reviews for: listing #77773 - Manhattan, New York Apartment rental

Historic East Village Suite - $199/night AUGUST SPECIAL
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  East Village - NYC
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $179 - $239 /nt

sort by:

Perfect accommodations for former New Yorkers!

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Sanctuary Guest Suites last night for a reunion with my best girlfriends from childhood, 5 out of 6 of us being former NYC residents. This is unequivocally the place to stay for a REAL New York experience. I have always disliked staying at hotels in my former hometown. We all miss the feeling of living in the city and Sanctuary brought us right back into the fold. It was wonderful to catch up with old friends in an atmosphere that felt like home. We were able to spend time in our room, sit out on our patio, and took advantage of having a kitchen at our disposal. The icing on the cake was a surprise, last minute, visit from our friend from Ohio. She flew in and surprised us at dinner. It was late evening and I was able to contact the staff and have them set up an extra cot for her. They made it all so easy. What a fantastic reunion and wonderful stay at Sanctuary! With a combined 12 children between us, this group of ladies will be back for another girls getaway soon! Thanks so much Mario and Zach!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect accommodations for former New Yorkers!

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Sanctuary Guest Suites last night for a reunion with my best girlfriends from childhood, 5 out of 6 of us being former NYC residents. This is unequivocally the place to stay for a REAL New York experience. I have always disliked staying at hotels in my former hometown. We all miss the feeling of living in the city and Sanctuary brought us right back into the fold. It was wonderful to catch up with old friends in an atmosphere that felt like home. We were able to spend time in our room, sit out on our patio, and took advantage of having a kitchen at our disposal. The icing on the cake was a surprise, last minute, visit from our friend from Ohio. She flew in and surprised us at dinner. It was late evening and I was able to contact the staff and have them set up an extra cot for her. They made it all so easy. What a fantastic reunion and wonderful stay at Sanctuary! With a combined 12 children between us, this group of ladies will be back for another girls getaway soon! Thanks so much Mario and Zach!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great people, good location

Review submitted: December 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

I loved the staff! Mario was very helpful in booking and our questions we had before arrival. And Zac was just great, so helpful in everything we need help during our stay that made our stay just great.
Tha appartment is clean. Its Location is good in a safe neighborhood, very close to subway and so all the attraction points in Manhattan.
The only catch was the stairs as we stayed on 6th floor. But it still worked for me since I looked pretty fit while leaving NYC:)
Nuray

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

Stayed at the Vishnu loft on a girls shopping trip and we were not disappointed The photos were accurate - the place is compact but not tiny, clean and convenient. Obviously not a new or modern place but for a fussy person like me, it was perfectly satisfactory.
The location is quite good for the East Village area - note you are in the East village, so grungy cool appears to be the norm.
The service from the staff was brilliant and uncomplicated. They were easily accessible via phone or email which they responded to promptly.
The fridge was exceptionally noisy and the lighting was low despite the lamps in the lounge. Not sure why the ceiling lights in the lounge don't have bulbs.
Would stay here again when back in New York although would probably try another one of their apartments.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Living" in" vs. "staying in" NYC

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Having lived in NYC for 10 years (and now moved away for over a decade), the last thing I want to do when I go back to The City is to impose on good friends by sleeping on their couch. I also can't bear the thought of plunking down money on a touristy hotel room. If anything, I want to recreate my old New York living experience by staying in a cozy apartment with all the amenities. The Sanctuary fits those needs PERFECTLY. The check-in process is simple and efficient, and once you get to your "room," one finds themselves in a space that speaks to someone who actually wants to "live" in the city for while, as opposed to merely visiting. The Samedhi suite (where I stayed in the Sanctuary) is a beautifully furnished one bedroom, self-catering apartment that reminded me of my old apartment in NYC -- which is why I felt so comfortable being there. It was an oasis during my day that I could return to and not feel like I was staying in a box-hotel. The staff is helpful, but unobtrusive; and the clientele are all aware that the underlying yoga-vibe means that we all respect one another. I can't recommend the Sanctuary highly enough, but one needs to be aware that if you'd rather be at the Hilton or Marriot when you travel, this place is probably not necessarily for you. Maybe if you dialed down your life, took a deep breath, hit a yoga pose once in a while and then thought about what you wanted out of your temporary stay in NYC, then the Sanctuary would absolutely become your home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you so much for such amazing review. This practically sums up what we're trying to offer travelers. Much appreciated! Looking forward to having you back here soon.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place to stay in East Village!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

Stayed here last weekend and enjoyed it very much. Beautiful place with everything you need and more. Perfect for a short stay, nice little kitchen and very clean, almost spotless. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay in East Village!

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

Stayed here last weekend and enjoyed it very much. Beautiful place with everything you need and more. Perfect for a short stay, nice little kitchen and very clean, almost spotless. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in the East Village area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

This place is fly!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

This place is great!
The rooms are clean and beautifully furnished...it made me want to move in! The style is both modern yet 'quaint-european' and the staff are kind and attentive. And its AFFORDABLE! I will definitely return and I recommend it to all my friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Haven of Comfort and Peace

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

When I walked into the room for the first time, I was almost shocked at how spacious, clean, and peaceful it was. I've definitely found my new place of choice to stay whenever I'm in NY. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

your own NYC apartment!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

I was amazed at how large these suites are for the price. It's like having your own (fully stocked) NYC apartment! Great downtown location with an amazing rooftop where you can hang out overlooking the lights of Manhattan. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My Home away from home

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

This is my favorite place to stay in NYC. The Sanctuary Guest Suites are located in the Lower East Side filled with great restaurants and an array of small bars and intimate music venues. Besides the immaculately clean spacious apartment, the building also offers a beautiful rooftop with views of the Manhattan skyline and a breakfast spread offered daily in the office lounge.The staff at SGS are accommodating and friendly and I look forward to seeing my new "friends" each time I visit my home away from home. As a Long Islander I look forward to my weekend trips in the city and will most definitely return to Sanctuary Guest Suites. I highly recommend this property to anyone interested in a weekend getaway or an extended stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highly Reccomended

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

My 18 year old daughter and I rented the penthouse suite and it was exactly what we expected from the pictures on their website. The East Villiage is definately the place to stay when visiting, its a $15 (USD) cab ride to the hub of the city (Central Park for example) but just far enough away from all the crowds. Note if you want to stay in the penthouse be prepared to go up six flights of stairs (but well worth it). The team of employees are wonderful and friendly. Very easy place to stay. I have told all my friends about this location (in fact I found it from a friend of mine who stayed there). I give it a Big THUMBS UP!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best place in east village

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

I have been there 3 times. Stayed 4 nights each time. Love the staff, suites are nice, comfortable and clean. The ambiance is charming, you will love it. And the terrace is great. I absolutely recommand going there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best place to stay in New York

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

If your looking for a place to stay in NY look no further this place is amazing! The view alone from the rooftop terrace added a bunch of good memories to my trip. This was my second(and not last) time staying at the Sanctuary Guesthouse, I love staying there because the rooms are always clean, well decorated, and comfy. The staff are also very helpful and incredible nice. It's always a comfort to not just have a room to stay in, but an apartment, so that when I come back at the end of the day I feel like I'm coming home and not just to some hotel. I cannot say good enough things about this place, I rate it high not only in comfort, but atmosphere, location, reasonable pricing, and service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fab location in NYC

Review submitted: April 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

We've had a FAB time in NY (and we loved staying here). We are definitely coming back - soon we hope and we will recommend you to all our friends.
Love from Diana, Karolin & Jeanette

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Love this place

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

Great place, great location, great people. Overall this place was great. I will book with them again next time I am in the NYC. This place is next to all the coolest shopping places and bars. The building is older so no elavator but that was okay with us. Rooftop was amazing. The staff was really nice and friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

himalayan dream

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

came to the city for a long weekend with a friend, and we stayed in the himalayan suite at sanctuary guest suites. not only was the staff exceptionally friendly & helpful, the room was absolutely lovely. lots of space, lovely decor, our own rooftop patio with a view of the empire state, and a big, comfy bed. i would happily recommend sanctuary to anyone visiting nyc, and hope to stay there again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My stay at the Sanctuary Guest Suites

Review submitted: December 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

My stay at the Sanctuary Guest Suites was excellent.
The staff was very friendly and helpful right from the moment of check in to the day I left. They provided me with useful info about the neighborhood, even where to purchase a refill card for my cell phone.
The property was clean, quiet and with all the amenities one may need.
The apartment building is in a great location. Minutes walk from restaurants, bars, stores of all denomination (including the local supermarket) bus stops and 2nd Avenue Subway Station which connect the East Village with the rest of Manhattan and numerous tourist attractions like Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Chinatown, Little Italy and more.
I would definitely recommend this property to friends and also use it again myself next time I'm in NYC, beats staying at ANY hotel 100 times fold.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

We stayed in the Samadhi Suite for a couple of nights and loved it! Finding the Sanctuary via cab was no problem at all. They provided us with detailed information. The apartment was on the third floor and it looked & felt exactly like on the pictures. Warm tones, comfy furniture, everything was clean and very well maintained! The spiritual books and yoga pictures gave it a relaxing atmosphere! On top of that the staff was super friendly and helpful whenever we needed something.

The location was brilliant! You can walk over to Broadway for some Shopping, to Mercer Kitchen for dinner or just pick up a snack at Wholefoods around the corner. All in all a perfect alternative to a hotel. We would recommend it to our friends anytime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for kind review!

I'm glad your stay with was to your liking and expectations.

Please come back and/share your experience with family and friends.

Thank you again and have a wonderful Holiday!

Cheers,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review