reviews for: listing #77972 - Gun Lake, Michigan Cottage rental

The Green Heron at England Lake
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Yankee Springs
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $350 /nt
    $750 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Getting Away From It All

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

The place was great! Very quiet, secluded and peaceful. It was clean and had everything we needed. Walmart & Meijer are only a 10-15 minute drive for groceries. We did have good internet and cell phone service. The lake is small but good for kayaking and swimming. The dock is very nice for sunning or just hanging out. This was a great place for a family vacation and my elderly parents enjoyed it. The hiking trail around the property was fun. Gun Lake and Pine Lake are very close. We rented a pontoon on Pine Lake for 1/2 day which was very reasonable. I would recommend this cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation spot

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Awesome vacation house. The only thing you need to bring are clothes and groceries!! Easily accommodated our large family of 8 including 4 teenagers! Fishing was great. Some of the largest crappie we have ever caught. Buy yourself a small plastic Rival worm made locally and sold at Meijer an you'll catch all types of fish without changing bait. Buy extras because they will beat it up!!! For entertainment away from the house head 45 minutes west to Holland and enjoy the street performers on Thursday nights. While your in Holland check out Africa's Child Family Resale store. An awesome place with an awesome story. We are already planning a return. The kids thanked us for finding this house. One word of advice check your kayak for snakes BEFORE you use them :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Escape

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We rented the Green Heron so we'd be able to get the family together in one place for a week. While some of my family may prefer somewhere a little more connected, I prefer more rustic and loved feeling like I was in the middle of nowhere. Several of the mornings I woke up before anyone else, jumped in the lake, and did yoga on the dock, all without seeing a single person. Though we felt miles away, trips to the grocery store were easy, and we were less than an hour from Grand Rapids (i.e. "home" for some) and the airport. Morning swims were calm & peaceful, and the birds sang all day long. We had fun fishing and spotting turtles in the lily pads, watching the baby birds in the nest outside the door, plus all the other wildlife (eek - a snake!) I loved falling asleep with the windows open and watching the fireflies from my bed (we don't have fireflies where I live).

7 of us stayed there, and we had some other family visit a few times during the daytime. It was never too crowded. My 3-year old niece LOVED the loft. She called it her "special room" and constantly asked us to take her up there (ladder too steep for her to go by herself).

The biggest downside was the bugs, which you'd probably expect in a wooded area like this. I understand they're also worse than usual in Michigan this year too. We learned to deal with it though... We used lots of bug spray, and stayed inside at night. The bugs weren't bad at all during the day out on the dock.

The wireless was a bit spotty, and our cell phone service was weak (I couldn't make calls, but texting worked fine). So don't rely heavily on being connected (which is probably a good thing - it forced me to stop thinking about work).

The owners were great - we felt very welcomed.

I took a short video of the lake with the sounds of the birds in the background. I've already watched it several times this week to put myself back into my happy place. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

comfy home away from home.

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

wow , what can i say, it was perfect ! we had family members from upper and lower michigan, colorado, texas and cayman islands all staying in the house for a family wedding. we all loved the peacefulness and privacy we had . boating, fishing, hikeing , talking and cooking were highlights of our stay. we loved the wildlife bunnys, raccoons, snakes, frogs , fish, turtles , birds and lightning bugs. it was a perfect getaway to reconect with everyone.it was like you were in your own home , anything we needed was at our fingertips. everyone kept telling me over and over what a great job i did finding the home. thank you we loved it. the only thing we didnt like was having to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Green Heron review

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Excellent! It was as if we were in our own home, everything we needed (charcoal, bug spray, sunscreen, soap, etc) was available somewhere in the house without having to rush to the store. I spent about 2-3 hours each morning fishing (and catching) with my 8 year old, and we found plenty of activities within 20-30 minutes to keep our teenagers occupied, and even Lake Michigan was only about 45 minutes. Everything in the description of the house is accurate - definately recommended. If you want to rent a pontoon and have a great time on a smaller, not quite as busy lake try the Pine Lake Marina. The rentals there are about half as much as Gun Lake with much less traffic on the water and excellent fishing and swimming areas.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A great get away!

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Our family of 6 adults and two boys (ages 9 and 13) thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at the Green Heron on England Lake. We found that there was adequate space for both sleeping and relaxing even when it rained a couple of days. The setting is quiet and peaceful yet the boat, kayaks and fishing provided hours of enjoyment for the two boys. We especially appreciated the handicap facilities for the 13 yr. old in a wheelchair. The ramp and decking gave him total independence. We did not feel the need to go out at all except for ice cream in the evening which is available in nearby Plainwell. We did opt to take paper plates to save on washing dishes! Because of the high humidity and 90 degree temperatures (and since one family lived close enough), we brought in a dehumidifier. This helped greatly and I would suggest that the owners consider adding one both for comfort and for the preservation of the cottage and furnishings. Would we recommend to others? Most certainly! Will we be back? Undoubtedly! Thanks for sharing your home/property with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Six adults and one ten year old spent a wonderful week at The Green Heron in late June, 2011. It is a perfect haven for family reunions, celebrations, relaxing, enjoying England Lake and the magnificent location. There is plenty of room to spread out and the loft is a huge draw for kids!! Two full bathrooms make for easy and fast "clean ups" for when you are able to drag yourself away from the cottage. The entire cottage is beautiful and fully equiped. We did lots of cooking at the cottage, but there are several places to have a nice dinner in the area too. For example, The London Grille and Baypointe Inn were very enjoyable.

There are lots of hiking trails, a horseback riding stable, Gun Lake boating rentals in this area. Quite honestly, we never felt the need to leave the cottage for anything but a dinner out. We didn't even set up the TV for the entire week. Lovely!!!

The pictures on this site are very accurate as to what this cottage looks like and what is available in the area. It is very clean and it is obvious that it is very well taken care of by the owners. The kayaks, rowboat, floating devices, actually everything, are in great condition.

We hope to rent The Green Heron again. And, YES!, we would recommend the cottage to friends. We already have done so.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review