reviews for: listing #77569 - Destin, Florida House rental

Beautiful Gulf Front 5BR Home Aqualina DELETE
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,400 - $6,400 /wk

sort by:

Almost New House

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My family and I have been renting Aqualina or other nearby Delos units for the last 6 years. This year we noticed the house was newly painted and the outdoor pool tiles and deck had been replaced.
We were told all the repairs and paining were just finished two days prior to our arrival.
From the last time we stayed here 2 years ago, it seemed like a brand new house

As usual, we enjoyed our annual family reunion and the management team was very quick to respond to our calls. Our kids did something to the elevator so it stopped working. Thankfully, the repair man came each time to nicely explain how to properly run the elevator. The kitchen was well stocked (much better than our previous stays). All 14 of us were able to sleep comfortably. My in-laws have always loved the gulf view. We will be back next year again to stay in this beachfront townhouse since the money is well spent compared to renting a bigger gulf front house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WHAT A DUMP!!!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

The title says it all, and I have pics to prove it... We stayed at this rental during Easter break 2013. Ac was broken, all balcony furniture was horrible. The place looked like it had not had any routine cleaning and maintenance in a long time. The electrical outlet was hanging out of the wall on one of the balconies. After spending a considerable amount of time at the management office, they replaced the rusted out pots, had the ac fixed, and replaced the melted dryer vent. This was just the beginning. We paid premium for a week, and ended up leaving early. It was totally disgusting. The garbage from the previous guests was overflowing out of the cans and smelled. Mold on the windows, grime on the walls and floors. Cracked and broken tiles by the "pool" which was as big as a bathtub. The only thing clean was the toilets and beds---which is obviously all they keep up with. In the end, the GM of the management co. came out herself, and was totally embarrassed. We got a small portion of our money back, but in my opinion, that was a joke! If I wanted to go slumming, I could have stayed for a fraction of that price a couple of blocks down. The only thing pleasant was the fixit guys that came by- I think they felt sorry for us.

Owners response: We appreciate your comments and cannot apologize enough for your bad experience. Off-site owners, like us rely heavily on management companies to handle guest-related issues and report anything major back to us.

In this case, we did not hear the whole story. In April, we were told
by management that a discount was given due to A/C repair and safety issues from cracks and broken pool tiles. Due to guest’s post like this one, we became aware of cleaning problems and poor kitchen items. We noticed some cleanliness issues this spring and asked the management company to take care of this – so they switched cleaning crews (but obviously, this did not fix the problem). Because of this issue and poor communication, we changed management offices recently in May 2013. Our number one concern is providing a great experience for our guests and when that does not happen, we want to AND need to hear about it directly. So thank you for your post.


Our gulf front house has rented very well during the summer and spring time and we usually do all our repair work and upgrades during the winter months. Unfortunately, this year we had to wait for the
Association to repair the pool, pool deck and leaking balcony (they
needed to secure funds since some of our neighboring units had the
same issues with cracks and broken tiles on the pool deck). The timing
of the repairs was out of our hands unfortunately. We could not finish
all our repairs/upgrades until we received Association approval, so
this year, our work was not done until May. We painted the entire
house after the leak and finished the pool repair work. We are
currently looking to replace some of old outdoor furniture.

We thank you for your feedback. We also want to reassure our guests
that our house is in excellent condition after the finished repair
work and new paint job. We are confident the new management team will do much better managing, including and most importantly, keeping the house clean and better communication with owners.


Again, we sincerely apologize for your experiences. We believe that the steps taken, including getting a new management team among other things, will alleviate these concerns and provide an even better experience to our guests. We hope that you do choose to return and as always, we appreciate your feedback.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Family Reunion

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We rented this house after my friends stayed last year and recommended to us. This town house has everything we asked. We could watch kids who played in the beach just front of the house. We enjoyed sunsets every evening. Our parents and kids loved gulf front views from balcony. We loved every decorations of the house. My kids liked the Bunk Room. The splash pool is small, but very good for kids. We enjoyed the community association large pool when needed. The kitchen is well equipped and efficient. The parking is limited for 2-3 cars, but better than the house we stayed last year. We may come back for company retreat this fall for change.
We will be back next year for our family reunion.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

5 stars!

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

A truly amazing place on the beach. Came here with my family reunion of sorts for a week.

The pictures of the place really amazed me when I was trying to pick a rental and when I got there, it didn't disappoint. The place is a three story beach house with an amazing view and private beach. Everything was clean and well prepared for our arrival.

Pros: Beach house with a private beach area. Pool in the patio. Great bedrooms with their own private bathrooms. Fully stocked kitchen. Overall ambiance was amazing. Was able to have so much fun right on the beach. Also, every floor has its own balcony overlooking the beach. Was able to hang out with family or read a book alone with the best view whenever I wanted! I was impressed with the decor of the house and how much renovations this house had undergone. I've stayed in similar houses (this house is part of a row of 12-14 houses right by each other) and they are all in varying states of renovation. I've stayed in 2 other houses (one a couple houses over and another house that is about nine houses down) and this is by far has the newest appliances and renovated kitchen/bath areas.

Cons: Problem with the spa/pool area but maintenance was able to quickly come and fix it. Thought the living area space was a bit cramped but not terribly so. Real estate on the beach is limited I know but would have been nice to have a little more space....but there is plenty for a large family. Couldn't find the chairs and umbrella for the first day and had to have someone come out to look for them with us but they were again prompt.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

The townhouse was actually nice with style, enough pots/pans for cooking. Location near all restaurants and activities plus being on the beach was fabulous. Date of our arrival, we were met with a rep and they were very helpful; though the house was not as cleaned as we expected. Dirt/sand was on the floors, no sweeper or broom to assist us with keeping it kept up (so we bought our own), and some damage was to some bathroom areas--which we fixed ourselves so we wouldn't be charged. Didn't contact the mananger because the rep was there and they saw all this...Even though this occurred, we were happy with the place. Though one couple who had to stay in the bedroom connected to the hot tub did not care for all the in/out of traffic through their bedroom. Setup could have been where the hot tub was out from the dining room or something. Smiles.

Overall experience -- was good.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Thanksgiving Fun

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We stayed at Aqualina over Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time! We had no problems what so ever with the accomodations. Special thanks to Marsha (managment) who was very attentive and giving of herself to make sure our Thanksgiving was great!

Highly recommend to everyone!

Thanks again - Marsha - we will be calling you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Disappointment..... we were there recently during Hurricane Lee, paid for spa pool to be heated, ( it didn’t even work), patio furniture bottom floor was torn up... air went out on the bottom floor (where I stayed) & main level, sliding doors are not all fixed, kitchen is sparsely furnished. TV on the bottom floor does not have sound on lots of channels, at times most all channels are without sound. Professional decorations are very outdated. Four couples met there for a week... one couple left when air went out, another left early as well. Only two couples stayed for duration of rental. Watching the Hurricane was awesome. We did enjoy being directly on the beach… had to pay to rent umbrella and two chairs, other homes beside us, umbrella and chairs are included in rental, not us. Would have been nice for this to have been included for us since air and spa pool were not working.. Departure expectations are a little over the top.. since we paid a cleaning fee. Realtor was accessible by text…

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests and strive to do our best to improve the conditions of the house. We sincerely wish that all our guests have a wonderful vacation at our beachfront house. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction you felt from staying at the house during Hurricane Lee.


First of all, we are constantly adding more kitchen supplies and making repairs as soon as humanly possible. With our house being rented every week since Spring Break, we have had many items go missing or in need of repair. We have worked hard to try and make sure the repairs and replacement are on time. However, for these incidents, there must have been some miscommunication problem. When our property manager responded to one of guest's requests, the TV was working OK and it did not have to do undergo any repair. It was likely a problem related to the incoming hurricane as this TV was just purchased a few months ago. When our property manager was asked for more items for the kitchen, they were provided within a day. I hope this is just a miscommunication issue and not reflective of any true problems at our house.


After talking with our property manager, she remembered getting two to three text messages a day and she responded to every request promptly and solved any issues.



Due to the constant sea breeze, we have had frequent problems with the air conditioning unit and heater for the pool. We installed a new unit just last year and it has already had to undergo numerous repairs. The insurance company has finally approved a replacement of new units due to the constant, unforeseen issues with them. We hate to make any excuse but it was simply the reality of the situation.



Further, Pella Company is working with our association to put new windows and sliding doors in all the Delos Units. Because of the large scope of the project and avoiding hassling guests during the summer season, the repair project is scheduled at the end of October. We hope these will take of any sliding doors and windows problems for all Delos Association Units.

For our guests’ troubles, we refunded the full heating fee and offered a significant discount for the future bookings to compensate their inconvenient stay. We will consider adding complimentary beach service for all future guests.


Thank you again for your feedback. We welcome the chance to improve our service.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Christmas stay at Delos

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

I stayed at this Condo, as I have many at Delos and have found ALL the units smell like rotten eggs when the water is turned on, but when I let it run a bit through the pipes the smell went away. I really enjoyed my stay at this unit and my only complaint would be the lack of parking. A property that is a 5 bedroom needs more than 2 spots to park in. ALL the units have door problems also and I hope this was resolved since Pella is suppose to be such a wonderful company. My hot tub wouldn't heat, but I didn't pay for pool heating, so that was resolved quickly after I paid the $100.00 fee for the week. Otherwise I had a great vacation on the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

property #41192

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Our family of seven spent the Thanksgiving week at this rental. Looks great online, but had alot of maintenance issues. There had been quite a bit of time since anyone was in the condo. It would have been helpful if the property manager had checked the condo is advance of our arrival. The first time we turned on the shower it smelled up the entire condo like rotten eggs. Several light bulbs were out. Kitchen is ill-equiped. If you used the pots and pans you needed a chisel to get them clean. The owners desperately need new pots, pans and sturdy hand utensils. They had vacuum cleaners on all floors (3), some worked ok and others didn't, we finally bought a plain old broom (worked like a charm). They had a hot tub on the 1st floor, but we could never get it warm enough to get in. The exterior sliding doors on all 3 floors did not work properly. We had to buy some W-D 40 to get one of them to slide. The other two came completely off the tracks. Thank goodness my husband and son-in-law are large men and could man-handle the doors back onto the tracks. The location is great with a beautiful gulf-front view and with a little maintenance, refurbished and TLC this property could be great, but I would not rent it again and would not recommend it to anyone elseas it is now. We actually left a day early. This is the first time we've used VRBO and I'm not going to judge them by this property. Hopefully we'll have better luck next time.

Owners response: We appreciated any comments so that we can improve our second home for us and our guests. Since we purchased the house, we have changed the property manager and updated many items such as television, the kitchen equipment and new air conditioning unit.
We have not heard any problems with odors at the shower from any guests this year.

For the sliding doors, our association has been working with Pella company to fix and repair all the sliding doors since some units in Association have had similar issues. All the sliding doors were secured now until we have the brand new Pella doors are installed soon.

Helpful votes: 37 / 40

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review