reviews for: listing #77692 - Dunedin, Florida House rental

Casita de Bahia (Bay Cottage) Trailside: Stadium; Downtown
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $575 - $700 /wk
    $1,650 - $2,100 /mth

sort by:

What a great little house in a great town!

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 7, 2014

This is a great little house with so many extra's. We loved the two-sided screen porch overlooking the pennalus trail, the out-side shower, the landscapped patio, the shed to store our bikes. The house was clean and well-stocked with all the ammenities we needed. The landlady, Patricia, was very eager to make our stay enjoyable and it was! We'll be back.

We already knew that Dunedin was a great place to visit; bike trails, nature walks, and centrally located to so many great towns and beaches. But this little town keeps providing new experiences every time we visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Having such thoughtful guests is always a pleasure and this wonderful couple hit all the high notes for making an owner happy during their stay. Not only did they leave the cottage spotless (which gave my cleaner and me time to tackle those extra projects that sometimes are put on the back burner), but also the husband fixed a loose screen on the porch door (he had brought a full tool kit with him)! Although home repair certainly is not expected of my guests, it was such a nice little surprise...
As stated in their review, they are both return visitors to Dunedin, and although I'm a born-and-raised-here native, they had new things to add to my knowledge of the area. Owners really do learn so much from their guests.
Thanks again, Carol and Michael, for leaving me with happy memories and taking time to write the review - that was another nice surprise - and I'm looking forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Everything We'd Hoped and More

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 3, 2013

We rented the Casita for the month of December 2013 but our actual vacation experience began months before, when we received detailed instructions for the most scenic route from Tampa airport to the cottage, noting opportunities to see dolphins, pelicans and charming shady downtown neighborhoods along the way. This set the tone for our actual stay, when the owner spoiled us with so much thoughtful attention, while always taking care not to be intrusive.

Charm and thoughtful attention to detail also abound in the Casita itself, from the decor to the supplies and household equipment. We had everything we needed at our fingertips.

Some of our favorite times in the cottage were quiet meals on the screen porch, watching the world go by in the shade of the giant trees on the Pinellas Trail, just beyond our picket fence. The Trail was also our preferred route, on foot or by bike, to the Dunedin weekend farmers' market, the nearby ice cream shop or the restaurants and gift shops in the small downtown. The marina and linear park along the bay are also just blocks away along quiet streets lined with beautiful moss-draped live oaks.

It was a treat to spend a month at the Casita de Bahia and we would certainly recommend it!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: This review could have been written by Rick Steves (if only he had visited Dunedin instead of Europe)! I was so flattered by the feedback this marvelous couple wrote - partly, because they own a fantastic little vacation rental themselves in the far north. As I've said in response to other reviews, the Casita isn't for everyone: it's old, the floors slope (not enough to need your sea legs, though), and only a cold water line runs out to the washer in the shed. Most guests seem to overlook its quirkiness, however, because the location is great and my housekeeper and I work very hard to keep the Casita clean and well stocked with the necessities you might find in a "regular" home. Many thanks go to Sandra and John for being perfect guests - and, to Sandra for taking time to write such a beautifully composed review!

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Paradise: Dunedin FL!"

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

"We thoroughly enjoyed LA CASITA, and look forward to returning!
Thank you for all of your preparation, care and thoughtfulness for our stay. Maggie loved the little dog bed and treats, just for her... Thank you for sharing this little home so generously with us."

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Wonderful in every way.

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

If you have never visited Dunedin, do yourself a favor and book the next flight available and when you come make sure to book the Casita de Bahia. The Casita is within walking distance to the wonderful boutique downtown of Dunedin with its generous selection of restaurants, shops, a marina, local breweries, etc. The space is thoughtfully decorated, quaint, comfortable, and offers visitors the ability to cook at home if they so chose. The bathroom is well stocked and clean. Patricia (the owner) will be more than happy to make recommendations based on your interests and needs. In-spite of being near downtown, the Casita is nestled in the back of a property that affords convenience and a sense of privacy. Located directly behind the Casita is the Pinellas Trail (a 47 mile long linear park that connects St. Petersburg with Tarpon Springs), which allows for a leisurely morning of people watching from the large screened in patio or walking through your private gate and directly onto the trail. If you can bring your bikes, you can't beat being able to ride your bikes directly from the Casita. Another plus is the close proximity to the Baseball stadium...how close??...0.21 miles to be exact. Once again, you can walk from the Casita and reach your destination in a couple of minutes. One of our favorite things to do was to make the two block walk to the bay and watch the fabulous sunsets that seem to occur almost nightly. We would and have recommended the Casita to family and friends; we hope you get the pleasure of staying here as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dunedin was made for this wonderful couple - in fact, they are now permanent residents of "Delightful Dunedin"! They're the perfect example of what has made this little city by the gulf live up to its name: the people. Whether wishing to be as active as this couple or just wanting to lie back and enjoy the quiet breezes, there is something for everyone in which to participate - even if its just a quiet nap on the porch. Thank you, Kelly and Kurt, for choosing la Casita and Dunedin!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our visit

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

"Words cannot express what a transformative experience the "Cssita" has been...we had such a lovely time. You have provided such a lovely space here; we really felt at home ...could not be more pleased with our experience. Thanks for everything!"

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Fantastic from Day 1 - Day 7!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Thank you for making this our best anniversary ever! The place was charming, just like the pictures. Property was well maintained and all of the extras provided were a delightful surprise! Things we would recommend are, the trolley which you can travel all day for $4.50. We went to Tarpon Springs and saw the free sponge museum/movie and shops. Charming town! That night we headed the other direction on the trolley to Clear Water Beach Pier 61 and enjoyed the free entertainment of amazing acrobats and music and many other things. We also drove on separate days to St. Petersburg Beach, Treasure Island and the boardwalk at Madeira Beach ... wonderful time! In Dunedin, we enjoyed our walks down main street and along the Pinellas Trail that was right out the back door! We highly recommend visiting Hammock Park and Walls Springs if you enjoy nature and walks - admission is free! We had two small dogs and they had a great time as well. Wonderful dog park in Dunedin with lots of shade and benches. Honeymoon Island has a dog friendly beach which we also visited and enjoyed thoroughly. Several restaurants and pubs are dog friendly though we did not check them out. I could go on forever, but suffice it to say that if there was a 6 star option, I would have marked that. We were on a budget and choose to cook and eat in, but there were plenty of restaurants in the area. If you are looking for quiet place and old Florida charm, this is the place for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a pleasure to meet such happy people, and to help make their special occasion more enjoyable! It was fun reminiscing with the husband about "old Pinellas", when orange groves abounded and the pace of life was a bit more relaxed. Dunedin still retains much of that laid-back vibe, but is close to many of the activities that make the Gulf Coast appealing to so many visitors. I hope this lovely couple and their adorable pups can return for the next anniversary - or for any reason, for that matter!

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

our stay at Casita de Bahia

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Over the past 25 years my husband and I have rented homes, cottages and cabins, basically all over the world, for our vacations. We prefer to get to feel at home and cook our own meals. Never have we found a place as reasonably priced, plus thoughtfully decorated, well stocked with all imaginable supplies, clean, and conveniently located (RIGHT on Pinellas Trail for biking and running, virtually two blocks from the baseball stadium (we took in 4 minor league games and I was not up to that point an avid baseball fan), and walking distance to downtown Dunedin with its funky shops and restaurants, etc.) as the Casita! The owner was so careful with every detail and available if there was anything we needed, but respectful of our privacy. It was a wonderful and memorable vacation which we intend to repeat. I highly recommend this darling cottage to all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Old Florida charm of this unique, historic little casita isn't for everyone, of course, but it's so gratifying to receive feedback when guests have enjoyed their stay and know that they made the right vacation choice. I'm thrilled to hear that these absolutely top-notch guests found the cottage comfortable and clean and its location convenient. I can't wait until they return: Visitors like this are truly what helps make Dunedin "delightful".

Helpful votes: 32 / 32

 

Great vacation!

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We loved this charming cottage, right on the bike trail. The hostess was great and we want to go back next winter. We rode our bikes everywhere-- downtown, the beaches, the green markets. The town is wonderful. Our pets had a terrific time, too. We highly recommend it.

Owners response: It's lovely when owners have such delightful guests - both the human variety as well as the furry ones with paws! Dunedin has so many activities year 'round and the weather has been sublime all winter long. Everyone seems to enjoy the large back porch and the proximity to the Trail (right past the back yard). Hope to see this nice couple and their pets next January and February...

Helpful votes: 37 / 37

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it here...

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Patricia,
Thanks for everything. We loved it here...We loved every minute; thank you for making it special.
Patty & Ron

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

vacation

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

One of the nicest vacation getaways we have had in the last 30 years. Whole we spend time on both coasts because of family on both sides. This cottage makes it very hard to too stay any where else. Patricia is a delightful and pleasant person who is always making sure guests are happy. The cottage is clean and comfortable and breakfast on the screen porch and enjoying the Pinallis trail is a delight. Don't book anything else till you check this cottage out first.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Donna and Bill were delightful guests - all a property owner could ask for and more. The Casita is a sweet, simple cottage and seems to appeal mostly to people who enjoy older, quaint places (many own houses in their home states that were built in the 1940's or before) and proximity to the Trail and downtown.

Helpful votes: 49 / 49

 

Charming and Convenient Place to Stay

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

This is a charming and convenient place to stay. It is exactly as described by the owner. A short walk or ride to downtown Dunedin. The owner is a very accommodating, nice lady. She keeps the place immaculate. Dunedin is a nice small town with good restaurants. The cottage has been tastefully decorated. Honeymoon Island, a wonderful beach, is located nearby. Best of all, it's pet friendly! I think it would also be very possible to come here without a car and get around by bike and trolley.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 51 / 52

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review