reviews for: listing #7794 - Bahamas, Caribbean Villa rental

Eleuthera luxury private oceanfront estate with pool
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $7,500 - $14,000 /wk

sort by:

Heaven on Earth!

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

Simply a magnificent property! Beautiful grounds and pool, wonderful home and picture-postcard beach. Extremely private and lovingly maintained, Capricorn House is a dream property with all the bells and whistles - including a chef's kitchen!

What a wonderful getaway - can't wait for the next visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous trip

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This was the fourth home we have rented on Eleuthera and it was by far the nicest. The beach is perfect and it is obvious the staff do everything possible to make sure the property is in pristine condition.We loved the fact that each room has an ensuite bath and even though there were 7 couples the place is so large and laid out in such a way that it seemed private and very romantic.Make sure to take advantage of the numerous outdoor showers and the grills, the are great for a large group. Anne, the property manager is readily available for any questions about the area. The location is also a plus as it is near restaurants and many of the other homes were not nearly as convenient for dining out. We stayed on Windermere but it was a half hour drive to any restaurants, not fun on those roads at night.Some of the other homes we rented were on rocky beaches so the swimming a bit of a challenge at times. Capricorn's beach is simply gorgeous with no rocks and a nice tiki hut for protection from the sun.It was well worth every penny as it was such a quality place.

Owners response: We thank you for your lovely review, it is our desire to make Capricorn House everyone's "second home" and we do our best to see that all our guests are comfortable and enjoy their visit. We see you have already inquired about returning and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.So glad you liked the outdoor showers, we try to add something new every year just to keep things interesting and updated.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful showing of the best of the Bahamas

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

I booked a few nights just before Christmas to take my in laws to the real Bahamas. It was not long enough! Not only was the house perfect for all of us which was 5 small children and 4 adults, the location could not be better. We visited all the very close amazing restaurants, relaxed on the beach, explored the cave at hatchet bay, drove to the ferry for a day in harbor island, walked to the botanical garden...it was wonderful and to come home to a swimming pool and fabulous kitchen was such a treat! We will be back in the summer definitely! The caretakers and manager were very nice and accommodating. We were greeted with coffee and home made banana bread!!! We made great memories, my in laws had never seen the Bahamas that way, the way you picture your dream vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for you kind review and also for your new two week reservation! We are so happy you enjoyed Capricorn and look forward to your return this summer.It is always so nice to have guests return, we actually have some people who come every year, they are like family at this point.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a dream!

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

I do not have the words to describe how truly beautiful this property and home are. The landscape is at once forested, green, secluded, and tropical, open, and expansive.

You can enjoy as much privacy as you would like. And the beach really is yours, only. The entire week, I saw about three other people in the distance, walking along a different section of the beach. The water and the sand are the remarkably bright colors that you see in the photographs. The pool on the property is just as relaxing as the beach, and large enough to swim around in.

The house is spacious, tastefully and thoughtfully decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The outdoor patios and furniture are wonderful for entertaining or just hanging out.

The house is a short walk or drive from fun, local restaurants where you can eat outside, listen to live music, and have a margarita, or two. Check out the local Fish Fry. You can also take a day adventure to Paradise Island or other attractions.

The staff are extremely kind, understanding, knowledgeable, and helpful. They will help to make your stay comfortable and easy. Moreover, everyone I encountered on the island was friendly - from store merchants to bartenders to waitresses to taxi drivers and ferry operators.

This was a lovely, lovely home, property, and vacation. I hope I am able to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Marvelous!

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Eleuthra is a wonderful place to go with friends and family members. The residents there are extremely kind and you can find plenty of fun things to do on an island that is fairly quiet. Make sure you go to Tippy's, The Beach House, and Fish Fry (on friday nights). Capricorn is an absolutely gorgeous estate with an ocean front view. We took advantage of the terraces and used the grill to barbeque quite often. Each morning we headed straight for the beach (which is literally steps away from the property). In an entire week I might have seen one other person walking on our beach. The interior of the house is extremely clean and the beds are comfortable. Capricorn House is an absolute dream destination for anyone looking for a relaxing vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning next year

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

Gods best to you and all your staff. This is our third year at Capricorn and the grounds are more luscious every visit, the gardeners bring us all sorts of fruits and veggies and we never fail to be thrilled. The ocean was gorgeous and one in our group was new and loved it just as much as we did, he never actually thought it would be so nice as it is, but we KNEW! The grills are perfect for our large gang and we took full advantage of the fish sold in town and grilled often. The new bar down the street is also a marvelous addition and Tippys also continues to please. Keith and Janet were most accomadating, as usual. Back again soon! All the best to you and yours, Trish, Mark, Diane, Roger, Dan, Robbie, Carl, Margy and Maureen

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise, gorgeous setting

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2009

Paradise, what a gorgeous setting. Spent one of our moat memorable trips here, we will never forget it. Thank you for sharing your amazing home and Keith, Anne and Janeth were great! best beach we have ever seen. Janice and Ed K. and family San Antonio

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Vacation wonderland, dream trip

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Capricorn House was much more than we expected, the beach was perfect and we were always the only people in sight. Our friends and family all want to return and stay even longer next trip. Anne and the staff made us feel so welcome and gave us ideas of what to do and see while on the island as it was our first time on Eleuthera. There are the most incredible beaches and fun and quirky restaurants, a few were very romantic and all were friendly and the food was great. No more all inclusive hotels for us, this was way more interesting and relaxing. A surprise was the gardens, it is like a botanical garden at Capricorn, we even ate fruit and vegtables from the garden. The rooms are pretty with comfortable beds. All seemed to be new and were well maintained. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone who wants a really nice vacation home, if you like quality you will love this place.
As far as restaurants are concerned,We liked Mate and Jennys for pizza, Tippy's for lunch, Sunset for cocktails (the name says it all.) and CocoDi mama and La Dolce Vita for a romantic evening. The husbands loved the fishing and the big grills and the girls loved the kitchen, a dream to cook in and so well orgainzed, has lots of equipment. This house is a winner, we researched for weeks and are so happy we rented Capricorn House.There were 14 of us and it was large enough that we never felt crowded and everyone was busy either at the pool, beach, strolling the garden or reading on one of the many terraces.It was the prefect chioce for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Two weeks of R and R in a fabulous setting

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

We spent two glorious weeks just lazing around the pool and on the perfect pink sand beach and loved every moment. Tippy's restaurant was just a half mile down the beach and The Beach House Tapas Bar was also nearby so we had the best of both worlds, privacy for swimming and sunning and plenty of choices for meals when we did not chose to cook.Very nice and helpful staff and the house had all the accutraments we needed and more. We actually found that we spent much less than we usually do at a hotel and we enjoyed it more. The teenagers loved the proximity to town and the "Fish Fry" and the Moms were content to sit around the patios in the evenings with cocktails and let the guys grill the fish we bought at the dock in town. Heavenly that we all found our niches so everyone was happy. Not easy with three families with 4 teenagers and 3 smaller children. Perfect spot for us all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My 4th trip to Capricorn House

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

Rated: 5 of 5
My Favorite Place to Relax,the Sunsets are Awesome.
I have been to Capricorn House 4 times now,and I just keep going back because there is no place as beautiful and comfortable for a relaxing vacation. The pink sand and turquoise water are like nowhere else,the beaches are quiet, beautiful and serene,The shelling is great,too!!!
Capricorn House is so comfortable and accomodating,everything you need is right at hand,nothing for you to do but RELAX,and enjoy a Tropical Paradise.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Caribbean paradise

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

date entered: 01/13/2010

homeowner-added comment:
Don't miss-out on this Caribbean paradise. Everything on the website is true… and more. Large groups or small… family or friends…young or old… sportsman or bookworm…Capricorn House is fun and relaxing for all. We walked the miles of pink, pristine beaches, snorkeled in the reef-protected, calm ocean waters, sunbathed by the freshwater pool, witnessed the brilliant sunrises and magnificent sunsets, and entertained under the incredible starlit skies. Discover this special place… You'll be back!

Arthur & Karen Pisani

Plymouth, Michigan

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Capricorn House

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2007

02/02/2007 date entered: 02/02/2007

homeowner-added comment:
Our group, 12 adults and two toddlers, had the most splendid
week at
Capricorn House. The grounds are large enough to accommodate
everyone (in
separate spaces or together), and the beach is isolated and
gorgeous. The
house is well appointed and well stocked with books, games,
spices, sun tan
lotion and bug spray, making it easy to move right in and feel
at home. It
was a hard place to leave and we're already working on coming back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful family trip

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2006

date entered: 09/05/2006

homeowner-added comment:
We brought our family to Capricorn House with high hopes for an exceptional holiday and left wanting to return again and again. Capricorn House bids you to relax and enjoy through its abundant amenities and serene, private surroundings. The property is expansive and lush with fruits and herbs and beautiful flowers. It easily hosts a large group with the perfect blend of communal space and privacy. The caretakers and staff discreetly ensured that we were never in want of anything. Walk on the beach, swim in the pool, grill freshly caught fish or lobster on the patio ... Capricorn House is a gorgeous retreat you will treasure

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

This was the best vacation my family and I have ever taken. The beach was
pristine and so private, we did not see one other person during entire
stay.
The house is lovely and has all brand new bathrooms which were wonderful
and
the kitchen was state of the art which helped us save some money as we
cooked at home for three nights. There is
wireless internet and many DVD's to watch when you stay in. A truly
lovely
home with everything we could have asked for, a gorgeous beach, warm pool,
plus comfortable and luxurious beds. We will be heading back next year!

By kell78 from NY, New York on 1/7/2010 for a stay in 3/1/2009

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

Don't miss-out on this Caribbean paradise. Everything on the website is true… and more. Large groups or small… family or friends…young or old… sportsman or bookworm…Capricorn House is fun and relaxing for all. We walked the miles of pink, pristine beaches, snorkeled in the reef-protected, calm ocean waters, sunbathed by the freshwater pool, witnessed the brilliant sunrises and magnificent sunsets, and entertained under the incredible starlit skies. Discover this special place… You'll be back!Arthur & Karen PisaniPlymouth, Michigan

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

Rated: 5 of 5True Bahamian ParadiseFrom my perspective, the closest vacation experience that I can make to my stay at Capicorn House Bahamas is it is like staying at a Ritz Carlton except adding the besutiful, isolated pink sand beach and a full compliment of ocean toys (kayaks, etc.). You kind of feel as though you're on your own private island because you cannot see another home from anywhere on the property. I've been to the Bahamas many times (my husband was born there) but this was truly the most incredible mixture of all the best scenery and exquisite gardens with 5-Star accomodations. Worth every penny! · By Suzie Q from Orlando Florida on 12/30/2009 for a stay in 2/1/2008

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

Rated: 5 of 5My Favorite Place to Relax,the Sunsets are Awesome.I have been to Capricorn House 4 times now,and I just keep going back because there is no place as beautiful and comfortable for a relaxing vacation. The pink sand and turquoise water are like nowhere else,the beaches are quiet, beautiful and serene,The shelling is great,too!!! Capricorn House is so comfortable and accomodating,everything you need is right at hand,nothing for you to do but RELAX,and enjoy a Tropical Paradise. · By Meggie from Boston on 12/29/2009 for a stay in 12/1/2009

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Heaven in Eleuthera

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2008

Our visit to Capricorn House March 2006 was superb! From the moment we saw the welcoming yellow door to the our last longing look at the water, we were charmed by the beauty of the property.
The main house is beautiful and welcoming. Each bedroom is special in its own way so it was difficult to choose one!
the dinning room with its warm red walls has a special view of the water. It is only a hint of the wonderful path to the spectacular turquoise water lapping against pink sand. The water was silky and delightful to float in,just what we needed to relax and renew our spirits.
If you like an evening swim, the private pool is lit for evening. The sky is so beautiful in the evening,perfect for swimming and dinner by the pool.
If you feel the need to get off the grounds (hard to believe) you can visit the nearby towns for a bit of shopping and mingling with the very friendly native people. Eleuthera is a very unspoiled island, a pleasure to experience in our hectic world.
We cooked in the well equipped modern kitchen or grilled on the state of the art grills and enjoyed our meals on either of the two decks while enjoying the show in the evening sky.
We also walked a bit down the beach and treated ourselves to dinner and music at Tippy's restaurant.
Truly, staying here was like finding a bit of heaven, where we felt relaxed and renewed by the end of our visit. We can't wait to return to this haven of beauty and tranquility. Thank you Capricorn House for our best vacation ever!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Capricorn House in Eleuthera

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2008

We went to the Capricorn House for our honeymoon in September 2007. Eleuthera is amazingly remote and rural, the perfect place for a quiet vacation or honeymoon. The Island seems backward, but that is part of the charm. You won’t find any tacky tourist traps. The natives are very friendly and helpful.

The Capricorn House is a beautiful estate outfitted like a luxury resort, which swaddled us in luxury with a modern kitchen, designer rooms, barbeque & lounging porches and secluded pool. The property is located directly on the beach which was mostly deserted when we were there. The ocean was warm and perfect for swimming and snorkeling. There are many different reefs right off the beach full of coral and exotic fish. A rocky reef about a mile offshore forms a natural breakwater bay area that shelters you from the open ocean which makes it perfect for using the provided canoe or kayak. We fished and caught snapper and other fish. The best restaurant on the island, Tippy’s, is a short walk down the beach.

We went bone fishing one day and had a blast, the flats were mostly deserted and the fish were hard to catch but the setting was calm and beautiful. Near the end of the trip we traveled up to Spanish Wells, which is an interesting contrast to Eleuthera. The natives are quite different and there is a thriving fishing industry. Although Spanish Wells is heavily populated, the pristine beach was practically empty.

Each night we returned to an amazing home that became a relaxing end to whatever the day’s adventures had been. We often cooked dinner in the well-equipped kitchen, unwound in the pool or sat on the porch overlooking the ocean. Our hosts were as helpful as possible suggesting activities, restaurants and general tips that made this one of the most favorite vacations I have ever taken. We even learned how to shuck coconuts using our bare hands! I would highly recommend the Capricorn House to anyone thinking of going to the Bahamas or Eleuthera. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 3, 2009

Eleuthera is an incredible place, the house is most mesmerizing oceanfront place we had ever seen. Capricorn house was more that we expected and we have truly enjoyed a fabulous trip. This is the second visit to Capricorn for our friends and the first for us. We loved the local restaurants and the people were all so welcoming. The bathrooms were a great surprise as they are all clean, new and well done. Great grill for the fish we caught also, professional all the way. So much better that a hotel and actually was cheaper that having to pay hotel and restaurants for each meal. We are hooked on this place. Try the local bakery also!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 2, 2007   Date of arrival: February 2, 2007

Our group, 12 adults and two toddlers, had the most splendid
week at
Capricorn House. The grounds are large enough to accommodate
everyone (in
separate spaces or together), and the beach is isolated and
gorgeous. The
house is well appointed and well stocked with books, games,
spices, sun tan
lotion and bug spray, making it easy to move right in and feel
at home. It
was a hard place to leave and we're already working on coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 5, 2006   Date of arrival: September 5, 2006

We brought our family to Capricorn House with high hopes for an exceptional holiday and left wanting to return again and again. Capricorn House bids you to relax and enjoy through its abundant amenities and serene, private surroundings. The property is expansive and lush with fruits and herbs and beautiful flowers. It easily hosts a large group with the perfect blend of communal space and privacy. The caretakers and staff discreetly ensured that we were never in want of anything. Walk on the beach, swim in the pool, grill freshly caught fish or lobster on the patio ... Capricorn House is a gorgeous retreat you will treasure

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review