reviews for: listing #77887 - Lake Geneva, Wisconsin House rental

Magical Lakefront home
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,000 - $4,900 /wk
    $10,000 - $14,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Place for a Group Stay

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Moore's Landing was nothing less than perfect for a weekend getaway for a girlfriends' bachelorette party.

The house is impeccably kept, all the main rooms (kitchen, living and dining) are generously sized, clean, and organized. What's more, there are a couple binders full of information about the area -- food, activities, etc. and also how to use all the amazing features and amenities the house has to offer!

The house is located on a quiet street, on its very own lake. But if you're looking for time in Lake Geneva, this house is only 20min driving from downtown.

What else can I say?

-Beautiful fireplace
-Hot tub is amazing
-Super comfy beds
-TV and sound system for all AV needs
-Kitchen is big with tons of counter space

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful destination for a fall getaway weekend

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Our girls weekend was a huge success at this lovely home -- despite the wintery weather we enjoyed walks, local dining and very comfortable accomodations. A great getaway spot we will visit again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Thanksgiving

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

My family and I were extremely impressed by this gorgeous Lake home! We came to the celebrate Thanksgiving 2012 and it was a perfect family gathering. The house has gorgeous view of the Lake and is only minutes from restaurants, shops etc. The kitchen was fully stocked with all our cooking needs and very modern amenities. Everything was neatly organized so we knew where to replace dishes, pots and pans and blankets. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of properties and we look forward to visiting again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rich (family retreat)

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Our entire family love Moore's Landing. The house was clean, well maintained. Great boat dock and and yard for activities. We already booked again for next year. Highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We spent a wonderful week @ Moores landing. The house was beautiful with everything you could possibly need to feel right at home.
The guys loved the 3rd level where they played pool and watched sports. (it was soon called the Man Cave). The ladies loved the outdoor hot tub looking out over the lake.
Just a short drive to Lake Geneva, where we spent a long day shopping.....

We all hope to make it back for another family get together.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Week to Remember

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

What a fantastic vacation this turned out to be! Our entire family was gathering to celebrate a 50th and a 25th Wedding Anniversary, Moore's Landing was the perfect location to do this at! The house and amenities were just as described on the website. There were 14 of us staying and never did we feel crowded or that we didn't have enough room. The kitchen was fabulous! We rarely ate out but took turns fixing meals, and having a dishwasher was wonderful. With a table that would seat 10 inside, another on the screened in porch and another on the deck, we never ran out of space. We brought our own pontoon boat and enjoyed being able to pull up to our own private dock. The kids were a little disappointed that there was no water trampoline but there was a floating dock that they spent a great deal of time jumping off and we all enjoyed the hot tub after the lake daily. We were constantly throwing loads of towels in the wash and still had plenty left in the linen closet to use. All of these simple things washer, dryer, dishwasher, gas grill, multiple bathrooms, kitchen fully stocked with cooking utensils made all of us feel right at home. Karyn was wonderful to work with and her bar serves fantastic burgers, one of our few meals out. We rarely did things off property but were not far from a shopping area, nail salon, bowling, and antique shopping when we did. We went bike riding one morning with the bikes provided and the older kids loved kayaking every morning before the lake started getting busy. Roger and Jackie were great about answering all our questions before we arrived. Everything was wonderful and we plan to return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lake Escape

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Lake Delavan and the lakefront house of R. Moore..it's simply wonderful there. Amazingly beautiful, great property at a great location. Very nice house - clean and cozy, with enough space, very well decorated and definitely with remarkable atmosphere. You have everything at your fingertips. The house is fully furnished with everything one might need. Karyn is a gracious host.
It was a memorable trip for our group of family and friends, the place is gorgeous and the house - very close to our hearts.
We had an fantastic time and great memories of this family vacation and would like to repeat the experience. We are definitely interested in another week in the future. We highly recommend this rental property - with other words - You should go and experience it for yourself.
Thank you, Roger, for sharing your slice of paradise!
Best regards,
Niki, Family & Friends

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic House -- Highly Recommend!

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

This property looked great on the website -- and even better in person. The house is phenomenal. Very spacious, very clean. We had about 14 people with us and space was not a problem. The kitchen has everything you'd need and a dining room table that fit everybody in our party. The hot tub was perfect after a day of skiing in Lake Geneva. The basement has a ping-pong table and the top floor has a pool table... the bottom line, more than enough room and activities to ensure that everybody has a great time. 10 months later, our group of friends is talking about wanting to return to the same house. I would highly recommend this house for anybody looking for a week/end getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family of 10 enjoys week at Moore's Landing

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We couldn't have picked a better place for our family to gather to celebrate my 65th birthday. We were lucky to have fantastic weather all week but even if the weather hadn't cooperated, we would have had enough space and activities to keep us busy. Our three sons, daughters-in-law, and grandchildren joined us and not once did we feel crowded. We even invited some other friends in for a sit-down dinner one night in the large dining room.

We used the well equipped kitchen, the WiFi, the washer and dryer, the CD player with outside speakers, the large TV for movies, the crib, the enclosed front porch, the large deck, the hot tub, the gas grill, the fire pit, the pool table, the ping-pong table, the kayaks, the lake trampoline, a variety of floats, and the large front lawn for games we brought with us. We rented the 21' motor boat for a day and a half to water ski, wakeboard, and tube. There were life vests for everyone --aged 15 months to 65.

Both the owner and the caretaker were always available to answer questions or troubleshoot from the time we thought about renting to the time we reluctantly turned in the keys. The house, property, pier, and boat were spotless! We're already recommending the place to other friends.

Just to clarify sleeping arrangements: there's a twin bedroom and full bath on the main floor. On the second floor there's a master bedroom with full bath and three additional bedrooms that share a full bath. Two of the bedrooms have queen beds, the third has a double/single bunk and a crib. On the third floor there is a futon, two roll aways and a full bath.

We filled our days from early morning --the sunrises are awesome-- to late at night and enjoyed every minute of our time at Moore's Landing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

My husband and I invited our 5 grown children and their spouses and 3 young grandson for a week. The house was wonderful, clean, well decorated, up to date baths and a kitchen supplied with everything I needed (large casseroles, serving bowls) to cook for a big group.
There was plenty of space to spread out...the dock, the deck, the hot tub, the porch, the family room, the 3rd floor game room with pool table. And yet, we could all gather together and sit down at the large dining table and enjoy a meal and visit. It was IDEAL for us.We also rented the boat and had a wonderful time getting our kids up on skis, or wake board or knee board.The grandkids rode the large tube. And everyone tried the kayaks, which were quite fun and easy to manage. All this was provided for us at Moore's Landing and we couldn't have found or rented all this from a local ski shop. We have rented homes in Florida and Michigan, but this property out did them all! Nice extras like plenty of bath towels AND beach towels, firewood for the fire ring, a large electric griddle for pancakes in the morning, hot dogs on the deck's grill, all these special touches made our stay that much more enjoyable. When we arrived, we were met by the caretaker and she was most helpful in showing us the house and guiding us to local shopping. She was so attentive to our needs, even pointing out the highchair and pack n play for our baby grandson to use and a Lego table and blocks for our pre-school grandsons. And everyone made use of the WIFI to check the weather, and local restaurants and email!This home is very welcoming. It may be a house at the lake, but it made our vacation feel like time at a luxury resort. I would highly recommend this property and we are hoping to return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Place!!!!

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

This place was really great!!! We suprised my mom for her 60th birthday, thinking that she was just coming there with my dad for a getaway and when she got there all us kids and her grandkids were there (all 14 of us!) There was plenty of room for everyone! The house was beautiful and had everything you needed for a wonderful stay!! The best part for us adults was the "Third Floor" kids room, they entertained themselves up there and gave us some peace time!! LOL!! The beds were comfy, the views were beautiful and the layout was just perfect for a large crowd!! This place had it all, would highly recommend!! Even better....our last name is "Moore", so my daughter thought that the "Moore's Landing sign" that is out front was made just for our arrival!!! FUN PLACE!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best spring vacantion

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

We had a wonderful Easter vacation at Moore's Landing. It is a perfect place to go for families with kids or without.
I liked the kitchen , it had absolutely everything i needed to make a nice Easter table. The kayaks were a good adventure for us too also the hut tub was were relaxing.
Thanks for everything, We will definitely come back and recommend it to others too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What an amazing guys weekend!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

My friends and I spent the opening weekend of March Madness at Roger's place. What an amazing place it was. Ping pong, pool, great TVs, and the hot tub provided daily entertainment. In fact, we never left the place for 2.5 days. The kitchen was great even by my father-in-law's gourmet standards. Tons of beds and bathroom rounded things out. I can only imagine how amazing this place would be in the summer with access to Roger's boat. I see another trip to this wonder home in our future...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautifully Updated and HUGE

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

Wow - where to begin... This house was AMAZING! We went up to Delavan to celebrate my 30th birthday with family and friends. We vacation frequently in Saugatuck, MI and have stayed at several beach front properties. We are used to very large, slightly run down beach homes with fantastic properties, but lacking in luxury indoors. So when I booked this home, I was kind of expecting a similiar experience seeing how it was located on the lake. We were all very suprised to see how updated this home is! The kitchen is nicely upgraded with stainless steel appliances and beautiful cabinets. All of the furniture is higher end and new. The bathrooms are all updated, the floors are immaculate. Every detail was thought of!

The beds! I need a new paragraph for the beds. The mattresses in ALL of the bedrooms were incredibly comfortable. My dad's highlight was taking naps - he still is going on about how comfy. The bedding all highend. Super clean!

There is no need to bring anything other than what you would bring to a hotel (clothes and toiletries)(food, too of course). The kitchen has EVERYTHING you need to prepare ANY meal. I particularly enjoyed the large gridle and made 8,000 pancakes. TONS of towels and linens.

The house overall has a great flow. There are many spots to hang out as a group and plenty of nooks for privacy. We loved "The Third Floor" - this is where the pool table is located. There was a futon and a couple roll away beds tucked away for additional sleeping on this floor as well. There was a great loungy feel to this area that we all loved.

Also - there is WIFI, so bring the laptop.

We came in the winter so the lake was frozen. We were able to ice fish (license required), sit in the AMAZING jacuzzi while it snowed which was awesome, and enjoy many of the wonderful places to dine at in Lake Geneva (which is about 10 mins away). We shopped a few times, lots of galleries to go to. The owner and caretaker were very accomodating and very welcoming. I don't have a negative thing to say about the entire experience. Our family is thinking about switching up our summer vacation from MI to WI because of this house and it's beautiful property. We were not disapointed in any regard and either will you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing House, Unbelievable Fun!

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

Amazing House, Unbelievable Fun!

Eleven of my closest friends and I stayed at this beautiful property last month (January, 2011), and we loved it! The house is in excellent condition; everyone enjoyed their rooms, singles and couples alike. When not at the ski resorts (a very short distance from the house), we spent time in the house talking in the huge modern kitchen, playing video games on the flat screen, soaking in the hot tub or reading in the book nook—there was ample space for any activity we could imagine. I cannot recommend this property enough; even with the Lake frozen, we had a great time... and snowball fights!

The owner and caretaker were both pleasant to work with-- very responsive and welcoming.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review