reviews for: listing #77969 - Santa Monica, California House rental

Last-Minute Deal! Superb Home Minutes to Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $260 - $290 /nt
    $1,700 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Californian charm

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Dianne and I would just like to thank you so much for the use of your beautiful home Beethoven's retreat during Dec and January this year. It was everything you said it was and some. Its location and cosy atmosphere made it so welcoming every time we returned there after our day trips.I would certainly want to use it again if and when we return to your fine country.Please do not hesitate to use out name as 100% satisfied customers. By the way our 21 day Caribbean Cruise was absolutely beautiful too.Once again many many thanks for making our American experience fantastic.
with regards

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

James and this property are top notch!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Beethoven's retreat is located on a quiet street and a short drive (ride) to the beach. It was clean and well appointed. James has thought of everything in this craftsman style home. Check in and out went smoothly, and after orienting ourselves we felt like we were in our own home and neighborhood. Thank you James, for your hospitality and honesty. We be back!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A gem

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

This house is lovely and James is a fantastic host! I stayed in December and it was cold for LA but the garden is beautiful and it would be a treat when the weather is warmer. The house itself is better than the pictures. the location is great for those wanting to experience the Venice/Santa Monica lifestyle. The beds are super comfortable. There is plenty of street parking. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

WONDERFUL, STUNNING VACATION HOME!

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

My husband, I and our son very recently stayed at this WONDERFUL vacation home. It was even better than we had hoped. Beautiful, very clean, very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Has all the amenities one could think of. Beautiful landscaping and great/relaxing backyard. Very quiet, great location, well maintained, what else can I say? We would stay there again in a heartbeat. James is very personable and readily available. Want a great place to stay? It's all here! We will be recommending this to our family and friends. Thanks again, James.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

My perfect LA Hideaway

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

I am completely in love with this property! Quite neighborhood, centrally located to the shops, beach, West LA, and all the fantastic excursions that make the LA area a perfect place to work and play. The home owner was extremely gracious, the property was beautifully maintained. Bicycles were made available for us as well. Everything we needed was within a short walking distance and we loved it. Perfect for couples and families! Without a doubt the best rental property and management I have come across in year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Above and Beyond

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

We came from New Zealand for a friends wedding and booked the house for a week. The house was immaculate, cosy and a home away from home for us for a week.
Everything you might need or had forgotten to pack is thought of and provided. James gave a great introduction and was full of helpful details about the neighborhood and surrounds. We had an incident where several suit jackets were accidentally left in a taxi during our stay. For reasons known only to the driver these were left on the doorstep after our departure. Not only did the housekeeper collect them and kept them safe in a wardrobe but James tracked them down packaged them up and mailed them on to us and we now have them back much to our delight. Great host, great house - can't recommend this place enough.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Aussie Ladies from QLD

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We found this accommodation to be excellent, great location bus at front door. We actually walked to Venice Beach and Santa Monica from the house - vey enjoyable - lots to see. House is well equipped with everything you need. Lovely peaceful garden/outdoors area. The downstairs area we were in is most suitable for 2 couples and or two friends like ourselves as we had a bedroom each with our own ensuite, very comfortable beds. Bikes are available if you feel like biking it instead of walking around. Grocery store within easy walking distance.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

lovely in every way

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

My girlfriend, her son and I stayed at Beethoven for four nights. It was spacious, clean,quiet, calm and convenient. Nice touches on decoration and convenient to both Venice and Santa Monica beaches. Highly recommend it!

Tiny caveat - very tough to fit two cars in the off street parking if they are anything beyond compacts, but I was always able to find street parking within a few houses....

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just what we had hoped, perfect

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

A very nice house wich was perfect for our family, 2 adult and 4 children. A wonderful garden with lemon and orangetree.
The kitchen was well equiped with everything that we needed.
We really recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming retreat with unique amenities-Highly Recommend!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beethoven's retreat last week! The house is simply charming! Upon arrival (midnight) we found a beautifully decorated and very clean retreat. James had it well lit and a nice bottle of wine waiting for us. We were anxious for the next morning to see the house in daylight with not so tired eyes! We awoke to a beautifully serene area in the back filled with fountains, flowers and lemon/grapefruit trees. We sat out there each night to unwind from the all the sightseeing we did!

James has put a lot of time and thought to make Beethoven everything a person could need while away from home. We felt right at home and wished our stay could have been longer! The house is very spacious and the photos reflect exactly what the home looks like. Located on a quiet street except for rush hour when traffic-be careful parking on street during that time.

Highly recommend the retreat! You won't be disappointed! Unfortunately we were not able to meet James in person but he was available to answer all questions we had by phone.
We did meet and speak with the gardner who has done a beautiful job with all the flowers and landscaping around the home. He happened to stop by and water/mow while we were there.

Thank you James for having such a wonderful retreat to share with us! Loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderfull Experience

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this location. James met us when we arrived and was very helpful with his knowledge of the house, and the location. Walking to shopping and easy access to Venice and Santa Monica - Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This place is so great. We all thought it was wonderful.

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with this place. It looks just like the photos only better. Not only is it very atrattractive and nicely decorated, but it is very clean, it is fully stocked with nice dishes, pans, etc.but then there is the back yard. it is such a wonderful spot. You sit out there and are surrounded with fountains and a lemon tree, an orange tree, flowers galore, humming birds, and it is so beautiful. And yet you are 1 1/2 blocks from a busy street
Also James was very pleasent and helpful, fun to talk to.
We are very happy we chose this place and will, for sure choose it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

We all LOVED LOVED LOVED this house! It is a beautiful place and everyone loved staying there. We rode the available bikes to the beach. We really enjoyed having the bikes - a very big plus! We also used the air matress, which was another nice feature. It was truly a retreat amidst the hustle bustle of the city. The back yard with fruit trees and fountains was so relaxing. EVERYTHING about your place was wonderful. I am sure that if we come to CA again, you will be hearing from us to rent again.

YOU have also been a pleasure to deal with - you answered phone calls and emails in a very timely manner. It was also so very easy to make the payment - and your refund was very quick. So thank you for all of that too!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

We all LOVED LOVED LOVED this house! It is a beautiful place and everyone loved staying there. We rode the available bikes to the beach. We really enjoyed having the bikes - a very big plus! We also used the air matress, which was another nice feature. It was truly a retreat amidst the hustle bustle of the city. The back yard with fruit trees and fountains was so relaxing. EVERYTHING about your place was wonderful. I am sure that if we come to CA again, you will be hearing from us to rent again. And I would recommend your home to others!

YOU have also been a pleasure to deal with - you answered phone calls and emails in a very timely manner. It was also so very easy to make the payment - and your refund was very quick. So thank you for all of that too!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring break getaway

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

Traveled with my teenage son and his friend for a SoCal vacation. This home is stunning. From the architecture to the landscaping. Well maintained, spacious, beautifully decorated. Comfortable and equipped with all the conveniences of home. Obvious pride of ownership. James is kind and accommodating.Not intrusive but available if needed. Thank you for the bottle of wine! Two private bedrooms. Two bathrooms. The master suite is lovely with an on suite bath. Very comfortable bed. My favorite spot is the private backyard with the flowers, fountains, and the night time ambiance. The private driveway is a plus! Three beach bikes were perfect! Teenagers were able to ride to Santa Monica Pier and Venice boardwalk without worries. Short drive to the ocean, walking distance to restaurants and the grocery store. It was my home away from home. Can't return soon enough. Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our most memorable stay at this cozy with many characters house

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

As i was browsing through the comments made by previous tenants stayed at this place, i was amazed to read so many positive comments.....then, no hesitation, we made up our mind to rent this house from 23rd Jan 2013 for 12 nights till 4th Feb, 2013.
As we entered the house, all promises delivered and we felt so cozy and welcoming. We have every thing we needed even cooking facilities (even most spices) are all there. In additional, a lovely garden with a lemon and orange tree added more fun to our stay.
Then, we met the owner, who happened to be there for some repair maintainance and he's such an adorable friendly guy. Told him the toaster a bit faulty and he changed a new one within few hours! Next is some minor repairs (Small work) and owner was so apologetic and so generous and compensated us in other ways just to make sure we are not upset.
Location is superb......almost in the central where you almost can get to anywhere in Santa Monica or downtown. We enjoyed the 12 nights stay at this wonderful house and all six of us had not even a single complaint against the owner and really thankful for his generousity.
My husband and i decided if we ever go back to Santa Monica again, we definitely will be staying at this nice home and if anyone ask us, to reccomend this place, our answer absolutely 'YES', and value for money.
Trust us.....NO REGRETS!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredibly cute, quaint, convenient, and clean

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

Upon arrival, the owner gave myself and roommate a tour of the home! This beautiful 2 bedroom 2 bathroom gave us the individual privacy and comfort we needed. Extremely clean, well equipped, and quiet, this was the perfect sanctuary for rest, relaxation and a home away from home. The beautiful garden in the back yard has fountains, an Orange and Lemon tree. Bicycles were made available to us and it was a short distance to Venice Beach Santa Monica and Marina Del Rey. I totally love this home and all of its trimmings.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a family or friend vacation

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

This condo was the perfect place for our girls get-a-way. We were looking for a place to relax that was centrally located and in a nice area. This Beethoven condo was all of that and more. The furniture and decor is clean, neat, and welcoming. The neighborhood is a nice location just minutes from the beach, restaurants, and a grocery store. While we ate out more than we should have, the kitchen was plenty big and well equipped for cooking your own meals. We look forward to returning for another vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly a Retreat

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

I recently rented this house with my sister and my daughter, while my brother and his wife rented the Cottage behind it. We were visiting for my nephew's wedding and brother's birthday. It was our home away from home and a gathering place for the family. Such a welcome surprise to have a bottle of wine awaiting me from my long trip from Florida, and James was right there to welcome me and take care of any needs or questions that I had. Would definitely stay there again if my travel plans included L.A..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Home, Gracious Host!

Review submitted: November 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

Richard and I have stayed at over a dozen VRBOs in the past, many of them excellent, but Beethoven’s Retreat is easily our favorite – clean and neat, artfully decorated & in a quiet Santa Monica area close to the ocean. James was truly an exceptional host -- not only did he help us find extra beach bikes for our kids, but when we forgot to take one of our carry-on bags with us after checking out, James kindly drove all the way over to the airport to give it to us before the plane left! This was truly beyond the call of duty and we won’t forget the care and concern he extended to us. We are already planning our next trip in the spring and the Retreat is a must-stop destination. Thank you again James for making our vacation such a memorable and happy one.

Carol

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House; Great Host

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Beautiful, CLEAN house with lots of natural light and a serene back yard. 2 full baths, nice kitchen, comfotable couches. James was a perfect host - available if needed but by no means overbearing.

The house is a 2mi walk or short cab/bus from the beach. Close enough to dive into the quirkiness of the Venice boardwalk, but far enough removed that you can find some peace and quiet if desired. Also about 1 mile from Abbot Kinney Street - in my opinion the coolest street in LA. Great restaurants, bars, and shopping. Check out "GTA." Breakfast sandwiches are amazing.

Nothing but good things to say. A great find.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Discovery

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

Normally we stay in hotels -- this was our first vacation rental experience and we were certainly happy we 'took the plunge' and discovered this gem. The place is very homey and the house, though in a popular area, is very quiet and comfortable (we needed this after a 11-hour flight from England!). Woke up to the peaceful sounds of the Italian fountain in the back yard and were able to thoroughly enjoy our family gathering under the lemon tree our first afternoon. The Pacific Ocean is just a few minutes by car down the street but we took the bus on the corner so we didn't have to hunt for beach parking (we recommend this). The owner, James, was always helpful with suggestions and is as friendly as they come. After staying at Beethoven's Retreat, will will definitely come back here again on our next trip to the West Coast. Many thanks, James! Ben and Marci G., Birmingham, England

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Home, Great Host -- We'll Be Back!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

James, we want to thank you for an absolutely great stay at Beethoven's Retreat. Everything was as described and we enjoyed the care and love that has obviously gone into this immaculate home. You made us feel especially welcome with the (very good!) bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived and your recommendations for neighborhood places to eat and visit came in very handy. Our sons enjoyed riding the bikes to the beach and we had a very fun day visiting Santa Monica Pier, the Promenade and managed to squeeze in the Getty, too! You are to be commended for having a great rental property and we will certainly highly recommend it to all our friends -- Anna Marie and family, Colorado. PS You have the best home lemonade recipe we've come across -- we only wish we had your lemon tree to make it with! NICKNAME: Anna Marie

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Uninviting in Santa Monica

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We arrived at the residnce for a two night stay, to find it not cleaned for our stay. The beds were unmade and had unlaundered sheets. Bathrooms had dirty showers sinks and toilets with used towels all over. Kitchen was not clean, dirty dishes, counters and floor. Floors not mopped, swept or vacumed, and furniture not dusted. It took nearly two hours for the owner to return our call and by that time we had made alternate plans and had left the property. Owner actually blamed us for loss of rent for the weekend and refused to refund the full amount that we had paid. We were very disappointed in our experience and would under no circumstances recommend this property to others.

Owners response: Heavens! This is a review from guests who never stayed at our home but who deserve a careful and honest response. We, too, were shocked to discover that our usually very reliable cleaning lady, Blanca, failed to show up to clean our home (as it turns out, Blanca had been in a car accident on the 405 freeway and thankfully was not injured). Mike and Leata never called us by phone to tell us their problem but chose to email us; nevertheless, we got back to them within 10 minutes and were deeply apologetic. I suggested to both Mike and Leata that they enjoy a dinner at a restaurant down the street – we would pay the bill – while we sent another cleaning person immediately to the house to clean the apartment. They agreed to this and asked for us to send the cleaner, which we did. I also offered to have them stay at no charge for their first night, which Leata accepted.

So we were quite baffled when, just as Rosti our cleaning person arrived from across town, Mike and Leata told him they would not be staying. We were surprised because Leata had told us they would accept our dinner offer and be back when the cleaning was done in two hours. We were also surprised because they had asked us to send the cleaner over at no charge, which we were happy to do, and because we had extended to them a complementary night’s stay. Indeed, one wonders how much more anyone can do to satisfy their guests under these unfortunate circumstances?

To us, the mark of a good owner is how they respond to emergencies that happen when they are least expected. We pride ourselves in making our clients feel welcome and comfortable, and in trying to resolve problems as soon as they arise. Three days after Mike and Leata arrived, we even made a special trip to the house and waited for their daughter to come by to retrieve a bag which they had forgotten at the house.

While we were disappointed our guests decided to cancel their stay, we did indeed refund their rent and cleaning fee and deposit, contrary to what they have written in this review, and we were happy to do so.

We would be delighted to have them return to Beethoven Street on their next trip so that we might show them the hospitality and care we have extended to all our guests from over 60 countries during the past five years. Mike and Leata, the dinner will be on us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Peaceful & Delightful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Beethoven's Retreat -- and I plan to come again next year. I truly value James' hospitality and helpful advice, and he's added more lovely touches to the home -- we enjoyed the new Italian fountain and all the flowering plants in the backyard that make it quite popular with the hummingbirds! Once again we enjoyed restful sleeps, great meals in the spacious kitchen and managed to make time for some strolls down nearby Abbott Kinney. Beethoven Street is in a lovely Santa Monica neighborhood and very convenient to all freeways and cafes. Thank you James for providing us with a terrific home away from home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beethoven's Retreat

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

A great little place to stay. The backyard is wonderful. Check though to see if someone is staying above you. We could hear every footstep from them. Close to lots of things. Overall; very nice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Chic

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Beethoven's Retreat is a handsomely appointed house in a central Santa Monica neighborhood. It is very spacious and has all the amenities one could want. A delightful garden with a large lemon tree is lovely as the sun goes down.
The owner is very gregarious and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location, nice spot

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

After a long road trip with small children, we were very happy to land here and use the property as our home base for five days of sightseeing in Los Angeles. The location is excellent and we found the house itself clean, cozy and comfortable. Amenities like linens and kitchen supplies are plentiful (and not deluxe, but perfectly adequate). The kids loved gathering lemons from the tree in the backyard and James was a gracious and accessible host. Overall, we were very happy with our decision to stay here and would recommend it to others without reservation.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful home away from home

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

I've stayed at several vacation rentals in the Santa Monica area, and after a week-long stay at the lovely Beethoven's Retreat I can honestly say that this one is by far my favorite. Immaculately clean, well-furnished, well-stocked with all the living and cooking essentials and then some. Beautifully decorated as well. The neighborhood is quiet and there are so many cafes and eateries within walking distance of the front door. The backyard Italian fountains and flower gardens -- complete with hummingbirds! -- were a true delight. This lovely Retreat is a quiet and peaceful respite from bustling city and we plan to come back in the spring -- we still have to try James' recipe for homemade lemonade! Thank you James for introducing us to a little bit of urban paradise. Christine and Peter Lipman (Michigan)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beethoven's Cottage

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

The house is lovely and very well maintained. Upon check-in there was a problem with the kitchen faucet and within a few hours there was a maintenance person there to make the repairs. The only criticism would be that the house is divided into three separate rentals (the ground floor of the house, the upstairs and the garage) in our case both the garage unit and the upstairs unit were occupied; all very friendly but the upstairs renters were noisy and it kept us up at night. Had I known this was the case I might have reconsidered. Also I never found the bikes nor any information about where they were stored. Other than these issues the deposit was quickly refunded and a lovely time was had by all.

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us, John! As it happens I was out of town the days you were with us, but I'm so happy that Alan our maintenance man was able to help you promptly with the faucet, and replaced it. The bikes are indeed right by the front driveway and are always available to renters on a first-come, first-served basis (as noted on our orientation letter posted on the refrigerator), so perhaps they were out being used by our other guests. Yes, our websites all note that this is a lovely historic duplex home and thus there are indeed sometimes other guests nearby, just as a bed & breakfast would in the busy summer months, but there have so rarely been any issues of disturbance of any kind whatsoever that I'm perplexed to hear about this. Do please see all our many and wonderful reviews, and next time you are in town, John, the dinner is on us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beethoven's Retreat

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Great place for our group to stay while in LA. The house is clean ans spacious. We loved having breakfast in the garden with lemon and orange trees!!! Highly recommended. Thanks James!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful retreat in LA

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Your home on Beethoven Street was perfect - the two bedrooms and two baths were ideal - very roomy with numerous modern features. The backyard with it's orange and lemon trees (fully stocked by nature) delighted both us and our guests. The wooden floors added a nice, warm touch. The entertainment areas - both inside and out - was California/LA at its best. The home was well stocked with books, CDs, and all necessities. The neighborhood was compact and safe - restaurants, stores and bakeries were all close by and many were within walking distance. All the USC graduates and their parents had a wonderful time. I and my family look forward to visiting LA again and staying in your exceptional home.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Robert and Lennie for all your appreciation and warmth and for inviting me to your backyard BBQ party and inaugurating our new BBQ! I think the real people to be thanked for their hospitality are YOU two. You make it all worthwhile, and I truly appreciate that.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Graduation

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

Great place for our family to stay while in town for a graduation. We enjoyed the yard and grill and proximity of the property to stores and restaurants and the beach! We're really glad we made the decision to rent a house instead of hotels and we ate several meals "in" - including an after-graduation BBQ for a small group. Really was a retreat!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beethoven's Retreat

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

We ablosutely loved our stay here. Beautiful home. Nice quiet street. I could live in this house!! The home was immaculate and we felt so comfortable. I will stay here again when visiting LA. Very convenient to all locations.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Martin from Spain and Slavek Czech republic

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

It was just perfect,amazing,unique to stay at James house.I feel like at home from the moment when I open the door.House is realy nice comfortable and you fell you dont want to go out.James the owner is very polight nice and great person.His positive energi you will feel it.House is on quiet place but you have everything very clouse to you.Shop beach city what ever you need.If you want to rent some place I promise you finde the best place I highly recomend to everybody I did the rent house first time and James house was absolutely best chouse.Thank you so much James for your hospitality.I wish you always the best.Martin and Slavek

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place, great host.

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

My family and a friend enjoyed a wonderful stay at Beethoven's Retreat over Thanksgiving. It's very warm, comfortable and well appointed. We liked the quiet street, the bakery around the corner and its proxmity to the cool neighborhoods of Venice and Santa Monica. James is a very conscientious host and I REALLY appreciated his prompt responses to my emails and the return of our security deposit. Seriously, for what you'd get for a similar price in a local hotel, you're much better off renting this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Charming Retreat

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

Spent four days in CA visiting family. Beethoven's Retreat gave us the comfort and charm of a historic cottage to enjoy our breakfasts and pack our picnic lunches before heading out to explore the area. The kitchen is well equipped, the master bedroom spacious and comfortable. We walked the neighborhood each morning, greeting dogs and other walkers always feeling safe. Having a lemon and orange tree in the back yard and watching finches drink from the water feature as well as hummingbirds in December was a special treat for us New Englanders.
All in all a delightful respite after walking and exploring much of the Santa Monica, Venice and Hollywood area. We would recommend it many times over!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exceeded our Expectations

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

James, this was a short but wonderful stay. The Retreat has exceeded expectations and is definitely somewhere we will recommend and use again! Thank you for your friendliness and hospitality. -- Andrew Slade

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Wonderful Oasis

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

James! Thank you for this wonderful oasis! Your Beethoven's Retreat is filled with such good energy -- it welcomed me back each day! This haven of warmth and joy was absolutely splendid! -- With aloha, Karen Hackler

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A friendly family retreat

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

We were more than impressed with this home - even better than the pictures! Beautiful hardwood throughout and the updated baths were wonderful (loved the jet tub). We were in for a wedding with a family of 7 which included toddlers making the backyard a great addition to their wanderings. We could not have asked for a better welcome and attention to detail from James and Fleur. We even hosted a large barbeque in that great backyard with loads of oohs and ahhs for the award winning lemons. They truly were the biggest lemons we've ever seen. Having a working kitchen with an eating area really helped with the little ones and the large dining room was the best for the rest of the crowd! We certainly will recommend this beautiful "home away from home" to all our friends headed to LA. Thanks again for a wonderful week. Terry and Maureen from Pittsburgh, PA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect LA: Beach and City

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We adored our stay on Beethoven Street! We were a short distance (5 min drive) from our favorite shopping and restaurant street in Venice (Abbot Kinney). Then back again to this well-appointed home with plenty of space, a good kitchen with all the necessary appliances, and a lovely backyard (with a fountain!) - ideal for cocktails at the end of the day. We had business in Hollywood and the place was just a short drive to the freeway. We were there and back in no time. Plus there's good street parking and space in the back. Couldn't be a better stay, I'm coming back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Terrific hosts, spacious and clean -- an ideal vacation rental

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

I should say first that we're traveled to vacation rentals before but have never before written a review -- life gets too busy -- but "Beethoven's Retreat" was such a pleasure stay in that there's a first for everything! Our hosts James and Fleur were really helpful and attentive and the home is spacious, beautifully appointed and very comfortable indeed. The home is so quiet that we slept like logs and the kitchen had everything we possibly needed to fix breakfast and lunch or even cook a major dinner for friends. Beethoven Street is quiet and very clean and the location terrific, several great cafes are within a 3-minute. Either way you turn out of the driveway you arrive in 5 minutes to the beach and all the incredible activity there. (If you want to drive, James will tell you the free parking "secrets"). We loved sitting in the backyard under the lemon tree and reading. We also made use of the bicycles to trek down to Santa Monica beach. We had a terrific time and are definitely recommending the Retreat to our co-workers when they come to LA! Thank you so much Fleur and James. Falco and Suzie Johnson

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Satisfied from Phoenix

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

We had a nice stay at this house. It was not too far from the beach, it was close to most of the southern California attractions and was clean and well maintained. Fleur was very helpful with her recommendations of local restaurants to try out. The price was great and the listing description is accurate. The kitchen is fairly well appointed and had all the necessary appliances we needed to cook basic meals. The bikes were nice to have and we used the little barbecue once and it worked great. The only suggestion I would make to Fleur and James would be to check out the mattress in the spare bedroom (front bedroom). For one person it works fine but the bed dips in the middle pretty hard and my wife and I tended to roll towards the middle of the bed all night (we're both skinny, if you're wondering). The other couple with us said the master bedroom had a good bed so we just lost out on the coin toss. Anyway, everything else was great with this rental and I would recommend it.

Kevin

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kevin. We enjoyed having you at the Retreat and yes, we have already replaced the mattress and the new one is great!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beethoven's Retreat

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at Beethoven's Retreat. For one - it was close to sites to see, and unexpectedly quiet, and clean. Also - it was lovely visiting with one another in the outdoor court.

I definitely would rent it again when we have out of state visitors.

The Hensley's

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"A Delightful and Restful Vacation Rental -- Highly Recommended!"

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Thank you James!
What a lovely home you provided our family with and we are truly grateful for all your help and advice in planning our California sojourns! Eric and I took advantage of the jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom after a couple of long days driving to Disneyland and Six Flags -- it was nice to get back to the peace and quiet of Beethoven Street. We also enjoyed the bikes you provided us to hop to the beach and our backyard "happy hours" under the lemon tree. Everything was just as stated on the ads and we are delighted to now have a place to call "home" when we next visit Southern California.
Thanks again for a lovely vacation

-- Silvia and Eric
Toronto

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A peaceful Retreat close to the Beach

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

We've stayed in many excellent vacation rentals in Europe and America but I don't think we have never enjoyed ourselves as much as at Beethoven's Retreat. The home was very convenient to the beach and in the center of a very thriving district of the west side of LA but the home and yard and garden were restful and peaceful. The beds were very comfortable and the place was quiet which was so nice since we were here on a 'working vacation' and needed plenty of rest along with our preparation for fall classes back in Sweden. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer -- but perhaps we can make it back to LA next year. Thanks again Fleur and James for a job well done and we will definitely recommend Beethoven to our firiends! -- Ylva & Goran S., Stockholm

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic place all around, upstairs rental can be a bit noisy

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

This was my first experience renting a home rather than staying at a hotel while on a family vacation.

Beethoven's Retreat was absolutely perfect for our needs...close to the beaches and piers, a short drive to Hollywood, and fairly close to even Disneyland. I visited with my wife and two teenage daughters. We basically got up for breakfast and headed out for the day, returning in the evening for some TV and bed. The off-street parking made it really nice. All of furnishings were upscale, comfortable, and convenient.

The only issue my wife and I had were with the tenants using the upstairs apartment. It seemed like their kitchen and bathroom were directly above our bed. Anytime the tenants moved a kitchen chairs we could hear every vibration above our bed. And, anytime anyone used the upstairs toilet it seemed we could hear every drop and the flushes were quite loud, waking us anytime we were asleep. The only fix for this might be to insulate the master bedroom ceiling.

We did complain to the owner and they mentioned they would talk to the upstairs renters.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ed and his family were terrific tenants and we loved having them! While we have never had any complaints about any upstairs sounds before, we appreciate Ed's comments and did explain to him that we had four quite overweight guests staying upstairs for four days during his stay. As for the plumbing, no one has ever complained prior to this in our 20-some reviews and four years of renting, and certainly the sound level is nothing other than muted and ordinary. Hundreds of couples have enjoyed deep and comfortably sleeps in the lovely Retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Awesome Beethoven Retreat

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

The Beethoven's Retreat was the right choice for our family of 5 vacation stay, the location was convenient to all beaches and the house was everything we expected and more. From the moment we entered we saw how well kept it is. The home has beautiful wood floors that gives it the unique character you look for, each room is very comfortable and spacious, the Kitchen is a good size and has all the tools you need to cook. The backyard is quiet and peaceful to take in the gorgeous weather Southern California has and with a award winning Lemon Tree at arms length from the Kitchen window, "makes great Lemonade" thats truly awesome. James the owner and his staff are very well organized with details on where to go and what to do around the area. We had a pleasurable stay and "We'll be Back" for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent location, great stay!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

We stayed at the location for about a week - and were *very* happy! The location is nice, the house upgraded with beautiful floors and accents. The rooms were comfy, everything we great. And, James was terrific to work with, no hassles, easy to do business. Thank you, we had a great vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beethoven's Retreat

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

My friends and I had a wonderful time staying at Beethoven's Retreat. The house was warm, welcoming and had a great cozy feeling to it all. All the amenities provided were great. Initially, I was concerned about privacy, but that ended up not being an issue at all. James was very nice and responsive to any concerns or questions that were posed. Aside from the house itself, the area is very nice, with plenty of parking. It's only a short drive to Venice Beach, Santa Monica Pier and the Promenade, all of which we were able to visit. I would definately stay here again for my next stay in LA!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beethoven Retreat is an Ode to Joy

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

We recently spent a month at the Beethoven Retreat. We had not seen the property prior to our arrival other than through pictures. The house was everything it was represented to be and more, with a fully equipped kitchen and modern appliances. The décor, from the beautiful wooden floors to the throw rugs to the paintings to the other decorative and artistic accessories, are first rate. The private backyard, with the lemon and orange tree, is a real plus. Its location in a friendly and attractive neighborhood convenient to stores, shops, Venice Beach and the Santa Monica Pier make Beethoven Retreat not just a place to stay when away from home, but a home to enjoy.

Maria and Chuck Gobel
Greenfield, Wisconsin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

"Great stay -- we're definitely coming back!"

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

We had a wonderful time in this home, arriving exhausted after a long drive fto find the place in immaculate shape, everything perfectly prepared for us. James is a gem and offered us a great deal of helpful advice on what to see, when to see it, how to get there, and even knew all about the farmer's markets -- a built-in concierge! The apartment is quiet and spacious and lovely on the eyes. While we didn't need to cook much since there are a lot of really good restaurants close by (C&O Cucina was a favorite) when we did we found the kitchen perfect with everything we needed. The patio looks out onto a lovely backyard with fruit trees and gardens. There are also free bikes which you can easily ride to the beach in a few minutes and to the shopping areas of Abbott Kinney and the Santa Monica Promenade. The kids especially liked picking lemons in the backyard. A great vacation and we will definitely return next year -- Thank you, James!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great memories and a beautiful home

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

Hello James, Just a short email to let you know what a wonderful stay we had at Beethoven's Retreat. We appreciate very much that you allowed the extra person to stay with us in our party! It was wonderful to be able to have our family together in such a nice setting. Thanks again, James.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A taste of Europe in Mar Vista!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

I loved this place the moment I walked in. Beautiful and unique architectural detail and furnishings. Great kitchen with an award-winning lemon tree right outside the kitchen window! Pick your lemons for your daily lemonades! James, the owner, couldn't be more accommodating and kind. I rented a furnished place, never expecting it to feel so much like home. And it never let me down. Great location, too. Ride the house bikes to Venice beach in just minutes, shop at the best and largest Whole Foods anywhere, Santa Monica is a hop, skip and a jump away, and Costco is around the corner. Really, this house is a find! You have to see it to believe it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Comfy, Cozy and Clean

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We stayed at the Beethoven Retreat from Friday til Monday - not enough days. The Retreat was very nicely decorated and comfortable. All the amenities were appreciated. James was available and attentive; as well as, Rich, his assistant, who was very helpful and informed. It is situated nicely near enough to shops, restaurants, beaches and highways. I highly recommend The Retreat to anyone looking for a more homey, comfortable and tidy getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review