reviews for: listing #77851 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

3-4BR "Christmas Palms" Stunning triple-aspect views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $4,250 - $7,945 /wk

sort by:

Review of Christmas Palms

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

Review of the Christmas Palms in Grand Cayman:
We stayed for 5 days at the Christmas Palms in the Grand Cayman. The home was in excellent condition with 180 degree view of the ocean. The four bedrooms, four bathrooms home was what were needed for a family of five. The home had all the amenities of your personal residence while being on a beautiful tropical beach. The pool and patio area were great for sitting and watching ongoing fishing boats while relaxing with a drink and dinner. The privacy was great while being nearby to two of the major resorts within a five mile radius.
We took tours of the bay, and snorkeled at the edge of the reef just to find that the best snorkeling was in the back yard of Christmas Palms. We saw Sting Rays, Barracudas, Lion Fish, eels, and all the variety of Caribbean species.
The location was close to many gourmet restaurants, or if you wanted to buy groceries and create your own meals the store was five minutes up the road.
The home is centrally located with famous rum point beach five miles west of the location. We made a day of it, the resort at Rum Point has restaurants; water sports equipment rentals, and a full functional beach.
The home is about eight miles from George Town and Seven Mile beach great areas for tourist type activities.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME!!!!

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

This house is simply beautiful, and exceeded our expectations. The picture don`t do it justice. We were {3} couples and we all had a king size beds with balconies over looking the ocean. We spent most of the time, outside taking in the views and sunsets, by the pool. Very relaxing. House was immaculate and kitchen and entire house was well equipted. Beach was a litte rocky and rough, for swimming and snokeling. Rum Point is only about 20mins away and has every kind of Water activities, Diving, snorkeling and Stingray city trips, a must do with you with any visit to Grand Cayman. Overall one of the best places, we have ever stayed at, and one of the best R&R`s we have ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

10 day stay at C. Palms

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

This is a lovely house. There is a small pool out back with fun pool toys. The kitchen is well-equipped and there's a large tv in the living area. You'll definitely need beach shoes for anyone going into the ocean as there are many sea urchins in the ocean behind the house. All the rooms have great views which is very unusual. The home is in a well-secure location and we felt safe taking walks, biking, and riding around. There are many good restaurants on the North Side and you are very close to the stingray sandbar which is a MUST visit for all in your party. The home is about a 30-40 mile drive to 7 Mile Beach and in a laid back area. You will really love this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful property!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

If you don't want to stay in a busy condo on a noisy road on seven mile beach (not to mention share the pool with hundreds of other people... eww), stay on the northside! Christmas palms is so beautiful and quiet. Three couples can share this house easily. the property is easy to find and close enough to rum point and east end on the other side (both about 20 min drives) and seven mile beach is not as far as it looks... we never minded the drive. you can't see your neighbors (unless you start walking down the beach far enough, obviously) the beach is full of coral but if you get out on the sea kayak you can get to mediocre snorkeling. take a trip out snorkeling on the east end with a boat, it's worth it!! the pool is great- doesn't have any harsh chemicals in it. warning- no modern grill! the grill is actually a small fire-pit with grate. we made it work just make sure you buy some charcoal. the pictures of this house are very accurate- we'd stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exquisite vacation getaway!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This rental property is absolutely fabulous. It's beautifully decorated, very spacious and has all the needed amenities. It's located directly on the beach - only steps away from a memorable snorkeling experience. It's an approximate 30 minute drive from the airport to its location on the North side. There are plenty of restaurants within a 5-10 mile radius - all of which provided us with a wonderful dining experience.

If you're looking for a little seclusion and/or to getaway from the hustle and bustle of Georgetown this is the perfect location!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break retreat

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

My wife, two teenage daughters and myself spent a week at Christmas Palms during the spring break of 2012. The house was designed perfectly for this secluded spot on the beach on the North side of the island so that there are fabulous views of the Carribean from every point in the house. The back veranda around the pool and beach is about as private as one could hope to find anywhere. The house can comfortably accomdate 10 people and was perhaps more than the four of us needed but we really enjoyed the extra space and the quiet times spent around the house reading, cooking and lounging about. The location is well off the beaten path and the traffic on the North Island road is next to nothing at all hours of the day; however, you are located only minutes away from the Lighthouse and Rum Point, two of the islands best restaurants. There are vacant wooded lots on both sides of the house that provide a secure sense of comforting isolation. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking your own meals and the screened-in area by the pool is great for serving meals. We found snorkling on the beach to be a challenge as the reef at this particular location is a bit of a swim and the surf is high near the shore. This is really a fantastic place and we hope to return one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a week in Paradise

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Christmas Palms and the owner were perfect. Everythign was in order when we arrived. Very clean and equipted. The location was in a perfect part of the island where we got the best weather. Gentle breezes every afternoon as it got hotter in other parts of the island, we stayed very comfortable. Close enough to the action but remote enough to feel private. It was one of our best vacations ever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Snorkeler

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

It's been maybe two years since we were there but it was a very nice, classy place. Pretty much as depicted on the site. Snorkeling near by at Babylon is great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Spending Christmas Week at Christmas Palms

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

What a wonderful place to spend Christmas week. The home is beautiful and very welcoming. We enjoyed very much our week's stay. We will definitely consider this luxurious home when we visit Grand Cayman in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Christmas palms, it was a beautiful house and well equipped. We loved the tranquility and privacy of the home, and our kids spent ours in the pool and then snorkelling near by. We especially loved the 'outside' dining room. We were very happy with our decision to go there- and would highly recommend it to anyone. We were also very happy with the level of service and info provided by Jim, with Caribbean Rental Villas. A++

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous property - great location!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We stayed at Christmas Palms this past July. The house is beautiful - spacious and very well equipped. The common area is open and the screened in porch made for a number of lovely dinners while watching the sunset. The pool is big enough to really swim in and its location right on the beach is very special. Each of the bedrooms was beautiful - and each has its own private deck. The bathrooms are spacious with great showers. Even though the owner was in England she was very responsive about a couple of questions we had. The housekeeper, Villa, is lovely and helpful. This is the fourth house we've stayed in on the Northside and it's by far the best. Ocean kayaks are a plus and the outdoor furnishings were also comfortable. Nothing but positives from us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

J & J

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

We travelled with 2 other couples this summer to Grand Cayman. We travel together every year[college friends for almost 40 years} and we are picky. Christmas Palms was great-3 nice in-suite bedrooms and nice layout. The best part is the ocean as your backdoor-the snorkeling there is the best! We ate at Over the Edge 3 times, Vivienne's for lunch, also Lighthouse and Tucca{all Fabulous} Location of the house is perfect if you like laid back and quiet[and we do].Great house!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful, Private Home!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

This house was perfect for our girls getaway vacation. The property was immaculate and the housekeeper, Villa, was always there for anything we needed. There is a great snorkeling area right behind the house and the property was very peaceful and quiet. Rum Point is a short 5 min drive, where you can enjoy watersports, snorkel trips, sunset cruises, etc. The house was wonderful and we would definitely recommend it to anyone planning on visiting The Caymans.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Cousins Vacation at Christmas Palms

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Our annual cousins vacation was held at Christimas Palms in June 2011. We were a bit skeptical about the timing of our stay, but the weather was perfect. The house was well appointment and extrremly comfortable. The pool right outside the living area was a great place to gather after a hard day of water sports and we totally enjoyed the snorkeling right off the backyard. The kayaks were a nice touch. Linens and kitchen applicances where great. If were to supply any suggestions it would be that we needed more hooks, hangers or ways to store clothing in the bedrooms/bathrooms. All in all it was a fabulous week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house - amazing location!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This was our fourth trip to Cayman and the house was the best we've stayed in yet. We always rent a house on the Northside as we like the quiet, privacy, and the ability to cook our own food. This house wants for nothing. It is beautiful and spacious with a great open floor plan. The kitchen is well equipped and comfortable to cook in. The screened in dining room was perfect for meals by candlelight with the sunset as a backdrop. The bedrooms are all very spacious with comfortable king beds, each with their own bathroom and great views of the ocean. Each also has its own private deck which was wonderful. The pool is a great size - enough to not only cool off in but also to do some real swimming and having it directly overlooking the ocean was very nice. The beach is small but adequate (if you're looking for a place to take long walks, this is not it). But, we found it more than adequate for our needs. The two sea kayaks are a great addition and we ventured out toward the reef in them more than once. The owner was away in England but answered our questions almost immediately when we wrote to her which was greatly appreciated. From the listing, it almost seemed too good to be true but it was all that was advertised. I would definitely recommend it to people who want to be on that part of the island - peace, quiet, but easy to climb in the car and go places. Over the Edge restaurant is very close as is Rum Point; as always, Chisolm's grocery store is right down the road. I'm very glad we found Christmas Palms and hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

fabulous vacation!

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Christmas Palms is an amazing property! We vacationed in Grand Cayman for a week+ and thoroughly enjoyed staying at Christmas Palms. The owner was very friendly at available to answer any questions or concerns. The home is new with modern appliances, and very comfortable furnishings. The property is immaculate and well cared-for. It is centrally located on the Northside: 10-15 minutes from Morritt's for scuba diving, and 15 minutes to Rum Point for fishing excursions. A rental car is advisable as this property is a long drive from the airport and Georgetown! There was a constant ocean breeze, and ceiling fans in every room that kept the house comfortable w/o having to rely on the A/C. The beach area is very rocky/coral covered, and not good for swimming, however, there is a beautiful pool that overlooks the ocean! ((Because the house opens directly to the pool, I would NOT recommend this property to families with young children!)) The home is relatively private w/ few neighbors. There are several waterfront restaurants within a few minutes drive. I would also suggest using the sgrocery shopping service to stock the fridge and pantry prior to your arrival. There is a small grocery strore nearby with basics - but it is a long drive to a full supermarket. I also recommend Tortuga Divers (part of Morritt's Resort). Tortuga dive guides are very knowledgable and made sure that every dive was educational, interesting, and FUN!! We had an absolutely fabulous time in Grand Cayman and really enjoyed staying at Christmas Palms!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Nice House and Very Accommodating Owner

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We used the Christmas Palms house for 2 weeks. The owner Jenny was very nice and provided some items for our 7 month old son that were very helpful (crib, walker, play mat). The house was clean and nice. If I had any compliant was that the pool was not warm enough, but that is not Jenny's fault! If you stay here you will not be disappointed. Enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank-you for the comments! The pool water can get down to the mid 70's in the winter. The ocean water is actually warmer! I looked into a pool heat pump and at $10,000 installed and $500/month to operate I decided against it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for Family Getaway!

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Our family of 8 (five adults and 3 children) had a fabulous time at Christmas Palms! The house is beautiful, with an open floorplan that is designed perfectly for a large family. Having three master bedrooms was a great benefit- everyone had a fantastic room with a tremendous view. The beds were comfortable and there are several different sized pillows to choose from. The photos of the home do accurately reflect the actual appearance, and what you don't see in the pictures is just as nice as what you do see (the 4th BR is nicely decorated, has a screened porch with a nice view, and was perfect for our teenagers.) The only possible challenge is that there is no closet in the bedroom downstairs and the downstairs bathroom (which does have a large vanity) doesn't have a shower. With three of each upstairs, this wasn't an issue for us.
The beach view here is beautiful and you do have great snorkeling and kayaking right in front of the house. The property was clean, well maintained and very low maintenance during our stay (tile floors throughout). While there is no need to venture too far from the house, it is somewhat secluded and you will want to rent a car. (The left-hand side of the road driving may be a little intimidating at first, but no biggy!) You are not too far from a variety of restaurants/bars, Rum Point, The Blow Holes, the Botanic Gardens, and several beautiful public beaches. While it is a bit of a drive, we opted for a Stingray City/snorkel trip (w/Franks) that departed from Seven Mile Beach- two snorkeling locations/very enjoyable. We also went on a 2-hour guide-led jetski trip from 7 Mile Beach to Stingray City and then Rum Point-if you're going to rent a jetski this is the way to do it. The Lighthouse Restaurant is close to the house and DELICIOUS! If you go to see the blow holes, which we would suggest if the wind is up, keep driving past this point and you will find the BEST (and least expensive) fish sandwiches at Nadine's!
The owner of the house was very accomodating before and during our stay- she has thought of everything. We highly recommend this house and hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just to say, I quite agree about the closet space and have just bought a chest of drawers for that downstairs bedroom, (which is next door to the powder room) so there will be more space for clothes etc. All the bedrooms upstairs have built in closets and ensuite bathrooms. Jenny (owner of Christmas Palms)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful House with everything you need!

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful, fully equiped house!! We cooked most of our meals and found the kitchen equiped with everything we needed. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The views from all of the rooms were stunning! The owner and manager were on top of all aspects of this property and sent us information to help us on the island. We found the beds to be very comfortable, which is saying a lot, as my husband is quite picky about beds. If you are looking for a non-crowded, quiet house, away from all of the tourists and hussle and bussle, this is the place for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Oceanfront Home

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

My family and I stayed for a week in this lovely, oceanfront home. The house is very easy to find and the accommodations are wonderful. The 3 bedrooms upstairs all have king beds and each has its own bathroom. The kitchen was wonderfully appointed and everything you need to prepare meals is provided. I would stay here again the next time we come to Grand Cayman.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Graduation trip

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

Our family just returned from a week at Christmas Palms celebrating a college graduation. Overall we had a great time being together in a beautiful home. It rained the first 4 days we were there so we spent more time in the house than we meant to, but it wasn't all bad. Unfortunately we had trouble with both the cable service (fixed) and Internet (never fixed) and being stuck in the house those were bad things! But we managed with movies we brought and rentals from the market near Morritt's resort (a godsend!). It is true this location is remote and that was exactly what we wanted. You can get to Bodden Town, Georgetown or Rum Point quickly enough but you sure will feel like you have gotten away from it all.

The house is as pictured and beautiful. The views and the constant ocean sound was ideal. The pool was smaller than we realized but it worked for hanging out. My favorite part of every day was waking up to the rising sun (since I insisted on keeping the drapes wide open) and taking my coffee and book to the chair I set up at the edge of the rocks (it is rockier than you think) and read and listen to the waves. The kayaks were used by everyone several times a day, even in the rain! They were a huge hit.

The manager of the house was very responsive to our needs and replaced the missing coffee pot immediately. She also went to her favorite store in Georgetown and delivered shrimp to us, saving us a trip there...what a deal! Some things we took with us (dish detergent, garbage sacks, herbs) were there in abundance but some things we expected (measuring spoons, wash cloths) were missing. I figure it is hard to keep a rental house well stocked so be prepared to buy some things or to give Mitzi a call.

All in all we had a great time, especially on those sunny days! Grand Cayman and Christmas Palms was a great find for us.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cable TV and wireless internet are normally reliable and easy to use and are both working fine. But if there are any problems, don't hesitate to call the manageress ... use house cell phone in kitchen drawer.

Measuring spoons and dish cloths now in stock!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Superb new property

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2009

I stayed in this lovely villa when it was brand new, in fact I think I was one of the first guests. The design is amazing, with stunning ocean views from the enormous windows in the rooms on the north side, large spacious bedrooms with great shower rooms, each bedroom with its own balcony. The listing doesn't do justice to the sense of magic you get when you arrive, everything has been done with such care and attention, you can tell the owner loves her property. She couldn't have been more helpful with our questions: we were looking for somewhere off the beaten track, but still close enough to amenities - superb location for diving, romantic strolls on the beach, enjoying nature, relaxing escape, easy access to Rum Point and the attractions of the North Side yet close enough to George Town for the cosmopolitan experience if you get withdrawal symptoms. I agree with all the restaurants mentioned in the listing and would add it's well worth the long drive or short boat trip to the West End to visit Calypso Grill. I would certainly recommend this villa to anyone....but you will need a car to get about.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review