reviews for: listing #77812 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

4-5BR "Sand Castle" Oceanfront with pool
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,970 - $8,450 /wk

sort by:

Great Holiday House

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Just returned from staying at Sand Castle for 2 fantastic weeks and must say the home is everything it said it was and some. Nine adults stayed in the house and all had privacy if they wanted it. The kitchen was extremely well stocked with spices and cooking supplies. Propery manager Roland was prompt and extremely helpful when we encountered problems. Beach is a little difficult to get into in front of the house but the bio states this, just need to walk up the beach a little ways to gain easy access. Close to Rum Point and many great restuarants and great beaches. The house had a phone that we could call home to at no additional fee and that was a bonus. We enjoyed the peacefulness and privacy of the home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good but not great! Needs upgrading .

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Pros: bedrooms are adequate in size , hot water was sufficient for 8 people at the time, remote location,property manager was excellent and fast response for small issues, kitchen was well stocked , good air condition. Rear porch area is nice size , no protection from wind and rain .

Con: picture listed are unrealistic for size of living room and pool area , dinning room inside only seats 6 ,lounge chairs by pool are hard and uncomfortable no cushions profited pool area small crowded and fits 6 , one bedroom t.v. Only works with DVD, other bedroom very hot. Beach area is good just hard to go in water , the home shows its age and needs refreshing . Picnic table only has 1 bench and covered with rocks and shells. Maintenance is required .

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Manager Response- Thanks for the review; but we heard from the manager on island that the crowd from the 5BR villa next door was also with yourselves trying to enjoy the Sand Castle facilities designed for 10 people maximum. The porch fits 10; not 20; as does the pool, living room, etc. No one's fault; it just is a 5BR house and you had 20+ people trying to enjoy it and cook/eat in it. The manager reported replacing the propane tank 3 times during your week, a testament to the amount of cooking being done on the grill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

relaxing peaceful home

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

this house had everything you would want, it was clean, the kitchen was well stocked, and just far away from the crowds. We had the beach all to ourselves for th week. It was just perfect. We had six adults, and there was plenty of room for everyone, the pool was great with the ocean was a little rough, snorkeling right from the house was perfect, we saw lots of beautiful fish, lobster, and a shark. The beach is loaded with shells, and we were lucky enought to see 4 baby sea turtles hatch from a nest in front of the house. There is a house right next door, so if someone is there it might be a little less private. Lucky enough for us it was empty. Dont miss Sting ray city, its quite an experience, especially in a thunderstorm! There are plenty of restaurants within a few minutes of driving or there is a grill if you want to eat in. You wont regret renting this place, thank you for a much needed quiet, peaceful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic, relaxing family vacation spot

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Our family of six adults loved this house. Our 4 children’s ages are from 18 to 29. Our visit was in April 2011. We really enjoyed the porch and pool area where we spent a lot of time reading, eating, talking, surfing the internet and napping. House is well decorated and maintained. Lay out was great for our family with a bedroom and bathroom for each child.
Kitchen was also great for mixing drinks and making quick meals.
My wife and I loved our morning coffee sitting on the beach swing seat.
We enjoyed the location as well. Beach at the house does require water shoes to get past the rocky beach but snorkeling was good. A mile east of the house is a great snorkeling spot (Sullivan’s Cove??). Many other great spots nearby as well.
Location was also convenient for trips to Rum Point and the Eastern Shore.
We are a family of runners and found it a great place to run from daily, going in either direction.
We also recommend using McCurley’s Van Rental service. There are delightful to deal with and were very helpful to us newcomers.
House does have wireless internet and a collection of books in case you read all of yours.
All appliances were in great shape and served us well.
Our only issue was trying to turn on the pool light at night. We survived easily without it.
This was a great family vacation spot for us.We truly enjoyed this house and hope to rent it again someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Canadian family getaway

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Property was exactly as advertised, if not better, spacious, clean, great directions, we had 2 couples and 3 singles, so the room and bath room layout was perfect, kitchen very well equipped, spent most of the time on the patio or by the pool. when the waves were down, the rookie snorklers had fun right out back, though u have to tip toe thru the urchins close to shore, be sure to wear dive booties.
great property, i would highly recommend it if u are looking for quiet getaway with superb accomodations.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sand Castle - great snokelling

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

The house was fabulous with plenty of space and the covered deck by pool was great for outdoor meals. Our favorite thing was that the snokelling right off the house was tremendous.....tons of fish, lobster, rays, etc. It is good to know that the shore line at the house is coral and not a sandy place to play in shallow waves. This was fine for most of our group because we spent most of our time in deeper water right off the house snorkelling. My daughter (8 years old) would have prefered an easier shore/shallow water area to play in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review