reviews for: listing #77796 - Pacific Beach, California House rental

Casitas del Mar
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $350 /nt
    $1,900 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful house and so close to the beach

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

My husband and I brought our 2 young boys (ages 4 and 6) to San Diego. This was our second time staying in this house and we can't wait to go back and stay there again. The house was perfect for us. There is plenty of space for a family of 4. The house has everything that is needed for a week stay at the beach. The kitchen is updated and we enjoyed being able to BBQ and sit on the deck and eat with our kids. For us the best part was the location and that we were only a few minutes walk to the beach. We would highly recommend this location!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This property is outstanding.

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

My husband and I have rented properties in Europe, Australia and all over the United States. I will say that this property rates right up at the top.

We have rented in San Diego at least 20 times since our daughter came her to college and graduated 6 years ago. We are thrilled with the location of this property which is just blocks from the water, yet is not bothered by the traffic that goes with beach property. It is in a lovely residential area and has all the beach toys you can imagine. The garage is loaded with beach toys, bikes,wet suits and more.

We loved the Fung swei of the property, decorated beautifully with top notch linens and a kitchen equipped with everything you need to cook right at home.

This is a great place for couples or a girls weekend as the bedroom areas are divided and each have their own bathroom.

And the yard and deck are incredible. Not only fung swei inside but beautiful landscape outside.

Pamela and Maria were great to deal with and available anytime we called or emailed.

I recommend this as a top spot in San Diego....especially Pacific Beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Stay. Will return for sure.

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week and were visited for several nights by our three adult children and a fiancee. The house was plenty big enough for the six of us. The house is perfect. Beautiful furnishings throughout and a fully equipped kitchen. Pam is a delight, she even came to wash off our patio after a rain one morning. The back yard is also quite nice with lovely plantings and sculptures and total privacy. The garage includes anything you could ever want for the beach with many (10 or more) bicycles for riding on the boardwalk. We have stayed in many rental homes and this was the best by far. Thank you again Pam.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Property, A Bit of Heaven at The Shore

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

GREAT property! Would definitely stay again. Couldn't have asked for a nicer place. It was ideal for 4 adults. Pam has thought of everything! The small details were great and very much appreciated such as a yard with lawn furniture, spices, laundry detergent to wash the towels, 8 beach towels, a shelf of tools/flashlight/gadgets, tip sheet with best places for food, directions on how to work appliances, contact numbers, …. I fell in love with the luxury sheets on the bed and will definitely be getting a set for myself!

Beautifully appointed in every room. Liked having two bedrooms on one side of the house and the master on the other… it gave a little space and separation. We never heard anyone in the upstairs unit. New dishware, refrigerator, kitchen, espresso maker, new pots/pans, … The artwork throughout the property and fine attention to creating a wonderful space was not lost on us. Great sculptures and landscaping was not lost on us. So close to the beach (about 6 houses), a garage full of everything you could want from wet suits, to beach toys, to beach umbrellas, and chairs. Good wifi for those of us who had to work.

We stayed in October - weather was perfect and sunny every day, high of 75-80. For those like us from the East Coast, no one in San Diego has air conditioning which we thought was wierd. There is a beautiful, constant breeze from the ocean and the temperatures are pretty steady all year. The Pacific Ocean was much colder than the Atlantic in NJ/MD this time of year. Virtually no swimmers in the water but lots of surfers. The waves were very small to none at all. Did not have 1 day in two weeks with whitecaps.

We loved walking down to the park to enjoy the sunset every evening with others from the area. There was something to watch always - surfers, yoga in the park, bicyclists, and even a wedding! Everyone was really friendly. Pam's outdoor deck was incredibly large, complete with grill, outdoor refrigerator, and tons of seating. It was a lovely residential community, never saw or heard the neighbors (we were in the off season). We could thoroughly enjoy our stay and be just a ½ mile from everything else we might need (gas/grocery). Our only disappointment was that there was far too much to see and do and we simply ran out of time. Cannot wait to return as it truly was heaven on earth the whole two weeks we stayed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

We would highly recommend this house. It was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with high end appliances and decor not always found in a rental property. The owner was very friendly and considerate of our needs. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful residence very close to the beach

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Not only did we love our stay but our 4 girls can't wait to come back next year. This beautiful clean residence has many of the rooms, kitchen, and bathrooms remodeled. It has everything for a home away from home and for a day at the beach. Our girls loved the big deck and using some of the wetsuits and boogie boards. With just a short walk to the beach or the pier, they were never board. And with a TV in every room there was no arguing. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this place to all our friends. Thanks Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best there is Pacific Beach

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

If there is a better near-beach rental propery in Pacific Beach I'd like to see it. Casitas del Mar is perfect. Wonderful location, fantastic condition, garage full of bikes and beach gear. It has it all. Ideal for six people, especially when two are kids. The photos don't do it justice because the kitchen has been remodeled and a nuisance wall has been removed making the main room plus kitchen a lot more open and inviting. And Pam is the complete pro as a hostess and property owner -- great to work with and sincerely interested in getting everything just right. Stay here and all of Pacific Beach and Mission Beach opens up to you. Walk or bike to Kono's for breakfast near the Crystal Pier.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Winter Escape (from Canada)

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Review #1380068 Amazing location and property!

Wow! What can we say??? My mother (63), myself (37) and my daughter (3 months) stayed here for six weeks this winter (January and February). We LOVED the place! Pam, the owner, has set up a very comfortable and welcoming rental. The three bedrooms are spacious and there are two full bathrooms. The kitchen has all the required amenities and there is a BBQ, although we didn't use it. We loved eating lunch out on the patio, while my daughter played in the sunlight. The rental is spotless and Pam has very high standards of cleanliness, so you don't need to worry about that at all. She was very helpful to us, often checking in to see if we have everything we needed. We did not have a car, but we rented one a few times and there is a parking spot. There are a couple of bus routes within one block, which let you get downtown and to some specific sightseeing spots (Balboa Park, for example). The travel times are about 30 minutes by bus. But you can't beat the location. . .it's one block from the start of a long, long boardwalk. We walked this every single day and enjoyed listening to the ocean waves, watching the surfboarders and getting some exercise. It was heavenly! There are two grocery stores within walking distance, so you can get all your supplies. There are also a selection of restaurants nearby (Fatburger and Rubio's Mexican Grill). When it comes down to the bottom line, we were happy every day and we definitely plan to return there again. We wish we could have stayed longer, but Pam had guests who come back every March. Don't hesitate, book this place and go!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing location and property!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

Wow! What can we say??? My mother (63), myself (37) and my daughter (3 months) stayed here for six weeks this winter (January and February). We LOVED the place! Pam, the owner, has set up a very comfortable and welcoming rental. The three bedrooms are spacious and there are two full bathrooms. The kitchen has all the required amenities and there is a BBQ, although we didn't use it. We loved eating lunch out on the patio, while my daughter played in the sunlight. The rental is spotless and Pam has very high standards of cleanliness, so you don't need to worry about that at all. She was very helpful to us, often checking in to see if we have everything we needed. We did not have a car, but we rented one a few times and there is a parking spot. There are a couple of bus routes within one block, which let you get downtown and to some specific sightseeing spots (Balboa Park, for example). The travel times are about 30 minutes by bus. But you can't beat the location. . .it's one block from the start of a long, long boardwalk. We walked this every single day and enjoyed listening to the ocean waves, watching the surfboarders and getting some exercise. It was heavenly! There are two grocery stores within walking distance, so you can get all your supplies. There are also a selection of restaurants nearby (Fatburger and Rubio's Mexican Grill). When it comes down to the bottom line, we were happy every day and we definitely plan to return there again. We wish we could have stayed longer, but Pam had guests who come back every March. Don't hesitate, book this place and go!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Casitas del Mar

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

After staying at Casitas del Mar, I will never be satisfied staying anywhere else in San Diego. So much better than a hotel.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Rental House within walking distance to the beach

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

This is my second time renting this property and I would rent it again for sure. Plenty of room with a great patio to catch to ocean breezes. Pamela, the owner, keeps the place immaculate and well-maintained. One block off the beach and within walking distance to restaurants, etc. Great time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review