reviews for: listing #78019 - Fort Lauderdale, Florida House rental

Luxury vacation rental home near Fort Lauderdale! VM
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $1,300 /nt
    $2,750 - $7,000 /wk
    $10,000 - $17,500 /mth

sort by:

Don't Be Fooled By the Photos

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

The photos look great but they must have been taken a very long time ago. The home was lovely but not taken care of. The carpet was filthy and completely covered in dark stains. The interior walls were dirty and had many drywall holes that had never been repaired. The oven glass door was broken with a piece missing. The marble over the fireplace was broken into two pieces that were barely hanging. We had to wash all of the dishes before using them as they had dried stuck on food and were not washed by the cleaning crew. The Tiki Hut is a great area however the cushions that are shown in the photos do not look anything like the filthy badly stained ones that are there. The grill was so dirty and sticky that the owners own agent who came to the home when we called regarding our issues would not even touch it herself. The pool was a mess and had a broken pump so we were not able to use it for 2 days of our stay until the owners had it serviced and cleaned. Some of the bricks and stones around the pool are broken and my son twisted his ankle on one of them. We had a number of other issues that were overlooked by the owner and the owners so called agents. When I contacted the owner directly I was told that I had too many service requests that he apparently felt were unwarranted. I did receive my required pre paid cleaning fee back due to the condition of the home but truly felt as if I had greatly overpaid for a stay at a home that was misrepresented in its HomeAway and Tropical Vacations Group advertising. This property is in a great location but the accomodations are less than desirable. BUYER BEWARE

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Very relaxing & fun home for a group

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

A group of 9 women stayed here for a long weekend in October 2012. The house is spacious, the beds comfy, the kitchen gorgeous. The pool & hot tub both took some tweaking to get the right temp., but we quickly figured out to turn the temps up a couple hours before we were going to be using them. The area around Lighthouse Point has almost everything you need as long as you have a car. The Salty Dawg is within walking distance and has good food. We were staying in this house during & immediately after Hurricane Sandy. We didn't spend much time in the Tiki Hut as the couch cushions were all wet, but we did spend a fair amount of time outside. There is PLENTY of room to spread out in the this house & there were more than enough towels which almost never happens in a rental. The reason for 4 stars instead of 5...no hammock like in the pictures; home was presented as a rental with barely any decorations and empty walls, lots of dead bugs on the floors in the closets which made us wonder how well the prior cleaning had been; extra bedding & pillows were piled on the floor in those same closets which was a little gross; holes in walls where things had hung previously that weren't fixed. All in all, we would rent the house again, though. We had to call a couple times as the handle on the patio door broke off the first day and we didn't want to be charged for that! Michelle stopped by on a Sunday evening to bring us some more laundry detergent as we had run out & the house supplies that. One member of our party was going to be stranded a couple extra days due to flight cancellations because of the hurricane - she offered the house as it wasn't being rented immediately after we left. Very nice lady & easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Don't trust the pictures!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

While there is a lot of space in the home, it has been very beaten up from pool sticks tape together by electric tape and no tips to a ton of holes in the walls where things used to hang to carpet that is so stained! The kitchen is done beautifully and master bath. We were promised the pool would be heated to 85 and it never even reached 72 degrees which is very cold for kids! The tanning chairs are spilling rust so watch your family's feet! The bedding is old and dated. The area is easy to get to many things but the home was very disappointing!! We rent 1-2 homes a year and in 8 years, we have never experienced a home this poor! Don't look for the hammock in the pictures either!!

Owners response: Hi,

It's unfortunate we only received one phone call from the client in regards to setting the appropriate 'Input' on the TV for the cable to respond and populate the channels. In regards to the damaged pool stick, we were unaware of the damage, it's likely the previous guest may have damaged it and since we use an 'accidental damage' protection insurance policy we simply replace items that are worn or damaged. We have a dedicated maintenance person, internal cleaning staff and direct relationships that manage all of our pools. Simply adjusting the temperature of the pool at most would likely take anywhere from 4-6 hours to reach temperature. We service clients from all over the world and have a direct return client business as our properties are seldom vacant. I cannot speak for other companies or owners but a simple phone call with requests would have our attention at anytime of the day or weekend. We stock a variety of bedding and additional items and are quick to deliver and respond. Reading this review is 'NOT' reflective of the accuracy and service we provide our customers. I suggest in future contacting the provider rather than posting a poor review to resolve issues, without any communication nobody is able to service you for increasing the temperature of a pool, providing new bedding, replacing a pool stick and checking the patio furniture.

Helpful votes: 5 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tiki Hut

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Karie Burt
New York, NY
"So the pictures on the web site look great, but we've all seen pictures of 10ft pools that look Olympic Size and master bedrooms that look like closets in real life, so I tried to keep my expectations in check but I am happy to say that Tiki did not disappoint! The house is beautiful, the Tiki Hut really is huge and there is no false advertising! I had the most wonderful few days and only regretted that I couldn't stayed longer. The master suite leads straight out to the pool so you could wake up and see the glistening pool (always heated) and look out to the water beyond with the glorious pink and orange skies at sunrise.

The Tiki hut was amazing, provided great shade and became another living room, with loads of place to read and relax and eat! Everything in the house is of very high quality, from the bedding and towels, to the kitchen appliances and TV's - you truly are able to relax in luxurious surroundings and kick back and enjoy the vacation. Publix supermarket and a great restaurant Bonefish Mac's are in walking distance. The icing on the cake was how gracious Mike and his sister Michelle were. Mike was always contactable and responsive and genuinely is proud of his home, you can tell its not 'all business' and he truly wants his guests to enjoy their stay. This makes such a difference from dealing with usual 'booking agents' or 'management companies' and enabled me to have a hassle-free stay. I actually thought about writing a bad review so the Tiki Hut doesn't get too booked up - as I will be back! :) Thanks for a great trip! " Karie NYC.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tiki Hut

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

De Anna K
Port Clinton, OH
Mike,rnHello! First off, we had an absolutely WONDERFUL time! Your home is beyond beautiful! Comfortable, warm, spacious and welcoming! Whoever selected the paint colors for the interior did a spectacular job! I loved the faux finishes in the rooms! The best part for us, was being outdoors! What tropical surroundings! I have photos of almost every plant around your home. Deerfield beach was the perfect beach for our family! Bonefish Mac's was EXCELLENT! Great fun on kids' nite! We would love to rent from you again soon!rn Thanks again for the rental! We truly enjoyed ourselves!rnHope the new baby is doing wonderfully!rnDe Anna rn

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tiki Hut

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Rob, Silvia, Sara, Massimiliano, Talisa and Melissa
Ottawa, Ca
Tiki Hut Holiday. My wife and I are from Canada and her sisters family was from Italy. We rented the Tiki Hut in August of 2009.Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the homeowners sister and given a detailed tour of the property and its amenities. This home is nicely laid out especially if bungalows are your preference. Everything mentioned in the advertisement was available and there were no surprises since we've had experiences in the past when something is advertised and you get something completely different. Since were outdoors people the pool was an absolute delight, the connected hot tub in the pool was a huge bonus. The open kitchen was great to prepare 5 and 6 course meals (Italian style dinners) and the living room with the monster size television was great although it was barely used. All the bedrooms were a nice size and my wife loved all the room in the master bathroom. The outdoor area with the BBQ and large patio dining table made dining outside easy. The neighborhood is very quiet and you have a sense that you are in a very safe and secure area since most of the homes in the area are beautiful and bring with it the security from the local police force that's very comforting. The town has lots to do and Miami and Fort Lauderdale are a quick drive down the highway. During our stay there were a few minor problems like the air conditioning not working for a day and there was no internet service when we arrived which was promised but Mike the owner got on the problem right away and corrected the problems quickly and for our troubles arranged a night out at one of Boca Raton's finest restaurants for the inconvenience we had, a very nice gesture.Overall we were all very impressed with the home and would rent it again and obviously recommend this home to any family. Thanks Mike for your southern hospitality. We all had a wonderful time!!! Rob, Silvia, Sara, Massimiliano, Talisa and Melissa

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tiki Hut

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Peter Patrina
Garnerville, NY
To all those who are interested in renting the Tiki House please do so without hesitation. We rented the house together with some friends who had flown in from Europe to spend the winter holidays in FL and we all stayed at the Tiki House for 7 days. Everything was just perfect. Dealing with Mike (owner) and his sister Michelle was easy and a breeze. Everything was as advertised, in fact the photos don't do the house justice. The house was extremely clean and fully equipped with everything one might need. The layout is ideally suited for larger groups, with one bedroom + its own bathroom in the wing to the left and the other bedrooms in the wing to the right. The master bedroom is huge and so is the master bathroom. Each bedroom had its own flat screen TV which was also nice. The living room is great with the humongous large screen TV and the surround sound works perfectly. High speed internet (wireless) also available and full signal everywhere in the house. The house even has a nice pool table which we didn't use. The kitchen is fully equipped. The pool is perfect for laps and the Tiki tent terrific. Rain or shine you can hang out underneath it and enjoy yourself. The house is located in a very nice and quiet area yet very close to restaurants and shopping. Just about anything one might want less than a mile away. The house is also very close to main attraction areas. A short drive from the airport (about 40 mins) you're within a short drive from Miami or Palm Beach. Excellent restaurants in Ft. Lauderdale (a short drive out) as well as beaches and entertainment. If / when we go back to FL to rent the Tiki house will definitely be at the top of our lists. pp_petrina@petrinagroup.com

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review