was exactly what we paid. What a great deal!

Had a little issue with getting the cable to work, but the residents downstairs (who have rented from Diane several times) kindly came up and tried to work with it, and when that didn't succeed, they got in touch with Diane and she immediately came and got it working. (We still had a few issues, think there may have been a loose connection somewhere because we finally got the cord situated just right so that it would work. Was really a non-issue though!)

I did have to contact Diane to remind her about refunding my deposit (possibly because I forgot to pay my deposit separate from my rental), but less than 24 hours after I contacted her, she had the refund processing through my Paypal. Things are bound to happen and issues come up, but she always responded very promptly. I highly recommend this house if you are looking for a nice, comfortable, reasonable place to rent by the beach in Galveston. Diane was very easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great house for traveling with 2 young kids!

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

Upon our arrival late at night, the owner had turned on the interior and exterior lights, which was a nice touch. The house was clean, not cluttered, and an ideal solution for us to stay with our two kids (ages 3 and 1). She also had the A/C on so it was comfortable in the house as well. The rental contract, payment, and check-in was easy! The patio out front was very nice, and my husband and I spent a lot of time out there after the kids went to bed listening to the ocean. There is a view of the Gulf from the patio and living room window. There were tenants who were renting the upstairs and we barely heard them except for the occasional movement. The street is quiet too and there is parking in front of the house on the street. The living room pic is not current. It still has the two sofas but now has a daybed as well. It is not crowded though. We borrowed a playpen from a friend of ours (as we used to live in Galveston) so that was perfect for the one year old. We did need to use the heaters as a few nights the temp got pretty chilly outside. They were easy to use and heated the house well. The bathroom is very nice! There were ample linens, towels, and extra blankets. The beach is within walking distance, maybe a block away. There are lots of restaurants and the Pleasure Pier is within walking distance as well. The Seawall is 1/2 block away. The only thing that would have made this house better would be to have had playpen for the baby to sleep in and unfortunately there was no toilet paper so my husband had to run out and get some. We had an amazing time and would definitely stay here again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Return visitor!

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

We love going to Galveston, and the place we stay is " GulfBreeze#1" we have stayed twice here and the location is within walking distance to the Sea Wall and Beach! We stayed in the bottom house and our good friends stayed in the top rental! Lots of remodeling has been done and is now so much more accessible for handicapped people like my husband. We love the landlord too, she is very easy to do business with!! We will definitely go again! Thank you for a wonderful place to stay!! See you next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful and Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

I must say that this was the best vacation I have had in a very very very long time.
The house was very nice and comfortable. It was convenient to restaurants and shopping and best of all, the beach. We did not have to drive anywhere except the grocery store and that was no too far away (just up the seawall). Evenings were beautiful and mornings wonderful as I could sit on the deck and sip my coffee.

We will DEFINITELY be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Summer Vacation 2011

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Would highly recommend this property for summer vacations, weekend getaways etc. We just went for summer vacation, we so enjoyed the location....walking distance to the beach and many restaurants! The house was in excellent condition, very comfortable and clean. We so enjoyed our time there at the Gulf Breeze house....perfect spot if you have children and teenagers! The upstairs deck was very nice...we sat in the evennings and enjoyed the breeze and in the mornings to see the sunrise over the ocean!! I am very happy we found this vacation website and Diane was so easy to work with, very good customer service!! I will definitely be returning with my family in the future!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

The beach house was in a great location,shopping right in front and all different places to eat.The house was very open and welcoming,It had alot of charm.We had 4 adults and three kid 12,6,4yrs never felt crowded.We will certainly rent this house again and friends that stop by loved it to,next time I think we'll have to rent the whole house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

I was a great beach house, walking distance to lots of food place and across from the beach. The house has everything. I will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review