reviews for: listing #77605 - Portland, Oregon House rental

...far from ordinary, close to downtown...Buckman House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Inner East-Side,
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $225 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,450 /wk

sort by:

Portlandia at its best.

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Great home with a lot of character. Location is perfect and very central to all the best things Portland has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Baby

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

I rented the house for a week in Portland, came up north to meet by Nephew's newborn. I love this house, location is great, short walk to coffee house, greek deli, fabric store etc. Found out it is one block over and one block down from the birthing/midwife center where the baby was born. House is well stocked, extra blankets, coffee pot, nice kitchen, quiet road.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a fun time with kids!

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

We had a great time staying at this house. There was plenty of room for two kids and three adults to stay. It was very convenient: super easy to take the bus in and out of downtown, on the east side of Portland so very easy to head out to Hood River, only a little over a mile to town if you want to walk and close to lots of great little cafes and restaurants. The kids had a marvelous time. They had their own playroom next to the kitchen, played hours of table tennis, and we were only a block from a marvelous school playground. The school even has a small indoor pool open for free swim an hour a day and lap swimming much of the day.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home!!!!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

Buckman House was perfect for us. We were in Portland to attend a conference and wanted to NOT stay at the hotel so we found this house. Very cute decor and it was easy to find everything we needed. Comfortable beds with nice linens. Great bathroom on the main floor with another new bathroom down in the basement.

GREAT restaurants within walking distance of the house. And we loved that others had left behind usable groceries - didn't even think of that!

Public transportation would have been fine, but we rented a car anyway. Driving around is easy enough if you use your Smartphone's GPS. Parking at the house was NEVER a problem.

The wi-fi was going to be a huge asset and although we all got on the wi-fi with the provided password, none of us could access the internet on our own devices. Very strange.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank-you for staying with us, sorry about the wifi, it is usually very reliable, and I did trouble-shoot and got it working with my ipad after your text, but my neighbors said theirs from the same provider was also down intermittently during your stay.

I leave the house stocked with a few staples and leftovers are often a bonus; so you'll often find a chilled six pack in the fridge.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy SE Portland home

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

We had a great time during our three day weekend in Portland; the house was snug and warm despite the snow and sleet during that infamous weekend. Being within walking distance to See See Coffee & Motorcycles was a huge plus for me and the group. Easy street parking was a plus as well.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I felt like I was back at my childhood home : )

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

My sister from Idaho, me from California and my niece who recently moved to Portland, met at the airport for a little reunion. We drove up to the Buckman house, there was a Christmas tree with lights on in the front window and the house was warm and cozy when we opened the front door. We felt like we were arriving at a family member's home. The pictures can't convey the feel of the place. I felt at home immediately. We stayed 3 nights and literally spent most of our time in the house. We had so much fun sitting around the kitchen table, drinking wine, eating great food that was prepared in a kitchen that had everything a cook would want, playing games (Password - my sister and I played that very edition back in the 60's) and laughing so hard we cried. We had ping-pong competitions, watched videos from the huge selection, and sang Christmas carols near the Christmas tree. We were able to meet Anne when she came by with a wreath for the door. Thank you, Anne, for a truly memorable holiday celebration. We will certainly be back. It's obvious that you have the gift of hospitality and we greatly appreciate all your efforts to make your home feel like our home. And next time we may even explore Portland, a wonderful city with a wonderful vibe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank-you so much for your review; we are all blessed when we can spend time with those we love and laugh until we cry! Merry Christmas!
We look forward to having you back, please book early as we're are filling 2014 sooner than ever this year and I love to accommodate returning guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We needed a house with comfortable sleep arrangements for 8 adults for a girls getaway weekend and Buckman house was perfect. Lots of restaurants and dancing within walking distance and fabulous vintage shopping a short drive. The house had plenty of room and was well stocked. I highly recommend it for families and groups.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun House, Great Location

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

So much to do in walking distance, quiet neighborhood, and fun basement space to hang out in. Will be back and bring more friends!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Buckman House

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Great place to stay. It's easy to walk to most things around the area. Great communication with owner. She answered all questions promptly. Thanks for the enjoyable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Portland Family and friends trip

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

We had a great time. Put the kids to bed upstairs and commenced in playing many games of Ping Pong, drinks and snacks...we all looked at each other and said, why don't we do things like this more often. So much better staying in a hotel for a wedding weekend. If you want to be close to everything and don't mind cooking for yourself and family this is a great home away from home. Everything we needed to have fun and keep kids entertained is at the Buckman house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful start to our WORCA (Washington, Oregon, California) Vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

The whole experience with Buchman house was wonderful starting with the very personal interaction between the owner and writer prior to booking the home. We found, upon arrival, a very quaint, extremely well supplied, retro Portland home. We all loved the new retro red appliances, and the fact there was absolutely nothing we needed to feel comfortable and relaxed. The home comfortably slept the 3 couples in our party, and we certainly appreciated the 2 full bathrooms. Information about the Portland area and the Gorge was helpful in planning our too short visit to Portland and area. The first night we walked to a local restaurant, the East Burn and had a wonderful meal and service. The next day, we easily navigated our vehicle onto the highway and spent the day, as suggested by the owner, driving the Gorge. The only downside would be the fact there was no bathroom on the 2nd floor and 2 of the bedrooms, but it certainly should not hinder any able bodied people from staying at Buchman. Also, although we did walk into the Pearl district and benefitted from the workout, it was a very long way and suggest public transportation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, great location!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights on our way from San Francisco to Whistler. The house was perfect! There was plenty of space for 3 of us and our dog. It was very comfortable, well-maintained, and in a great neighborhood. Being able to easily unload our bikes off the car and put them into the basement was definitely a bonus. It is centrally located to some of our favorite places-- OMSI, Powell's, and The Lumber Yard (indoor bike park). We ate dinner nearby at Boke Bowl and Slide Inn--both were delicious! Our only regret was not staying longer! We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oregon Brewers Festival Basecamp

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Our group, consisting of six guys, rented the Buckman house for three nights during the 2013 Oregon Brewers Festival. The house was spacious and clean and well-suited for what we wanted to do. The owner, Anne, was very helpful and made it easy for us to get into the house and to coordinate our activities during our stay. The Eastside location was good for some of Portland's best pubs and taprooms like Green Dragon, Cascade Brew House, Burnside Brewing, Fire on the Mountain chicken wings, and Coalition. The house is also two short blocks up to Burnside Avenue where you can catch the Number 20 bus into Downtown Portland and the Pearl District and to connect with the Street car and light rail. We would definitely use the Buckman House again for a Portland getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Family Wedding, Big Family Visit, Lots of Great Memories

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

We put up two thirds of the bride's family here. Adults and children. The house was perfect for them, the neighborhood was perfect. The garden around the house made it even more perfecter. The owner graciously permitted us to harvest delicious blueberries from her garden. Our neighborhood was quiet and full of little Portland Oddities, like backyard chickens, front yard cardoons, and a nearby house that looks like an old fishing cabin with a Thunder Dome on top. We loved staying here and would do so again, and again.

Bus lines into downtown Portland were two blocks north and south. Parking was excellent for our family cars. The neighborhood was quiet and friendly (plums were ripening and more than one house had a sign offering passersby free plums). Coffee shops were within easy walking distance, VooDoo Donuts Too was very close.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, comfortable, flexible space!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We had a great week and the house and its location played a large part in that.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great house to relax and base-camp to see Portland

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

A group of six adults found the Buckman House to be completely charming, relaxing, and well suited to spend a vacation weekend checking out Portland.

The house had plenty of space for us. We loved the ping pong table. The kitchen worked out well for several meals. Great stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 14, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Buckman house for an outing in Portland; a concert and to check out the vegan restaurant scene. We were pleased with the location; as we all enjoyed walking and exploring the city. We even walked to the Rose Arena for the show. The house is roomy and comfy; like staying at your favorite aunt's house! The kitchen is charming and mornings drinking coffee at the cute kitchenette and preparing a family style dinner one night were very enjoyable. We would definitely stay there again for a Portland outing.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Christmas Experience

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We've stayed at many vrbo properties all over the world. This was by far the most "renter friendly". In most cases, the first thing we need to do upon arrival is head to the store for toilet paper, shampoo, detergent, etc. At Buckman House, everything you need is here. You just replace as you use. The home was in a great location - close to breweries, great eating and fun shopping. Anne even put up a Christmas tree and lights for our Christmas stay - which made it even better! Would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A beautiful, comfortable home at the center of everything!

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

My family (wife and 1.5 year old) were meeting up with my brother in-law to spend a weekend in Portland. The Buckman House provided a cozy homebase with ample room and all the amenities that we could want. The house was clean and the owner was wonderfully responsive. They had a bunch of guide books and maps that were useful in making the most our of our stay in Portland.

I'd absolutely stay here again and would recommend this rental to friends. Within a short walk are the excellent restaurants (The Screen Door, The Farm, and many more), coffee, groceries, and at least 4 breweries (Migration --the best!--, Coalition, Burnside, and Captured by Porches... and probably a few more), and public transportation to take you anywhere you may want to go. The neighborhood is safe and comfortable.

The only thing to keep in mind is that this is an old house with creaky and sound amplifying wooden floors. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to bring some sort of sound machine or something to help cancel the noises of anyone who might be walking around. My wife is a light sleeper, brought her noise machine and slept wonderfully.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A beatiful, comfortable home at the center of everything!

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

My family (wife and 1.5 year old) were meeting up with my brother in-law to spend a weekend in Portland. The Buckman House provided a cozy homebase with ample room and all the amenities that we could want. The house was clean and the owner was wonderfully responsive. They had a bunch of guide books and maps that were useful in making the most our of our stay in Portland.

I'd absolutely stay here again and would recommend this rental to friends. Within a short walk are the excellent restaurants (The Screen Door, The Farm, and many more), coffee, groceries, and at least 4 breweries (Migration --the best!--, Coalition, Burnside, and Captured by Porches... and probably a few more), and public transportation to take you anywhere you may want to go. The neighborhood is safe and comfortable.

The only thing to keep in mind is that this is an old house with creaky and sound amplifying wooden floors. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to bring some sort of sound machine or something to help cancel the noises of anyone who might be walking around. My wife is a light sleeper, brought her noise machine and slept wonderfully.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unique, Spacious, and Close to Everything

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

This Buckman house perfectly embodies the spirit of Portland -- quirky, laid-back, and friendly. This was the perfect spot for a weekend with four close friends. There are lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance, and downtown can be easily reached via public transport. The owner pays attention to the aspects of a rental property that really matter including a fully stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, reasonable rental rates, and a great record collection. In addition, you have the option to save some cash and clean the property yourself. You'll find lots of careful touches like a fire pit filled with wood and personally delivered fresh coffee from the owner.

I recommend this place for anyone hoping to enjoy Portland away from the expensive touristy hotels in a comfortable, optimally located home-away-from-home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

Eight people, three generations (ages 30's to 80's) plus friends enjoyed 5 days at the Buckman Home. It is built to enjoy and feel at home in...not pretentious, very comfortable, clean and very well stocked.
The beds were comfortable, the red kitchen stove delighted us, so did the two chickens next door. We were on a bicycle week so eight bicycles fit easily downstairs and we didn't even have to carry them, there is an outside entrance with a driveway to roll your bike in and out of. It was a quiet safe neighborhood, Public transportation is an easy walk. There are excellent restaurants within easy walking, try East Burn...they have some swings for chairs plus great food.
The Buckman House is well suited to a variety of Travellers, we had no need for the crib, games, toys etc. on this trip, they were in the basement though to help the next travelers. We will be back knowing it is a great location, and an easy home to live in. Mary n Bill Fuhs

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Opportunities for Improvement

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

For the safety of guests and to protect the owner's liability, outdated and/ or unlabeled foods should be discarded.
Deep cleaning (behind headboards, under beds, stove and vent fan, rugs vacuumed, behind bedside tables) should be done more frequently.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Buckman House

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

This home away from home was clean, comfortable, and colorfully furnished. We were five colleagues attending a five day training. Although we had never roomed together, the house atmosphere and amenities made it fun and easy for us to fix meals and be together. Yet, we were still be able to rest and not get in the way of one another. The owner was very helpful along the way.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Time in Portland

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Had a great time! Portland mass transit got me and friends there for NCAA tournament. Location was excellent. We had access to markets in different neighborhoods with downtown close. The house was very comfortable, beds were good, ping pong excellent and the amenities like grill, kitchen and bathrooms were quite good. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone who is either driving or wants to take mass transit and forget the car. Also, would be great to rent and ride bikes. Neighborhood is good as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great VRBO in Portland!

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

We stayed at the Buckman House for a family get together. The house was darling! It had all the amentities we needed. Anne was a very gracious host and made us feel very welcome. The beds were comfortable, the place was clean, the kitchen well-equipped. Also, we loved the location. The Three Friends Coffee Shop was a quick walk away, as was the restaurant Noble Rot. We liked that we could walk the neighborhood and still be a close drive to downtown and Hawthorne.
Thanks Anne for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for a gang of knitters!

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

First - you didn't even know knitters came in gangs, did you? Well, they do, and we did.

Seven attendees of the 2nd Sock Summit held at the Portland Convention Center, a gathering of both long-time real-life friends, a couple of sisters, and acquaintances met at the 1st Sock Summit who became bosom buddies over the internet in the intervening years, stayed at Buckman House for a week. It was awesome!

We used the main living area the most - all 7 of us could gather in this spacious room along with 2 spinning wheels and piles of yarn. There was room for four of us to practice the flash mob dance (yes, knitters do flash mobs, why do you ask?) and not step on each other.

The kitchen gathered us in the morning - very fun decor in the kitchen, with the diner style table and the retro feel to the modern appliances. A nice French press coffee maker along with the espresso machine one of us brought attracted the morning characters, but the comfort of the kitchen kept us there once we arrived.

Every knitter had their own bed. No more than two knitters to a room. FABULOUS appliances to cook the food that knitters really love (mostly beer, but also some killer pasta sauces, salads, veggies, etc.). We packed light (to leave room in the suitcases for packing yarn purchases) and loved the excellent laundry appliances.

The neighborhood was great. A nice 15-20 minute walk to the light rail every morning, and on the way home our route took us past great restaurants (Old Wives Tales, Lemongrass Thai), a great Greek deli, and with just a few extra blocks, Coalition Brewing. (I did mention we were knitters, didn't I?)

The neighbors were inviting - one even recognized us when we were out to eat and came over and chatted. I went for a couple of enjoyable runs in the area - don't miss running through the old Lone Fir Cemetery between 24th and 26th on Morrison. Beautiful, interesting, quiet - really relaxing for a nice jog.

One of the best features was the owner. She was there finishing up cleaning along with her son as we arrived. Both enthusiastically shared features of the neighborhood, and it was clear he (a young guy - I'm bad with ages but not in junior high yet, I'd say) was really proud of the place. Very welcoming, and very flexible with our odd crew with our even odder arrival times. She returned our security deposit really quickly and communicated well with me throughout. Oh, she does a good job cleaning, too - the place was spic and span.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great stay for 3 generation family

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

Three generations of our family group stayed here. We enjoyed Portland's zoo and children's museum, attended a college graduation, and two of our party climbed Mt. Hood. The home is comfortable and cozy with all we needed to prepare many meals. Grandchildren enjoyed the toys, bunk beds, and nearby park. Interesting bicycle shop is just a short walk away.

The property was clean and just as described online. The owner was helpful and prompt in communicating with us, as this was our first vacation home rental experience. When we go to Portland again, I would stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Buckman House FUN and CHARMING!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

This vacation rental is great for those looking for the full Portland experience.....Charm, character, socially responsible and maybe a little alternative… no big box gloss here. Convenient location near downtown in a nice safe funky neighborhood. Parking was convenient and we checked out great nearby restaurants, shopping, and parks. It was wonderful to have the whole house to ourselves and the layout was great for 4 adults and 3 kids. Unique and quirky house with the retro décor and lots of extras that show the owner takes pride in the vacation rental and is a generous host. We loved the extras which included beautiful antiques, Pendelton blankets, toys, board games, travel guidebooks, Personal computer, toiletries, well stocked pantry with olive oil, organic coffee, herbal teas, etc. The owner was helpful and responsive, and has gone above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. We had a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome place to stay!

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

My writer's group stayed at the Buckman House for a weekend and we had a great time. Being there was completely effortless. The kitchen was amazingly well stocked. We literally did not lack for ANYTHING and we made a couple of big meals while we were there. It was cozy and comfortable, and we loved the retro decor. There's a charm to this place that comes naturally and makes you feel at home. It was convenient to downtown and there was a grocery store nearby. The neighborhood was fantastic, very quiet and perfect for a group of writers.


The owners are extremely gracious and friendly and easy to work with, too.

We just can't say enough wonderful things about the whole experience of staying at the Buckman House. It's very family friendly, but it was also the perfect retreat for a group of adults, too. I would recommend it for anyone with a group who wants a great place to stay in Portland. Everything they say in the description is true and then some. My friends and I love Portland and visit often, and the concensus was that anytime we can, we would rent the Buckman House for our stay, and we intend to come back next year for another retreat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

We spent 5 nights over the Christmas weekend at the Buckman House, with our adult children and grandson. The house was amazingly wellequiped and convenient to all of Portland. The cafe around the corner had great food. We enjoyed the basement recreation room, both the ping pong table and the vintage records. Our grandson enjoyed the playground only a block away. Yes, we recommend it and would stay there again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Our family (parents plus 3 boys) had a great week and a half at this conveniently-located house. Within walking distance of the free streetcar, we were able to easily get across the river to downtown Portland for shopping, restaurants, etc. The house had a thriving vegetable garden with fresh tomatoes and herbs. The kitchen was really well-equipped and easy to use. All the furnishings and bed linens were high quality and in good condition. Super clean house. Lots of thoughtful additions like the radio/cd player in the kitchen. Bose CD player in the living room, Flat screen tv. Speakman shower head in the bath. Pendleton blankets on beds. Ping pong table in the basement and a very useful washer and dryer. Would stay again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

My family and I stayed here and loved the house.
We had four small children and it was such a bonus
to have all the "extra" kid things in the house! Plus,
there is a cool park in close walking distance! The
house is great--has everything you could need and
then some. It's great to have someone care so
much about their rental. We would definitely stay
here again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

My comment will be a little unusual, but I wanted anyone looking for references to the Buckman House to know how professional and helpful Jim is. After many deliberations, our family is not renting from Jim, but not because we weren't impressed with the accommodations or the owner. We simply found we had too many people for the house. Through all the debates about where to rent for our son's wedding in August, Jim was so communicative and friendly, that I felt like I was talking to a friend or relative. On a future trip to Portland, I am certain we will stay at Buckman House, and I am very much looking forward to that opportunity!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

Our son got married in Portland in November 2008 and we were extremely lucky to find Jim's house on the VBO website. We required something that was big enought for my husband and myself plus our daughter, her husband and four girls. The house initially looked small from the outside, but was surprisingly roomy inside. We loved the retro look and the girls just loved the big screen tv and all the DVD's etc. They also had a great time using the basement for table tennis and the sound system. The only downside was 1 bathroom for 8 females -but we managed. It was also in a great location - we walked just down the road to a great Cafe for breakfast - most amazing pancakes. Thanks Jim for your wonderful hospitality - sorry it has taken a while to comment on your great property. We would definitely recommend this place to others. Judy and Colin Watkins, New Zealand.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 17, 2008   Date of arrival: November 17, 2008

We had several family members coming from out of town to attend our daughter's renewal of vows ceremony. The Buckman House was roomy, comfortable, well equipped, conveniently located, clean and met our needs very well. Jim was a very caring host. The surrounding area had an ample supply of places to eat and grocery stores near by. The neighborhood was quiet and well maintained. An enjoyable stay all the way around.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2008   Date of arrival: October 26, 2008

Our anual visit to Portland was vastly improved by staying at the Buckman House. It's comfortable beds, extremely clean interior, fabulous retro ammenities and the very agreeable dog policy made for the perfect vacation. The neighbors were welcoming and the location is central and convenient. We can't wait to go back next year! A wonderfully helpful and kind owner, too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We stayed at the Buckman House in early July of this year. It's a charming house in a great location. Jim was a wonderful host who made sure our stay was pleasant and comfortable. We certainly appreciate his first-rate hospitality. We often rent houses or condos for our vacations, and I must say that Jim is one of the best vacation rental owners with whom we had the pleasure to know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We stayed at the Buckman House in early July of this year. It's a charming house in a great location. Jim was a wonderful host who made sure our stay was pleasant and comfortable. We certainly appreciate his first-rate hospitality. We often rent houses or condos for our vacations, and I must say that Jim is one of the best vacation rental owners with whom we had the pleasure to know.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

We have stayed at the Buckman house with our 4 children in de ages 11 through 20. They all had a great time in the basement playing ping pong while listening to some great music, they even played in great yard. For us this house offered much more room and privacy than we would have receive in a hotel. We were able to invite our friends from Portland to have a BBQ in de backyard. We were able to relax together in the livingroom and the house has lot of games for the children to play with. We even received free frisbee lessons from the owner! We truly recommend the house to anybody who is looking for a nice and quiet house to stay in Portland.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2008   Date of arrival: July 16, 2008

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our 4th of July
weekend stay at Buckman House. It was clean and
comfortable, and we loved walking the
neighborhoods and looking at the great old houses
and visiting the friendly Portland folks. There were
great places to eat close by, as well. We were just a
few blocks from Le Pigeon, a highly regarded
French restaurant, and just a short drive across
Burnside Bridge took us to downtown Portland and
Hiroshi, a superb sushi restaurant. When we weren't
out enjoying ourselves, we relaxed in front of the
fantastic big screen TV with all those cable
channels! Buckman House is definitely a place
where I would choose to stay again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 31, 2008   Date of arrival: May 31, 2008

Six bike racers, the team manager and the team mechanic all stayed in the Buckman House during first couple of stages of the Hood River Stage Race. We could not have asked for a more wonderful place to stay. The house was in a perfect location, central and easy to get to, but also a quiet and peaceful neighborhood with beautiful old houses and trees. And, the interior of of the house was so nicely furnished, we felt like we walked into a pottery barn catalog, with some extra personal touches. The pictures on your website don't do it justice at all. Thank goodness for the downstairs fun room - it was the perfect place to store all of our bazillion bikes.

Thanks again for everything!
Virginia
PROMAN Racing Team, California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2008   Date of arrival: May 15, 2008

Stayed from 5/4 though 5/7. We bought our German
Shepherd with us which was great as there were plenty
of places to take him. The place was lovely. Liked your
LP collection in the basement (Nice touch) and the
ping pong table. Great friendly neighbourhood and
coffee houses. Would definately recommend .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2008   Date of arrival: May 7, 2008

I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at the Buckman House. It was a very busy trip, with my daughter's wedding and birthday and all the associated events, so we didn't get as much time to relax and enjoy the house as much as I'd have liked, but it was a pleasure being there. Everything was lovely, and you do a wonderful job of making guests feel at home. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

Thank you Jim for opening your home for us. We were in Portland for a Health Conference at the Convention Center. It was a blessing to be only five minutes from the Convention Center. We had a great time and love the neighbourhood. Funky restaurants in the area. Thank you again Jim.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2008   Date of arrival: April 14, 2008

We just recently had our wedding and the groom's family stayed at the Buckman House. My brother and family drove down from WA, and my parents flew in from Hawaii. It was 100 times better than a hotel and allowed us to bond and spend some quality family time...mom cooked and dad played with the grandkids. Even though we didn't get to enjoy the yard and patio (because of the weather), the basement with the ping pong table and stereo kept us entertained. The Buckman House is a wonderful place to stay and very family friendly. Jim was very pleasant to work with, and I commend him for maintaining a beautiful home. Thank you for making our SPECIAL WEEKEND possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 17, 2008   Date of arrival: March 17, 2008

Buckman House is a wonderful place to stay and we loved the centrally located neighborhood -- close to everything that's good in Portland. We rented the house twice in the past 2 months -- once for a girlfriend weekend after my bridal shower, and then some of our wedding guests rented it for our wedding weekend. It is very clean, has comfortable beds, games, music, ping-pong, and Jim is very accommodating. I wouldn't go anywhere else!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 25, 2008   Date of arrival: February 25, 2008

Everything about this home is perfect! You will be glad that you chose this as your place to stay.It is far more luxurious and much, much more relaxing than a hotel! Everything we could have possibly needed was provided and provided with and eye for style and comfort. This really seemed like a home away from home. And, as a bonus there is even a yard with a picnic table & chairs to enjoy. The neighborhood is pleasant, interesting and quiet, even though it is so close to so many of Portland’s attractions. We found that getting around the city & its environs was easy from this location. You can stroll over to shops and restaurants, take a short, easy drive into downtown Portland or even take advantage of the near-by mass transit system. We would definitely stay here again. One of the best things about the rental was the homeowner himself who seemed dedicated to providing a wonderful experience for his renters. It worked, the experience was wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 1, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

My wife and I and one of our friends had last minute booking at the Buckman house after Christmas which turned out to be a great decision! For starters - the house was beautifully furnished, very clean, warm and inviting. We were planning on being out visiting friends the entire time but after we checked in we hardly left the house! Who would want to leave? This house is perfect! The neighborhood is great - lots to walk to and it is close to everything. We really appreciated the details - nice quality lines and towels, soaps and shampoos - it was like staying in a hotel but ten times better. Thank You Buckman house and we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2008   Date of arrival: January 13, 2008

Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home, we
will never stay in another hotel again when we are in Portland. We felt very
much at home here and loved all the amenities, well stocked kitchen and bath.
We will be back again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2008   Date of arrival: January 13, 2008

Buckman House is Great! The next time I come to Potland I will
definetely stay here. Nice furnishings and very homey. I liked the TV and
wireless. It would be great for a family too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review