reviews for: listing #77769 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

4BR Oceanfront "Gypsy" with Pool & Privacy
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $5,460 - $6,965 /wk

sort by:

50th birthday celebration

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

My family just returned last night from a week at "Gypsy". It was the nicest vacation we have taken in a long time. I was looking for a well-appointed home right on the beach with a quiet and private location. My expectations were exeeded. When I opened the front door for the first time I was awe struck by the ocean view that greeted me. Then I took in the beautiful marble floors that stretched as far as my eyes could see from the spacious foyer to the gracious living room framed by wall to wall 8 foot tall windows which open up to the patio, pool and turquiose sea. The rest of the house flowed from the foyer, a wide hall to the left leads to a large kichen featuring an oversized island. We were a group of 9 with 6 adults and 3 boys. The kitchen's ample size never seemed cramped even with several cooks working at one time. Four chairs around the island provided the perfect place for the kids to eat while the adults dined at the table.

The master bedroom has a prime view of the sea with wall to wall windows, a huge marble bath with walk-in shower and jaccuzzi. I drifted off to sleep to the sound of the sea, and awoke to that amazing view.

We all enjoyed snorkeling about 60 meters off the shore line. It sounds far but the water is only about one to two meters deep most of the way. The coral and variety of fish were spectacular. Some in our group saw baracuda and a 6 foot long moray eal. Thankfully I only saw colourful fish that were not so intimidating.

On Tuesday nights the Kaibo beach restaurant has a beach BBQ with live band. The food was tastey the atmosphere sublime.

We enjoyed a 3 hour boat cruise with Mobey Dick Tours. It included a stop at Stingray City and a separate stop at a coral reef There were three guides and two got in the water with us to introduce us to the rays.

The Botanical Gardens with the famous Blue iguanas was another enjoyable outing only a 15 minute drive from Gypsy.We spent about two hours there and were able to get quite close to many iguana.

We took the boys ages 9,11 and 12 on the Pirate cruise. The pirates did a great job of engaging the kids on the trip which included being splashed with a bucket of water as the kids were scrubbing the deck.

Sipping my morning coffee at the pool, relaxing in the hammock and beach combing were other favourite things I did. It was hard to leave paradise. Can't wait to go back.











We look forward to staying a Gypsy again, it was hard to leave parad

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place fora perfect vacation

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Our family had our first visit to Cayman in 2010 and enjoyed our stay at Gypsy. It was an absolutely beautiful home and even better than we expected. The location could not be better - right on the beach, we got to enjoy breakfast and dinner outside on the patio with the waves just a few feet away. And it was so close to Rum Point which our family just loved to visit. The rooms were wonderful. We had 4 adults and 2 children staying and all of us enjoyed the house and the vacation. In fact, we enjoyed it so much that we added two nights on to our stay at the last minute since the house had an opening. Wow - what a vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best rental so far

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

The "gypsy" was a great home to rent. Because the bedrooms are spread out would be great for large families or friends. We were to be 2 couples. Clean, great rooms, kitchen and pool. Right on the beach.
Water was nice but not that great for snorkeling,as not too many fish close in. We dive so was not important. Just minutes away from Rum point and restuarants and about 15 minutes to Tortuga Divers that we always use. Great experiance and would be happy to rent again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Property, Outstanding View, Loved it!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Our family vacation [July 2010] at Gypsy was one of the best we've ever had. Our family travels often, with the Caribbean one of our favorite destinations. This was our fourth trip to the Cayman Islands and our second trip renting a house. Gypsy exceeded all our expectations. The house is beautiful, the grounds very well kept, and the feeling of privacy. For this stay we booked three weeks. Gypsy is very spacious and the pool area (which was used often) great for large groups or an intimate gathering. If you are a fan of snorkeling then this property may be a good choice. The Cayman Islands is known for good snorkeling all around the island. From Gypsy we simply walked out onto the beach and in the water - miles of snorkeling shore line awaits.

The best features of the propery were: the Kitchen - beautiful and functional; the large bedrooms (4); two living rooms (lounge + family room) - great for entertaining; the location - amazing views, close to Rum point, 5 minutes from grocery shopping; and the pool - kids loved it.

Gypsy sleeps nine very comfortably. That said, the ideal complement would be 8 to 9 guests made of two families. Ours was a smaller group, so we had the run of the place - always nice. Yet if there were multiple groups/families Gypsy would work very well too - tons of space in and out.

Renting a vehicle is a must, Gypsy is not within walking distance to anywhere except the beach. That said, nearly every drive is a short one (5+ minutes). Even the drive to George Town is 25 or so minutes. Take the scenic route on South Sound Road. It's add 7 or 8 minutes onto the trip but you'll get ocean views you don't see anywhere else; plus a quiet drive along some amazing homes. Besides that it's easier access into George Town (and parking) that way.

Our family is 50/50 on eating in versus eating out. Gypsy was excellent for perparing our own meals (BBQ as well). The Lighthouse restaurant (a Cayman iconic favorite) is close by - 6 minutes (added bonus).

Our first experience renting a Cayman home was Cayman Sands - Excellent, Gyspy our second experience - Excellent again. We love Cayman. We'll be back. It will be a hard choice - Gyspy again or try another property :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hoosier family

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

Beautiful, expansive, well-appointed home. We enjoyed the pool and view from the pool deck over the Caribbean is fantastic. Pool and beach were both very private. The night sky was amazing with the limited "light pollution" in the area. Beach was nice, and although not the easiest in and out, snorkeling was good some distance off the beach. Nicest sea fan garden I've ever seen (and I've been around) a very short distance north. Convenient to Rum Point, but rather distant from Georgetown. TV was a little glitchy and a gas grill would have been appreciated, but we would not hesitate to return to The Gypsy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Grandma

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Our family spent a memorable and delightful week at Gypsy in celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary. We could not have asked for a more perfect location or a more beautiful setting. The house, the pool, beachfront for walking and snorkling, it was all that we anticipated and more, regardless of our age. Our 5 and 8 year old grandsons wanted to know why we couldn't stay for another week! If you want to visit other island spots, nothing is more than an hour away. Rum Point is within minutes by car. We would recommend this property without reservation to our friends and relatives.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Stay

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

We had my parents as well as our 2 boys, lots of room left over. Very large hallways and open spaces kept us from being on top of each other and all our dive/ swimming equipment. The snorkeling out back is wonderful. Beach area nice for the boys and the girls had no trouble walking every morning.
As with almost all villas a car is a must but nothing seemed too far. Like over the edge to eat just down the road. We did stop for groceries in Savana on our way around and ate often in the villa, kitchen was up to date and the photos are acurate. nice lage dininng table we could all eat together.
We dove with Frontier Divers all week +++ they'll keep your gear and have it on the boat for you the next day.
Enjoyed setting out by pool overlooking ocean, really first class, would return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

We spent a wonderful family vacation at the Gypsy property in April 2010. The location is beautiful - quiet, nice beach, and great snorkeling right in front of the property. The amenities are comfortable and we spent a lot of time relaxing and enjoying the view from the pool and deck. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet vacation spot, Gypsy is wonderful. However, if you plan to spend a lot of time in Georgetown, be aware that you will spend a lot of time driving.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation at Gypsy - the house is stunning and the location was perfect for us. The rooms were large, clean and beautifully decorated. The kitchen was perfect and the large enabled us all to sit together comfortably. Quiet and peaceful - away from all the busy tourist spots - but close to Rum Point - a spot we really enjoyed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review