reviews for: listing #7813 - St Augustine, Florida House rental

On-the-Beach-Cottage
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Vilano Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

We have stayed at this beach before and we really liked it. We always have to take a granddog or two with us and this house allows that. Other "dog houses" we have stayed at sometimes would look and smell like dog houses, but this house definitely does not. It is very clean and pleasant. We really like the fenced in yard and parking area so that when you let your dog out, he cannot run out into the very busy highway in the front of the house. We also like that everything is there waiting for us like linens, etc. We have another trip planned for this winter. We love the area, we love the house, and Russell and Tina are very pleasant people to deal with.

Helpful votes: 15 / 18

 

Amazing little beach cottage

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the cottage! Brought our two dogs, and loved the fenced in area. (there's no grass but lots of mulch) The beach is very dog friendly, and everything is so close! If you stay, you have to check out Caps on the water, it's an amazing pace to eat. Make sure you sit outside!

The sunrises and sunsets on the deck were breathtaking! And the private path to the beach was perfect. We loved every day, and said a sad goodbye when we had to leave..

Make sure you bring enough clothes because there is not a washer and dryer. This was the only thing we would have changed.

If you decide to rent this, you will love it!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful beach cottage

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We stayed at this beach cottage with my parents over the Easter break. The cottage is perfect for two couples and "pet friendly" is so nice as we each brought our dogs. The location/views are wonderful! It is about 1 mile up A1A from the causeway bridge and the Publix grocery store! The kitchen is well equipped and the bathrooms appear to have been updated. The layout is perfect with the kitchen/family room on the ocean side of the cottage and the bedrooms in the back. The wi-fi was great and cable TV/DVD player were nice too! We loved the fenced in yard for the dogs and covered parking under the cottage was great. It would have been nice to have a washer/dryer rather that cart laundry over to the mainland. Recommend Kate's up A1A for lunch/dinner and the Kingfish Grill on the mainland side of the causeway bridge for lunch (10% off coupons in local tourist brochures). Wonderful location when visiting St. Augustine as you get the best of both worlds- the beach and 10 minutes from historic downtown!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. By the way, In late June, 2014 we added a stack washer and dryer. They are in the room found under the house.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Better than ever

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We LOVE this beach house. We just spent a fabulous week in this beach house with our two children- ages 3 and 1 and our Aussie dog. This was our 4th stay here and we can't say enough good things about it. Great location, no crowds, super clean and well cared for. We loved the new railing around the deck which was totally kid and dog proof. The fenced in yard is perfect for pets and kids too. The undisturbed walk way to the beach is perfect. Our children had a blast. Our 3 year old cried when we left and wanted to know why we couldn't live in the "dolphin house". We will always call it the "dolphin house".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place

Review submitted: May 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

We have stayed there several times and enjoyed it each time. It is a great place with a very private beach. But, also it is no more than 10 minutes from everything you want to do and see in St. Augustine.

We have never been disappointed in any aspect of our stay. Great place to take your pet on vacation also. It is very pet friendly as it is fenced in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

great place! convenient location

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

We've stayed here several times over the past 10 years, and always look forward to going back. We love being walking distance to an uncrowded beach, and just a short drive to restaurants and shopping. It's very clean, and the kitchen has all the utensils you need. The owners are very easy to work with, and I'm looking forward to our visit this summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Everything you need and want in a vacation house

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

We have stayed at this wonderfully comfortable and spotlessly clean beach cottage several times. The sunrises and sunsets here are spectacular - right over the water. One year, we even saw a large school of dolphins who came in close - a once-in-a-lifetime experience! There is much to do in the area but if you want to just relax and cool your jets, the walk along this beach is uncrowded and lovely. This place is stocked with everything you need in the kitchen and plenty of toys and puzzles to keep everyone busy. It is nicely decorated and feels very comfortable. We have so many special memories of our stays.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great comfortable beach house

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

A charming, comfortable and very clean beach cottage. Wonderful, low traffic (almost private) beach. Beautiful sunrises, as well as, beautiful morning and evening walks on the beach. Plenty of DVD's, magazines and books to keep you entertained if there are any rainy days. Close to restaurants and St. Augustine attractions. Great views from the house and deck. Nice fenced yard, grill for cooking out and covered parking. Pet friendly. Overall just a great place to spend vacation time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Pet-friendly Getaway, right on the beach

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

We return to On-the-Beach Cottage each year for a week to relax and enjoy nature and some time off with our dog. It is a very well-appointed cottage right on the beach with a fenced in yard, just as described. We have stayed in other pet-friendly accommodations in Florida, and this is the best we've found. The owners take good care of the property. We know because this was our fifth visit. The fenced in yard is so wonderful for dog owners.

You cannot beat the location. The house is located far enough down from the public access to give you a quiet beach but still is close enough to local attractions to keep things interesting and avoid long drives.

Don't miss Toucan Terry's for a tasty meal in downtown Vilano Beach or drive into town for your choice. Visit the Guana, Talamatos, Matanzas Natural Estuarine Research Reserve a few miles up the road for a wide variety of wildlife including eagles, ospreys, and even a herd of wild pigs.

I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review