reviews for: listing #77970 - Taos, New Mexico House rental

Affordable Luxury, Walk to Plaza
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Four Directions
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $230 /nt
    $780 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,750 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

The perfect getaway

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

This was the best condo we've ever rented (and we travel a lot). The kids loved the pond with fish in the front of the condo, and we enjoied the big bedroom and the nice terrace upstairs.
I really appreciated the fully equiped kitchen, and all the nice utensils, silverware and plates. The condo is extremely nice decorated, very functional, and everything is well organized.
The owners were very friendly, and made us fell like home.
We're lookng forward to going back.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We go the extra mile to make our guests feel welcome and to provide all those little things you have at home.
We have such joy in sharing our home with the wonderful people who have stayed with us, and know that you will love it too!
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

2014, Spring Break

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

When we walked into the condo....WOW! We loved the New Mexico decor, and felt like we had stepped back in time. It was perfect for our family of 6. The kitchen was large enough for family dinners, and some card games later at night. The private master bedroom upstairs with the jetted tub was a very nice bonus after a long day of skiing. And to have a washer and dryer was great. Definitely overpacked...will not do that again. Thank you Lise and Nick for the extra special touches when we arrived...wine, bread, milk in fridge. We have found our home away from home....and will be returning!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

our fourth visit!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We all had such a lovely time - we truly view staying at your condo as coming home, because we're so comfortable there. It makes our stay so much more enjoyable that you equip and stock the condo like a real home. We rarely use your supplies, but it's so nice to have the basics like salt, pepper and a tablespoon of olive oil when we need it!

Already looking forward to the next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall in Taos

Review submitted: November 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

My husband andI (50s and 60s) and a young guest from Spain stayed at Casa de Canciones for 5 days in November, and it couldn't have been more perfect! Lise and Nick had the house stocked with staples for cooking, milk, nice bread, a nice bottle of wine, and some chocolates, and even some logs for the fire when we arrived. The location is perfect (easy walk to the plaza and restaurants), and the condo is beautiful. Huge upstairs master bedroom with unbelievably comfortable king bed and a couch, balcony and spa bathtub, downstairs bedroom that would sleep 2, huge kitchen and dining area, and a lovely sitting area with fireplace. Plus as large a set of books and brochures and maps of the area as you would find in a tourist office. We will definitely try to stay here any other time we come to New Mexico, whether as a family, or on trips with groups of friends. We arrived a little early so were lucky enough to meet Lise and Nick as they were finishing up their preparation of the condo, and that was an added bonus. Wonderful hosts. We like to hike and to raft, so definitely whenever we are back in Taos we will be hoping for a vacancy! Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Laura. We're so glad we got to meet you all - a rare luxury - and be able to have a real chat.
Glad you enjoyed the condo and Taos, there's so much to do here that it's hard to fit it all in, but you certainly had a good try :)
Thank you for being the perfect guests, and we look forward to your return visit.
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything You Need and More

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

I chose this property to stay for my husband's birthday because of the layout and the location (walking distance to the Plaza). I was more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived and the owner's had left a huge bouquet of fresh flowers, a bottle of champagne, a bag of chocolates, a welcome letter and a birthday card for my husband! There was also a fresh loaf of bread, a jug of milk, ice cream and frozen dinners (just in case I suppose but we ended up eating out for all meals except breakfast). Speaking of which, the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you will need to create wonderful meals! We enjoyed hiking at the Taos Ski Valley, funyaking on the Rio Grande and took advantage of the fun at the Fiestas de Taos held at the Plaza over the weekend. We dined at Doc Martin's located in the Historic Taos Inn, which was very good but even better was Orlando's. This condo has everything you will need for very comfortable stay and made evenings after the days adventures, nice and relaxing! Thank you for everything Lise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Karen. We're glad when guests let us know they have a special occasion to celebrate, so we can do a little extra to make their stay special.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Last Minute Plans

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We made last minute travel plans to New Mexico and we needed a place to stay. Lise was willing to work with us and was very helpful. Their home was perfect. It was conveniently located close to the plaza and had all the amenities necessary to make our stay comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The vibrant colors of New Mexico nestled in the comforts of an elegant home

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of enjoying Casa de Canciones for 3 nights in late June/early July 2013. This lovingly maintained home was the perfect home base during our time exploring Taos and surrounding areas. The owners were prompt and wonderful to work with in setting up the reservation. Upon arrival to the house, we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly in the refrigerator, a fresh carton of milk, a fresh loaf of bread, and gourmet chocolates -- all with a handwritten welcome note. This personal welcome set the tone for a lovely stay. The house is architecturally beautiful and the thoughtful decor flows perfectly in every room. Creature comforts abound from the array of available pantry items to a fully stocked kitchen (everything you could need); comfy beds and luxurious bedding; soft couches and plenty of places to sip coffee or wine (the bright kitchen, the second story outdoor porch). Cable television and wi-fi are great touches, too. The 2 bedroom/2 bath configuration makes this a perfect option for couples or families traveling together. The complex where the condos are located is an oasis itself - lush trees, a pond, a friendly blue bench on which to sit in the delightfully cool early mornings. You're either walking distance or a very very short drive from the Taos plaza, which is grand for meals out, shopping, and entertainment. All in all, we felt pampered and yet ensconced in the comforts of home while at Casa de Canciones, and can't wait to return again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Cathy for choosing our home for your family birthday celebration. We're glad you enjoyed your stay - you were absolutely delightful guests, and we hope to see for your next stay in Taos.
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Pink Adobe Palace

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Taos, and the condo was perfect for us. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to easily make a meal. When we arrived we found chocolates, wine, and more! The entire place was very clean and well kept. The walk to the plaza is an easy distance.
We would definitely return and recommend it to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxury Taos For A Good Price

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

This is my first experience with VRBO and was very pleased! My wife and I were taking a short trip to the area with a friend of ours and were looking for something close to town center, nice and with a kitchen to avoid eating out too much. This property was all that! It was a short 10 minute walk to town, the condo was very clean and decorated comfortably, and the kitchen had everything we needed plus more (there was even 4 choices of ice cream in the freezer, not sure if this is standard or not, but we ate too much of it). We wanted a washer and dryer too since we just finished a 3 day hiking trek in the mountains with llamas. Making the arrangements was very simple, as Lise contacted me quickly once I put in the inquiry and she sent out detailed directions and instructions about a week before our arrival. A nice hotel in Taos starts at about $170, so for sleeping arrangements, space, and creature comforts this property beats any hotel in the area. We made a wise choice in picking this property and will stay again when we return. I would highly recommend staying there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jeff, so glad you enjoyed your stay - the llamas sound fun!
You're quite right that one can get an entire home for about the same price as a good hotel room - there's just no comparison.
We look forward to your return visit. Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Condo

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

This condo is exactly as advertised ~ it was clean and had all the basic kitchen supplies needed. The owners left a fresh loaf of bread and a bottle of wine to welcome us. The condo is situated just off the main road which made walking to the heart of town easy. The property was very clean and well-maintained. I highly recommend staying here if you are coming to Taos.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just the very best

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in countless homes listed on VRBO and I have to give this one the very highest marks yet! The home was exactly as listed regarding location, and the photos, as good as they are can not compare with how well appointed this home really is. When we arrived, the house was spotless and very well maintained, and the owners could not have been more helpful and responsive. We asked several questions by e-mail before our arrival and Lise was back with answers, always on the same day.
After driving for twelve hours to get there, we were much too tired to go shopping or to find a restaurant and one of the biggest blessings was having an easily prepared meal waiting for us in the freezer. This has not ever happened to us before....amazing! Not only that but there were fresh flowers on the dining table coupled with a bottle of wine and chocolates! What more could we have asked?
When reading reviews on every home we have visited in the past, almost every one mentions a well appointed kitchen. This home was different in that it truly is well appointed. The knives are sharp, there is every cooking accoutrement you could ever need and everything was well organized and easily located. Wow! We will measure every place we stay against this one from now on.
It doesn't stop there either. In the bathrooms, one would think they were in a hotel. If you forgot your toothpast there's a small tube in the basket, along with shampoo, bath cubes and body wash. Let me tell you....this never happens! The furniture and beds are comfortable and there are plenty of linens for all your needs and the rooms are spacious. Our favorite place was the colorful kitchen where we gathered with our friends to cook and fellowship.
While visiting Taos, we went to the pueblo, drove to Arroyo Secco to shop and then on up to Taos Ski Valley. We ate at Michael's Kitchen, Five Star Burgers and a Mexican place whose name slips my mind, located behind San Fransisco Church. The guys fished in a small lake just east of Questa on the scenic circle road, where they caught their limit of trout every day.
One other cool thing we did was visit Lise and her husband at their gallery in Panasco, a town located at the start of the High Road to Santa Fe. The drive was beautiful and we loved getting to meet the people who put together one of the best appointed places we will probably ever rent.
If you are planning a visit to Taos, this is the place to stay, hands down

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pink Adobe in Taos

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Our stay at this condo could not have been better -- from the immaculate floors to the well-stocked, large kitchen to the very comfortable master bedroom -- with a desk for writing by the open floor to ceiling glass doors. (See in your mind the afternoon breeze billowing the curtains.) The courtyard is peaceful and exactly what we expected. The walk to the galleries and restaurants in the center of Taos was easy (we only started the car to travel to hikes in the area), and the walks through the tree-shaded neighborhood were enjoyable as well. Our time on the upstairs deck was particularly pleasant. The owners even let us pick hydrangeas from the flower bed so we had fresh flowers every day. We would recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and comfortable condo in Taos NM

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

This beautiful, spacious condo was perfect for our 3 day stay in Taos. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed on our arrival. The beds were very comfortable. The notebook which gave instructions for the condo as well as dining and sightseeing suggestions was very much appreciated. I have and will recommended this property to friends and family. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll look forward to your return trip next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Many Gals' Road Trip

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Close to the square and easy to locate, upon arriving we were amazed! Truly a perfectly appointed "Home away from home", with everything a group would need for a perfect visit.
We could have arrived with personal items alone and stayed for several days before shopping!
The owners have thought of everything, and the condo herself is beautiful and welcoming. I hope she can be our base of operations for many more enjoyable visits. So, see you next year....?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ladies, could tell you were having a whole load of fun, and thanks for choosing our home for your trip. You were delightful guests, and looked after our place as if it were your own. Looking forward to your return visits.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Lovely

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

As advertised, this is a lovely property. The location was very nice and quiet, but just off the main road allowing us to simply walk to the heart of the town. The property was very clean and well-maintained. The owners were very pleasant to work with. We would definitely come back and stay here as it was one of the nicest places I have rented for a vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation Property

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our first vacation in many years and found this condo absolutely beautiful. In the past, when we used vacation rental sites, we sometimes found the pictures did not accurately portray the actually property, but not so in this case. This condo is every bit as beautiful as the photos show it to be. When we arrived, we found not only a spotlessly clean home, but a bottle of wine, a loaf of fresh french bread, chocolates and a welcome note from the owners awaiting us, and our stay went uphill from there. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to prepare any kind of meal (if you so wish). We did this one night and enjoyed the restaurants of Taos and Santa Fe the others. Unhesitatingly give this home a five star rating. If you are looking to check out Taos (which we also highly recommend) you couldn't go wrong staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Bob. We love having people to stay who appreciate our home, and you were the perfect guests! We look forward to your return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

The house was great. Everything was clean and the kitchen is very well stocked. Lise left a bottle of wine and some chocolates to start our vacation - we really appreciated it! I would recommend this house to anyone staying in the area!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation home!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

My family and I stayed at this lovely condo for three nights. The condo is beautiful, the beds are super comfy, the kitchen is wonderfully stocked, and the owners could not be any nicer. The owners were great at communicating via email before our arrival. They even made suggestions for things we can do in the area. We were so happy to arrive to wine, chocolates, and food in the fridge. The condo is in a wonderful location- walking distance to the downtown - in a quiet, quaint neighborhood. I would recommend this rental to anyone heading to Taos!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Fantastic accommodation, it truly was a home away from home. We could not have been happier or more comfortable during our stay. I’m sure we will be back in Taos soon and will definitely be staying at your condo (if it’s available).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much, Mark. You were the perfect guests, and we'll look forward to your return visit.
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation Rental as Advertised

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

Everything about this rental was fantastic and helped to make for a great family vacation. After a full day of skiing, everyone was often worn out and ready for some downtime. This home was a beautiful place to relax and spend family time. The huge kitchen was great for cooking dinner or for enjoying takeout. The large family room was enjoyed on multiple nights to watch a movie. Everyone commented positively about the plush bedding and good nights of sleep. The master bedroom is gigantic with its own living and office area. The complimentary wifi was also a big plus for using our iPad and other devices. The washer and dryer were also appreciated luxuries. The location was also a big plus as my son and I were able to walk to the Kit Carson museum and into town while the girls took the car to a spa treatment. Finally (and maybe most importantly), the communication and service provided by Lise and Nick were great. We are looking forward to a return trip next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Just a short walk to the plaza and Bent street (don't miss TWIRL toy shop and Moby Dickens bookstore), the condo was very well maintained and well stocked with basic necessities. We didn't really cook while we were there because we love so many of the restaurants in town, but the kitchen was very well equipped with a full array of pots, pans, spices, etc. (Our favorite restaurant in town is the Dragonfly Cafe, followed by Gutiz and Doc Martin's).

Even though we did not take full advantage of the well stocked kitchen, I can't tell you how nice it was to have basics like coffee, butter, milk and even fresh bread upon our arrival, not to mention a bottle of wine and chocolates! We also loved the large selection of games and movies for both kids and adults. It really felt like we were staying in someone's actual home rather than a vacation rental.

The only thing missing was a humidifier, which the owner brought over as soon as we asked! Talk about customer service!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Becca, and we were so glad to be able to make your stay a little more comfortable.
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

50th Anniversary celebration!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

I cannot speak highly enough about both the residence itself and its owners. I highly recommend it for all the reasons accurately portrayed in the listing, as well as many others.
My parents wanted to spend their 50th in Taos and found this property for themselves to stay - we spent much time with them there visiting and celebrating. It is a gorgeous, spacious, 2-story, well-kept home full of beautiful art and furniture. The owners went out of their way to welcome my parents, with thoughtful amenities unlike anything I've ever experienced traveling. They were easy to reach, very helpful and always very sweet.
The property is very quiet and serene, yet also very close (easy walking distance) to the Plaza and just down a block from the Monte de Sagrado resort/spa, which has multiple spa services and an aqua center.
I simply can't recommend it too strongly. We can't wait to return. Thanks for helping us make such a nice and memorable experience for my parents!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were delighted to have your parents stay with us for their anniversary, and so glad that we were able to help make it special for you all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Taos condo

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

This was the best-stocked condo we have ever stayed in - really! It was so nice to have basic supplies like foil, plastic bags, kleenex, adequate dishes, pots and pans! It's a nice layout, with plenty of space in the common areas, where you need it.The owner even stocked the kitchen with bread, milk and a bottle of wine - way beyond the usual. The instructions were very complete and detailed, which we also really appreciated. The courtyard area is delightful and the complex felt very private - not like a big, industrial complex.The decor was really nice, too, which was an added bonus - it felt like we were staying in someone's home, not just another rental unit.

The location relative to town was also accurate - definitely walking distance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. We love our home, and are delighted to be able to share it with our wonderful guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay in Taos

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We were so pleased that we decided to spend New Years in Taos, and especially that we booked this condo. It was very welcoming and well-decorated, and felt more spacious than what we were expecting. The condo was very "user-friendly" too--there were helpful notes everywhere, making it easy to figure out the tv/satellite, wifi, dishwasher, etc. the stocked pantry/fridge and bottle of champagne waiting for us on our arrival really set the tone. the location is great---even in december, it was still easy to walk to town (5-10 min max). even though the unit is in a complex with other units, it still felt very private--the thick adobe walls are really great for dampening noise. we would all love to come back here, and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to make every guest feel comfortable and pampered, and to feel that this is their home-away-from-home. We look forward to your return stay!
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Taos experience

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We were so impressed with this lodging! The condo is in a beautiful quiet setting, just few minutes walk to the center of Taos. We have never seen a condo so beautifully decorated. In addition, the owners provided fresh flowers, wine, chocolate, lots of food supplies and all necessities - even a backpack we used on a hike at the gorge! We definitely intend to return and to tell our friends about this find. It is better than a hotel and definitely better than any condo we have previously rented.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a wonderful stay

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

The accomodations were spacious, well stocked and beautifully decorated. The downstairs area was well equipped for seniors who don't or can't climb stairs. It had a bedroom and full bath off the kitchen area. The upstairs master suite was large and comfortable with a master bathroom. A bonus is a deck off the master bedroom looking over the courtyard and pond. Breathtaking. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, pots and pans and even some food! The owners were responsive and gracious when scheduling this unit for our trip. Helpful was a notebook explaining everything in the home, how to use wifi, cable, dvds. etc. Also included in this book were recommendations of dining, spa treatments etc. We would definately return to this lovely retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, Peaceful Condo in Taos

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

This lovely condo in Taos surpassed our expectations. It is in a quiet and peaceful setting, but within walking distance of the Plaza, restaurants, shops, and green space at Kit Carson State Park. The condo is clean and comfortable. The upstairs master suite with outdoor terrace is private and self-contained. The owners are gracious and accommodating. They had the condo nicely stocked with basic supplies, including coffee and spices. And they provided a welcome gift including wine, chocolates, bread and milk. They were helpful and responsive when we were planning our vacation and when we arrived in Taos. They care about their guests and their property. I would definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

June 2011

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

The condo is well situated and in a quiet location. The communal area with pool was a haven on later afternoons surrounded by huge trees. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. The kitchen was easy to use and also well stocked. So the temptation to eat out was non-existent but an occasional treat nonetheless. The owners were helpful before, during, and after our two-week stay and we can recommend them unreservedly. Do buy a museum pass for 25 bucks if this is your thing and don't forget to incude a short walk to the Mabel Dodge Luhan house. Do contact me for any further information.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding attention to detail

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We’ve stayed in some nice homes rented from online sites, but this has been the best! The home itself is beautiful and has a lovely calming pond out front and is within walking distance to the plaza and great shopping and restaurants, and El Monte Sagrado – one of the top 10 spas in the US. The home is phenomenally stocked with all kitchen needs, picnic ware, appliances, even food including frozen pizzas, fresh milk, bread, wine and chocolates! The rooms contain toys, DVD’s, books, brochures, office supplies, etc. But it is the owner’s attention to detail that is outstanding. We loved the twin duvets on the king-sized bed with their super-soft IKEA covers, the beautiful low-profile bedside lamps with dimmer cords, the folder provided with restaurant and shopping and gallery suggestions. We had been through some trauma prior to arriving here and this was exactly the balm we needed – cool, crisp, clean surroundings with all our needs anticipated. Taos is an awesome town and I’m sure there are many lovely places to stay, but we feel very lucky to have found this spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We loved having K and S as our guests - it felt just like having family stay in our home and we enjoyed the email updates as they discovered and experienced the delights of Taos. They had been through so much recently, that it was a real honour to be able to make their well-deserved break so relaxing. We'll look forward to their return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

Our family had a great time in Taos. A big success to our short get away was the comfort provided us by the condo. Our children loved the loft like spaciousness upstairs. The parents were very pleased to find the refrigerator well stocked. Most everything thing we could have needed during a weekend getaway was anticipated by our hosts. We were able to spend less time getting things ready and more time on the slopes because of the condo. The condo is well located near the Plaza. We enjoyed having the coffee shop just down the way. The listing photos very accurately portrayed the place. Our family appreciated having parking just outside the condo unit. The condo was very well maintained and clean. We could clearly locate sheets, towels, etc. (This was important to us as we arrived late in the evening, very helpful.) Capricorn Rentals were super helpful when we had questions prior to our arrival as well as when we were at the condo. Our family would definitely recommend this place to others with families that may want to stay in town, near the Plaza.

Thank you for the arrangements Capricorn Rentals.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Raimund and family.
Many of our guests arrive in the evening and after dark. We try to set everything up to be as easy as possible by providing flashlights and lighting outside, meals in the freezer, basics in the fridge and kitchen cupboards. We have rented homes ourselves, and understand how those little extras can turn frustration into relief!
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacationers dream!!!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

My family and I have found our permanent Taos vacation home. This condo was amazing. The owners went above and beyond our expectations in preparing it for us to stay. They had more than enough staples to get us started before we could make it to the grocery store and stock up. They covered all their bases, I could not have asked for better owners. I have no negative cooments about this place. My family and I will definitely be staying here again when we come back for vacation. Thank you Lise and Nick for sharing such a beautiful place with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

This is a very difficult review to compose. All the reviews posted speak the truth.
I can not tell you how beautiful this place is. It is a little piece of "Heaven on Earth" The owners took care of our every need. The owners attention to detail and location of this fabulous condo will bring tears of joy to your eyes as it did ours. I have used HomeAway for many of my traveling jaunts. I have always been impressed but this place superseded all places.
Thank you very much for creating such a warm and memorable memories for us to visit over and over.
This definitely will be one place we will revisit.
Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

This was our first experience with VRBO, it WILL NOT be our last. From the setting up of the rental to our departure the experience has been excellent. On our arrival the property was clean, warm and welcoming. We receive a welcome package that was perfect from the dark mint chocolates to the Scottish orange marmalade. The house also stocked enough groceries that we were able to have dinner and breakfast without having to go out and locate the nearest grocery store; which is the last thing you want to do after an 9 hour drive.

The upstairs bedroom was incredibly spacious with supplies in the office area. It has an excellent walk-in closet with plenty of hangers and enough dresser space to spare. The fact that this room was so big was perfect as I have 3 kids and they were able to hang out and play without having to worry about getting into each others space. The downstairs bedroom was equally as comfortable with great closet and dresser space. (The Lego and Little Pet Shoppe toys were also a nice touch as these are favorite toys for 2 of our kids). If needed there were plenty of extra sheets and blankets in each of the bedrooms.

The kitchen was very well stock, I was able to cook our Thanksgiving dinner without worrying if I was missing some utensil or piece of equipment.

If looking for what to do in the area there was plenty of literature available and with the Plaza a 10 minute walk away and the Ski Valley 30 minute it was exceptionally situated.

We would definitely rent the property again next time in Summer so we can have a chance to hike the wonderful scenery that surrounds the town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Words do not do justice to the home or hospitality

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

I don't know where to start... I sort of want to be selfish and say this isn't a nice place so that I can be assured of its availability when I come back.
This place is AWESOME!! The owners are AMAZING! Friendly, informative, inviting!!
As soon as we contacted the owners, our questions were immediately answered (even some we forgot to ask), with an invitation to ask even more. They are honest with the property description and recommendations... they are helpful with tips and ideas (as well as books, booklets, etc IN the home for ideas of things to do). The pictures of the property look amazing, and don't even do it justice! Warm, well-lit, welcoming home that is generously stocked with amenities and extras.
Their recommendations were right on target, their directions were perfect, and they one on one conversations were warm & friendly.
The location of the property is within walking distance of everything in town, as well as a short drive to the ski/hiking/biking/sight seeing areas... but you may not want to go anywhere because the property itself has everything you could think of from relaxation to entertaining. AWESOME!!
As I said before, I am hesitant to recommend this place to strangers... but only because I want it to be available the next time I go to Taos. So, I DEFINITELY have to recommend this property - as well as a conversation with the owners... I cannot thank them enough for making our vacation so very special!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect place to stay while in Taos!

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

After extensive research, we truly felt lucky to have found the listing for this place. Although we never had the opportunity to swing by Lise & Nick's art studio while on vacation, we felt like we knew them after our correspondences and phone calls. They were the perfect hosts, leaving us a few items such as wine, milk and bread to welcome us to their abode. We liked the fact that the condo had plenty of space, all the amenities of home and was within walking distance to the square. After a day of hiking, museums, exploring or visiting the pueblos, it was nice to be close to the restaurants and galleries at the end of the day. The place had a cozy feel and as I mentioned, a very convenient location for getting in and out of Taos. For a condo, it also didn't have the crowded feel of most, there were fewer units and a cute pond centrally located. Great price and meeting high expectations definitely earns a repeat stay for our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Condo in Taos

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

My husband and I (joined by my Father) recently stayed in this gorgeous condo in Taos. We loved the location - close enough to the action, but quiet! The condo features a very large master suite with living area and bath upstairs, and a guest room with it's own bath downstairs. Downstairs features full kitchen, dining area, living area and laundry. The beds are SO comfortable! We all raved about what a good night's sleep we had. The kitchen is well equipped and the welcome package of wine and chocolate was very appreciated. The frig and freezer and pantry were nicely stocked as well - we could have easily made dinner for several evenings if we felt like staying in. There is also a lovely upstairs patio and table for dining, and a grill. The living area is roomy and has a lot of good reading material, tourist brochures, and DVD's. The condo was spotlessly clean. There is also a very soothing koi pond and bench right outside the door, where it is nice to have your morning coffee. We enjoyed Taos Pueblo, Orlando's restaurant, Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs, Michael's Kitchen for breakfast. Overall, we had a fabulous trip! I highly recommend staying here if you are in Taos. I'm hoping we'll be able to come back next year to enjoy it again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to stay in Taos

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Lise and Nick have a wonderful condo and are very thoughtful hosts. We’re a family of six and fit well in the space. The center of Taos is within walking distance. The condo was spotlessly clean and outfitted with everything we needed for our 3 day summer visit. I highly recommend this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming & comfy condo!

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

We stayed at the condo on vacation last week (June 23-26 2010). Everything was wonderful! The best stocked rental property we've stayed in. We loved the gardens and the short walk to town along a beautiful tree-lined street. The owners really pay attention to detail and we had a great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Taos Getaway

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

This was our first trip to Taos & I spent 6 nights at Lise and Nicks beautiful condo with my parents and daughter. The property is described very well, is very clean, organized and is the most well appointed rental I have ever been in. It felt like staying at a friends house.
Some great things about this condo are.... the upstairs is private to the downstairs which would makes it ideal for a 2 couple trip to Taos or for sepearating the early risers from those that like to sleep in (teens). The pond is beautiful, my daughter had fun playing there and we enjoyed an evening happy hour in the fresh air. The location is excellent! We were walking distance to all the fun that Taos has yet far enough away it is peacefully quiet.
We appreciated our hosts recommendations for resturant, points of interest and activities ~ they were very helpful and nice to work with. I highly recommend this condo!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and wonderful hosts

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

Lise and Nick were wonderful. We felt very welcomed in their home so that made us feel like it was our home, even just for the week. The location was convenient to the square and just Taos in general. They will provide any and all information that you ask for and do it very willingly. You will find everything you need in the kitchen for preparing meals and it's all organized. You don't even need to go to the tourist information location as brochures for Taos and the surrounding area are all available at the condo to peruse at your leisure when you arrive. I would stay there again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home-like comfort, warmth in tastefully-appointed abode w/ creature comforts and modern conveniences

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

My wife and I spent two weeks in Nick and Lise's wonderful town-home back in February, when we were in Taos for skiing. Our hosts could not have been more gracious and accommodating, beginning well before our arrival, with careful directions to the condo, a few items stocked in the refrigerator to our request, and even a flashlight thoughtfully attached to the back gate to aid our getting into the lock-box after dark. Later on in our stay, Lise went to some trouble to arrange some specific programming on their satellite TV account, so we could enjoy a special event we had been looking forward to.

Once unpacked, we were able to enjoy the roomy surroundings in warmth and comfort. The radiant-heated floors made us happy for our daily homecoming, after long winter hours spent out-of-doors. This welcoming sensation of warmth was reinforced by the deep, restful earth-tones in the walls and tile floors of the building. The overall effect made me remember reading somewhere that Bedouin nomads find such colors soothing in the rugs with which they decorate their tents, after days spent under the bright desert sun. The Moorish influences in the achitecture make these effects feel all a part of the whole.

Comfortable furnishings and a complete array of modern conveniences round out the picture. For those evenings when we didn't feel like venturing out for dinner, the surroundings make it a pleasure to stay in and prepare meals at 'home'.

Everything in the condo worked flawlessly and was as advertised (not always the case, unfortunately, with vacation rentals).

Many thanks, Nick and Lise, for the lovely accommodations, and for being so helpful to us. I hope we will someday have the chance to visit again. Next time I hope I will remember to ask you about some of the engaging art work that decorates the walls of your condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your positive and comprehensive review.
We are so fortunate to have wonderful guests stay with us, and are delighted to be able to make their stay perfect!
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Taos Condo........

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This is an excellent condo and has everything you need! We went with our 3 and 4 year olds and they loved the little pond and trees in the court year. It is within walking distance town, which is great. Also, driving up to the ski valley only took about 25-30 minutes so you get the best of both worlds.

Great rental! We will rent again for sure........

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights, but wish we could be there longer! This is a beautiful, huge condo, and Lise and Nick filled it with unbounded hospitality. I will definitely be calling them again next time we go to Taos!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

We spent four nights at this beautiful condo, in a lovely serene setting.
Lise and Nick were gracious hosts, and provided us with many amenities.
The sweetest moment happened when we were sitting on the upper level deck one morning, and a hummingbird flew by, up close and personal. He seemed to be saying "hello".
The galleries, eateries, and friendly people, are calling us back to Taos, and we will definitely be calling Lise and Nick for a return stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

What a wonderful weekend we had in Taos! The condo was beautiful--neat and clean with lots of amenities!! Walking distance to the Plaza, movies and cd's available, ice cream in the refrig.,...we will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

The home was very clean and well equipped with many items needed for our stay. It was such a pleasure staying close by the plaza, walking distance! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay in Taos!

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

We completely enjoyed ourselves in this lovely home. It's very close to old town area and all the shops and restaurants. They provided a wonderful list of restaurants and we tried to hit all of them! They had a great variety of videos including one on "Lewis and Clark" which we really enjoyed watching one evening. Thanks for a warm welcome and enjoyable stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

SUPERB NEW MEXICO BASE

Review submitted: July 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

On arrival everything was perfect with fresh provisions in the fridge. The location is in town but very quiet - short walk to all amenities. The standard of accommodation is very high with everything you need for a relaxing holiday - wifi for me and lots of videos and DVDs for the kids. The owners take great pride in their house and you must stay here if you are looking for a base from which to travel or you just want to relax on the sunny first floor deck. A perfect oasis.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: All our guests, without exception have loved staying in our home, and we're confident you will too!
Lise and Nick

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

Lise and Nick,

We just wanted to tell you what a wonderful stay we had at your condo in Taos. It was a perfect place to spend the long Memorial Day weekend.

The condo was in a great location, very quiet, but an easy walk to the Plaza and shops. We loved having our morning coffee outside on the deck each morning. What a great way to start the day!

The condo was well stocked and the welcome goodies and snacks in the fridge were a very pleasant surprise.

I think we have found our home away from home when we're in Taos.

Thank you again so much, Mike and Louann

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect home-away-home

Review submitted: March 25, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

Excellent interior decorations and settings. The arrangements are actually better than we ourselves can consider. It's so homey feeling to stay here! We really appreciate the hospitality of the owner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review