reviews for: listing #77767 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

3-4BR "Villa Cayman" w/ Pool & White Sand
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,955 - $6,965 /wk

sort by:

mdswhitebear

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2011

I had 10 people in the villa, my wife, our 4 adult children, 2 spouses, and 2 grandchildren. The accomodations were perfect for this type of group, we especially liked that there was a separate cottage for the "newlyweds", a master suite for my wife and I at one end of the house, and the other bedrooms at the far end.

We could have great fun in the day, and retire to sleep while the youngsters partied later. The place was very nice, the owners welcomed us and helped us learn about the home and property, and everything was in good working order. We stocked the refrigerator and ate at the large table at breakfast and a couple dinners during the week. The other times we went out to local restaurants or into Georgetown for dinner.

All-in-all, we loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We loved it!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Our family and my mother in law loved this house!!! We took our 3 boys ages 3, 6 and 8 and the house and pool were perfect for all of us. The older 2 enjoyed sleeping in the "loft" while our younger one slept in the room at the bottom of the ladder. Grandma was next door and we were on the other side of the house in the large master suite! I have never seen an outdoor shower as nice as the one at this house. The living area and kitchen were to die for. I can't wait to visit again!!! Good central location on the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our Villa Review from July 2011

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

This villa was everything we had hoped it would be. The listing was accurate in everyway and the directions to different parts of the island were perfect, down to the turn! We planned our trip a year in advance and it had alot to live up to and it did. The master bedroom was great and the outdoor shower was great as well. The living area and kitchen were modern and were something out of a movie! The pool was o.k but our own private beach and ocean outback was the real gem. Screened in backporch was great to avoid bugs or to listen to the ocean. The owner was helpful leading up to our trip and the maintenance gentelman "Johnny" was great as well. Nearby activities that we did included brunch at Tukka's, visiting the Blowholes, Pirate Caves, as well as Morrits Resort and The Reef Resort. We would recommend Tukka's for brunch, Over the Edge for casual dinner, and somewhere on 7 mile beach for a more formal dinner or drinks. Rum Point was also very accessible and we could have easily spent several days on the beach there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Finally a family vacation!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

I just thought I'd give you some feedback on our stay at Villa Cayman over the Christmas holidays 2010-11.

We absolutely loved the villa. It was well-maintained and very spacious for our group of 9. We did prepare many meals in the villa, so we really appreciated the well-stocked kitchen. We had a few minor issues, but they were promptly resolved by Johnny (the maintenance guy).

There are a couple of things that I think would be important to know for future guests. We found that the water at the beach was unswimmable - even with beach shoes. The bottom was very mucky, and our shoes would get stuck in the muck and come off as we tried to walk out into the water. The water also had a bit of a sulphur smell, so we didn't want the children playing in it. During our entire stay, we didn't see a single person in the water in our area. The neighbours waded out to their boat, but nobody swam in the water. We managed to not let this get in the way of having fun.

The second issue was the lack of privacy in the wing of the villa with the 2 bedrooms plus loft. The walls of all of the rooms in that wing (bedrooms, bathrooms, laundry room, etc) only went as high as 8 or 9 feet. The ceiling was open to all of those rooms. There wasn't even a door from the main living area that could close off that wing. That meant that any noise from the main rooms made its way down the hall to the bedrooms. Having 2 young children up early in the morning made it difficult for adults who were sleeping in that wing to sleep a bit later.

We loved the outdoor shower and tub. However, it would be wise to put a notice on the door leading to that area, to remind users to make sure the door is unlocked! Twice, we had people lock themselves out! Luckily, since my son was staying in the cottage, he was able to hear the shouting.

I appreciate all of the info that you provided as far as things to do, things to bring, etc. We really enjoyed our lunches at Vivine's and Over the Edge. The Lighthouse was really over-priced and the food was only OK. We also got jerk chicken from the roadside stands, and it was delicious. We will definitely return to the Grand Caymans.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks very much for the 4 star rating! The Guest wing of the house does share a common vaulted ceiling and that is disclosed on the site-- sorry if that was not apparent. The water behind the house is pretty clear-- there is about the first 50 feet with sea grass--softer bottom-- bu tthen all sand for 250 yards to the reef-- Glad you enjoyed your trip otherwise.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful house

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed in June 2011 for 1 week with 4 kids, ranging from 15years old to 18 months and our friends stayed in cottage with their son. The house is beautiful, kitchen was great for cooking for large group. The kids went back and forth between beach and the pool. We loved the house and the location away from crowds. We will come back to Cayman Islands and we will stay at this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review