reviews for: listing #77855 - Norris Lake, Tennessee House rental

As You Wish 8BR, 7.5 BA, 2 kitchen, 2 story dock,
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Big Creek
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $615 /nt
    $2,700 - $4,800 /wk

sort by:

Excellent accommodations for large family gathering

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We were so pleased with our stay at the As You Wish home. The accommodations were accurately described and we found everything to be of stellar quality when we arrived. Our extended family of 18, ranging from small children to adults, found everything we needed for a week together. The bedrooms and living areas are beautifully furnished and very comfortable providing a relaxing environment for our holiday together. The property was clean and well-maintained in addition to a fully supplied kitchen of appliances, cutlery, plates, etc. We did not need to bring any cookware from home. If you are planning on cooking, you will find everything you need. The owners were extremely helpful and had instant communication with us throughout the entire process. The outdoor space is beautiful and we enjoyed using the fire pit, even during the winter. Caution, the driveway is steep, but manageable, and there is plenty of parking at the bottom and top of driveway. We look forward to revisiting this property again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best lake accomodations ever!

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We''ve stayed at many different houses and condos on many lakes over the last 29 years and this house was the best ever. It is perfect for a large family gathering. There are many different areas to gather ( 3 living spaces indoors, 2 decks, 1 patio, 1 patio down by lake, deck on the dock) so there can be small or large groupings of people yet someone can always find a quiet space as well. The house is extremely well stocked with many dishes/pots/pans/ towels, etc. There wasn't one thing that we wished we had along and could have brought along less if we would have known what was all in the cupboards to use. The 1st floor kitchen was also useful for those who just wanted to come in from the lake and get more drinks/ice or were sleeping on that level and wanted a quick cup of coffee. With the dishwasher down there, we didn't have to haul the coffee cups and silverware all the way upstairs and back down.

We do recommend that if you are pulling a boat to leave it at the Whitman Marina before you go to the house as the road is very curvy, narrow and hilly. We also left the boat trailer at the marina parking lot with a trailer lock on it. The driveway to the house is extremely steep so no boats should go down there. There is plenty of parking for 6-7 cars at the house or extra space at the top of the driveway.

This area of Norris Lake is not busy compared to over in the Deerfield area. The dock is on a good sized cove so you do not have a lot of boat traffic in front of the house. Great area to swim off the dock, float on air mattresses or kayak if you bring one along. Lots of great chairs to lounge on either on the 2nd floor deck of house in the shade or in the sun on the dock.

The house is beautiful and has a great view from all floors. The landscaping is very pretty and well done. The house is 3 stories so there are plenty of stairs if that is a concern. Also about 35 steps down to the dock but they are not steep. There is not a railing on the steps to the dock. We had a group from 7 to 82 years old. Grandma hung out more on the 2nd floor deck of the house on the padded and very comfortable chairs and was able to watch everyone down on the dock. She loved it. Just had to be careful having a couple people with her when she ventured down for a couple of boat rides.

Highly recommend this place for all groups.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kudos to the owners! This is the perfect vacation home. High Praise for As You WishWhen

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

When I booked this vacation I had very high expectations. All of my expectations were exceeded a hundred times over. I can’t say enough good things about this property or the owners. We were a group of 17 (10 adults and 7 children) traveling from Kentucky and Georgia for an annual getaway. I chose this property because of the multiple king bedroom suites for the adults and large bunk rooms for kids. What I had not planned on was all of the movies and games that the kids would enjoy and the amazing kitchens the cooks would rave about. WOW, when they say fully stocked they mean fully stocked. We were at want for nothing, including space. The house is designed so that there is plenty of room to spread out. This home will accommodate many more than the 17 we had.

We also had an opportunity to meet the owners while we were there and it was clear to us that they really wanted to help make our vacation extra special. There were a couple of very small things that needed to be addressed (2 minor things) and they were there immediately helping us out.
When we weren’t on the lake we spent the majority of our time on one of the many decks or at the fire pit. In fact, on our last night we all met at the fire pit and started planning our return.

The owners have really thought of everything to make a stay at this property special. Once we parked the cars we never moved them until it was time to leave. My only regret was that we didn’t stay longer. Thank you Andrea and Brian for a fantastic vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Exceptional!!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

My family stayed at this lovely lake house over the holidays and had a wonderful time. The kids fished every day and built a fire in the fire pit. We cooked Christmas dinner in the fully stocked kitchen. This cabin was great because the kids could play on the lower third level and the adults could enjoy ourselves upstairs. The view overlooking the lake was amazing. We loved waking up and being able to walk out on the deck and drink our coffee. All of the rooms were nicely decorated just as the pictures showed. We could not get the Internet to work & I had to call the owners & they immediately called us back. They were great to deal with. I would highly recommend any of their properties!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas 2012

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

Our large family enjoyed spending our Christmas vacation in this beautiful house. What a treat to have so much space for the children to enjoy. The kitchen was large enough for multiple cooks to work side by side and any kitchen utensil, appliance or dish you might need was available. The adults enjoyed having their own bedroom suite and the children enjoyed the hot tub. Thanks again for such a wonderful house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"As You Wish" was well named!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

This property delivered on every level. Outstanding amenities, beautifully decorated, spacious yet homey. We could not have asked for a better setting for our family reunion. People came from California, Colorado, North Carolina, Washington D.C., Ohio and everyone was impressed with this wonderful home. We hope to be back at a future date. Our hosts were very helpful and responded promptly to any questions we had. Thank you Andrea and Brian for a wonderful weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Garden of _ clan

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

A beautifully kept home with all the amenities you could want for a wonderful lake vacation. Everything was just as the pictures show. The kitchen left nothing to be desired; it was a delight to cook for 18 with top quality appliances and extras. Bedroom and bath spaces were very comfortable. The landscaping made it a home away from home. The top level of the boat dock, fire-pit, porches and outside hot tub were our favorite hang outs...with the 3 family room high-def TVs a close second for "grandpa" and the little ones. The owners made it a special place to vacation in many ways. The lake is amazingly beautiful and quiet with clear water and swimming access in the lake was easy even for the children. Nice people at the marinas too. A great place to vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just about perfect!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during mid-February. The house was simply amazing. It seemed that no expense had been spared. It is ornate and huge, with ample room for our group of ten adults and three children. We made use of the huge TVs and sound systems in each of the living rooms playing movies, watching TV, and holding running video game contests. We were very pleasantly surprised at the huge movie collection and the number of games they had for the Xbox 360. We also made use of the huge hot tub and the grill on the upper deck. One thing that really stood out about this house as compared to all the other cabins we've rented as a group over the years was the well-appointed kitchens. Not only did they have every conceivable appliance, dish, or utensil, but they oftentimes had very nice ones available in triplicate.

We would definitely return here, especially if we could do it in warmer weather so we could take advantage of the surroundings.

One word of caution to future renters: The driveway is incredibly steep and can be quite intimidating the first time you drive down it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Boricua's In Da House

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

Awesome place, great location, on a scale from 1-10, a perfect 10!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Absolutely stunning!

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

This place was perfect for our extended family. We had 26 people and never once felt crowded. There are so many decks and seating areas to hang out that everyone had a place to be. Our ages ranged from 13 to 80 and all had a fantastic time. The kitchens were completely stocked with everything we needed to cook meals for so many people. The early morning ski runs were fabulous and we had a great time hanging out on the dock. We are planning to bring everyone back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply Amazing!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

Two words describe this Lake House...Simply Amazing! Andrea and Brian thought of everything to make your stay awesome! The house is beautifully decorated and stocked with everything to make your vacation enjoyable: towels, linens, bedding, fully stocked kitchens, Margaritaville Machine, ice maker, etc. You honestly just have to pack up your clothes, bring some food, grab your fishing poles and go. Every inch of the house is exactly as described, and I know my family (20 of us) enjoyed all of it. We loved the two story dock, swimming platform, outdoor firepit, hottub, gas firepit, and upstairs deck with tables and chairs. We also enjoyed the library of DVDs and the older boys loved the gaming system. We had a family reunion here (ages ranged from 5-88) and we all fell in love with this place. We can't wait to come back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What a wonderful week!

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

What a wonderful week! The setting is gorgeous with views in every room. The furnishings are cozy and comfortable. The kitchen is great for cooking big meals and we ate many meals on the patio and on the dock. The floating dock was perfect for a leisurly day on the lake. We would love to stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

***Beautiful Lake Home ~ Our Family Had A Wonderful Time***

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Thanks to Brian and Andrea for sharing their beautiful lake home with our family for a wonderful vacation. Brian and Andrea are extremely easy to work with and are very responsive with any questions we had. Their house is simply amazing and beautifully decorated! The kitchen is stocked with everything you would ever need to fix meals for a large family. The beds are super comfy and the linens are top quality. Brian and Adrea did not skimp on anything, a first class house and beautiful property!! Our family vacation was filled with many fond memories that will last a life time. We hated packing up and leaving the lake and will certainly will be back for many years to come.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

***Beautiful Lake Home ~ Our Family Had A Wonderful Time***

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Thanks to Brian and Andrea for sharing their beautiful lake home with our family for a wonderful vacation. Brian and Andrea are extremely easy to work with and are very responsive with any questions we had. Their house is simply amazing and beautifully decorated! The kitchen is stocked with everything you would ever need to fix meals for a large family. The beds are super comfy and the linens are top quality. Brian and Adrea did not skimp on anything, a first class house and beautiful property!! Our family vacation was filled with many fond memories that will last a life time. We hated packing up and leaving the lake and will certainly will be back for many years to come.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing place, very relaxing with ALL the amenities!

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Wonderfully decorated, able to make everyone feel at home! The lake access is terrific with a two story, lighted dock that can easily accommodate 4 boats. Wonderful stone steps to the lake with Fire pit. Several indoor areas for gathering. Decks fully furnished for relaxing moments. Large hot tub. This one can really accommodate 30 people, comfortably.

This is a wonderful way to spend a week...sign up soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review