reviews for: listing #77668 - San Francisco, California House rental

Stunning Home in North Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $230 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,610 /wk

sort by:

A SAN FRANCISCO FIND

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

My wife and I rented this 2 bedroom house just on the edge of Chinatown in June of 2014. The house was very open and spacious and seemed larger that it was. The skylights and windows made it unnecessary to have lights on most of the time.
Steve has spent a large amount of time making this home special. Everything was just as advertised and perfect for a person to live in a home and be next to everything you needed to enjoy the city. I would highly recommend this property to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place that has everything you need!

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

The property is immaculate. The bedrooms are the perfect size and the beds are comfortable. Did not have a problem getting around town being just steps away from Columbus. Has quite a few eateries around in walking distance to include The Stinking Rose. You can walk to practically anywhere or catch a bus to anywhere. Walked to the Wharf the first day and it took about 25 mins. Caught a bus the next day and got there in about 7 mins. Got a couple of bars around that have your normal bar clientele but I never had a problem walking around at night. This place is fantastic and just the right size for 1 to 4 folks. Has parking and laundry units if you need them. Steve was extremely nice and allowed us to store our luggage in the garage since our flight didn't leave until well after checkout. My first visit to San Fran was made even better staying here and I would definitely stay here again if I come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Bargain, with everything you need.

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great deal. Parking and laundry is a plus. The place was immaculate. The beds were comfortable and it had everything we needed. The location is good. We walked to Stella's for scones, North Beach bakery for macaroons and The House for sea bass. The location at night is a bit sketchy, but we had no problem. You can walk to everything from here.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Super house. Great location.

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in San Fran. Steve was super helpful with the booking, arrival and departure. The location is great, with most things being walkable from the house. Interesting historical and movie related locations and bars nearby, for anyone who is into their movie history! (Dirty Harry films, etc). Great restaurants locally. Chinatown nice and close by too. Downtown and Fishermans Wharf are an easy walk. All good. Would stay here again and would recommend to all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Don't look any further - Perfekte Wohnung!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Steve’s Wohnung gefiel unserer 4-köpfigen Familie sehr, sehr gut. Steve ist ein sehr angenehmer Vermieter. Wir hatten viel Platz, nutzen die Waschmaschine und fühlten uns während unseres 5-tägigen Aufenthalts sehr wohl. Lebensmittel kauften wir im nahegelegenen Bio-Laden und freuten uns am originellen Handwerksmarkt um die Ecke, der einmal im Monat am Sonntag stattfindet. Wir würden die Wohnung sofort wieder mieten und können sie 100% weiterempfehlen.

Our family of 4 liked Steve's apartment very much. Steve is a great host. We had plenty of space, even used the washing machine and felt very comfortable during our 5-day-stay.
At the nearby organic shop we did our groceries and I loved the original craft market around the corner, which takes place once a month on Sunday. We would rent Steve’s apartment again and recommended it to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Location location

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

Being a frequent traveller to san francisco from Australia and a typical tourist that stays in downtown hotels, I was so surprised with the Fresno Street property and loved everything the home and location had to offer.
The presentation and cleanliness of the home is of a very high standard and the photographs depicting the interior are exact. Location is fabulous as you have an easy walk to waterfront, Fisherman's Wharf or into Union Square.
Having all the space of a house instead of an individual hotel room just made this visit wonderful and catered for every need, including a sunny private courtyard out back and a garage.
Steve was a great host who was punctual, friendly and available to answer any questions.
I would highly recommend this property and so look forward to staying there on my next visit to San francisco. Oh and did I mention the very comfortable beds, crisp bed linen and plush towels.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Well maintained centrally located place.

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

4 of us stayed here for a week and enjoyed our stay. It is centrally located so you can walk to many attractions and restaurants. Very clean and well maintained property. Parking is only in the garage (not on the street because it is very narrow). If you have a car a small or medium one is best depending on your parking skills! A large one is probably not going to fit. A large car is going to be difficult to maneuver in San Francisco anyway-traffic there is a challenge and parking is expensive. There are a couple of small grocery stores in walking distance. We did have some street noise in the front bedroom at times would be my only negative. The owner was nice and easy to work with. It was very helpful to have washer/dryer and dishwasher there as well as a kitchen and 2 bedrooms all for a reasonable price.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Perfect rental

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Everything that you see in the listing, the exterior and interior of the house, what is provided, how it is kept, and the photos, all faithfully represent what you will find here. For someone who wants to explore San Francisco as most people know it, the location is excellent. You are right in North Beach, two short blocks from Chinatown, a pleasant walk to the Wharf and Pier 59, Coit Tower. I used to live in this city, but have never been so centrally located. I know these areas, but also some of the lesser known neighborhoods. This location is a treat. The only thing to be mindful of is that the Saloon (founded 1861 I think that's what this local landmark said on the window) overflows onto the street with trash and drama. The stripclub barkers also offer local color. None of this posed any problem. And to be perfectly honest, my wife, who has never lived in SF, wanted to come back to this place before we even left it. Suggestion: A dish drainer would have been nice. Also, Steve is very easy to get along with, which is a nice plus, although we didn't need much of anything. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exactly as Represented

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

My family and I loved the rental. It was clean and well maintained with additional linens and supplies on site. Steve was available for questions both before and during the stay, and we could not have been more pleased with the location. My college aged boys took off to enjoy nightlife (which was within walking distance) about the time I was ready for bed . There were many vintage clothing stores, ethnic restaurants, local grocery stores and attractions within walking distance of the rental. Since parking is relatively scare, it was a bonus to have a secure garage---equipped with a washer and dryer.
Comfortable, high quality bedding, wifi, large closets to "spread out" for an extended stay, good outside lighting at night and a clean, attractive and uncluttered feel.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Rental in a Great Location

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

We've stayed at several rentals in various San Francisco neighborhoods and Steve's rental is so far the best of them all. The rental was very clean and well-appointed and there was plenty of room for our family of 4. The location was very convenient and it was an easy walk to a lot of places worth going to. Although we did not get to meet Steve it was not a problem as he was very prompt in responding to our text messages. We definitely recommend this property to anyone and would probably try to rent it again next time we visit this great city.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Winning Week!

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

We were the lucky residents of 27 Fresno the week the San Francisco Giants won the 2012 Championship, and the whole city was rocking. Game after game, the sweep that week led up to the final victory---and it could not have been a better week to experience San Francisco!

This rental was the perfect home base for my family. Little Italy and North Beach shopping just down the hill. Chinatown a couple blocks away. Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and Coit Tower are not far away.

Cable cars and the Muni bus system (get a Muni Passport!) are a great asset if you plan to explore further without a car. And 27 Fresno has a garage if you do plan for a car! We visited Ft Mason, Golden Gate Bridge, the Marin Headlands, Haigh-Ashbury, and Golden Gate Park.

The rental at 27 Fresno is a perfect blend of restored vintage and modern convenience. The layout is traditional with skylights and Duette blinds offering both light and privacy. The details are well thought out and Steve has provided everything for a great stay---ample linens, fenced back patio, kitchen necessities, roomy closets, washer and dryer, and a deep tub for a relaxing soak (nice luxury for those of us who like to walk those San Francisco hills).

This residence is perfectly appointed and perfectly located. Steve is friendly, efficient, and responds quickly to any questions. We appreciated the opportunity to stay here and hope to return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

An amazing place to stay!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

San Francisco is one of my favorite place in USA and my 4 nights stay in september 2012 has been even better thanks to this great appartment!

Next to Chinatown, Financial District and North Beach the appartement is also few minutes away from restaurants, bars and transportation.
Even if the nightlife is vivid on Broadway, the bedrooms are quiet, specially the one at the backside.

The appartment is wide, bright, extremely clean and has been entirely refurbished.
Rooms, kitchen and living room are spacious and very well equiped! Each time something was needed, we just had to open a drawer or a closet to find it!

The washing machine and dryer are really convenient.
The parking happened to be larger than what the description says and we managed to park it our Ford Escape (mini SUV).

Steve was really friendly and answered each of our needs with great efficiency!

27 Fresno is a really great place to stay!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Incredible Vacation

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

Our first trip to San Francisco was made even better when we made the decision to stay at 27 Fresno during the first week of September. It was close to everything - the Embarcadero, Union Square and shopping, Coit Tower, transit, and restaurants (several times, it took us less than 2 minutes to walk to recommended restaurants for dinner!) This is a charming spot to stay - nicely furnished, well equipped, clean, bright, and the outdoor patio was an absolute bonus (an especially nice spot to have a glass of Napa Valley wine after a long day walking through Golden Gate Park!) Steve was very pleasant and wonderful to deal with and he responded to every question in lightening speed (greatly appreciated when, on the way to the airport, the friend with whom we rented the house realized that she had left her tablet behind!) Many thanks again Steve for offering such a lovely spot -- we had a wonderful stay!

Barry and Ann, Ottawa, Canada

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Jewel in North Beach

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

I am so happy we choose this home out of all the listed homes in North Beach. All of the reviews have said it all. The house is so clean and so cute, it made us feel like we were home for the 2 weeks we were there. Steve has done an incredible job of remodeling this 2 bedroom 1 bath escape in San Francisco. Everything you need is there from coffee maker, washer/dryer, hair dryer and kitchen utensils . I suggest bring your own bar soap for the bath and any small items you need ( tea bags and ground coffee for me). The ferry building is walking distance and the farmers market on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturdays will get you most of the groceries you need. The Natural Store down the street has the rest from inexpensive but good bottles of wine to a salad bar to die for. If you want some of the best scones you have ever had try Stella's...yum. Yes the house is in an alley, and yes some evenings the noise level can get up there but we always felt safe and slept great. We plan to stay here again during our next visit to SF and would recommend the property to anyone wanting a great experience in the North Beach Area. Oh and the restaurant down the street "The House" had the best pork chops we have ever tasted!!!! Thank you again Steve for sharing your wonderful home with us.
Ann and Tony Houston Texas

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful place, beautiful setting

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Steve's place is beautifully decorated, simple, but elegant. Everything is so white and clean, I didn't want to touch anything! Very spacious for four people. Loved the bed!

The location is terrific. There are night clubs down the block, but you can't hear the noise. My family had no problem sleeping. It's a very quiet lane. On the other side, is Chinatown and North Beach with all its eateries, cafes, and markets. Molinari's with their awesome salami is only a couple of minutes away. Stockton and Columbus streets are so close with access to so many buses, we could easily move throughout the city.

There is a garage for a car, my husband managed to fit a Chevy Impala in it. The entrance is a bit narrow, but once inside it's very big. Did I mention even the garage is so clean! Washer and dryer was a definite perk. Thank you so much Steve!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What A House! What A City! What A Guy!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This house is fantastic…..It’s very spacious, tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard. It’s spotlessly clean and everything from appliances to linen and towels appear to be very new and good quailty. We stayed for 17 nights and there was nothing we needed that wasn’t already provided.
It’s a fifteen minute walk to the main tourist area (Fishermans Wharf) and about 20 minutes to the excellent shopping area at Union Square, passing through Chinatown on the way. The house is situated in the popular North Beach area which is lively, with excellent restaurants to suit all tastes. There are quite a few bars and nightclubs in the general area but even returning late at night with kids on foot we never felt unsafe – it’s totally fine.
If your hiring a car, this property is for you. Car parking can be difficult in residential areas so the integral garage is a huge bonus.

This was our first holiday where we hadn’t booked the whole package through a tour operator / agent. We were initially a little nervous but there was no need to worry. It was so straight forward and Steve, the owner, is an excellent communicator, 100% reliable and honest. His description of the property is very accurate and what you see in the photographs is what you get, they’re not taken to make it look better than it is.

Book it……You’ll love it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Vacation Home!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

This was our first experience renting a vacation home and what a fantastic time we had! Steve was great to work with; answered emails and phone calls promtly, met us at the property and made us feel welcome right away. This house is in the heart of North Beach, close to restaurants and shops. Walking distance to China Town, Fisherman's Warf, the Coit Tower and the Cable Cars. Short drives to Golden Gate Park, AT&T Park and The Golden Gate Bridge. It took some getting used to to get our rental car into the garage, but in no time, we were doing it like we were old pros.
I would highly recommend this property. We are already looking forward to our next stay, and hoping it will be sooner rather than later.
Thanks Steve for sharing this beautiful home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT place in the heart of SF!!!!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

My family and I just returned from a wonderful stay at this rental. Everything we could have possibly needed or wanted was provided for us at the house. The entire house is kept incredibly clean and well stocked. The owner was so helpful in answering my many questions leading up to our arrival. We could not have asked for a better location or place to stay. Thank you Steve for all your attention to detail!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home (Shoreview,Mn)

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

I was visiting San Francisco for a conference in Fisherman's Wharf. I prefer to stay away from the wharf and this location was perfect. I could take an easy stroll to my meeting or hop on the #30 bus. Our daughter was able to join us for part of the week. The second bedroom was perfect for our family. We rented a car to make a day trip to wine country and Muir woods. They were out of compacts at Alamo but this was not a problem. We had a Ford Focus which he could back into the garage. You do not need a car unless you plan to leave the city. If you decide to rent a car check out Costco car rental if you have a membership. We could easily walk to restaruants. The "House" is a wonderful restaurant down the block which I would recommend. We also enjoyed "Naked Lunch" which is a block away. Both are Zagat rated. The neighborhood has multiple bars, restaurants and coffee shops. We travel frequently and this area felt European. Broadway street has a few clubs that are very seedy but I never felt unsafe. Weekend nights were noisy but this was not an issue on week days. The property is perfectly located in North Beach and on the edge of Chinatown. The wharf and ferry building are an easy walk. The property is spacious and very clean. We loved having a parking garage and wash machine. The outdoor space was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine. The house is bright and clean. The furnishings are from Ikea and have a very contemporary feel. The owner, Steve was awesome from the moment of booking. He is excellent at communicating and was at the house when we arrived. It is wonderful to have an alternative to meeting hotels. Thanks for exceeding our expectations.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lovely Apartment in a Great Location!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

The apartment was lovely and very clean. It has everything you need and with two adult children we all had our own space - far better than a hotel room. Steve was great to deal with and all transactions with him were very easy. The location is superb with good restaurants just around the corner. (I recommend The Stinking Rose restaurant if you like garlic and also Stella's pastries which is just down the road for delicious pastries and great coffee). I would have no hesitation in recommending the apartment and we were all sad to leave.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Find!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Our family stayed here for our kids' Spring Break week, and it couldn't have worked out any better! Great location, perfect size for our family of four, and as clean and organized as advertised. We rented a car for the weekend and it was great to have a parking spot inside a garage(!) Owner has done a great job with this property, and everything worked as smooth as could be. Thanks for a great weekend our kids will remember for a lifetime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful & Great Location

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

My mother, sister and I stayed in this home and had a great time! The house is beautiful and very clean. It was great to be so centrally located near the main tourist attractions - the "end" to China town is a block away and the attractions on the wharf just a 15-20 minute stroll away. Bathroom counter space would be the only downfall if there are three women trying to get ready at the same time, but it was a perfect home and completely enjoyed or stay.

Steve was so friendly and accomodating, too - from giving the taxi driver directions to promptly responding to emails and phone calls.

Thanks, Steve, for sharing your beautiful and well-appointed home with three Hoosier women!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

We stayed for six nights and found the house very clean, well-maintained and comfortable. The house is stocked with all the amenities you might need for a stay away from home. We cooked dinner several nights and had everything we needed. The location is ideal with shopping, great food and landmarks within walking distance. Keep in mind that walking in SF usually involves hills. Cabs are plentiful and bus stops close by so options are readily available. Mo's Grill is right around the corner and has a wonderful breakfast menu. Sotto Mare was a fun night out for seafood. The house is quiet in the midst of lively North Beach. Steve has done a great job on the remodel and made this process really simple. We visit SF quite a bit usually staying in hotels. This stay was so much nicer because the house has so much to offer. We highly recommend a stay at 27 Fresno.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Home

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this charming home. It was so nice to feel like part of a neighborhood instead of an impersonal hotel. The home is sunlight filled, pristinely clean and stocked with everything needed for a comfortable stay. We loved being able to walk to Stella's bakery in the morning for pasteries. Mo's diner Is perfect if you are in the mood for a big breakfast.
We have two children who enjoyed having space to run around at the house and even eat outside in the adorable patio. We can't wait to get back as soon as possible.

Kimberly B.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Superb

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Everything about this experience was efficient and friendly. From the point of booking the owner kept in contact and when we needed to change our arrival time was particularly accomodating.
The apartment itself was as described with all the little extras which make the difference between an apartment and home from home. The towels were soft and luxurious, the down duvets warm and comforting and the whole apartment was clean and well furnished.
We hired a Ford Focus which we had no problem in putting into the garage although it is tight turning into the garage.
The location - equadistant from both Union Square and Fishermans Wharf was brilliant. the apartment is located on a steep hill (well this is San Francisco!) but this did not pose any difficulty.
We have already asked the owner when we can come back again, I would absolutely recommend this to a friend - although if everyone goes - it will be full when we return! Seriously though, San Francisco and this apartment are wonderful - definately visit.
Attractions in SF worth visiting - Coit Tower, Pier 39, Californian Academy of Science, SF Zoo, Exploritorium and of course Alcatraz (book online a couple of days in advance for Alcatraz)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Gem in North Beach

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 17, 2012

Location! Location! Location! Most things you'll want to see and do in San Francisco are an easy walk from this thoughtfully and thoroughly remodeled townhome. Our mid-size car fit comfortably in the garage and stayed there for 2 weeks. Union Square, Chinatown, the Embarcadero, Fisherman's Wharf, the financial district, Coit Tower, etc. are all comfortable walks from this location as are hundreds of restaurants.
It is well and tastefully furnished. The beds are comfortable. Everything was clean. The kitchen facilities and equipment, as well as, the bath and linen supplies were first rate.
Frankly, we can't say enough good things about our stay - in fact, as I write this my only concern is that it will get so booked we won't be able to return to it on our next trip to SF.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

greatest holidays week in San Francisco

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

We loved the apartment. It was very clean, organized, decorated; with amenities you may need. I would go back in future visits to San Francisco

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful Thanksgiving vacation!

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

We spent a week on Fresno Street over the Thanksgiving holiday. What a wonderful place to call home for a week! The house is located in a great central location. We could walk to the wharf, Union Square, and Chinatown with ease. Right down the street are great restaurants, coffee shops, bakeries, and grocery stores, all locally owned. The North Beach area is charming! The house itself is immaculately clean, spacious, and very well furnished with all of the amenities of home. Steve was gracious and made us feel very welcome. I hope to stay there again during my next visit to San Francisco! I would wholeheartedly recommend the house and the location at anyone planning to visit the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow, What a fantastic place for a Holiday

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

This amazing little gem was all that we expected and more. The photos and description were very accurate. The house was spotless and very well maintained. Steve was more than accommodating with greeting us. We were leaving at 5am and he was more than happy to come to see us off. We were in San Fran for "Fleet Week", boy did we get to see (and hear) some amazing aircraft stunt flying. As this house is located in North Beach there are lots of great restaurant about. We found this fantastic Thai restaurant just near Fresno St where everything on the menu was only $5.00. Couldnt have asked for anything better, food was great. With only a 15 min walk to Fishermans Walk, some of it up and down hills, but what can you expect in San Francisco and 15 min walk to Union Square (through Chinatown) it is so centrally located. Would highly recommend this propery to anyone visiting this amazing city.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it here! Better than a hotel!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Our family of four spent 5 nights/6 days at this meticulously clean and cozy property conveniently located in the heart of North Beach. Everything about this home far exceeded our expectations, from the spotless and sparkling kitchen to the coziness and warmth of the well-appointed bedrooms. The abundance of spa-quality towels and comfy bed linens truly made our stay a comfortable one and would definitely stay here again.

Such a pleasure to deal with the owner, Steve, who was there to greet us when we arrived and again to see us off at departure. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay in a homelike environment

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

We were travelling with two kids and (1 and 5) and this was a perfect place to stay. We rented the apartment for 9 days. The pictures are accurate and you will find everything you need at the apartment. Steve, the owner, is very helpful and provides every detail you need or want to know before your vacation. I was positively surprised how nice the apartment was and since we were travelling with two young children the apartment was very well maintained. Especially the bathroom and kitchen were brilliant. I was surprised how much extra pillows and towels were provided. We also had a car and because of a doublebooking at the car rental office we were provided a bigger car that we asked for. We had a Ford Fusion and the carage was big enough to fit it in. All you have to do is manouver a little bit more than with a compact car.
It is well worth visiting and we will stay there again if it is available.
Timo K.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice House in a great position

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

We stayed in Fresno Street for 10 days and it proved to be a great base for exploring San Francisco and the wider bay area.

The house had everything we needed and was spotlessly maintained. Position in North Beach gave access to loads of good restaurants and was central for all sorts of other attractions.

The garage was great for the car which we rented and saved having to find and pay for parking. We followed the advice to get a compact car which was a good job as getting it in would have been really tricky with anything larger.

Overall a great place for a holiday in San Francisco.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

loved it!great home away from home

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

clean,comfertable,causy,full equeeped,well kept as new,very large,big kitchen,great eating table,
we are a family with 2 teenagers,it was wanderfull,alot of space for all of us and we had a very good nights sleeping,we stayed 1 week.
the streets below are little italy and chinatown'very easy walk also to union squer and shopping street and to the bay
thank you Steve!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic stay in San Francisco

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Imagine that you are a tourist from overseas and went to San Francisco for the first time. You have to rely on the description that you find on the internet and have to trust what other guests have written. In this case we have to underline what other guests have written that this flat provides a unique stay for tourists in San Francisco. The flat is newly refurbished and is very clean, the kitchen is well equipped with modern gas stove, dish washer, coffee machine and all kinds of utensils for fixing a good meal. The cutlery and crockery is fresh and clean. The beds were big enough for two persons to sleep comfortable and there were plenty of space for the luggage. The living room was comfortable with a nice sofa and an arm chair. Furthermore the bath room was clean and well equipped. North Beach is in the centre of San Francisco and it was easy to reach all touristic routes. Cafe Trieste was very close and well worth visiting. We have travelled all over the world and thus have stayed at all kind of flats and hotels. This flat showed to be one of the best flats that we have ever rented and would like to recommend to following guests. It was very easy to discuss with the owner and we felt hearty welcome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect SF Experience!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We loved this rental! Such a great place! Super clean, has everything that you need, perfect location, Steve...the owner was so nice and did an amazing job with the space! To be able to rent your own house in such a great area at an affordable rate, with a compact car parking space, and a house that feels that comfortable with so much charm...is a rarity in SF! Steve...thank you so much! We will definitely be back and recommending this north beach gem to our friends! Jen & George

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Die perfekte Unterkunft in San Francisco!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Wir, 2 Erw. und 2 Jugendliche (13 und 15 Jahre) aus Oberstdorf / Germany hatten für 5 Tage eine tolle Zeit in San Francisco. Nicht zuletzt aufgrund dieser gemütlichen, sauberen und geschmackvoll eingerichteten Wohnung. 2 gemütliche Schlafzimmer mit bequemen Doppelbetten, reichlich Platz im Kleiderschrank, schönes Wohnzimmer und große, komplett ausgestattete Wohnküche mit Zugang zum privaten Hof/Garten. Auch wenn nur ein Badezimmer (sauber und reichlich Handtücher) zur Verfügung steht - wir haben uns wie zu Hause gefühlt. In die Garage passt ein Kompaktwagen - unser Midsize SUV hat gerade so reingepasst. Also das Auto nicht zu groß buchen oder erst am Abreisetag abholen, denn eigentlich braucht man hier kein Auto. Man kann viele Sehenswürdigkeit wunderbar zu Fuß erreichen. Chinatown, Little Italy, Coit Tower usw. Wir haben uns für 24 Stunden Fahrräder geliehen und sind einen Tag kreuz und quer durch San Francisco, über die Golden Gate Bridge bis Sausalito, mit der Fähre zurück zu Pier 1, dann über den Broadway zurück in unsere Unterkunft. Die Räder konnten wir prima in der Garage unterbringen und am nächsten Morgen konnte es gleich wieder weiter gehen. Waschmaschine und Trockner hat uns für unsere Weiterfahrt Richtung Nationalparks wieder saubere Wäsche beschert. Die Wohngegend ist zentral für viele Unternehmungen, aber dennoch ruhig in einer kleinen Nebenstraße gelegen. Nachts konnten wir bei geöffneten Fenstern und frischer Luft schlafen. Sehr lecker essen (Frühstück und Abendessen) kann man bei mo´s in der Folsom Street, tolle, extra große Burger und leckere Omelettes, frisch gebratenen Schinken, tolle Pancakes usw. Auch im cafe puccini haben wir gut und günstig gefrühstückt. Gute Italiener um die Ecke ermöglichen es Pizzas oder Salate auf dem Heimweg mitzunehmen.
Nette und unkomplizierte Kommunikation mit Steve im Vorfeld der Buchung per Email und bei der Abwicklung der Bezahlung und der Kautionzahlung und -rückzahlung.
Wir empfehlen bei Ankunft am Flughafen in San Francisco ein Taxi zu nehmen (35 $), am besten von unterwegs Steve anrufen, weil sogar der Taxifahrer die Fresno Street nicht kannte. Herzlichen Dank für diese schöne Unterkunft lieber Steve!
Sollten wir wieder einmal nach San Francisco fahren wird diese Wohnung unsere 1. Adresse sein!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a wonderful stay!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

We can not say enough good things about this vacation property. Walking distance to most tourist attractions, lots of wonderful cafes nearby, we took total advantage of the location, also having a garage is very helpful! (Make sure you get a compact car, the street is kind of narrow)

Steve is always on top of things, very organized and helpful. My family and I enjoyed having a "home" to come back to after each fun filled day. I highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

North Beach 2BR Gem

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This is an updated and finely detailed, well maintained home in North Beach. It is current, comfortable, clean, and secure. Beds are superior with a large surplus of towels/sheets. Garage parking for a compact car but perhaps larger if you're careful. Washer/dryer in garage.

Location is excellent--nearby restaurants number in the dozens and walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and beyond--Union Square and downtown is not a stretch.

Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic SF Vacation Rental Home

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

My family just rented this property while in SF. What a find! The home was SPOTLESS & cheery, beautifully furnished, kitchen appliances new, cabinets well stocked w/dishes, cutlery, etc., etc., closets loaded w/clean fluffy towels, extra sheets & blankets, pillows, the L/R and both B/R's (each furnished w/a queen bed) have walk-in closets, TV's, & radio. Home has internet, and a secure garage - a rare find in SF. Forget the hotels, who can and do charge up to $45/night to park your car. To boot, the home is right around the corner from China Town, Little Italy, and public transportation, but is also very quiet. Another rarity - a washer & dryer in the garage. The owner was a pleasure to deal with - reliable, pleasant, & professional. My family and I agree that this gem of a home helped make our SF stay wonderfully memorable - and very comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property, great location

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights with my wife and 2 year old, the place was just perfect. Lovely simple decor, all amenities and equipment you could require and Steve the owner was very friendly and very quick to respond - he phoned me in the UK within an hour of mailing a request to rent the property. Location is in a great position - right by but not actually on a main street, in a fascinating neighbourhood with lots of restaurants, bars & shops, pretty much where chinatown and the 'little italy' part of north beach meet. Easy access to public transport and lots of things within walking distance made this the perfect start to our vacation

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great value!!!!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

This location cannot be beat and the price is very reasonable!! We have been to San Francisco many times and this was by far the most convenient to all of our favorite things. We walked to different places for dinner every night - Chinatown, Little Italy and the Financial districts are only minutes away. There was also a great bakery nearby where we got great pastries for breakfast every morning. On our last morning we even got to watch the filming of a movie only a block away.

We frequently use VRBO when we travel and this was the best kept place we have ever rented. Everything we needed was provided and Steve was great to work with. If we ever make it back to the city we would love to stay here again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great property and memorable experience

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

Glen & Karen late 50's from Australia stayed at 27 Fresno St. in early April 2011 and enjoyed a great experience starting with professionalism of Steve the owner; clean, spacious, modern house ideally located on the border of 'Little Italy' & 'Chinatown'; friendly locals; short walk to City Lights Bookstore where you could lose hours browsing and a two mile downhill walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Great bar at 15 Romolo around corner, good expresso and pastries at Stella's on Columbus Ave. and numerous restaurants in easy walking distance. Recommend walk Grant Ave. to Washington Square for interesting shops then onto Wharf area, walk through Chinatown and catch Cable Cars at Mason/Powell St to Union Square. Overall a wonderful experience and fantastic base to discover San Francisco, particularly if you choose to walk.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect vacation rental

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

We rented this property in early March and it was absolutely perfect. It's very central to everything but on a nice quiet street. We have 2 boys, 9 and 11, and they were so happy to have their own room while traveling! The house is immaculate. There are plenty of towels and having a washing machine and dryer while traveling with kids is amazing! Steve is super nice and was very punctual for our check in and check out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellente location très bien située

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

La maison est impeccable et idéalement située pour arpenter San Francisco. L'accueil est cordial. Bref, une excellente location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home in a good location

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 23, 2011

This home is in a very good location for public transportation easy to visit places in San Francisco. North Beach and Chinatown are minutes away providing coffeeshops and restaurants. The home has everything you will need to be comfortable. Lots of natural light and the washer/dryer is a real plus. My husband and I hope to stay at this location again on our next trip to San Francisco.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect San Fran Stay

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with my two young girls (6 mos and 2 1/2) and my sister and we could not have asked for better accommodations. The place looks exactly like the pictures posted and was immaculate. There were plenty of linens and functional kitchen. Steve was very flexible with our arrival. We drove 12 hours up the coast to get there and were running a little late. After that much time in the car it was such a relief to find a warm and clean place to rest before our sight seeing began. It was a short walk and/or bus ride to Fisherman's wharf. Chinatown was a stones throw away. We were able to walk to the streetcar and take a scenic ride downtown. We did not make it to Telegraph hill because of the weather but we could easily see it walking around the neighborhood. There were tons of restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Steve was very helpful before we arrived with helping us figure out where to park and answer all my questions about the house and the city. I would HIGHLY recommend the house to anyone traveling to San Fran. I hope we make it back there again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, newly renovated house

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

Very central to the tourist locations, well prepared and equiped house. Owner very accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy and Comfortable

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

We just loved the house. It was very comfortable, clean, and surprisingly quiet. At first we had a hard time finding it, and it is up a hill, but other than that , it was perfect. The garage was a bonus for us, along with the washer and dryer. The location is excellent- close to North beach, Chinatown, Embarcadero, Union Square area. We hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Hi` steve your place is really really wonderful!!! we are so comfortable. You have thought of more than everything , from loads of towels to extra productsand even a nite shade in the masterbed room. After being out all day in the crowds and confusions of the holliday city we felt the true serenity which you achieved in the decor and cleanliness of 27 fresno . Talk to you at some point but we wanted to compliment your loving care here. Kathy & Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very comfy place

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

We stayed here for a week (wife and daughter) and it was great. The place is new, lots of linens, great kitchen, great beds! New washer & dryer. Public transportation is easy to get to and it has a garage if you bring your compact car. There is a small supermarket 3 blocks away on Grant (the nature shop - open till 9pm) where you can get everything you need for meals at home. Can walk to Coit tower, fisherman's wharf, china town, and many other places.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2010

This house had everything I needed to make my trip comfortable and relaxing after a day of being out and about in San Francisco. The place was new and very clean. There were plenty of linens and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots and pans and appliances. although only one block from the hustle and bustle of North Beach's famous Columbus street the house was very quiet and relaxing. I loved experiencing North Beaches numerous clubs and restaurant. I was surprised to find so close Chinatown ( less than three blocks away on Stockton St.) where four Muni bus lines serve the area and a bus is never more than a few minutes apart taking us to Fisherman's warf and to Powell Street where we connected to the Muni underground and rode the Bay Area Rapid Transit where we explored the east bay, connected to the Oakland Airport.

Joe

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2010

This house had everything I needed to make my trip comfortable and relaxing after a day of being out and about in San Francisco. The place was new and very clean. There were plenty of linens and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots and pans and appliances. although only one block from the hustle and bustle of North Beach's famous Columbus street the house was very quiet and relaxing. I loved experiencing North Beaches numerous clubs and restaurant. I was surprised to find so close Chinatown ( less than three blocks away on Stockton St.) where four Muni bus lines serve the area and a bus is never more than a few minutes apart taking us to Fisherman's warf and to Powell Street where we connected to the Muni underground and rode the Bay Area Rapid Transit where we explored the east bay, connected to the Oakland Airport.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review