reviews for: listing #77770 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

2BR "Moon Glow"- Wall of Windows to the Sea
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,150 - $3,250 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

What a gorgeous place to spend a week out of the cold weather! The view from the villa was beyond beautiful. We were surprised that it was really not a bad drive to Georgetown too. We snorkeled and saw barracuda, various snapper, turtles and stingray. My husband fished from shore and released the fish he caught, but quite a fight and a lot of fun. The bed and pillows in the master were better than home and we have a sleep number! This is the first time we stayed on the north side and we would do it again. The villa was clean and well stocked and there wasn't one thing we could say negative about our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Truly Moon Struck

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Four of us, two ladies and our grown daughters, stayed for a week in October. We had the most relaxing holiday ever. There was plenty to do at the villa, great sun deck/patio, and the view is one of the best. Even while relaxing; playing cards, reading a book, or just daydreaming; the view was breathtaking from most areas within the villa. Even waking up first thing in the morning, it was an amazing view.

Rum Point beach is really just a short walk away, and the staff there was really friendly. A local restaurant, Over the Edge was excellent, and you must say hello to Annick from us if you go to visit. Kaibo at the end of Rum Point is great too. David and Claire were fantastic, and were sorry we did not get to say goodbye to them. I did say the locals were friendly, right?

We found the privacy at the villa was incredible, and if we did not want to see another human during our vacation, this location would have (did) allow(ed) for our totally privacy. The beaches were beautiful, and we really enjoyed the water, swimming and walks. The villa was well equiped, and we would recommend the location and comforts offered to anyone looking to stay at Moon Glow.

Just in case you are wondering, "Moon Glow" does live up to its name; the moon rises were AMAZING!! One night we even felt like we could just reach out and touch the moon. The photos look like we had the moon in our hands.

Truly Moon Struck,

Tannis, Elizabeth, Christal and Andrea - Toronto, Canada

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Birthday - snorkeling getaway

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We stayed at Moon Glow for 10 days Mar-Apr 2011 and had the most amazing time. The place was clean, bright and most of the location was amazing. It was only a 5 minute walk away from the main Rum Point beach. We snorkeled right in front of the house for 3 to 4 hours a day.

This was our second trip to the Caymans and we would definitely recommend this Property to anyone who wants to relax, swim and snorkel. The deck is very private which was another great plus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home, perfect locaion

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

Spent a week at Moon Glow with my wife and two young children, and we literally could not have found a better place to enjoy all that the quieter side of Grand Cayman has to offer. Literally a 2 minute walk to Rum Point, but no need to look anywhere other than just in front of the house for fantastic snorkeling and shallow diving. You can easily swim 200 meters off the beach and see some of the most well populated reefs on the island.

House is very well furnished and extremely well maintained. You can't beat the view from the living room, and the outdoor space is perfect for dining or just relaxing in the breeze. It is clear the owner takes a great deal of care in making sure it is perfect for every guest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

excellent location for snorkling and get away vacation

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

My husband and I loved the view and the quiet setting this location offers. If you are looking to get away from all the noise and traffic, this location is great. The best snorkling in the island, we believe, is through this channel which is in front of the house. The view is just phenomenal and the sunsets are awsome !!!! Early in the week the current was a bit strong, but once the storm passed, the water was just like a mirror. We saw all type of marine life including a small lion fish and lots of sting rays. The only inconvenience is that you need to rent a car, but for us, that was not a problem....we like secluded places. We highly recommended for romantic, beautiful and stress-free vacation. The house was clean and in good condition. The only thing that didn't work very well was the hair dryer but I forgot to report it as I was more interested in the outdoors. The town for groceries and food is approx. 30 min away.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Condo

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

This is a great place for two couples or a family. Two king suites, a fantastic living room with ocean view on a quiet beach. Nice kitchen and fantastic deck. The beach was a windy when we were there (in March.) Great for long walks and snorkling if you are a good swimmer. Easy walk to Rum Point, which is idyllic. Best to rent a car if you stay here. We would definitely come back. Owner was very friendly and accommodating. Everything was in good condition. Cable and internet were excellent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

honeymoon at rum point

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

This was not our first trip to Cayman or rum point. This area is our favorite place to vacation. We found Moon Glow to be a great place to stay. The living space was ample and the patio was spacious. The large windows in the living room weregreat for watching the clouds and storms pass by. We specifically enjoyed the open plan and beach area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay for our honeymoon.

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We stayed for a week and loved it. The beach is great, and the snorkelling is fantastic. The views and the accommodations are top notch as well. We hit beach destinations all over the world. Love to hit new locations, and rarely return to the same place, but this will be an exception.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay for everyone.

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We stayed in summer of 2010. The place was bright, spacious and clean. Can't beat the view being directly on the beach at Rum Point. Perfect set up for 2 adults and 2 young adults. Very quiet & private section of beach, but within walking distance of all the Rum Point restaurants & activities. Take the catamaran out to play with the stingrays at Stingray City. Awesome experience. The water in Grand Cayman is some of the warmest & clearest I've ever seen in all the Caribbean. Buy groceries at the big grocery store on the south side on the way from the airport. Not much out by the villa. Chesters Jerk Chicken is good food for cheap on the road to the Villa. There's also a smoothie stand called Willies on the south side we stopped at every time we passed by! Slow down & enjoy island time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely villa, soft breezes

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Hi, we stayed with you in February at Rum Point Villa and the views were amazing, what a way to start the day! Snorkelling was amazing in the reef just in front of the villa, although you have to be careful of the current and need to wear water shoes! Villa was very spacious and comfortable and the warm cayman breezes gorgeous...:0)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful vacation place

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

My son and I had a fabulous time on Grand Cayman. Moonglow provided us a great place to stay and relax, the house had everything we needed to be comfortable. The pictures of the beach and water as shown actually do not due justice to the actual views we experienced, just gorgeous. We are big snorkeling fans, and the reef immediately off the beach provides plenty to see. Continue out to the outer reef and the snorkeling is more incredible, we saw all kinds of fish and more exotic creatures like sting rays, lobsters, morey eels, turtles and larger fish like barracuda. And the coral is incredible, a multitude of shapes and colors. Water clarity is exceptional. All this right out the back door, and the beach all around our place was virtually private, only occasionally did we see a few others using it.

The Rum Point facilities offer good food at the two nearby restaurants and the dive shop can set you up with all kinds of excursions. We had no problems scheduling a resort scuba dive, wave runner rental and a boat trip out to Sting Ray City from the extremely courteous people that work there. And everyday after we came home from an excursion, we would look forward to another nice snorkel out to the reef and then lay out on the beach.

The nearest full grocery store other than a local limited convinence store is a good 30 minute drive. But we made a point to pick up what we needed in conjunction with other trips around the island.

On the second day we were there the TV antenna tower fell over. The villa management answered my call immediately and had a new one up the next afternoon, on a Saturday. Therefore I have to say that the ownership/management was exceptional.

All in all, a fabulous experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review