reviews for: listing #77858 - Venice Beach, California House rental

"Charlie Chaplin's Old House"
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $225 /nt
    $875 - $1,575 /wk

sort by:

Adorable House and Prime Location!!

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

We actually live in the area but rented this house while our home was being fumigated. When we arrived, the property was spotless and full of all the amenities you could ask for. Our two babies, our two cats, and ourselves were more than comfortable in the home. It's full of windows and sunlight. The owner is as attentive as he is friendly. Outdoor grill with natural gas is a huge plus. Very nice outdoor area and very safe and secure. Walking distance to amazing restaurants and a nice, long walk to the beach. You can't beat this house for the price. Rent it, and you won't be sorry!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Leah for a very favorable review. I am always delighted to have locals and in this case neighbors, vacationing here. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm glad to selected "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" among the many outstanding vacation rentals that Venice has to offer. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Place We've Ever Stayed

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a great week in the wonderful Charlie Chaplin house. We've stayed in vacation rentals many times and have never found one as clean, comfortable, and well appointed as this one. We were in Los Angeles for a family reunion and were able to entertain family easily, as everything we needed was right there. The appliances are great, including a gas stove, which is very unusual in a rental. and a large washer and dryer.
The house is steps from great restaurants and shops, but is very peaceful and secure. Don, the owner, is always available and very friendly and responsive. Thanks, Don, for making the week so enjoyable. We can't want to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise on Abbot Kinney

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

This sweet, cozy home is a gem! Upon arrival, everything was just as we expected. No undesirable surprises! The house was immaculately clean. I have a baby who spent most of his time crawling around the hardwood floors. I would not have been comfortable with this if the floors were anything less than spotless when we arrived. Linens were fresh and the bathroom sparkled. The fenced-in patio provided privacy and a sense of security. Our five year old daughter loved the freedom to roam out there and search for signs of life in the pond. The patio is a perfect place to enjoy coffee in the morning and sip wine in the evening. We made use of the grill one night. The kitchen is well stocked. The beds are comfortable. Location is nearly on Abbot Kinney and central to everything it has to offer. Easy walk to the beach. We will back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything we were hoping for!

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

We stayed at Charlie Chaplin's Old House during spring break with our children ages 11 and 14, plus our dog. It was perfect. The location is great-one block away from a fantastic shopping and eating street. We felt safe and secluded but yet in the middle of it all. The parking even worked for our caravan! I highly recommend this house and I will stay here again for sure!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charlie Chaplin's Old house

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This was the best vacation rental we have had so far since we have been staying in the Venice area. Don is the best to deal with. He is always available if you need him. The home definitely lived up to it's expectations. It was everything listed on the site and more. We would definitely recommend that anyone looking to stay in the Venice area should consider the Charlie Chaplin house. You won't regret it. We are planning to come back next year. That's how much we enjoyed staying there.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Love This Location!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We have stayed in this owner's Malibu location several times. When we couldn't book a stay there, we opted for Don's Venice location. This house is absolutely lovely, extremely comfortable, and lots of fun. We were one minute from one of our favorite restaurants, Hal's, and found a new one -- the gourmet pizza place! This is every bit as fun as Malibu as you are out and about scoping all the inviting shops, galleries and eateries on Abbott Kinney. Now we don't know which one to book for our vacations. Heading to the Malibu site in July so maybe we'll just alternate. We've already recommended the Chaplin house to two friends. Don's properties are the best! He's so caring and honest that we wouldn't think of looking elsewhere when visiting LA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing spot for any occasion!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2012

My family of 4 had a wonderful 9 day stay at the Charlie Chaplin House. Everything was clean and ready for us. The owner was wonderful to work with and made every effort to ensure our comfort. My husband was unable to make this trip with us, so I am looking forward to visiting again with him at the Charlie Chaplin House.

Owners response: Thank you Veronica for the positive guest review and in particular, for mentioning that I am "wonderful" (I assume that to mean responsive and easy to work with). Whenever I consider a vacation rental I first read the guest comments. In particular, I look to see if some of the comments mention the owner or manager is responsive. If there is a problem or I have a question, I want to know it will be taken care of. Likewise, I want my vacationers to have this same courtesy. Come back soon and don't forget the "repeat offender" discount for returning vacationers. Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Memorable Stay! The place is 110 % recommendable!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed at Charlie Chaplin's Old House for 7 nights from May to June 2012 and loved every minute of it. All the pictures you see are accurate but don’t do they place enough justice. It is even nicer in “real” life!

Starting with the excellent location in Venice, close to Abbot Kinney Blvd. with all the shops, restaurants etc. but also within walking distance to the Beach (it took us app. 10 – 15 minutes and we were walking with two small kids; 3 and 5 years old).
The place was spotless when we arrived and had basically everything you could want from a vacation home. Patio area, BBQ grill, wireless internet, designated parking space, leather couch etc.
All the appliances are top notch and we highly recommend the place to everyone who wants to spend time in the L.A. area.
Yes, traffic noises from passing cars and buses are audible. But on a normal level and at no point did we feel disturbed by it.
Don the owner was pleasant and extremely easy to deal with.

Owners response: Thanks Stephan for a comprehensive and stellar traveler review. I'm delighted to have so many vacationers from Europe (such as you and your family visiting from Germany). Having a great vacation rental is a combination of two things. A tasteful upgrade (remodel) and luck. The luck is in the location. When I purchased this property back in 1979, it was a distress sale and it was all I could afford. Venice was a slum back then and none of my friends would even come there to visit me. What a difference 33 years makes! Venice and Venice beach has become a wonderful vacation destination for locals and travelers worldwide. The upgrade was easy. The luck was hard part! Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

We loved Charlie Chaplin's Old House!! Don was super organized and responded promptly to my many questions before our arrival.
We were in town for a family function and were especially pleased with the quality of the house furnishings ( I now want a leather couch with dual power recliners!) and it's location in the heart of Abbot Kinney, which is a wonderful upscale area filled with restaurants and trendy shops. It is only a short block to Abbot's Habit where we got breakfast many mornings to bring back to enjoy in the private courtyard.
The house easily accommodated my wife and I, as well as a weekend visit from my son, his wife and baby.
It was the most well stocked place we have ever stayed, from detergent to coffee there was a little of everything.Although we didn't do any cooking there is a nice BBQ grill in the courtyard and the cookware were of the highest quality and very complete.
Although it's situated at the corner of 3 busy streets, it's cool enough at night to close the windows and not be disturbed by street noise. The ride to LAX is only 15 minutes.
I'm not sure when we'll get back to LA in the future but this is where I'd want to stay again!

Owners response: Larry, thanks for the great review. I appreciated everthing you mentioned right down to how quiet it is in the main bedroom at night. It's due to double pane glass windows and I'm so glad you noticed the great sound proofing they do. Come back again soon. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couple with one teenager

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This place was great. My fiancee and I stayed for a week with our budding 17 year old and could not imagine a more suitable house, location, value and property owner. The house was very comfortable for the teen, my fiancee loved the place and was most impressed at how clean and well maintained the place is. Don was very accessible and responsive and at the same time not at all intrusive. it was too bad that we did meet Don while we were there, and the next time we are in LA this property will be our desired location for a repeat stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place to Stay!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay! We arrived to an immaculate property with a designated parking spot for our rental car steps away from the front door, definitely a plus in such a bustling area. The house easily accommodated our traveling party of 3 adults and one infant (there is even a crib included, much less the wireless access and expansive cable options on the three flatscreen televisions!), and we were especially fond of the beautiful patio area and spent a lot of time outside. One of the biggest selling points for us was getting to be in the heart of the Abbot Kinney area (grab a slice of pizza, enjoy an upscale dinner, shop for eclectic fashions, stop for your morning coffee, check out a great jazz band, pick up fixings at the grocery store for a BBQ on the patio grill, explore Venice Beach, etc...all within walking distance!), while still having your own private retreat. Don was professional, courteous and prompt in our booking process, and he and his property had come highly recommended by good friends that had just recently experienced a terrific stay. We are already looking forward to being "repeat offenders" at Don's house, and highly encourage others to book, you won't be sorry!

Owners response: Thank you Kimberly for the most comprehensive guest comment that I can recall. Most important, I'm glad that you had a good time and "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" met you expectations. I look forward to giving you the "repeat offender" discount when you return. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charlie Chaplin

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

My highest recommendation. We had a fabulous time and will definitely return.

Owners response: Thanks Richard. You're the greatest, not to mention you came all the way from Paris. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We enjoyed everything about our 2 weeks in Charlie Chaplin' House. The house was spotless when we arrived and stocked with everything we needed. We just had to add food. We loved being part of the neighborhood while having our private outside area. We liked having the reserved parking spot.
The shops and restaurants provided endless entertainment. Our favorites were the coffee at Abbot's Habit and Intelligentsia and the desserts at Lemonade. Pizza at Abbot's Pizza was also a daily favorite. The best feature was being able to walk to these locations.
Don was very thoughtful and attentive. We had no problems during our stay but we know he was available if needed.
This location would work well for families or singles. We have already recommended it to our friends and are planning our next visit.

Owners response: Thank you Sharon and Billy. What I liked most about your review was it included specific activities you enjoyed doing on Abbot Kinney Boulevard. I always encourage vacationers to stay in the Abbot Kinney Boulevard area because there is so much to see and do. Thanks again and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at "Charlie Chaplin's Old House." Don Tollefson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 8 nights in Charlie Chaplin's Old House and enjoyed it in every way. The accommodations are first-rate, the access to Abbot Kinney is perfect, the private parking space relieves the parking angst for someone unfamiliar with the area and, if you don't want to drive, you can always grab the handy Big Blue Bus to downtown Santa Monica. After sampling Venice's beach weirdness, having a glass of wine in the garden will quickly restore your sanity. If that doesn't do it, retreat into the living room and watch a live Laker's or Clipper's game on the great high definition TV.

Owners response: Thanks Terry for a great review and for mentioning the "easy access" to Abbot Kinney Boulevard. Much effort went into making "Charlie Chapllin's Old House" comfortable and convenient, but its' best feature seems to be that "easy access."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great cottage. Great neighborhood. Great owner. Great deal.

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

I just got back from 11 days at the "Charlie Chaplin" house. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Venice for a holiday. The house was spotlessly clean when we arrived; the beds were comfortable; the kitchen fully functional; and the outdoor area provided a nice "buffer" from the all the activity in the neighborhood. The house is extremely well situated in the heart of Venice. I woke up every morning and ambled less than a block to the Intelligensia coffee shop for my morning latte. Lots of good restaurants and bars in the area as well. The owner, Don, was straightforward to deal with and very responsive. I've rented quite a few places over the years, and given the quality of the rental and the price point, this ranks as one of the best.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Elizabeth for an extremely well written and well thought out review. I'm particulary pleased that you noted that things were "spotlessly clean" upon your arrival. To properly clean and prepare a vacation rental in time for the next vacationer is a challenge. I also appreciate that you mentioned the Intelligensia coffee shop. Their concept is delightful and it's a short walk, right across the parking lot, to their back door entrance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charlie Chaplin House

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

We stayed eight nights at this little house and loved Venice Beach. The outdoor area is private and lovely and expands the living space nicely. The house is ideal for one family as it is only one bathroom. The kitchen is well designed with new appliances and efficient. Quiet washer and dryer a big plus. Parking was never a problem. There are two great coffee shops half a block away. We loved the combination lock system so no one had to remember keys. Someone recommended this to us and I would recommend it also. The only caution is street noise as this is at the intersection of three streets, a bus stop and backing up to commercial businesses on Abbot Kinney ie. trash removal and deliveries. I am an early riser so that did not bother me. The place is clean comfortable and well maintained. The walks we really enjoyed were the canal streets and the oceanfront, all very convenient to this location.

Owners response: Thank you Dana. You mentioned several positive points and a single negative one, some street noise. Street noise is a trade off for being right near the heart of the Abbot Kinney District. It's a trade off. Seconds from the action or total peace and quiet? For those wanting total peace and quiet, I also have "Nanette Dolinger's Estate." It has 2 bathrooms instead on 1, 4 onsite parking spots instead of 1, 12,000 square feet of tropical landscaping instead of 3000 square feet of tropical landscaping. It's totally silent and fabulous in every respect, except that it's a five or ten minute walk from the heart of the action. "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" runs slightly above 90% occupancy. "Nanette Dolinger's Estate" runs just under 80%. You can have peace and quiet or be right in the heart of the action. But, not both! Come back again soon. Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love Charlie Chaplin's Old House

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Charlie Chaplins' Old House. I love the fact that Abbot Kinney is right outside the door and Venice Beach is right down the street. I was able to walk down the street and grab something to eat. Grabbed my morning pastry across the street. I shopped until I could not longer carry any more bags. If you enjoy jazz music, it right around the corner.
The rental home and property was well maintained. I enjoyed sitting by the pond and enjoyed looking at the beautiful landscape. It was great that all the amenities were are already in the rental home. The owner was wonderful and was always available when I had questions or requested for his assistance.
I highly recommend this vacation rental home. I really loved my stay here and will be back again. Charlie Chaplin's Old House is home away from home.

Mahalo for making my stay so comfortable, I didn't want to leave.

Aloha!
Elle

Owners response: Thanks for a thorogh and well thought out guest comment. "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" is a vacation rental where things just seem to work out from the time you arrive until the time you depart. Your guest comment embodies that concept and is greatly appreciated. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

What a wonderful stay at this well maintained, modern, beautiful little cottage. The location is dead in the middle of the strip of shops that extend in each direction on Abbot Kinney Boulevard, and about a 10 minute walk to center of Venice Beach. The fences gave a sense of home and privacy even though the traffic and people were only a few feet away. With wireless internet, high def large screen TVs everywhere, and even a DVR, there was everything I needed (and I am a techie). The cookware was better than at my own at home. The owner is obviously caring and was high communicative and helpful. There even was a frequent shopper card for discounts left by the owner to be used at the nearby Ralph's supermarket. The only minor negatives were the street noise and needing to do a parallel park in the spot on the street reserved for the tenant. I would stay again at the Charlie Chaplain house any time and I highly recommend it to anyone who would like to stay in this wonderful location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charlie's - Venice Beach

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Couldn't fault the house - perfect condition and location and well maintained. Don was always available if needed and from the beginning of planning our holiday to our departure was efficient and organised.

Charlie's was well placed being in the centre of Abbot Kinney Blvd with access to shops and restaurants etc and was a great base for exploring the wider reaches of LA. Noise from early morning garbage trucks was annoying but we soon got accustomed to this and it didn't affect the tranquility of sitting in the green oasis in the garden and yard on an evening.

Anyone from the UK looking for a pleasant base in Venice would do well to find anything better together with a well organised landlord. Ideal for teenage children upwards or couples. The house was an ideal size for our family of four without feeling as though we were impacting on each other's space.

Thanks again Don.

Philip, Helen, Heidi and Liam - Nottingham UK

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Philip for noting my efficiency throughout the booking process. I have a good system and I'm an owner-manager so I try to make everything as painless as possible. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Owner

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

I have an odd review and one that you don't usually see. I wanted to review Don, the owner of the Charlie Chaplin home.

My family and I had been planning our summer 2011 vacation since the winter and reserved the Charlie Chaplin home for eight days as well as an ocean front home in Malibu that Don also owns. The homes were both reserved since January for a stay in July. Don answered every possible question that I had and made the reservation process very easy. We were all excited about our vacation but unfortunately sometimes no matter how well you plan things something out of your control happens to spoil your best laid out plans. About a month prior to our anticipated vacation our vehicle was stolen with personal belongings that led the thieves to our home I tried to remain positive that this was going to be resolved but after a few days I knew that it was getting too close to our vacation date and there were too many issues that had to be resolved at home due to the theft therefore we were forced to cancel our dream vacation.
With only weeks remaining to the reserved days, I contacted Don and explained our situation and asked about his cancellation policy. Don was very courteous and extremely considerate. He only held the initial deposit of $286 and even said that this could be applied for future use.

Don, Thank you so much for making a terrible situation a little more beareable by being so considerate. I can't thank you enough and hope that some time in the near future we are able to take our vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Terrific place to stay in Venice Beach

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

When my husband & I arrived at the airport, our son called from the Charlie Chaplin House to tell us "This place is beautiful. You'll love it." And he was right! Renting the Charlie Chaplin House in Venice Beach was a wonderful introduction to the Los Angeles area. The house is immaculate & tastefully furnished, with all the amenities (even a washer/dryer). The bathroom is a gem, with gorgeous Travertine tile, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The full-sized, modern kitchen was beautiful as well as functional. Nice to have wireless internet & big screen TVs, though we didn't use them much. I will miss the wonderful couch with reclining seats! At the end of the day, we loved to sit out in the little courtyard to relax.
The location was ideal for my husband & me -- we could walk to shops & restaurants on Abbot Kinney Blvd., to the beach, to the Santa Monica Pier & shops, to the Venice canals. We also rented bikes, as well as a car. Other pluses of the location: close to airport, yet easy to get to other parts of the city. The only downside was the occasional street noise (buses & garbage trucks), but it was generally confined to certain parts of the day.
Don Tollefson, the owner, was very professional, considerate, & helpful. He provided info on the area's highlights, even directions from the airport. Our security deposit was refunded very quickly. All transactions were clear, specific, & fair, and Don was easy to reach by cell phone or email. This rental was a great place for a vacation & a great value for the dollar - we would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sarah, I appreciate the effort you went to, to provide this wonderful guest comment. It was as comprehensive as a professional review in the travel section of a newspaper. I feel that everything you said was correct, accurate and unembellished. I've had a lot of guest comments about "Charlie Chaplin's Old House," but I think yours takes the cake. Thanks for the comment and thanks for the effort that it took to write it. Don

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice place

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

Nice place, immaculate and has everything you need.
Convenient location and own parking.
Don is excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Steve and I appreciate your mention of onsite parking (which, if you don't have in Venice is a big headache). Glad you had a good time. Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great place

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

this place is great, very clean and is better than pictures.

walking distance to everything.

owner is fantastic and caring

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: David, you were the very first vacationer at "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" back in December. Good to hear from you!. Thought you'ld dropped off the radar screen. A positive guest comment three months after the visit? Hey! works for me. When are you coming back? Don

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun at Charlie's

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We loved Charlie's. It was in a great location, steps away from funky
coffee shops, vintage clothing stores, restaurants and only a few blocks
to the beach. Very well equipped and extremely well kept. Could easily
spend a week there using it as a base to check out LA and the coast.
Comfortable beds, nice reclining chairs, great TV's. It was cool and wet
when we were there so we didn't get a chance to sit outside but there is
lots of opportunity to do this as well.
Don was very prompt returning emails, calls and the deposit as well.
He was also very helpful providing information about the area both on
the phone and by leaving an info package for us.
I would highly recommend this spot to someone seeking a place that is
a little out of the ordinary and especially looking to avoid the airport
hotel scene. It is easy access to LAX - 15 minutes away.
It is big enough for 4 people but would feel just right for 2 as well.
Loved it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Michael for the positive comments about "Charlie Chaplin's Old House." Thanks also for the positive comments about the service I provide. By the way, you were the first ever to express your appreciation for the prompt return of your security deposit. I refund deposits within 24 hrs of departure and I think it's a good policy. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

just book it!

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

First thing, the photos don't do this place justice. Everything is super-clean and newly renovated. The main space is extremely spacious and comfortable, with high ceilings and plenty of light, wood floors, skylights, and ceiling fans. (You don't need a/c in Venice unless you're a penguin.) Minimal yet homey. 3-4 people can stay here very easily for weeks and not get on each other's nerves. The outside patio is a great place for morning coffee or to see out the day, very private with a koi pond and tropical plants and palm trees. The bathroom is particularly nice, tiled with it's own skylight and double-rain shower. The master bedroom is smallish but full of light and the bed is ridiculously comfortable. The second br is also nice, well-arranged for two people to share. Both rooms manage to be private and yet are very open, airy, and light-filled. There are huge flat-screen TVs in each room if you're so inclined with an insane amount of channels available. Wifi is super-fast and consistent.

The transaction with the owner couldn't be easier. He was very conscienscious about giving us the info we needed but then was out of our hair. Queries and requests were answered quickly.

If you love Venice, the location is perfect. A 50-step walk to Abbot Kinney (coffee, restaurants, shopping, etc) yet somehow separate from it's weekend activity. The beach or the canals are a 10-15 minute walk through some of the nicest streets in Venice, and Santa Monica is just a little further. (If you dare stay in LA without a car this may be the only place you can do it and still have a great time.) There's a dedicated parking space that comes in handy when things get busy on weekends.

If you haven't figured it out yet, I recommend is place very highly. My only regret in writing this is that it'll become so popular that I won't be able to book it anymore!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jason, "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" is a one of a kind house on a one of a kind property that has become a Venice icon over the years. Charlie Chaplin himself would be proud if he knew vacationers were staying there, having a fabulous time and making fabulous guest comments like yours. Don

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unique and Immaculate!

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

Thanks Don for a wonderful stay in the Charlie Chaplin House! It's obvious that a great deal of care was taken in designing and outfitting the house. Loved how you've incorporated all the modern amenities seamlessly into this historic house. We especially loved your outdoor space!

Location is perfect, a rarity to be within walking distance of so many quaint shops and restaurants (some of the best in LA) in this city of cars!

The check-in/check-out process was easy and the house was immaculate and well stocked with everything one could need!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Paul for an absolutely terrific guest response. I've been remodeling my properties for over 25 years now and it's comments like yours that make it all worth the effort. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charlie Chaplin House

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 7, 2010

When we opened the door and looked in we were really excited. "The Charlie Chaplin House" was nicely remodeled and that shiny old floor was amazing! Everything we needed was right there, plus the location was great and Don was easy to work with. He had a simple system for our contract, for booking, for balance payment, for our entry upon arrival, a nice arrival read-out and our security deposit was promptly refunded.

The house is in a GREAT location, just a few blocks from wonderful restaurants, eclectic shopping and sight-seeing. Plus walk-able to the beach and that world famous, Venice Board Walk.
Karen from Atlanta

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Karen, making that old floor shiny took a lot of work so I'm glad you appreciated it. Thanks, Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow!

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

Great interior layout and I really liked the large great room space. "Squeekie clean" and the location couldn't have been better. Thanks Don

Owners response: Thanks for mentioning "squeakie clean" and glad you appreciaated it. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Spot

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

Don, On "The Charlie Chaplin House" vacation site, it says "The best location Venice has to offer." It just might be. Davida, Aptos, California

Owners response: Thanks Davida for a great review. I'm going to make it a "featured review" on my vacation rental site. Don

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2010

Don, I just wanted to tell you have much Kathy and I enjoyed our stay at "Charlie’s." The location was perfect. Kathy was able to keep herself happily occupied by foot during the day while I used the car for business. Then when we reunited at the end of the day, we had a great choice of dinner options ranging from take-out to Joe’s (great!). But the best part for me was that reclining sofa and the 55” TV in the living room. Being a couch potato never felt so good. Thanks!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jason and when you come back, don't forget to ask for my "repeat offender" discount. Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

Thanks, Don. What a great place! The inside was immaculate and cozy and I loved the kitchen. The patio and pond made me feel like I was on a tropical island and then I walked out the gate and I was on Abbot Kinney Boulevard. It was amazing and everything was perfect. I can't wait to come back. Evelyn, Ontario, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review